DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 04/08/2026 has been entered. Applicant’s submission overcomes previous claim objections to claims 1 and 18. Therefore, corresponding claim objections are withdrawn. Claims 1-6, 8-10, and 12-19 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 13-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. (US 2019/0102143), hereinafter "Kumar", in view of Park et al. (US 2020/0004496), hereinafter "Park", and further in view of Sumioka et al. (US 2008/0080369), hereinafter “Sumioka”.
Regarding claim 1, Kumar teaches:
A signal processing device (see Kumar, Fig. 8, par. [0055]: FIG. 8 is a representational view illustrating an example host device 800 according to aspects herein. Host device 800 is an example of host device 110 used for implementing the techniques disclosed herein), comprising:
at least one processor configured (see Kumar, Fig. 8, par. [0055]: Memory 804 also stores computer-executable instructions that when executed by processor 801 cause the processor 801 to perform the operations described herein) to:
encode data in monaural for each channel of a plurality of channels (see Kumar, Fig. 7, pars. [0045-0046]: at blocks 701 and 702 the host device 110 and the first and second accessory devices 120, 130 establish a connection in accordance with the Bluetooth specification. Here, a period of time between transmission of audio data packets (e.g., audio data packets shown in FIGS. 2-6), for example, 23 ms is established. During establishing of the connections between the host device 110 and the first and second accessory devices 120, 130, encryption keys exchanged. As a result, the host device 110 is set up to broadcast data packets to the first and second accessory devices 120, 130, and each of the first and second accessory devices 120, 130 is set up to provide control information via a unicast channel to the host device 110. Any device having the encryption key may receive the multicast or broadcast. At block 703, the host device 110 transmits audio data packets (e.g., audio data packets 210-240 of FIG. 2) via a broadcast channel (e.g., broadcast audio channel 160 of FIG. 1) to the first and second accessory devices 120, 130. The audio data packets are sent in sequential order (e.g., #112-#115, etc.) every period of the established time period, and see Kumar, par. [0003]: The Bluetooth host device may stream an audio stream to each of the Bluetooth devices. Current Bluetooth technology provides for sending separate audio streams on separate channels to each of the multiple Bluetooth devices; in this case, audio packets for devices may be set up in order based on a time period (corresponding to encoding data));
generate, based on the encoded data, a packet for each channel of the plurality of channels, wherein the packet includes the encoded data (see Kumar, Fig. 7, pars. [0045-0046]: at blocks 701 and 702 the host device 110 and the first and second accessory devices 120, 130 establish a connection in accordance with the Bluetooth specification. Here, a period of time between transmission of audio data packets (e.g., audio data packets shown in FIGS. 2-6), for example, 23 ms is established. During establishing of the connections between the host device 110 and the first and second accessory devices 120, 130, encryption keys exchanged. As a result, the host device 110 is set up to broadcast data packets to the first and second accessory devices 120, 130, and each of the first and second accessory devices 120, 130 is set up to provide control information via a unicast channel to the host device 110. Any device having the encryption key may receive the multicast or broadcast. At block 703, the host device 110 transmits audio data packets (e.g., audio data packets 210-240 of FIG. 2) via a broadcast channel (e.g., broadcast audio channel 160 of FIG. 1) to the first and second accessory devices 120, 130. The audio data packets are sent in sequential order (e.g., #112-#115, etc.) every period of the established time period, and see Kumar, par. [0003]: The Bluetooth host device may stream an audio stream to each of the Bluetooth devices. Current Bluetooth technology provides for sending separate audio streams on separate channels to each of the multiple Bluetooth devices; in this case audio packets for devices may be set up in order based on a time period (corresponding to generating packets));
transmit, via wireless communication, the generated packet to a reception device (see Kumar, Figs. 4A and 4B, par. [0037]: FIG. 4A illustrates an example of the host device 110 broadcasting an audio stream via the broadcast audio channel 160 to first and second accessory devices 120, 130, and the first and second accessory devices 120, 130 providing control feedback by way of a negative-acknowledgement signal (NACK) (e.g, NACKS 421 and 422). FIG. 4B illustrates an example audio stream including data packets (e.g., audio data packets 401-404 including sequence #s 112-115) being streamed from the host device 110 to the first and second accessory devices 120, 130 in accordance with a configuration);
However, Kumar does not teach:
receive, via the wireless communication, a value of a Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) from the reception device, wherein the value of the RSSI indicates a radio wave state;
determine a fluctuation in the value of the RSSI;
control a bitrate based on the fluctuation in the value of the RSSI;
increase a number of retransmissions based on an increase in the fluctuation of the value of the RSSI; and
decrease the number of retransmissions based on a decrease in the fluctuation of the value of the RSSI.
Park, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
receive, via the wireless communication, a value of a Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) from the reception device, wherein the value of the RSSI indicates a radio wave state (see Park, Fig. 2, par. [0055]: the RSSI state collecting module 115 may collect RSSI states sensed by the communication module 120. The “RSSI state” may specifically refer to the signal strength between the electronic device 100 and the output device 200, which is measured by the communication module 120; in this case, measuring RSSI between the electronic device and output device corresponds to receiving a value of a RSSI from the reception device);
determine a fluctuation in the value of the RSSI (see Park, Fig. 6, pars. [0091-0092]: In operation 605, the electronic device 100 may determine the state of the transmit buffer 130 and the signal strength (e.g., RSSI) of the wireless link. The electronic device 100 may change the bit rate of the audio packet to be stored in the transmit buffer based on the state of the transmit buffer and the signal strength of the wireless link, depending on the determination result. In FIG. 6, a first scenario and a second scenario will be separately described below. According to the first scenario, in operation 607, the electronic device 100 determines whether the state of the transmit buffer 130 satisfies a first threshold condition and the signal strength satisfies the second threshold condition; in this case, determining the RSSI and comparing the RSSI to a threshold condition corresponds to determining a fluctuation in the value of the RSSI); and
control a bitrate based on the fluctuation in the value of the RSSI (see Park, Fig. 6, par. [0092]: in operation 607, the electronic device 100 determines whether the state of the transmit buffer 130 satisfies a first threshold condition and the signal strength satisfies the second threshold condition. For example, when the state of the transmit buffer fails to satisfy the first threshold condition and when the signal strength fails to satisfy the second threshold condition, the electronic device 100 may change the bit rate of the audio packet, which is to be stored in the transmit buffer, from the first bit rate to the second bit rate in operation 609. In other words, the electronic device 100 may perform the change in the bit rate when both the state of the buffer and the signal strength fail to satisfy the respective threshold conditions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the signal processing device of Kumar with the receiving a value of a RSSI, determining a fluctuation, and controlling a bitrate of Park with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of minimizing sound interruption and improving user experience (see Park, par. [0008]).
However, the combination of Kumar in view of Park does not teach:
increase a number of retransmissions based on an increase in the fluctuation of the value of the RSSI; and
decrease the number of retransmissions based on a decrease in the fluctuation of the value of the RSSI.
Sumioka, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
increase a number of retransmissions based on an increase in the fluctuation of the value of the RSSI (see Sumioka, Fig. 3, pars. [0082-0083]: The retransmission adjusting part 15 may determine the number of retransmissions, further using a priority or an RSSI recorded in the bandwidth management table 21. For example, the retransmission adjusting part 15 can correct the number of retransmissions calculated as described above in accordance with the priority. In this case, the retransmission adjusting part 15 may add "+1" to the number of retransmissions of communication with a priority of "1st", "+0," to the number of retransmissions of communication with a priority of "2nd", and "-1" to the number of retransmissions of communication with a priority equal to or lower than "+0". Furthermore, an example of the case using the RSSI will be described. In general, as the RSSI is worse, the number of retransmissions until the transmission of a packet ends in success tends to increase. More specifically, there is a relationship between the RSSI and the number of retransmissions (referred to as a retransmission expectation number) expected until the transmission of a packet ends in success. Therefore, the retransmission expectation number can be obtained from the RSSI, using this relationship. The retransmission adjusting part 15 may obtain the retransmission expectation number of each communication from the RSSI of each communication, and calculate the retransmission number of each communication based on the retransmission expectation number of each communication; in this case, retransmissions are increased when RSSI is worse (i.e. fluctuation of the value of the RSSI increased)); and
decrease the number of retransmissions based on a decrease in the fluctuation of the value of the RSSI (see Sumioka, Fig. 3, pars. [0082-0083]: The retransmission adjusting part 15 may determine the number of retransmissions, further using a priority or an RSSI recorded in the bandwidth management table 21. For example, the retransmission adjusting part 15 can correct the number of retransmissions calculated as described above in accordance with the priority. In this case, the retransmission adjusting part 15 may add "+1" to the number of retransmissions of communication with a priority of "1st", "+0," to the number of retransmissions of communication with a priority of "2nd", and "-1" to the number of retransmissions of communication with a priority equal to or lower than "+0". Furthermore, an example of the case using the RSSI will be described. In general, as the RSSI is worse, the number of retransmissions until the transmission of a packet ends in success tends to increase. More specifically, there is a relationship between the RSSI and the number of retransmissions (referred to as a retransmission expectation number) expected until the transmission of a packet ends in success. Therefore, the retransmission expectation number can be obtained from the RSSI, using this relationship. The retransmission adjusting part 15 may obtain the retransmission expectation number of each communication from the RSSI of each communication, and calculate the retransmission number of each communication based on the retransmission expectation number of each communication; in this case, retransmissions are decreased when RSSI is better and transmission is successful (i.e. fluctuation of the value of the RSSI decreased)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of the combination of Kumar in view of Park with the changing number of retransmissions based on RSSI of Sumioka with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of preventing degradation in communication quality and reducing data loss in communication (see Sumioka, pars. [0012] and [0138]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Sumioka, teaches the signal processing device.
