DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to applicant’s amendment dated 10/22/2025.
2. Claims 1, 4, 6, 7 and 9 are pending in the case.
3. Claims 2, 3, 5 and 8 are cancelled.
4. Claims 1 and 9 are independent claims.
Applicant’s Response
5. In Applicant’s response dated 10/22/2025, applicant has amended the following:
a) Claims 1 and 9
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaudhri et al. (hereinafter “Chaudhri”), U.S. Published Application No. 20170336943 A1, in view of Herring et al. (hereinafter “Herring”), U.S. Published Application No. 20160291764 A1 in further view of Nakazawa; Yuko, U.S. Published Application No. 20150087266 of record.
Claim 1:
Chaudhri teaches An information processing device comprising: (e.g., computer devices par. 6 In some embodiments, the device is portable (e.g., a notebook computer, tablet computer, or handheld device).)
a processor configured to perform control to: (e.g., processors par. 6; In some embodiments, the device has a graphical user interface (GUI), one or more processors)
cause display of a visible and touch-movable on-screen operator, within an active area of a display screen, the operator being slidable within a predefined visible track to execute a predetermined function, (e.g., cause display of on screen operator 5118 of Figure 5AB within active area of a display screen, the screen operator being slidable within a predefined track to execute an effect function see Figure 5X; selection affordance 5104, Figures 5AA-AG; impact effect options 5112-1 to 5112-4; par. 390; Further, the deep press input 5108-1, 5108-2, 5108-3, on impact selection affordance 5104, as shown in FIGS. 5X, 5Y and 5Z, followed by a drag to the first impact effect option (e.g., input 5108-4 on impact effect option 5112-1, FIG. 5AA) and then pausing while over the affordance for a respective impact effect option 5112, selects that impact effect option.)
wherein the visible track includes:
a start region, which is within the active area of the display screen but does not cause execution of the predetermined function when the operator is at least partially within the start region, (e.g., start region of visible track as shown in Figure 5X that does not allow executing of an impact effect option when selection affordance 5104 is within the start region see Figure 5X; selection affordance 5104, Figures 5AA-AG; impact effect options 5112-1 to 5112-4; par. 390; Further, the deep press input 5108-1, 5108-2, 5108-3, on impact selection affordance 5104, as shown in FIGS. 5X, 5Y and 5Z, followed by a drag to the first impact effect option (e.g., input 5108-4 on impact effect option 5112-1, FIG. 5AA) and then pausing while over the affordance for a respective impact effect option 5112, selects that impact effect option.)
an execution region which is within the active area of the display screen and causes execution of the predetermined function when the operator is fully within the execution region, and(e.g., screen operator 5118 of Figure 5AB being slidable within a predefined track to execute an effect function with a corresponding execution region see Figure 5X; selection affordance 5104, Figures 5AA-AG; impact effect options 5112-1 to 5112-4; par. 390; Further, the deep press input 5108-1, 5108-2, 5108-3, on impact selection affordance 5104, as shown in FIGS. 5X, 5Y and 5Z, followed by a drag to the first impact effect option (e.g., input 5108-4 on impact effect option 5112-1, FIG. 5AA) and then pausing while over the affordance for a respective impact effect option 5112, selects that impact effect option.)
in a case in which an execution condition for the predetermined function
exceeds a preset threshold, includes a particular function type, or includes a particular functional requirement, change an operability of the operator, by at least one of: (e.g., exceed drag preset distance (i.e., particular function requirement) to reach a predetermined impact effect function. For example, dragging screen operator 5118 to select loud effect exceeds preset thresholds for invisible ink and gentle and loud effect is longer in drag distance than to reach gentle, therefore, loud has a higher difficulty degree see Figures 5AA- AC)
region prior to the desired impact region is considered execution condition does not exceed the preset threshold Figure 5X; selection affordance 5104, Figures 5AA-AG; impact effect options 5112-1 to 5112-4; par. 390; Further, the deep press input 5108-1, 5108-2, 5108-3, on impact selection affordance 5104, as shown in FIGS. 5X, 5Y and 5Z, followed by a drag to the first impact effect option (e.g., input 5108-4 on impact effect option 5112-1, FIG. 5AA) and then pausing while over the affordance for a respective impact effect option 5112, selects that impact effect option.))
(ii) making a shape of the visible track more complex, than in cases in which the execution condition does not exceed the preset threshold, include the particular function type, or include the particular functional requirement, (e.g., movable region of 5X where the drag operation starts changes in length as shown in Figure AA in effort to select impact effect options. Therefore, results in importance degree becoming relatively high for the last impact option “slam”)
execute a predetermined function upon execution of an operation by a user on an operation unit displayed at a display, (e.g., executing an impact effect option upon execution of a drag operation by a user on a selection affordance 5104 see Figure 5X; selection affordance 5104, Figures 5AA-AG; impact effect options 5112-1 to 5112-4; par. 390; Further, the deep press input 5108-1, 5108-2, 5108-3, on impact selection affordance 5104, as shown in FIGS. 5X, 5Y and 5Z, followed by a drag to the first impact effect option (e.g., input 5108-4 on impact effect option 5112-1, FIG. 5AA) and then pausing while over the affordance for a respective impact effect option 5112, selects that impact effect option.)
