DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9, and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schmidt et al. (US 5,906,254).
In Re claims 1 and 15, Schmidt et al. disclose an active vibration control system (Fig. 2), and related method, comprising: a driving mechanism (17’) and a control mechanism (M2), the control mechanism comprising an electromagnetic actuator (30), the driving mechanism being operable to apply a force to a base structure (11) to which the system is attachable, wherein the driving mechanism and the control mechanism are relatively moveable (see K2') such that the active vibration control system has at least two modes of vibration (Figs.3 and 4b; col.4, lines 32-52; col.6, lines 23-49; and col.7, lines 29-62), and wherein movement of the driving mechanism causes movement of at least a part of the control element (figs. 2 and 4a; col.4, line 52 - col.5, line 9; and col.5, line 40 - col.7, line 12).
In Re claim 2, the control mechanism (M2) drives the driving mechanism.
In Re claim 3, Schmidt et al. disclose tuning a mass (M2a, M3a); the springs (K2a, K3a); and frequency of the control mechanism.
In Re claim 4, see controller (18’).
In Re claim 5, see coil (30) and movable member (28L, M3) comprising a permanent magnet (28L).
In Re claim 6, Schmidt et al. disclose that the coils are voice-coil type actuators (VCAs; col. 8, lines 45-53) which are powered by direct current to generate a force on the permanent magnet proportional to the current.
In Re claim 7, see centering springs (32U, 32L) to offset/position the movable member.
In Re claims 9, 19, and 20, the coils are at least supplied with two different levels of current (i.e. on vs off).
In Re claims 11, 12, and 16, see spring (K2).
In Re claim 13, see proof mass (M2a).
In Re claim 14, 17, and 18, Schmidt et al. teach one of a ground-based vehicle, an aquatic vehicle, or an airborne vehicle; and wherein the base structure forms part of the vehicle (col.5, lines 51 – 65; and col.7, lines 3 – 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmidt et al. (US 5,906,254) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Soderstrom (US 2,434,337).
In Re claims 8 and 10, Schmidt et al. fail to teach a second coil portion.
Soderstrom is related to the art of electromagnetic vibration motors, and teaches a first and second electromagnetic actuator (4; fig.2), the second electromagnetic actuator being operable to cause displacement of at least a part of a control element (2) relative to the first electromagnetic actuator, thereby to control movement of the first electromagnetic actuator (col. 1, lines 4-10; col.2, lines 22 - 44). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the Soderstrom configuration of electromechanical actuators within the system of Schmidt et al., because it would improve efficiency by eliminating discontinuities in the oscillation of the system, which is following a calculated driving signal curve.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/THOMAS W IRVIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616