Kumar does not teach, but Park teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to control the bitrate independent of the wireless communication (see Park, Fig. 6, par. [0092]: in operation 607, the electronic device 100 determines whether the state of the transmit buffer 130 satisfies a first threshold condition and the signal strength satisfies the second threshold condition. For example, when the state of the transmit buffer fails to satisfy the first threshold condition and when the signal strength fails to satisfy the second threshold condition, the electronic device 100 may change the bit rate of the audio packet, which is to be stored in the transmit buffer, from the first bit rate to the second bit rate in operation 609. In other words, the electronic device 100 may perform the change in the bit rate when both the state of the buffer and the signal strength fail to satisfy the respective threshold conditions; in this case, audio packets are transmitted during the processing of modifying bitrate).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the signal processing device of Kumar with the controlling a bitrate of Park with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of minimizing sound interruption and improving user experience (see Park, par. [0008]).
The combination of Kumar in view of Park does not teach, but Sumioka teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to control the number of retransmissions independent of the wireless communication (see Sumioka, Figs. 3 and 5, pars. [0082-0083]: The retransmission adjusting part 15 may determine the number of retransmissions, further using a priority or an RSSI recorded in the bandwidth management table 21. For example, the retransmission adjusting part 15 can correct the number of retransmissions calculated as described above in accordance with the priority. In this case, the retransmission adjusting part 15 may add "+1" to the number of retransmissions of communication with a priority of "1st", "+0," to the number of retransmissions of communication with a priority of "2nd", and "-1" to the number of retransmissions of communication with a priority equal to or lower than "+0". Furthermore, an example of the case using the RSSI will be described. In general, as the RSSI is worse, the number of retransmissions until the transmission of a packet ends in success tends to increase. More specifically, there is a relationship between the RSSI and the number of retransmissions (referred to as a retransmission expectation number) expected until the transmission of a packet ends in success. Therefore, the retransmission expectation number can be obtained from the RSSI, using this relationship. The retransmission adjusting part 15 may obtain the retransmission expectation number of each communication from the RSSI of each communication, and calculate the retransmission number of each communication based on the retransmission expectation number of each communication, and see par. [0086]: In the case where the number of retransmissions has not reached the upper limit (Yes in Op 3), the retransmitting part 16 transmits a packet whose transmission has ended in failure to a destination wireless terminal via the wireless LAN interface 13 (Op 4); in this case, transmitting a signal during the process of control of retransmissions corresponds to controlling independently).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of the combination of Kumar in view of Park with the independently changing number of retransmissions of Sumioka with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of preventing degradation in communication quality and reducing data loss in communication (see Sumioka, pars. [0012] and [0138]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Sumioka, teaches the signal processing device. Kumar further teaches:
wherein the encoded data is audio data (see Kumar, Fig. 7, pars. [0045-0046]: at blocks 701 and 702 the host device 110 and the first and second accessory devices 120, 130 establish a connection in accordance with the Bluetooth specification. Here, a period of time between transmission of audio data packets (e.g., audio data packets shown in FIGS. 2-6), for example, 23 ms is established. During establishing of the connections between the host device 110 and the first and second accessory devices 120, 130, encryption keys exchanged. As a result, the host device 110 is set up to broadcast data packets to the first and second accessory devices 120, 130, and each of the first and second accessory devices 120, 130 is set up to provide control information via a unicast channel to the host device 110. Any device having the encryption key may receive the multicast or broadcast. At block 703, the host device 110 transmits audio data packets (e.g., audio data packets 210-240 of FIG. 2) via a broadcast channel (e.g., broadcast audio channel 160 of FIG. 1) to the first and second accessory devices 120, 130. The audio data packets are sent in sequential order (e.g., #112-#115, etc.) every period of the established time period).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Sumioka, teaches the signal processing device. Kumar further teaches:
wherein the wireless communication is an isochronous wireless communication (see Kumar, Fig. 2, par. [0035]: FIG. 2 illustrates an example sequence of audio data blocks in an audio streaming being broadcast by host device 110 to the first and second accessory devices 120, 130 over broadcast audio channel 160. As shown in FIG. 2, audio data blocks 210, 220, 230, and 240 are provided in a sequence order of #112, #113, #114, and #115. Each audio data block is provided in broadcast in a sequence at a time period, for example, of 23 ms between each audio data block, and see Kumar, par. [0018]: The aspects discussed herein further provide the advantageous effect of enabling streaming to multiple devices at the same time without encumbering overhead on the host device of sending the audio data to multiple devices, and see Kumar, par. [0050]: the host device 110 may retransmit the audio data packet with a lower bit rate based on the one or more conditions of the RF channel included in the received NACK. For example, the host device 110 may change the quality of the data packet from a high quality (e.g., 256 Kb/s) to a lower quality (e.g., 128 Kb/s) for retransmission).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Sumioka, teaches the signal processing device. Kumar further teaches:
wherein the wireless communication is a broadcast type isochronous wireless communication (see Kumar, Fig. 2, par. [0035]: FIG. 2 illustrates an example sequence of audio data blocks in an audio streaming being broadcast by host device 110 to the first and second accessory devices 120, 130 over broadcast audio channel 160. As shown in FIG. 2, audio data blocks 210, 220, 230, and 240 are provided in a sequence order of #112, #113, #114, and #115. Each audio data block is provided in broadcast in a sequence at a time period, for example, of 23 ms between each audio data block, and see Kumar, par. [0018]: The aspects discussed herein further provide the advantageous effect of enabling streaming to multiple devices at the same time without encumbering overhead on the host device of sending the audio data to multiple devices).