and change operability of the operation such that as an importance degree which is determined in accordance with an execution condition for the predetermined function becomes relatively high, (e.g., change operability of drag motion such that selecting impact option from gentle to loud is considered importance degree becoming relatively high see Figures 5AA- AC))
a difficulty degree of the operation required for executing the predetermined function becomes high. (e.g., distance to reach loud is longer than distance to reach gentle, therefore, loud has a higher difficulty degree see Figures 5AA- AC)
Chaudhri fails to expressly teach a boundary between the start region and the execution region;
(i) setting a position of the boundary such that the start region is longer and the execution region is shorter,
However, Herring teaches a boundary between the start region and the execution region;(e.g., adjusting the boundary of active regions with resize handles par. 14; FIGS. 1B and 1C illustrate how the active zone of the touch screen display 15 is adjusted in one exemplary embodiment. The border of the active zone displayed on the touch screen display 15 includes handles, which are depicted as squares. The handles can be touched and dragged to resize and/or reshape the active zone.)
(i) setting a position of the boundary such that the start region is longer and the execution region is shorter, than in cases in which the execution condition does not exceed the preset threshold, include the particular function type, or include the particular functional requirement, (e.g., adjusting a boundary between active region and non active region to make active region longer or shorter than non active regions based on resize handles par. 14; FIGS. 1B and 1C illustrate how the active zone of the touch screen display 15 is adjusted in one exemplary embodiment. The border of the active zone displayed on the touch screen display 15 includes handles, which are depicted as squares. The handles can be touched and dragged to resize and/or reshape the active zone.)
In the same field of endeavor, namely, resizing touch regions, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the movable region as taught by Chaudhri to include adjustable touch regions based on resize handles as taught by Herring with a reasonable expectation of success, to yield predictable and expected results of a defining active touch zones as desired by a user. One of ordinary of skill would be motivated to combine the references in effort to provide the benefit of accommodating changes in the way that a display device is held by a user (see par. 4).
Chaudhri/Herring fails to expressly teach increasing a number of inflection points at which the visible track changes directions such that the visible track includes at least one of an L-shape or a U- shape.
However, Nakazawa teaches making a shape of the visible track more complex, than in cases in which the execution condition does not exceed the preset threshold, include the particular function type, or include the particular functional requirement, by increasing a number of inflection points at which the visible track changes directions such that the visible track includes an L-shape. (e.g., increasing inflection points of a moving region to allow selection of menu options Figures 4 and 5 Examiner considers visual track of Figure 4 to change direction to visual track of Figure 5 and that Figure 4 visual track straight line shape anticipates lower case L shape which reads on a L-shape visible track par. 98; As shown in FIG. 4, the activation operation screen region R2 is, for example, a region that is long in the first direction H, and overlaps, in the reference start point region R12, with the application icon display region R1. Par. 100; This operation of moving the operation means in the first direction H may be a flick operation, in which the operation means is flicked in the first direction H, or it may be a slide operation in which the specified application icon is moved to the activation operation conclusion icon Q10. par. 112; As shown in FIG. 5, for example, the unlocking operation screen region R3 is a region that extends in a direction (second direction R) that is different from the first direction H. par. 113; In the present exemplary embodiment, the unlocking operation screen region R3 is of a shape that corresponds to a predetermined locking operation path. The unlocking operation screen region R3 is a region that is of an arch-curved shape that extends in the second direction R in the example shown in FIG. 5. )
In the same field of endeavor, namely, using a drag input to select menu options, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the movable region as taught by Chaudhri/Herring to include moving elongated shape regions indicating changeable inflection points as taught by Nakazawa with a reasonable expectation of success, to yield predictable and expected results of an alternative movable region of selectable options. One of ordinary of skill would be motivated to combine the references in effort to take advantage of efficiently utilize screen real estate based on the number menu options.
Claim 4 depends on claim 1:
Chaudhri/Herring/ Nakazawa teaches wherein: changing operability of the operator, in cases in which the execution condition exceeds the preset threshold, includes the particular function type, or includes the particular functional requirement, further includes lengthening the visible track, (e.g., change operability of operator 5118 from Chaudhri Figure 5X to Figures 5AA-5AB where the drag operation (i.e., particular functional requirement) starts and changes in length as shown in Figure FAA in effort to select impact effect options. Examiner notes that lengthening the visible track from Figure 5X to Figure 5AA to select impact effect options reads on both the complete area of impact effect options and the current length of the drag operation to select a corresponding impact effect option) (e.g., increasing inflection points (i.e., lengthening the visible track) of a moving region to allow selection of menu options Nakazawa Figures 5 and 6 Examiner considers the curve shape to read on a U-shape visible track par. 112; As shown in FIG. 5, for example, the unlocking operation screen region R3 is a region that extends in a direction (second direction R) that is different from the first direction H. par. 113; In the present exemplary embodiment, the unlocking operation screen region R3 is of a shape that corresponds to a predetermined locking operation path. The unlocking operation screen region R3 is a region that is of an arch-curved shape that extends in the second direction R in the example shown in FIG. 5. )
Claim 9:
Claim 9 is substantially encompassed in claim 1, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 1 to reject claim 9.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaudhri/Herring/Nakazawa as cited above, in view of MINEO; Shigeki (hereinafter “Mineo”), U.S. Published Application No. 20130038546 A1 B1 of record.
