DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to the amendment filed 1/26/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng et al. (US20250102768) in view of Wu et al. (CN113504654, English translation attached).
Regarding claim 1, Peng teaches a lens assembly (Peng, figs.1-20, abstract, The present invention relates to an eyepiece optical system and a head-mounted display device), comprising N number of lenses (see Peng, fig.5, having 6 number of lenses, so N = 6); wherein the N number of lenses comprises a first lens (Peng, fig.5, lens L6) having a receiving surface (Peng, fig.5, lens surface 12) configured to receive image light (Peng, paragraph [0003], A head-mounted display device uses the optical technologies to guide video image light emitted by a micro-image display (such as a transmissive or reflective liquid crystal display screen, an organic electroluminescent device, and a DMD device) to pupils of a user, thereby achieving virtual and enlarged images within a range close to the eyes, and providing the user with intuitive and visual images, videos, and text information. It is applicable in outdoor, simulated driving, training, demonstration, teaching, training, medical, flight, and other scenarios) from a display panel (Peng, fig.5, Image plane IMG) and an N-th lens (Peng, fig.5, N-th = 6-th has been referred as lens L1) having an exit surface (Peng fig.5, lens surface 1) through which the image light exits (described above), N≥2 (N = 6, Peng, described above);
wherein, on a side where the image light exits the N-th lens (Peng, fig.5, lens L1), the N-th lens has a length and a width (see annotated image, Peng, fig.5, a length and a width);
wherein at least an (N-3)-th lens (Peng, fig.5, an (N-3)-th lens has been referred as the lens L4) is a biconvex lens (paragraph [0081], data of table 2, surface 6-7, the lens L4 is biconvex lens).
Peng does not explicitly teach wherein a ratio of the length to the width is greater than 4:1 (Peng, the ratio of the length to the width is approximately greater than 3:1), and an (N-1)-th lens is a biconvex lens.
However, Wu teaches the analogous lens assembly (Wu, fig.1, abstract, a near-to-eye display optical system. The optical system comprises a first lens, a second lens, a third lens and a fourth lens which are sequentially arranged from an object plane to an image plane in the direction of an optical axis), and further teaches wherein
wherein a ratio of the length to the width is greater than 4:1 (approximately 7:1; see annotated image, Wu, fig.1, the ratio of the length to the width is approximately 7:1 = 2.8 : 0.39), and wherein an (N-1)-th lens (see annotated image, Wu, fig.1, the (N-1)-th lens, lens 300) is a biconvex lens (Wu, paragraph [0038], the third lens 300 is a biconvex lens).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Peng to have the specific the ratio of the length to the width and shape of lens as taught by Wu for the purpose to correct the light more compactly, effectively reduce the size of the optical system, and also control the spherical aberration and chromatic aberration of the optical system to a minimum range, which helps to improve image quality (Wu, paragraph [0040]).
Regarding claim 2, combination Peng-Wu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Peng further teaches wherein the exit surface (Peng, fig.5, surface 1) is a first even aspheric surface (see Peng paragraph [0081], data of table 2, cone coefficient = -7.231918; paragraph [0075], the optical surfaces of the first lens, the second lens, the third lens, the fourth lens, the fifth lens, and the sixth lens are all even-order aspherical surfaces, and the even-order aspherical surfaces).
Regarding claim 3, combination Peng-Wu discloses the invention as described in Claim 2 and Peng further teaches wherein a
wherein Z stands for a shortest distance between a respective point on the first even aspheric surface to a plane tangent to the first even aspheric surface at a vertex of the even aspheric surface; c stands for a curvature of the even aspheric surface;
k stands for a quadratic surface coefficient; r stands for a shortest distance between the respective point on the first even aspheric surface to an optical axis of the lens assembly; and A2i stands for a multiple term coefficient (see Peng, paragraph [0075], the optical surfaces of the first lens, the second lens, the third lens, the fourth lens, the fifth lens, and the sixth lens are all even-order aspherical surfaces, and the even-order aspherical surfaces meet the following relational expression (14):
wherein z is a vector height of the optical surface, c is a curvature at an aspherical vertex, k is an aspherical coefficient, α2, α4, α6, . . . are coefficients of various orders, and r is a distance coordinate from a point on a curved surface to an optical axis of the lens system--Note that the vector height of the optical surface is equal to shortest distance between a respective point on the aspheric surface to a plane tangent to the aspheric surface at a vertex of the aspheric surface).