Regarding claim 19, Kumar teaches:
A signal processing device (see Kumar, Fig. 9, par. [0057]: FIG. 9 is a representational view illustrating an example accessory device 900 according to aspects herein. Accessory device 900 is an example of first and second accessory devices 120, 130 used for implementing the techniques disclosed herein), comprising:
at least one processor configured (see Kumar, Fig. 8, par. [0055]: Memory 804 also stores computer-executable instructions that when executed by processor 801 cause the processor 801 to perform the operations described herein) to:
receive the packet from a transmission device (see Kumar, Fig. 7, par. [0047]: At block 704, each of the first and second accessory devices 120, 130 receives the audio data packets transmitted from the host device via the broadcast channel, and see Kumar, Fig. 7, pars. [0045-0046]: at blocks 701 and 702 the host device 110 and the first and second accessory devices 120, 130 establish a connection in accordance with the Bluetooth specification. Here, a period of time between transmission of audio data packets (e.g., audio data packets shown in FIGS. 2-6), for example, 23 ms is established. During establishing of the connections between the host device 110 and the first and second accessory devices 120, 130, encryption keys exchanged. As a result, the host device 110 is set up to broadcast data packets to the first and second accessory devices 120, 130, and each of the first and second accessory devices 120, 130 is set up to provide control information via a unicast channel to the host device 110. Any device having the encryption key may receive the multicast or broadcast. At block 703, the host device 110 transmits audio data packets (e.g., audio data packets 210-240 of FIG. 2) via a broadcast channel (e.g., broadcast audio channel 160 of FIG. 1) to the first and second accessory devices 120, 130. The audio data packets are sent in sequential order (e.g., #112-#115, etc.) every period of the established time period, and see Kumar, par. [0003]: The Bluetooth host device may stream an audio stream to each of the Bluetooth devices. Current Bluetooth technology provides for sending separate audio streams on separate channels to each of the multiple Bluetooth devices; in this case audio packets for devices may be set up in order based on a time period (corresponding to packetizing encoded data)),
the packet includes encoded data that is encoded in monaural for each channel of a plurality of channels (see Kumar, Fig. 7, par. [0047]: At block 704, each of the first and second accessory devices 120, 130 receives the audio data packets transmitted from the host device via the broadcast channel, and see Kumar, Fig. 7, pars. [0045-0046]: at blocks 701 and 702 the host device 110 and the first and second accessory devices 120, 130 establish a connection in accordance with the Bluetooth specification. Here, a period of time between transmission of audio data packets (e.g., audio data packets shown in FIGS. 2-6), for example, 23 ms is established. During establishing of the connections between the host device 110 and the first and second accessory devices 120, 130, encryption keys exchanged. As a result, the host device 110 is set up to broadcast data packets to the first and second accessory devices 120, 130, and each of the first and second accessory devices 120, 130 is set up to provide control information via a unicast channel to the host device 110. Any device having the encryption key may receive the multicast or broadcast. At block 703, the host device 110 transmits audio data packets (e.g., audio data packets 210-240 of FIG. 2) via a broadcast channel (e.g., broadcast audio channel 160 of FIG. 1) to the first and second accessory devices 120, 130. The audio data packets are sent in sequential order (e.g., #112-#115, etc.) every period of the established time period, and see Kumar, par. [0003]: The Bluetooth host device may stream an audio stream to each of the Bluetooth devices. Current Bluetooth technology provides for sending separate audio streams on separate channels to each of the multiple Bluetooth devices; in this case audio packets for devices may be set up in order based on a time period (corresponding to packetizing encoded data)); and
decode the received packet (see Kumar, Fig. 7, par. [0047]: At block 705, each of the first and second accessory devices 120, 130 determines whether one or more of the audio data packets in the sequence of audio data packets has not been received. This determination may be performed by monitoring the data packets received and filtering the received data packets to the A2DP or application layer of each accessory device. The determination can be made based on a timeout of packets received or based on a sequence # missing in the packets received or both; in this case, receiving and determining information on the packets received corresponds to decoding the packets).
However, Kumar does not teach:
receive the packet based on a number of retransmissions of a packet and a bitrate,
wherein each of the number of retransmissions and the bitrate is based on a fluctuation in a value of a received signal strength indicator (RSSI),
the RSSI indicates a radio wave state,
Park, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
receive the packet based on a bitrate (see Park, Fig. 6, par. [0092]: in operation 607, the electronic device 100 determines whether the state of the transmit buffer 130 satisfies a first threshold condition and the signal strength satisfies the second threshold condition. For example, when the state of the transmit buffer fails to satisfy the first threshold condition and when the signal strength fails to satisfy the second threshold condition, the electronic device 100 may change the bit rate of the audio packet, which is to be stored in the transmit buffer, from the first bit rate to the second bit rate in operation 609. In other words, the electronic device 100 may perform the change in the bit rate when both the state of the buffer and the signal strength fail to satisfy the respective threshold conditions; in this case, the bitrate is determined for sending a packet to the output device which receives the packet),
wherein the bitrate is based on a fluctuation in a value of a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) (see Park, Fig. 6, par. [0092]: in operation 607, the electronic device 100 determines whether the state of the transmit buffer 130 satisfies a first threshold condition and the signal strength satisfies the second threshold condition. For example, when the state of the transmit buffer fails to satisfy the first threshold condition and when the signal strength fails to satisfy the second threshold condition, the electronic device 100 may change the bit rate of the audio packet, which is to be stored in the transmit buffer, from the first bit rate to the second bit rate in operation 609. In other words, the electronic device 100 may perform the change in the bit rate when both the state of the buffer and the signal strength fail to satisfy the respective threshold conditions),
the RSSI indicates a radio wave state (see Park, Fig. 2, par. [0055]: the RSSI state collecting module 115 may collect RSSI states sensed by the communication module 120. The “RSSI state” may specifically refer to the signal strength between the electronic device 100 and the output device 200, which is measured by the communication module 120),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the signal processing device of Kumar with the receiving a packet based on bitrate determined based on RSSI of Park with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of minimizing sound interruption and improving user experience (see Park, par. [0008]).
However, the combination of Kumar in view of Park does not teach:
receive the packet based on a number of retransmissions of a packet,
wherein the number of retransmissions is based on a fluctuation in a value of a received signal strength indicator (RSSI),
the number of retransmissions increases based on an increase in the fluctuation of the value of the RSSI,
the number of retransmissions decreases based on a decrease in the fluctuation of the value of the RSSI,
Sumioka, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
receive the packet based on a number of retransmissions of a packet (see Sumioka, Fig. 5, par. [0086]: In the case where the number of retransmissions has not reached the upper limit (Yes in Op 3), the retransmitting part 16 transmits a packet whose transmission has ended in failure to a destination wireless terminal via the wireless LAN interface 13 (Op 4). In the case where the packet transmitted in Op 4 has reached the destination wireless terminal, more specifically, the packet transmission has ended in success (Yes in Op 5), the retransmission processing is completed),
wherein the number of retransmissions is based on a fluctuation in a value of a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) (see Sumioka, Fig. 3, pars. [0082-0083]: The retransmission adjusting part 15 may determine the number of retransmissions, further using a priority or an RSSI recorded in the bandwidth management table 21. For example, the retransmission adjusting part 15 can correct the number of retransmissions calculated as described above in accordance with the priority. In this case, the retransmission adjusting part 15 may add "+1" to the number of retransmissions of communication with a priority of "1st", "+0," to the number of retransmissions of communication with a priority of "2nd", and "-1" to the number of retransmissions of communication with a priority equal to or lower than "+0". Furthermore, an example of the case using the RSSI will be described. In general, as the RSSI is worse, the number of retransmissions until the transmission of a packet ends in success tends to increase. More specifically, there is a relationship between the RSSI and the number of retransmissions (referred to as a retransmission expectation number) expected until the transmission of a packet ends in success. Therefore, the retransmission expectation number can be obtained from the RSSI, using this relationship. The retransmission adjusting part 15 may obtain the retransmission expectation number of each communication from the RSSI of each communication, and calculate the retransmission number of each communication based on the retransmission expectation number of each communication; in this case, retransmissions are changed based on RSSI (i.e. fluctuation of the value of the RSSI)),
the number of retransmissions increases based on an increase in the fluctuation of the value of the RSSI (see Sumioka, Fig. 3, pars. [0082-0083]: The retransmission adjusting part 15 may determine the number of retransmissions, further using a priority or an RSSI recorded in the bandwidth management table 21. For example, the retransmission adjusting part 15 can correct the number of retransmissions calculated as described above in accordance with the priority. In this case, the retransmission adjusting part 15 may add "+1" to the number of retransmissions of communication with a priority of "1st", "+0," to the number of retransmissions of communication with a priority of "2nd", and "-1" to the number of retransmissions of communication with a priority equal to or lower than "+0". Furthermore, an example of the case using the RSSI will be described. In general, as the RSSI is worse, the number of retransmissions until the transmission of a packet ends in success tends to increase. More specifically, there is a relationship between the RSSI and the number of retransmissions (referred to as a retransmission expectation number) expected until the transmission of a packet ends in success. Therefore, the retransmission expectation number can be obtained from the RSSI, using this relationship. The retransmission adjusting part 15 may obtain the retransmission expectation number of each communication from the RSSI of each communication, and calculate the retransmission number of each communication based on the retransmission expectation number of each communication; in this case, retransmissions are increased when RSSI is worse (i.e. fluctuation of the value of the RSSI increased)),
the number of retransmissions decreases based on a decrease in the fluctuation of the value of the RSSI (see Sumioka, Fig. 3, pars. [0082-0083]: The retransmission adjusting part 15 may determine the number of retransmissions, further using a priority or an RSSI recorded in the bandwidth management table 21. For example, the retransmission adjusting part 15 can correct the number of retransmissions calculated as described above in accordance with the priority. In this case, the retransmission adjusting part 15 may add "+1" to the number of retransmissions of communication with a priority of "1st", "+0," to the number of retransmissions of communication with a priority of "2nd", and "-1" to the number of retransmissions of communication with a priority equal to or lower than "+0". Furthermore, an example of the case using the RSSI will be described. In general, as the RSSI is worse, the number of retransmissions until the transmission of a packet ends in success tends to increase. More specifically, there is a relationship between the RSSI and the number of retransmissions (referred to as a retransmission expectation number) expected until the transmission of a packet ends in success. Therefore, the retransmission expectation number can be obtained from the RSSI, using this relationship. The retransmission adjusting part 15 may obtain the retransmission expectation number of each communication from the RSSI of each communication, and calculate the retransmission number of each communication based on the retransmission expectation number of each communication; in this case, retransmissions are decreased when RSSI is better (i.e. fluctuation of the value of the RSSI decreased)),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of the combination of Kumar in view of Park with the changing number of retransmissions based on RSSI of Sumioka with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of preventing degradation in communication quality and reducing data loss in communication (see Sumioka, pars. [0012] and [0138]).