Claim 6 depends on claim 1:
Chaudhri/Herring/Nakazawa fails to expressly teach
further includes requiring the operator to be moved at a slower speed from the start region to the execution region in order to execute the predetermined function.
However, Mineo teaches wherein:
changing operability of the operator, in cases in which the execution condition exceeds the preset threshold, includes the particular function type, or includes the particular functional requirement, further includes requiring the operator to be moved at a slower speed from the start region to the execution region in order to execute the predetermined function. (e.g., when sliding operation (i.e., from start to execution region) moves at a speed slower than a threshold execute a predetermined adjustment function See Figure 14; S80, S82, S92, par. 85; Next, the control section 2 judges whether or not the slide speed is greater than the set speed (Step S80). When judged that the slide speed is greater than the set speed, as shown in area a1 to the middle of a3 in FIG. 10A and FIG. 10C, and areas a3 to the middle of a1 in FIG. 11A and FIG. 11C (YES at Step S80), the control section 2 displays the first icon 14a (14b, 24a or 24b) on a position corresponding to the slide operation (Step S82), controls the adjustment amount (sound volume or zoom amount) at the set speed, and displays the second icon 15a (15b, 25a or 25b) on a position corresponding to the controlled adjustment amount (Step S84). par. 87; At Step S80, when judged that the slide speed is not greater than the set speed as shown from the middle of area a3 in FIG. 10B and FIG. 10C, or from the middle of area a1 in FIG. 11B and FIG. 11C (NO at Step S80), the control section 2 controls the adjustment amount (sound volume or zoom amount) at the slide speed, and displays the second icon 15a (15b, 25a or 25b) on a position corresponding to the controlled adjustment amount (Step S92). )
In the same field of endeavor, namely, executing predetermined functions associated with settings , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the predetermined functions as taught by Chaudhri/Herring/Nakazawa to include adjustment of values based on speed of sliding operation as taught by Mineo with a reasonable expectation of success, to yield predictable and expected results of an alternative values being applied to selectable settings. One of ordinary of skill would be motivated to combine the references in effort to take advantage of quickly and efficiently applying desired customized settings.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaudhri/Herring/Nakazawa as cited above, in view of Rosenberg et al. (hereinafter “Rosenberg”), U.S. Patent No. Application No. 10921920 B1 of record.
Claim 7 depends on claim 1:
Chaudhri/Herring/Nakazawa fails to expressly teach wherein: changing operability of the moving operation includes changing a number of times of the moving operation, and the processor is configured to perform control to change such that as the importance degree becomes relatively high, the number of times of the moving operation becomes larger. (e.g., manual drag operation by a user can be performed multiple times as determined by the user on a selection affordance 5104 see Figure 5X; selection affordance 5104, Figures 5AA-AG; impact effect options 5112-1 to 5112-4; par. 390; Further, the deep press input 5108-1, 5108-2, 5108-3, on impact selection affordance 5104, as shown in FIGS. 5X, 5Y and 5Z, followed by a drag to the first impact effect option (e.g., input 5108-4 on impact effect option 5112-1, FIG. 5AA) and then pausing while over the affordance for a respective impact effect option 5112, selects that impact effect option.)
However, Rosenberg teaches wherein: changing operability of the operator, in cases in which the execution condition exceeds the preset threshold, includes the particular function type, or includes the particular functional requirement, further includes increasing a number of times that the operator must be moved from the start region to the execution region, in order to execute the predetermined (e.g., changing operability of operator in effort to set values or execute commands based on a number of lateral movement Col. 8 line 6; Here, sliding the hand 502 to the left changes the value for “Month” from “July” to “June.” A distance of the lateral movement may determine how many months are changed (e.g., a short slide changes one month and a long slide changes six months) or a number of times the lateral movement is made may correspond to the change in month (e.g., one slide to the left changes July to June, two slides changes July to May, etc.). Other isotonic operations 508 besides sliding motions are also possible.)
In the same field of endeavor, namely, executing predetermined functions associated with settings , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the predetermined functions as taught by Chaudhri/Herring/Nakazawa to include setting values based on a number of times with an operation as taught by Rosenberg with a reasonable expectation of success, to yield predictable and expected results of an alternative values being applied to selectable settings. One of ordinary of skill would be motivated to combine the references in effort to take advantage of quickly and efficiently applying desired customized settings.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Prior Art Rejections
Applicant argues that Nakazawa fails to expressly teach the track includes an L-shape as recited in the claims. (see Response; page 3)
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
For the sake of argument, Examiner notes that the L shape is not required by the claims due to the alternative limitation language (e.g., at least one of). Applicant fails to explain why (i) limitation is not taught by the references.
Therefore, the claims are not in condition for allowance.
For at least the foregoing reasons, Examiner maintains prior art rejections.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HENRY ORR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172