Regarding claim 4, combination Peng-Wu discloses the invention as described in Claim 2 and Peng further teaches wherein the N-th lens has a second even aspheric surface opposite to the first even aspheric surface (see Peng, described in claim 2; paragraph [0075], the optical surfaces of the first lens, the second lens, the third lens, the fourth lens, the fifth lens, and the sixth lens are all even-order aspherical surfaces, and the even-order aspherical surfaces).
Regarding claim 5, combination Peng-Wu discloses the invention as described in Claim 2 and Peng further teaches wherein at least one of two opposite surfaces of an (N-1)-th lens (fig.5, lens L2) is an even aspheric surface (see Peng, described in claim 2; paragraph [0075], the optical surfaces of the first lens, the second lens, the third lens, the fourth lens, the fifth lens, and the sixth lens are all even-order aspherical surfaces, and the even-order aspherical surfaces).
Regarding claim 6, combination Peng-Wu discloses the invention as described in Claim 2 and Peng further teaches wherein at least one of two opposite surfaces of an (N-2)-th lens (fig.5, lens L3) is an even aspheric surface (see Peng, described in claim 2; paragraph [0075], the optical surfaces of the first lens, the second lens, the third lens, the fourth lens, the fifth lens, and the sixth lens are all even-order aspherical surfaces, and the even-order aspherical surfaces).
Regarding claim 7, combination Peng-Wu discloses the invention as described in Claim 2 and Peng further teaches wherein at least one of two opposite surfaces of an (N-3)-th lens (fig.5, lens L4) is an even aspheric surface (see Peng, described in claim 2; paragraph [0075], the optical surfaces of the first lens, the second lens, the third lens, the fourth lens, the fifth lens, and the sixth lens are all even-order aspherical surfaces, and the even-order aspherical surfaces).
Regarding claim 8, combination Peng-Wu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Peng further teaches wherein two opposite surfaces of the N-th lens (fig.5, lens L1) and two opposite surfaces of an (N-1)-th lens (fig.5, lens L2) are even aspheric surfaces (see Peng, described in claim 2; paragraph [0075], the optical surfaces of the first lens, the second lens, the third lens, the fourth lens, the fifth lens, and the sixth lens are all even-order aspherical surfaces, and the even-order aspherical surfaces).
Regarding claim 9, combination Peng-Wu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Peng further teaches wherein two opposite surfaces of the N-th lens (fig.5, lens L1), two opposite surfaces of an (N-2)-th lens (fig.5, lens L3), and two opposite surfaces of an (N-4)-th lens (fig.5, lens L5) are even aspheric surfaces (see Peng, described in claim 2; paragraph [0075], the optical surfaces of the first lens, the second lens, the third lens, the fourth lens, the fifth lens, and the sixth lens are all even-order aspherical surfaces, and the even-order aspherical surfaces).
Regarding claim 10, combination Peng-Wu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Peng further teaches wherein two opposite surfaces of the N-th lens (fig.5, lens L1), two opposite surfaces of an (N-1)-th lens (lens L2), two opposite surfaces of an (N-2)-th lens (lens L3), and two opposite surfaces of an (N-3)-th lens (lens L4) are even aspheric surfaces (see Peng, described in claim 2; paragraph [0075], the optical surfaces of the first lens, the second lens, the third lens, the fourth lens, the fifth lens, and the sixth lens are all even-order aspherical surfaces, and the even-order aspherical surfaces).
Regarding claim 13, combination Peng-Wu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Peng further teaches wherein the N-th lens (Peng, fig.5, lens L1) is a biconvex lens (Peng, paragraph [0082] The first lens L1 is a biconvex lens).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng et al. (US20250102768) in view of Wu et al. (CN113504654, English translation attached), and further in view of Kuo et al. (US20200409037).
Regarding claim 20, combination Peng-Wu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Peng does not explicitly teach wherein a waveguide configured to receive the image light exited from the lens assembly.
However, Kuo teaches the analogous lens assembly, comprising N number of lenses (Kuo, figs.1-6, abstract, an optical lens and a head-mounted display device including the optical lens are provided. The optical lens includes a first lens, a second lens, a third lens, a fourth lens, and a fifth lens sequentially arranged from a light exit side to a light incident side), and further teaches wherein a waveguide (Kuo, fig.4, waveguide element 230) configured to receive the image light exited (see Kuo, fig.4, the image light from IM exited) from the lens assembly (Kuo, fig.4, optical lens 110).