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Sumioka, as applied to claims 1, 13-16, and 19 above, and further in view of Wojcieszak et al. (US 10,616,743), hereinafter “Wojcieszak”.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Sumioka, teaches the signal processing device.
However, the combination of Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Sumioka, does not teach:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
decrease the bitrate based on the increase in the fluctuation of the value of the RSSI, and
increase the bitrate based on the decrease in the fluctuation of the value of the RSSI.
Wojcieszak, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
decrease the bitrate based on the increase in the fluctuation of the value of the RSSI (see Wojcieszak, col. 21, lines 31-33: The latency controller 610 may determine the time interval between each of the set of packets based on one or more of an RSSI, and see Wojcieszak, col. 26, lines 8-20: the source device 602 may encode 668 data with a bitrate based on the determination 664 of the time interval 674. Referring to FIG. 6A, e.g., when the latency controller 610 determines the time interval 674, the latency controller 610 may indicate, to the codec 616, that data to be sent over the link 640 is to be encoded with a bitrate that is based on the determined time interval 674. For example, when the latency experienced in sending packets over the link 640 increases (e.g., satisfies a first latency threshold) and, correspondingly, the time interval 674 between each of the set of packets to be sent over the link 640 increases (e.g., satisfies a first bitrate threshold), then the source device 602 may encode 668 data with a bitrate that is relatively lower; in this case, when latency increases (corresponding to the fluctuation value increasing), bitrate is reduced), and
increase the bitrate based on the decrease in the fluctuation of the value of the RSSI (see Wojcieszak, col. 21, lines 31-33: The latency controller 610 may determine the time interval between each of the set of packets based on one or more of an RSSI, and see Wojcieszak, col. 26, lines 21-28: when the latency experienced in sending packets over the link 640 decreases (e.g., fails to satisfy the first latency threshold or satisfies a second latency threshold) and, correspondingly, the time interval 674 between each of the set of packets to be sent over the link 640 decreases (e.g., fails to satisfy the first bitrate threshold and/or satisfies a second bitrate threshold), then the source device 602 may encode 668 data with a bitrate that is relatively higher; in this case, when latency decreases (corresponding to the fluctuation value decreasing), bitrate is increased).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the control of bitrate of the combination of Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Sumioka, with the specific control of Wojcieszak with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving user experience with a smoother output of data (see Wojcieszak, col. 2, lines 27-34).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Sumioka, and further in view of Wojcieszak, teaches the signal processing device.
The combination of Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Sumioka, does not teach, but Wojcieszak teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
determine that the fluctuation of the value of the RSSI is constant (see Wojcieszak, col. 28, lines 32-41: the source device 602 may determine 662 one or more conditions associated with transmission of the set of packets 672 over the link 640. When the source device 602 determines that one or more conditions associated with transmission of the set of packets 672 over the link 640 has sufficiently changed so as to merit a reconfiguration of the timer interval, the source device 602 may (dynamically) determine 664 a new time interval based on the one or more conditions associated with transmission of the set of packets 672 over the link 640, and see col. 30, lines 60-62: the first device may determine a channel condition associated with the link based on comparison of an RSSI to an RSSI threshold; in this case, RSSI can be used to determine a channel condition. The device may determine whether the condition (i.e. RSSI) has sufficiently changed, one of the possibilities being that the RSSI has not sufficiently changed (i.e. is constant)); and
control each of the number of retransmissions and the bitrate to be constant based on the determination that the fluctuation of the value of the RSSI is constant (see Wojcieszak, col. 28, lines 32-41: the source device 602 may determine 662 one or more conditions associated with transmission of the set of packets 672 over the link 640. When the source device 602 determines that one or more conditions associated with transmission of the set of packets 672 over the link 640 has sufficiently changed so as to merit a reconfiguration of the timer interval, the source device 602 may (dynamically) determine 664 a new time interval based on the one or more conditions associated with transmission of the set of packets 672 over the link 640, and see col. 30, lines 60-62: the first device may determine a channel condition associated with the link based on comparison of an RSSI to an RSSI threshold; in this case, RSSI can be used to determine a channel condition. The device may determine whether the condition (i.e. RSSI) has sufficiently changed, one of the possibilities being that the RSSI has not sufficiently changed (i.e. is constant). In this case, no new time interval for retransmissions nor transmission rate (i.e. bitrate) is determined, corresponding to the number of retransmissions and bitrate being constant).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the control of retransmission and bitrate of the combination of Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Sumioka, with the specific control of Wojcieszak with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving user experience with a smoother output of data (see Wojcieszak, col. 2, lines 27-34).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Sumioka, teaches the signal processing device.
Kumar does not teach, but Park teaches:
further comprising:
a memory configured to store, as reference data, the fluctuation of the value of the RSSI during packet loss (see Park, Fig. 2, pars. [0055-0056]: the RSSI state collecting module 115 may collect RSSI states sensed by the communication module 120. The “RSSI state” may specifically refer to the signal strength between the electronic device 100 and the output device 200, which is measured by the communication module 120. In an embodiment, the RSSI state analyzing module 116 may determine the signal strength between the electronic device 100 and the output device 200 by using the “RSSI state” collected by the RSSI state collecting module 115, and may assist in deciding the bit rate and the packet type of the audio packet; in this case, the RSSI state collecting module collects (i.e. stores) RSSI information for future processing),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the signal processing device of Kumar with the memory of Park with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of minimizing sound interruption and improving user experience (see Park, par. [0008]).
The combination of Kumar in view of Park does not teach, but Sumioka teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
increase the number of retransmissions based on the increase in the fluctuation of the value of the RSSI with respect to the reference data (see Sumioka, Fig. 3, pars. [0082-0083]: The retransmission adjusting part 15 may determine the number of retransmissions, further using a priority or an RSSI recorded in the bandwidth management table 21. For example, the retransmission adjusting part 15 can correct the number of retransmissions calculated as described above in accordance with the priority. In this case, the retransmission adjusting part 15 may add "+1" to the number of retransmissions of communication with a priority of "1st", "+0," to the number of retransmissions of communication with a priority of "2nd", and "-1" to the number of retransmissions of communication with a priority equal to or lower than "+0". Furthermore, an example of the case using the RSSI will be described. In general, as the RSSI is worse, the number of retransmissions until the transmission of a packet ends in success tends to increase. More specifically, there is a relationship between the RSSI and the number of retransmissions (referred to as a retransmission expectation number) expected until the transmission of a packet ends in success. Therefore, the retransmission expectation number can be obtained from the RSSI, using this relationship. The retransmission adjusting part 15 may obtain the retransmission expectation number of each communication from the RSSI of each communication, and calculate the retransmission number of each communication based on the retransmission expectation number of each communication; in this case, retransmissions are increased when RSSI is worse (i.e. fluctuation of the value of the RSSI increased));
decrease the number of retransmissions based on the decrease in the fluctuation the value of the RSSI with respect to the reference data (see Sumioka, Fig. 3, pars. [0082-0083]: The retransmission adjusting part 15 may determine the number of retransmissions, further using a priority or an RSSI recorded in the bandwidth management table 21. For example, the retransmission adjusting part 15 can correct the number of retransmissions calculated as described above in accordance with the priority. In this case, the retransmission adjusting part 15 may add "+1" to the number of retransmissions of communication with a priority of "1st", "+0," to the number of retransmissions of communication with a priority of "2nd", and "-1" to the number of retransmissions of communication with a priority equal to or lower than "+0". Furthermore, an example of the case using the RSSI will be described. In general, as the RSSI is worse, the number of retransmissions until the transmission of a packet ends in success tends to increase. More specifically, there is a relationship between the RSSI and the number of retransmissions (referred to as a retransmission expectation number) expected until the transmission of a packet ends in success. Therefore, the retransmission expectation number can be obtained from the RSSI, using this relationship. The retransmission adjusting part 15 may obtain the retransmission expectation number of each communication from the RSSI of each communication, and calculate the retransmission number of each communication based on the retransmission expectation number of each communication; in this case, retransmissions are decreased when RSSI is better (i.e. fluctuation of the value of the RSSI decreased));
However, the combination of Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Sumioka, does not teach:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
decrease the bitrate based on the increase in the fluctuation the value of the RSSI with respect to the reference data; and
increase the bitrate based on the decrease in the fluctuation of the value of the RSSI with respect to the reference data.
