Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in CZECH REPUBLIC on December 18th, 2020.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 & 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jefferey L. Stern, U.S. 10,577,757, herein referred to as Stern et al.
Regarding Claim 1: Stern et al., teaches a self-propelled (Column 5=>Lines 2-8), eccentrically weighted (Fig. 3 (38) & Fig. 4 (84 & 86)) vibrating roller compactor that contains within the cylindrical outer wall/compacting tread (26), a vibratory mechanism (28) that comprises of a first hydraulic motor (30) that is connected via first coupling (68) to bearing (60) that is supported by bracket (64), which are connected to the rotatable shaft (40) with eccentric weights (38 or 84/86) attached to it. Weights (38 or 84/86) having variable configurations in order to facilitate a desired vibrational effect. Further, first and second inner vertical members (50 & 52) which are mounted in the vibrating tread asymmetrically to the axis of the vibrating roller and perpendicular to the axis of its rotation. On the other end of the tread (26) is the second hydraulic motor (32), second coupling (70), rotatable shaft (40) and second bearing (62). Two remotely located hydraulic pumps (22 & 24) provide hydraulic power for the first and second hydraulic motors (30, 32), wherein the first hydraulic motor provides the vibratory effect and the second hydraulic motor provides the drive movement in the desired direction over the surface to be compacted. Paired rubber pads to isolate the vibrating mechanism (36) from the main frame (18) are shown on Figs. 3 & 4, but not explicitly identified (see fig. below). Furthermore Stern et al., teaches in Column 3=>Lines 27-29, "A motor other than a hydraulic motor could also be used, such as for example an electric motor."
Regarding Claim 2: Stern et al., teaches in Figs. 3 & 4 and Column 4=> Lines 64-67 & Column 5=> Lines 1-5, that two couplings (68 & 70) allow the vibrating mechanism to connect to the vibrating shaft that is the first axis of rotation.
Regarding Claim 3: Stern et al., shows in Figs. 3 and 4, bearings (60 & 62) which are located within or in line with the inner first and second vertical members (50 & 52), and are positioned in line with the first axis of rotation, wherein they attach to the vibrating shaft at each end.
Regarding Claim 4: Stern et al., teaches in Column 3=>Lines 27-29, "A motor other than a hydraulic motor could also be used, such as for example an electric motor." Stern further teaches in Column 3=>Lines 44-47, "Motors or devices other than a hydraulic pump and hydraulic motor combination may be used to drive the vibratory mechanism, such as for example an electric motor."
Regarding Claim 5: Stern et al., teaches in Figs. 1, 3 & 4 and Column 2=>Line 67 & Column 3=>Lines 1-5, "The engine (20) may be a diesel engine, a gasoline engine, a gaseous fuel-powered engine or any other type of engine apparent to one skilled in the art. It is contemplated that the engine (20) may alternately embody a non-combustion source of power such as a fuel cell, a battery or an electric motor if desired."
Regarding Claim 8: Stern et al., teaches in Figs. 3 & 4, first and second bearings (60, 62) that are supported respectively in first and second brackets (64, 66) on the first and second vertical members (50, 52), which are connected to the rotatable shaft (40) and in turn connected to the first and second hydraulic motors that rotate the rotatable shaft (40). In light of the use of a bearing assembly in conjunction with the vibrating shaft, such a connection would necessarily use some kind of dynamically balanced connection so as to serve the primary function of a bearing. If a more explicit structure connection definition for "dynamically balanced is intended, such a recitation would be required.
Regarding Claim 9: Stern et al., teaches in Figs. 3 & 4 and Column 4=>Lines 28-39, wherein the individual weight elements (38, 84, 86) may be movable with respect to each other and therefore can be positioned in such a way that the eccentric force is at the center of gravity of the vibrating tread.
Regarding Claim 10: Stern et al., shows in Figs. 3 and 4, the vibratory mechanism (28) is rotatably mounted within the barrel shaped vibrating tread (26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 & 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stern et al. U.S. 10,577,757, in view of Dean R. Potts, US 2003/0082003, herein referred to as Potts.
Regarding Claim 6: Stern et al., teaches in Figs. 3 & 4 a drive motor (32, second hydraulic motor) that is rotatably connected to second coupling (70), which in turn is attached to inner frame (52), which is connected to vibrating tread (26). The second coupling (70) is not explicitly taught as being a gear box or other type of power transfer device. However, Potts does teach in Fig. 2, a first motor (28) that is connected to a gear box (70) that supplies the power for the desired vibrating effect. On the other end of the drum (14) is attached a propel/drive motor (40) that can be electric or hydraulic (Paragraph 0014). Therefore, it would be obvious to modify Potts to include a gearbox/power transfer case connected to drive motor (40) for the purpose of amplification of force or speed, provide the operator with a wider range of drive speed to more efficiently perform compaction work and placing less stress/wear on the motor which will increase motor longevity.
Regarding Claim 7: Stern et al., teaches in Figs. 3 & 4 a drive motor (32, second hydraulic motor) that is rotatably connected to second coupling (70), which in turn is attached to inner frame (52), which is connected to vibrating tread (26). The second coupling (70) is not explicitly taught as being a gear box or other type of power transfer device. However, Potts does teach in Fig. 2, a first motor (28) that is connected to a gear box (70) that supplies the power for the desired vibrating effect. On the other end of the drum (14) is attached a propel/drive motor (40) that can be electric or hydraulic (Paragraph 0014). Therefore, it would be obvious to modify Potts to include a gearbox/power transfer case connected to drive motor (40) for the purpose of amplification of force or speed, provide the operator with a wider range of drive speed to more efficiently perform compaction work and placing less stress/wear on the motor which will increase motor longevity.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. 5,248,216 Vural relates to a soil compactor with two oppositely rotating exciter shafts with matching phase positions that create a moment free torque applied to the drum/drum axis, which causes a predominant shear force to act on the soil when compacting
/KALPIT C. PATEL/ Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/CHRISTOPHER J SEBESTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671