Kuo further teaches (paragraphs [0007]-[0008]): [0007] In order to achieve one or a portion of or all of the objects or other objects, another embodiment of the invention provides a head-mounted display device including an optical lens, an image generator, a stop and a waveguide element. The optical lens includes a first lens, a second lens, a third lens, a fourth lens, and a fifth lens sequentially arranged from a light exit side to a light incident side. The image generator is set at the light incident side. The optical lens is configured to receive an image light beam provided by the image generator. The stop is formed at the light exit side. At the stop, the image light beam has a minimum light beam cross-sectional area. The stop is formed at a coupling entrance of the waveguide element. The image light beam enters the waveguide element via the coupling entrance after passing through the stop, and then the image light beam is transmitted to a coupling exit of the waveguide element, followed by being projected to a target. [0008] Based on the above description, the embodiments of the invention have at least one of following advantages or effects. In the exemplary embodiments of the invention, according to the design of the optical lens, the optical lens may have a shorter length, thereby reducing the volume of the display. In addition, materials of the lenses in the optical lens may be favorable in reducing the weight of the optical lens and therefore the weight of the display. Therefore, the optical lens of the invention may be desirable due to a smaller size, a lighter weight, a larger viewing angle, or a higher resolution.).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the apparatus of Peng with the specific waveguide for the advantages of a shorter length, smaller volume, lighter weight, larger viewing angle and/or a higher resolution as taught by Kuo for the purpose to shorten an overall length of the optical lens, so as to reduce an appearance volume of the display (Kuo, abstract, paragraphs [0007]-[0008]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered, see Remarks Page. 5-8 with respect to the 35 U.S.C.&& 102 and 103 rejection have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
In the remarks, applicant argues that:
Under the KSR rule, the three basic criteria are considered: a) the prior art reference or combination has to teach or suggest all of the recited claim limitations; b) some suggestion or motivation to modify a reference or to combine the teachings of multiple references still has to be shown; and c) the combination has to suggest a reasonable expectation of success. Furthermore, rejections on obviousness grounds cannot be sustained by mere conclusory statements; instead, there must be some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness.
Independent claim 1 has been amended to incorporate the limitations of the original claims 11 and 12. Simple logic dictates that L2 in Peng is equivalent to the (N-1)-th lens. Peng does not teach or suggest that the(N-1)-th lens (L2) is a biconvex lens. The first surface ofL2 is convex, but the second surface of L2 is concave. This can be seen directly in Peng's FIG. 5 and in Peng's surface data for L2. A biconvex lens requires both surfaces to be convex. Peng does not disclose such a lens at the (N-1) position. Thus, Pend fails to teach or suggest the limitations of claim 1 as amended. Moreover, Applicant respectfully request that the cited references also fail to teach or suggest the limitation of "a ratio of the length to the width is greater than 4:1".
In response to applicant's argument(s) of 1
The test for obviousness is not whether the features may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In this case, the claim as written does not require that the lenses are in sequential numeric order, thus (N-1) or (N-3) could be define of any position of number of lenses. All of prior art teaches the lens assembly, comprising N number of lenses; wherein the N number of lenses comprises a first lens having a receiving surface configured to receive image light from a display panel and an N-th lens having an exit surface through which the image light exits, N≥2;
further, see described in claim 1, although Peng does not explicitly teach wherein a ratio of the length to the width is greater than 4:1, and wherein an (N-1)-th lens is a biconvex lens.
However, Wu teaches wherein a ratio of the length to the width is greater than 4:1 (approximately 7:1; see annotated image, Wu, fig.1, the ratio of the length to the width is approximately 7:1 = 2.8 : 0.39), and wherein an (N-1)-th lens (see annotated image, Wu, fig.1, the (N-1)-th lens, lens 300) is a biconvex lens (Wu, paragraph [0038], the third lens 300 is a biconvex lens).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Peng to have the specific the ratio of the length to the width and shape of lens as taught by Wu for the purpose to correct the light more compactly, effectively reduce the size of the optical system, and also control the spherical aberration and chromatic aberration of the optical system to a minimum range, which helps to improve image quality (Wu, paragraph [0040]).
Examiner's Note
Regarding the references, the Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the reference(s), as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the reference(s) or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KUEI-JEN L EDENFIELD/
Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/THOMAS K PHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872