Wojcieszak, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
decrease the bitrate based on the increase in the fluctuation the value of the RSSI with respect to the reference data (see Wojcieszak, col. 21, lines 31-33: The latency controller 610 may determine the time interval between each of the set of packets based on one or more of an RSSI, and see Wojcieszak, col. 26, lines 8-20: the source device 602 may encode 668 data with a bitrate based on the determination 664 of the time interval 674. Referring to FIG. 6A, e.g., when the latency controller 610 determines the time interval 674, the latency controller 610 may indicate, to the codec 616, that data to be sent over the link 640 is to be encoded with a bitrate that is based on the determined time interval 674. For example, when the latency experienced in sending packets over the link 640 increases (e.g., satisfies a first latency threshold) and, correspondingly, the time interval 674 between each of the set of packets to be sent over the link 640 increases (e.g., satisfies a first bitrate threshold), then the source device 602 may encode 668 data with a bitrate that is relatively lower, and see Wojcieszak, col. 28, lines 32-41: the source device 602 may determine 662 one or more conditions associated with transmission of the set of packets 672 over the link 640. When the source device 602 determines that one or more conditions associated with transmission of the set of packets 672 over the link 640 has sufficiently changed so as to merit a reconfiguration of the timer interval, the source device 602 may (dynamically) determine 664 a new time interval based on the one or more conditions associated with transmission of the set of packets 672 over the link 640; in this case, when latency increases (corresponding to the fluctuation value increasing) so as to merit a reconfiguration of the timer interval (corresponding to with respect to the reference data), bitrate is reduced); and
increase the bitrate based on the decrease in the fluctuation of the value of the RSSI with respect to the reference data (see Wojcieszak, col. 21, lines 31-33: The latency controller 610 may determine the time interval between each of the set of packets based on one or more of an RSSI, and see Wojcieszak, col. 26, lines 21-28: when the latency experienced in sending packets over the link 640 decreases (e.g., fails to satisfy the first latency threshold or satisfies a second latency threshold) and, correspondingly, the time interval 674 between each of the set of packets to be sent over the link 640 decreases (e.g., fails to satisfy the first bitrate threshold and/or satisfies a second bitrate threshold), then the source device 602 may encode 668 data with a bitrate that is relatively higher, and see Wojcieszak, col. 28, lines 32-41: the source device 602 may determine 662 one or more conditions associated with transmission of the set of packets 672 over the link 640. When the source device 602 determines that one or more conditions associated with transmission of the set of packets 672 over the link 640 has sufficiently changed so as to merit a reconfiguration of the timer interval, the source device 602 may (dynamically) determine 664 a new time interval based on the one or more conditions associated with transmission of the set of packets 672 over the link 640; in this case, when latency decreases (corresponding to the fluctuation value decreasing) so as to merit a reconfiguration of the timer interval (corresponding to with respect to the reference data), bitrate is increased).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the control of retransmission and bitrate of the combination of Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Sumioka, with the specific control of Wojcieszak with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving user experience with a smoother output of data (see Wojcieszak, col. 2, lines 27-34).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Sumioka, and further in view of Wojcieszak, teaches the signal processing device.
The combination of Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Sumioka, does not teach, but Wojcieszak teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
determine that the fluctuation of the value of the RSSI with respect to the reference data is constant (see Wojcieszak, col. 28, lines 32-41: the source device 602 may determine 662 one or more conditions associated with transmission of the set of packets 672 over the link 640. When the source device 602 determines that one or more conditions associated with transmission of the set of packets 672 over the link 640 has sufficiently changed so as to merit a reconfiguration of the timer interval, the source device 602 may (dynamically) determine 664 a new time interval based on the one or more conditions associated with transmission of the set of packets 672 over the link 640, and see col. 30, lines 60-62: the first device may determine a channel condition associated with the link based on comparison of an RSSI to an RSSI threshold; in this case, RSSI can be used to determine a channel condition. The device may determine whether the condition (i.e. RSSI) has sufficiently changed so as to merit a reconfiguration of the time interval (corresponding to with respect to the reference data), one of the possibilities being that the RSSI has not sufficiently changed (i.e. is constant));
control each of the number of retransmissions and the bitrate to be constant based on the determination that the fluctuation of the value of the RSSI with respect to the reference data is constant (see Wojcieszak, col. 28, lines 32-41: the source device 602 may determine 662 one or more conditions associated with transmission of the set of packets 672 over the link 640. When the source device 602 determines that one or more conditions associated with transmission of the set of packets 672 over the link 640 has sufficiently changed so as to merit a reconfiguration of the timer interval, the source device 602 may (dynamically) determine 664 a new time interval based on the one or more conditions associated with transmission of the set of packets 672 over the link 640, and see col. 30, lines 60-62: the first device may determine a channel condition associated with the link based on comparison of an RSSI to an RSSI threshold; in this case, RSSI can be used to determine a channel condition. The device may determine whether the condition (i.e. RSSI) has sufficiently changed, one of the possibilities being that the RSSI has not sufficiently changed (i.e. is constant with respect to the reference data). In this case, no new time interval for retransmissions nor transmission rate (i.e. bitrate) is determined, corresponding to the number of retransmissions and bitrate being constant).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the control of retransmission and bitrate of the combination of Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Sumioka, with the specific control of Wojcieszak with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving user experience with a smoother output of data (see Wojcieszak, col. 2, lines 27-34).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Sumioka, as applied to claims 1, 13-16, and 19 above, and further in view of Labonte et al. (US 2011/0047283), hereinafter “Labonte”.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Sumioka, teaches the signal processing device.
Kumar does not teach, but Park teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to control the bitrate based on the RSSI (see Park, Fig. 6, par. [0092]: in operation 607, the electronic device 100 determines whether the state of the transmit buffer 130 satisfies a first threshold condition and the signal strength satisfies the second threshold condition. For example, when the state of the transmit buffer fails to satisfy the first threshold condition and when the signal strength fails to satisfy the second threshold condition, the electronic device 100 may change the bit rate of the audio packet, which is to be stored in the transmit buffer, from the first bit rate to the second bit rate in operation 609. In other words, the electronic device 100 may perform the change in the bit rate when both the state of the buffer and the signal strength fail to satisfy the respective threshold conditions)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the signal processing device of Kumar with the controlling a bitrate of Park with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of minimizing sound interruption and improving user experience (see Park, par. [0008]).
The combination of Kumar in view of Park does not teach, but Sumioka teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to control the number of retransmissions (see Sumioka, Fig. 3, pars. [0082-0083]: The retransmission adjusting part 15 may determine the number of retransmissions, further using a priority or an RSSI recorded in the bandwidth management table 21. For example, the retransmission adjusting part 15 can correct the number of retransmissions calculated as described above in accordance with the priority. In this case, the retransmission adjusting part 15 may add "+1" to the number of retransmissions of communication with a priority of "1st", "+0," to the number of retransmissions of communication with a priority of "2nd", and "-1" to the number of retransmissions of communication with a priority equal to or lower than "+0". Furthermore, an example of the case using the RSSI will be described. In general, as the RSSI is worse, the number of retransmissions until the transmission of a packet ends in success tends to increase. More specifically, there is a relationship between the RSSI and the number of retransmissions (referred to as a retransmission expectation number) expected until the transmission of a packet ends in success. Therefore, the retransmission expectation number can be obtained from the RSSI, using this relationship. The retransmission adjusting part 15 may obtain the retransmission expectation number of each communication from the RSSI of each communication, and calculate the retransmission number of each communication based on the retransmission expectation number of each communication; in this case, retransmissions are changed based on RSSI (i.e. fluctuation of the value of the RSSI))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of the combination of Kumar in view of Park with the changing number of retransmissions based on RSSI of Sumioka with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of preventing degradation in communication quality and reducing data loss in communication (see Sumioka, pars. [0012] and [0138]).
However, the combination of Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Sumioka, does not teach:
control based on a linear approximation slope associated with the RSSI.
Labonte, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
control based on a linear approximation slope associated with the RSSI (see Labonte, pars. [0010-0011]: the encoding rate may be updated by multiplying the nominal encoding rate by a second encoding coefficient determined according to a second metric based on measurement trend during the time window. The encoding coefficient may be updated by multiplying its current value by a factor determined according to a predefined function of the second metric. The measurement trend may be based on a slope of a regression line relating measurements to time during the time window. The measurement trend may also be based on both the slope of the regression line and a gradient of measurements during a short period within the time window. In accordance with another aspect, the present invention provides a method of determining an adaptable encoding rate of a signal transmitted from a data-streaming server to a client device through a time-varying connection. The method comprises steps of: determining a current encoding rate for the connection; acquiring transfer-delay measurements over a time window between a first time instant and a second time instant; and acquiring a data-loss-ratio measurement over the time window. A regression line relating the transfer-delay measurements to respective time instants within the time window may then be determined and the slope of the regression line is considered to indicate a trend of the measurements. A gradient of selected transfer-delay measurements immediately preceding the second time instant is also determined; in this case, control is based on a current encoding rate (corresponding to a variance value) and a regression line (corresponding to a linear approximation slope)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the control of retransmissions and bitrate of the combination of Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Sumioka, with the control based on a variance value and linear slope of Labonte with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving signal fidelity while avoiding packet loss (see Labonte, par. [0108]).
Claims 8, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Sumioka, as applied to claims 1, 13-16, and 19 above, and further in view of Kohno et al. (US 2010/0257421), hereinafter “Kohno”.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Sumioka, teaches the signal processing device.
However, the combination of Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Sumioka, does not teach:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to set an initial value of the number of retransmissions based on a distance between the reception device and the signal processing device.
Kohno, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to set an initial value of the number of retransmissions based on a distance between the reception device and the signal processing device (see Kohno, par. [0160]: the communication control unit 244 may designate the number of redundant packet to be "1" when estimation unit 232 estimates that the distance from the radio communication device 21' is a short distance, may specify the number to be "5" when a medium distance is estimated, and may specify the number to be "10" when a long distance is estimated, and see Kohno, par. [0113]: the radio communication device 20 can estimate the distance from the radio communication device 20' by receiving a distance measurement packet from the radio communication device 20'. Further, as a method that the radio communication device 20' estimates the distance from the radio communication device 20, a method that a distance measurement packet is sent from the radio communication device 20 can be considered).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the signal processing device of the combination of Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Sumioka, with the control based on a distance between devices of Kohno with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of dynamically changing control to prepare for data loss according to communication path conditions (see Kohno, par. [0020]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Sumioka, and further in view of Kohno, teaches the signal processing device.
The combination of Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Sumioka, does not teach, but Kohno teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
receive, from the reception device, a transmission (TX) power (see Kohno, par. [0014]: The reception unit may receive device information, from the other radio communication device in advance, which indicates a transmitting power of the radio signal of the other radio communication device, and see par. [0081]: the communication unit 216 receives device information that indicates a transmitting power of the radio communication device 20' before receiving the distance measurement packet, and see Kohno, par. [0113]: the radio communication device 20 can estimate the distance from the radio communication device 20' by receiving a distance measurement packet from the radio communication device 20'. Further, as a method that the radio communication device 20' estimates the distance from the radio communication device 20, a method that a distance measurement packet is sent from the radio communication device 20 can be considered); and
estimate the distance between the reception device and the signal processing device based on the value of the RSSI and the TX power (see Kohno, par. [0085]: since the communication unit 216 receives device information including a transmitting power or a type of the radio communication device 20' in advance, the estimation unit 232 is allowed to estimate the distance from the radio communication device 20' according to the content of the device information, and see Kohno, par. [0203]: the radio communication device 22 receives a distance measurement packet and measures the field intensity of the distance measurement packet as 40 db/m and the noise floor as 65. Then, the estimation unit 232 estimates that the distance from the radio communication device 22' is a short distance, and see Kohno, par. [0113]: the radio communication device 20 can estimate the distance from the radio communication device 20' by receiving a distance measurement packet from the radio communication device 20'. Further, as a method that the radio communication device 20' estimates the distance from the radio communication device 20, a method that a distance measurement packet is sent from the radio communication device 20 can be considered; in this case, based on signal intensity (i.e. RSSI) and a transmitting power, the distance is estimated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the signal processing device of the combination of Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Sumioka, with the estimation of distance based on two parameters of Kohno with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of dynamically changing control to prepare for data loss according to communication path conditions (see Kohno, par. [0020]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Sumioka, and further in view of Kohno, teaches the signal processing device.
The combination of Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Sumioka, does not teach, but Kohno teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to reset the initial value of the number of retransmissions based on a movement of the reception device (see Kohno, par. [0159]: the communication control unit 244 may increase the packet amount of the redundant packet created by the transmission packet generation unit 252 with respect to the original data packet as the longer distance from the radio communication device 21' is estimated by the estimation unit 232, and see Kohno, par. [0160]: the communication control unit 244 may designate the number of redundant packet to be "1" when estimation unit 232 estimates that the distance from the radio communication device 21' is a short distance, may specify the number to be "5" when a medium distance is estimated, and may specify the number to be "10" when a long distance is estimated; in this case, the number of retransmissions is changed when the distance estimation is changed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of the combination of Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Sumioka, with the resetting the number of retransmissions when the receiving device moves of Kohno with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of dynamically changing control to prepare for data loss according to communication path conditions (see Kohno, par. [0020]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Sumioka, and further in view of Kohno, as applied to claims 8, 10, and 12 above, and further in view of Bao et al. (US 2022/0110088), hereinafter “Bao”.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Sumioka, and further in view of Kohno, teaches the signal processing device.
However, combination of Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Sumioka, and further in view of Kohno, does not teach:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to communicate, via the wireless communication, with a plurality of reception devices,
the plurality of reception devices includes the reception device, and
a location of the reception device is farthest from the signal processing device among the plurality of reception devices.
Bao, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to communicate, via the wireless communication, with a plurality of reception devices (see Bao, Fig. 5, par. [0102]: The target UE 510 may be configured to send and/or receive reference signals to and/or from the anchors 521-523),
the plurality of reception devices includes the reception device (see Bao, Fig. 5, par. [0102]: The target UE 510 may be configured to send and/or receive reference signals to and/or from the anchors 521-523; in this case, any one of the anchor devices may be the reception device), and
a location of the reception device is farthest from the signal processing device among the plurality of reception devices (see Bao, par. [0134]: based on the indication associated with the first distance from the UE to the first anchor device, to report a measurement of the PRS based on at least one of: the first distance from the UE to the first anchor device being above a threshold distance; or the first distance from the UE to the first anchor device being a furthest distance of a plurality of second distances from the UE corresponding to a plurality of second anchor devices that include the first anchor device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the signal processing device of the combination of Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Sumioka, and further in view of Kohno, with the plurality of reception devices of Bao with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reducing power consumption and signal interference (see Bao, par. [0026]).
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Babu et al. (US 2019/0268807), and further in view of Sato (US 2011/0039507), hereinafter "Sato".
Regarding claim 17, Kumar teaches:
at least one processor configured (see Kumar, Fig. 8, par. [0055]: Memory 804 also stores computer-executable instructions that when executed by processor 801 cause the processor 801 to perform the operations described herein) to:
wherein the packet includes encoded data that is encoded in monaural for each channel of a plurality channels (see Kumar, Fig. 7, pars. [0045-0046]: at blocks 701 and 702 the host device 110 and the first and second accessory devices 120, 130 establish a connection in accordance with the Bluetooth specification. Here, a period of time between transmission of audio data packets (e.g., audio data packets shown in FIGS. 2-6), for example, 23 ms is established. During establishing of the connections between the host device 110 and the first and second accessory devices 120, 130, encryption keys exchanged. As a result, the host device 110 is set up to broadcast data packets to the first and second accessory devices 120, 130, and each of the first and second accessory devices 120, 130 is set up to provide control information via a unicast channel to the host device 110. Any device having the encryption key may receive the multicast or broadcast. At block 703, the host device 110 transmits audio data packets (e.g., audio data packets 210-240 of FIG. 2) via a broadcast channel (e.g., broadcast audio channel 160 of FIG. 1) to the first and second accessory devices 120, 130. The audio data packets are sent in sequential order (e.g., #112-#115, etc.) every period of the established time period, and see Kumar, par. [0003]: The Bluetooth host device may stream an audio stream to each of the Bluetooth devices. Current Bluetooth technology provides for sending separate audio streams on separate channels to each of the multiple Bluetooth devices; in this case audio packets for devices may be set up in order based on a time period (corresponding to packetizing encoded data)),
However, Kumar does not teach:
A learning device, comprising:
receive each of a Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) value, a transmission (TX) power, and a first number of retransmissions of a packet,
the RSSI value indicates a radio wave state, and
the RSSI value and the TX power are received from a reception device;
input, as input data, each of the RSSI value, the TX power, and the first number of retransmissions of the packet to a learned machine learning engine;
determine, via the learned machine learning engine, a level of packet loss occurrence prediction based on the input data; and
set a second number of retransmissions of the packet based on the determined level of the packet loss occurrence prediction, wherein the second number of retransmissions of the packet is different from the first number of retransmissions of the packet.
Park, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
receive a Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) value (see Park, Fig. 2, par. [0055]: the RSSI state collecting module 115 may collect RSSI states sensed by the communication module 120. The “RSSI state” may specifically refer to the signal strength between the electronic device 100 and the output device 200, which is measured by the communication module 120; in this case, measuring RSSI between the electronic device and output device corresponds to receiving a value of a RSSI from the reception device),
the RSSI value indicates a radio wave state (see Park, Fig. 2, par. [0055]: the RSSI state collecting module 115 may collect RSSI states sensed by the communication module 120. The “RSSI state” may specifically refer to the signal strength between the electronic device 100 and the output device 200, which is measured by the communication module 120), and
the RSSI value is received from a reception device (see Park, Fig. 2, par. [0055]: the RSSI state collecting module 115 may collect RSSI states sensed by the communication module 120. The “RSSI state” may specifically refer to the signal strength between the electronic device 100 and the output device 200, which is measured by the communication module 120; in this case, measuring RSSI between the electronic device and output device corresponds to receiving a value of a RSSI from the reception device);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Kumar with the receiving a value of a RSSI, determining a fluctuation, and controlling a bitrate of Park with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of minimizing sound interruption and improving user experience (see Park, par. [0008]).
However, the combination of Kumar in view of Park does not teach:
A learning device, comprising:
receive each of a transmission (TX) power and a first number of retransmissions of a packet,
the TX power are received from a reception device;
input, as input data, each of the RSSI value, the TX power, and the first number of retransmissions of the packet to a learned machine learning engine;
determine, via the learned machine learning engine, a level of packet loss occurrence prediction based on the input data; and
set a second number of retransmissions of the packet based on the determined level of the packet loss occurrence prediction, wherein the second number of retransmissions of the packet is different from the first number of retransmissions of the packet.
Babu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
A learning device, comprising:
receive each of a transmission (TX) power and a first number of retransmissions of a packet (see Babu, Figs. 3B and 6A, par. [0046]: At step 320, the feedback controller 208 receives a feedback of the transmission of the packet. Based on the feedback, the feedback controller 208 determines if the transmission of the packet is successful. The feedback can be but not limited to an acknowledgement transmitted from a recipient of the data packet or a return of the data packet transmitted back to the node 104. Further, the feedback information includes the receiving node RSSI/CAPS, aggregation length, current channel utilization, number of attempts for transmission, and a Model ID used to select the rate, and see par. [0049]: in FIG. 3B, the success percentage of the data rate used to transmit the data packet in step 314 is determined from the various parameters received by the feedback controller 208. Based on the success percentage, the deep learning controller 220 determines if a node-based configuration or global configuration is required. If the node-based configuration is required, the data rate controller 210 determines multiple data rates specific to the parameters received as feedback by the feedback controller 208, and see par. [0060]: FIG. 6A illustrates the global configuration model 530 in connection with the architecture 500, according to an embodiment disclosed herein. Specifically, parameters as the RSSI 602, capability 604 and channel utilization 606 along with aggregate length 611 are transmitted by way of feedback to the rate model to obtain a plurality success rates as shown in the success rate configuration 610; in this case, channel utilization corresponds to transmit power),
the TX power are received from a reception device (see Babu, Figs. 3B and 6A, par. [0049]: in FIG. 3B, the success percentage of the data rate used to transmit the data packet in step 314 is determined from the various parameters received by the feedback controller 208. Based on the success percentage, the deep learning controller 220 determines if a node-based configuration or global configuration is required. If the node-based configuration is required, the data rate controller 210 determines multiple data rates specific to the parameters received as feedback by the feedback controller 208, and see par. [0060]: FIG. 6A illustrates the global configuration model 530 in connection with the architecture 500, according to an embodiment disclosed herein. Specifically, parameters as the RSSI 602, capability 604 and channel utilization 606 along with aggregate length 611 are transmitted by way of feedback to the rate model to obtain a plurality success rates as shown in the success rate configuration 610);
input, as input data, each of the RSSI value, the TX power, and the first number of retransmissions of the packet to a learned machine learning engine (see Babu, Figs. 3A, 3B, and 6A, par. [0046]: At step 320, the feedback controller 208 receives a feedback of the transmission of the packet. Based on the feedback, the feedback controller 208 determines if the transmission of the packet is successful. The feedback can be but not limited to an acknowledgement transmitted from a recipient of the data packet or a return of the data packet transmitted back to the node 104. Further, the feedback information includes the receiving node RSSI/CAPS, aggregation length, current channel utilization, number of attempts for transmission, and a Model ID used to select the rate, and see par. [0049]: in FIG. 3B, the success percentage of the data rate used to transmit the data packet in step 314 is determined from the various parameters received by the feedback controller 208. Based on the success percentage, the deep learning controller 220 determines if a node-based configuration or global configuration is required. If the node-based configuration is required, the data rate controller 210 determines multiple data rates specific to the parameters received as feedback by the feedback controller 208, and see par. [0060]: FIG. 6A illustrates the global configuration model 530 in connection with the architecture 500, according to an embodiment disclosed herein. Specifically, parameters as the RSSI 602, capability 604 and channel utilization 606 along with aggregate length 611 are transmitted by way of feedback to the rate model to obtain a plurality success rates as shown in the success rate configuration 610);
determine, via the learned machine learning engine, a level of packet loss occurrence prediction based on the input data (see Babu, Fig. 3B, par. [0049]: in FIG. 3B, the success percentage of the data rate used to transmit the data packet in step 314 is determined from the various parameters received by the feedback controller 208. Based on the success percentage, the deep learning controller 220 determines if a node-based configuration or global configuration is required);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of the combination of Kumar in view of Park with the learning device with inputs of Babu with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving channel usage and enhancing performance (see Babu, par. [0003]).
However, the combination of Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Babu, does not teach:
set a second number of retransmissions of the packet based on the determined level of the packet loss occurrence prediction, wherein the second number of retransmissions of the packet is different from the first number of retransmissions of the packet.
Sato, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
set a second number of retransmissions of the packet based on the determined level of the packet loss occurrence prediction, wherein the second number of retransmissions of the packet is different from the first number of retransmissions of the packet (see Sato, Fig. 4, pars. [0053-0055]: if the beacon RSSI is equal to or below the predetermined threshold ("NO" in ST 1030), the beacon SNR is equal to or above the predetermined threshold ("NO" in ST 1040) and demodulation error does not occur ("NO" in ST 1050), interference deciding section 109 decides that there are interference waves below a predetermined level (ST 1060). Next, transmission rate setting section 112 reads "0" received as input from MAC section 110 or a transmission rate corresponding to the transmission count from memory 111, and sets the result as the transmission rate for transmission (ST 1070). Next, retransmission count upper limit value setting section 113 sets a retransmission count upper limit value according to the transmission rate set in transmission rate setting section 112 (ST 1080); in this case, the retransmission count upper limit value (i.e. number of retransmissions) is controlled based on the transmission rate, which is controlled based on RSSI versus a threshold (i.e. based on the fluctuation in the value of the RSSI). Changing this value corresponds to setting a second number of retransmissions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of the combination of Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Babu, with the control of retransmissions of Sato with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving communication quality and reducing power consumption (see Sato, par. [0017]).
Regarding claim 18, Kumar teaches:
at least one processor configured (see Kumar, Fig. 8, par. [0055]: Memory 804 also stores computer-executable instructions that when executed by processor 801 cause the processor 801 to perform the operations described herein) to:
wherein the packet includes encoded data that is encoded in monaural for each channel of a plurality channels (see Kumar, Fig. 7, pars. [0045-0046]: at blocks 701 and 702 the host device 110 and the first and second accessory devices 120, 130 establish a connection in accordance with the Bluetooth specification. Here, a period of time between transmission of audio data packets (e.g., audio data packets shown in FIGS. 2-6), for example, 23 ms is established. During establishing of the connections between the host device 110 and the first and second accessory devices 120, 130, encryption keys exchanged. As a result, the host device 110 is set up to broadcast data packets to the first and second accessory devices 120, 130, and each of the first and second accessory devices 120, 130 is set up to provide control information via a unicast channel to the host device 110. Any device having the encryption key may receive the multicast or broadcast. At block 703, the host device 110 transmits audio data packets (e.g., audio data packets 210-240 of FIG. 2) via a broadcast channel (e.g., broadcast audio channel 160 of FIG. 1) to the first and second accessory devices 120, 130. The audio data packets are sent in sequential order (e.g., #112-#115, etc.) every period of the established time period, and see Kumar, par. [0003]: The Bluetooth host device may stream an audio stream to each of the Bluetooth devices. Current Bluetooth technology provides for sending separate audio streams on separate channels to each of the multiple Bluetooth devices; in this case audio packets for devices may be set up in order based on a time period (corresponding to packetizing encoded data)),
However, Kumar does not teach:
A learning device, comprising:
receive each of a Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) value, a transmission (TX) power, and a first number of retransmissions of a packet,
the RSSI value indicates a radio wave state, and
the RSSI value and the TX power are received from a reception device;
input, as input data, each of the RSSI value, the TX power, and the first number of retransmissions of the packet to a learned machine learning engine, and
determine, via the learned machine learning engine, a second number of retransmissions of the packet based on the input data, wherein the second number of retransmissions of the packet is different from the first number of retransmissions of the packet.
Park, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
receive a Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) value (see Park, Fig. 2, par. [0055]: the RSSI state collecting module 115 may collect RSSI states sensed by the communication module 120. The “RSSI state” may specifically refer to the signal strength between the electronic device 100 and the output device 200, which is measured by the communication module 120; in this case, measuring RSSI between the electronic device and output device corresponds to receiving a value of a RSSI from the reception device),
the RSSI value indicates a radio wave state (see Park, Fig. 2, par. [0055]: the RSSI state collecting module 115 may collect RSSI states sensed by the communication module 120. The “RSSI state” may specifically refer to the signal strength between the electronic device 100 and the output device 200, which is measured by the communication module 120), and
the RSSI value is received from a reception device (see Park, Fig. 2, par. [0055]: the RSSI state collecting module 115 may collect RSSI states sensed by the communication module 120. The “RSSI state” may specifically refer to the signal strength between the electronic device 100 and the output device 200, which is measured by the communication module 120; in this case, measuring RSSI between the electronic device and output device corresponds to receiving a value of a RSSI from the reception device);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Kumar with the receiving a value of a RSSI, determining a fluctuation, and controlling a bitrate of Park with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of minimizing sound interruption and improving user experience (see Park, par. [0008]).
However, the combination of Kumar in view of Park does not teach:
A learning device, comprising:
receive each of a transmission (TX) power and a first number of retransmissions of a packet,
the TX power are received from a reception device;
input, as input data, each of the RSSI value, the TX power, and the first number of retransmissions of the packet to a learned machine learning engine; and
determine, via the learned machine learning engine, a second number of retransmissions of the packet based on the input data, wherein the second number of retransmissions of the packet is different from the first number of retransmissions of the packet.
Babu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
A learning device, comprising:
receive each of a transmission (TX) power and a first number of retransmissions of a packet (see Babu, Figs. 3B and 6A, par. [0046]: At step 320, the feedback controller 208 receives a feedback of the transmission of the packet. Based on the feedback, the feedback controller 208 determines if the transmission of the packet is successful. The feedback can be but not limited to an acknowledgement transmitted from a recipient of the data packet or a return of the data packet transmitted back to the node 104. Further, the feedback information includes the receiving node RSSI/CAPS, aggregation length, current channel utilization, number of attempts for transmission, and a Model ID used to select the rate, and see par. [0049]: in FIG. 3B, the success percentage of the data rate used to transmit the data packet in step 314 is determined from the various parameters received by the feedback controller 208. Based on the success percentage, the deep learning controller 220 determines if a node-based configuration or global configuration is required. If the node-based configuration is required, the data rate controller 210 determines multiple data rates specific to the parameters received as feedback by the feedback controller 208, and see par. [0060]: FIG. 6A illustrates the global configuration model 530 in connection with the architecture 500, according to an embodiment disclosed herein. Specifically, parameters as the RSSI 602, capability 604 and channel utilization 606 along with aggregate length 611 are transmitted by way of feedback to the rate model to obtain a plurality success rates as shown in the success rate configuration 610; in this case, channel utilization corresponds to transmit power),
the TX power are received from a reception device (see Babu, Figs. 3B and 6A, par. [0049]: in FIG. 3B, the success percentage of the data rate used to transmit the data packet in step 314 is determined from the various parameters received by the feedback controller 208. Based on the success percentage, the deep learning controller 220 determines if a node-based configuration or global configuration is required. If the node-based configuration is required, the data rate controller 210 determines multiple data rates specific to the parameters received as feedback by the feedback controller 208, and see par. [0060]: FIG. 6A illustrates the global configuration model 530 in connection with the architecture 500, according to an embodiment disclosed herein. Specifically, parameters as the RSSI 602, capability 604 and channel utilization 606 along with aggregate length 611 are transmitted by way of feedback to the rate model to obtain a plurality success rates as shown in the success rate configuration 610);
input, as input data, each of the RSSI value, the TX power, and the first number of retransmissions of the packet to a learned machine learning engine (see Babu, Figs. 3A, 3B, and 6A, par. [0046]: At step 320, the feedback controller 208 receives a feedback of the transmission of the packet. Based on the feedback, the feedback controller 208 determines if the transmission of the packet is successful. The feedback can be but not limited to an acknowledgement transmitted from a recipient of the data packet or a return of the data packet transmitted back to the node 104. Further, the feedback information includes the receiving node RSSI/CAPS, aggregation length, current channel utilization, number of attempts for transmission, and a Model ID used to select the rate, and see par. [0049]: in FIG. 3B, the success percentage of the data rate used to transmit the data packet in step 314 is determined from the various parameters received by the feedback controller 208. Based on the success percentage, the deep learning controller 220 determines if a node-based configuration or global configuration is required. If the node-based configuration is required, the data rate controller 210 determines multiple data rates specific to the parameters received as feedback by the feedback controller 208, and see par. [0060]: FIG. 6A illustrates the global configuration model 530 in connection with the architecture 500, according to an embodiment disclosed herein. Specifically, parameters as the RSSI 602, capability 604 and channel utilization 606 along with aggregate length 611 are transmitted by way of feedback to the rate model to obtain a plurality success rates as shown in the success rate configuration 610);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of the combination of Kumar in view of Park with the learning device with inputs of Babu with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving channel usage and enhancing performance (see Babu, par. [0003]).
However, the combination of Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Babu, does not teach:
determine, via the learned machine learning engine, a second number of retransmissions of the packet based on the input data, wherein the second number of retransmissions of the packet is different from the first number of retransmissions of the packet.
Sato, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
determine a second number of retransmissions of the packet based on the input data, wherein the second number of retransmissions of the packet is different from the first number of retransmissions of the packet (see Sato, Fig. 4, pars. [0053-0055]: if the beacon RSSI is equal to or below the predetermined threshold ("NO" in ST 1030), the beacon SNR is equal to or above the predetermined threshold ("NO" in ST 1040) and demodulation error does not occur ("NO" in ST 1050), interference deciding section 109 decides that there are interference waves below a predetermined level (ST 1060). Next, transmission rate setting section 112 reads "0" received as input from MAC section 110 or a transmission rate corresponding to the transmission count from memory 111, and sets the result as the transmission rate for transmission (ST 1070). Next, retransmission count upper limit value setting section 113 sets a retransmission count upper limit value according to the transmission rate set in transmission rate setting section 112 (ST 1080); in this case, the retransmission count upper limit value (i.e. number of retransmissions) is controlled based on the transmission rate, which is controlled based on RSSI versus a threshold (i.e. based on the fluctuation in the value of the RSSI). Changing this value corresponds to setting a second number of retransmissions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of the combination of Kumar in view of Park, and further in view of Babu, with the control of retransmissions of Sato with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving communication quality and reducing power consumption (see Sato, par. [0017]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 17-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Degenhardt et al. (US 2006/0039412) teaches method and device for compensating for runtime fluctuations of data packets.
Mattela (US 2018/0167844) teaches a system for transmission of incident information includes maintaining a table of RSSI values for a plurality of stations.
Okumura (US 7,180,896) teaches a packet retransmission system for retransmitting a packet where a sequence number is added between the transmission apparatus and the reception apparatus at a loss of the packet in packet transmission.
/C.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419