DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. The amendment filed on 03/09/2026 has been made of record and entered.
Claims 1-2, 6-10, 20, & 22 have been amended.
Claims 15-16 have been canceled.
Claims 1-14 & 17-22 are currently pending in this application and under consideration.
Claim Objections
2. Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 8, “taking up” should change to --adsorbing--.
*Same change should also be made to this claim (as indicated for claim 1 in the last office action). Claim objection was inadvertently left out.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 (a)(1)
Claim(s) 1-14 & 17-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2017/153329 A2 (which has equivalence US 10,717,042).
WO 2017/153329 A2 discloses a process for taking up (adsorbing) one or more nitrogen oxide(s) from a medium, the process comprising the following steps:
a) providing a gaseous and/or aerosol medium comprising one or more nitrogen oxide(s),
b) providing at least one particulate earth alkali carbonate-comprising material and/or at least one particulate earth alkali phosphate-comprising material having a BET specific surface area as measured by the BET nitrogen method in the range from 10 to 200 m2/g, and
c) contacting the gaseous and/or aerosol or liquid medium of step a) with the at least one particulate earth alkali carbonate-comprising material and/or at least one particulate earth alkali phosphate-comprising material of step b) in any order, for taking up (adsorbing) at least a part of the one or more nitrogen oxide(s) from the gaseous and/or aerosol or liquid medium onto the surface and/or into the pores of the at least one particulate earth alkali carbonate-comprising material and/or at least one particulate earth alkali phosphate-comprising material (see page 4, lines 10-30 and page 71, claim 1).
The contacting step c) is carried out at a temperature ranging from -40 to 600oC, preferably from -30 to 450oC, and most preferably from -20 to 350oC (see page 38, lines 6-8).
The reference teaches the at least one particulate earth alkali carbonate-comprising material having an intra-particle intruded specific pore volume from 0.150 to 1.300 cm3/g, and preferably from 0.178 to 1.244 cm3/g, as measured by mercury intrusion porosimetry, (see page 73, line 4).
Regarding claims 1, 9, 20, & 22, the reference appears to teach the claimed process comprising the same process steps as claimed (see page 4, lines 10-30 and page 71, claim 1).
The claimed temperature ranges of step c) of -10 to 150oC, 0 to 80oC, and 10 to 55oC recited in the instant claims 1, 9, & 22, respectively, appear falling within the disclosed most preferable temperature range of -20 to 350oC, thus the claims are met. Example 3 on page 67 of the reference teaches absorption at room temperature (23 ± 2oC).
The claimed BET specific surface area from 40 to 400 m2/g of at least one particulate magnesium ion-comprising material in claim 1 encompassed the disclosed range of 10 to 200 m2/g (see page 4, lines 10-30 and page 71, claim 1).
The claimed intra-particle intruded specific pore volume of from 0.150 to 1.300 cm3/g, as measured by mercury intrusion porosimetry, of at least one particulate earth alkali carbonate-comprising material is taught by the reference (see page 73, line 4).
The reference teaches the particulate earth alkali carbonate-comprising material of step b) is magnesium carbonate, hydromagnesite and/or dolomite (see page 38, lines 6-8 and pages 17-18), which meets the claim limitation on “at least one particulate magnesium-ion-comprising material” and particularly the magnesium compounds recited in the instant claims 1, 6, & 20.
Regarding claims 2-3, 6, & 17, the reference teaches the claimed gaseous and/or aerosol medium of step a) and the at least one particulate magnesium ion-comprising material of step b) (see page 70, claims 2-6).
Regarding claims 4 & 18, the NOx partial pressures in the gaseous and/or aerosol medium of “up to 200 mbar” and “up to 100 mbar” according to these claims are considered as arbitrary and obvious selection in view of the reference teaching that the medium may contain any NOx amount, and preferably up to 1500 ppm by volume, corresponding to up to 1.5 mbar (see page 12, line 28- page 13, line 5). The gaseous and/or aerosol medium may comprise the one or more nitrogen oxide(s) in any amount. However, in order to obtain a sufficient adsorbing of nitrogen oxides in the process of the claimed invention, it is preferred that the gaseous and/or aerosol medium comprises the one or more nitrogen oxide(s) in a total amount of up to 1500 ppm, based on the total volume of the gaseous and/or aerosol medium.
Regarding claims 5 & 19, the reference teaches the at least one particulate earth alkali carbonate-comprising material and/or or at least one particulate earth alkali phosphate-comprising material is in form of a powder, granulated powder, suspension, such as aqueous suspension or suspension in organic solvents, column, cartridge, paint, coating, filter material. gabions, preferably gabions placed next to a motorway or a waste incineration plant, building material, etc. (see page 75, claim 17).
Regarding claims 7 & 21, the reference teaches the claimed volume median particle size d50, BET specific surface, and particle size distribution d98/d50 (see page 73, claim 7).
Regarding claim 8, the reference teaches the at least one particulate earth alkali phosphate-comprising material of step b) has a moisture content of at least 0.001 mg/m2 (see page 74, claim 9).
Regarding claims 10-12, the reference teaches to include a washing step d) as recited in the instant claims to remove the impurities (see page 20, lines 26-29).
Regarding claims 13 & 14, the reference teaches the claimed particulate magnesium-ion-comprising material prepared by the same process for adsorbing one or more nitrogen oxide(s) from a gaseous and/or aerosol medium as discussed above, thus anticipates the instant claims.
There is no patentable distinction seen between the claimed process and the disclosed process, thus the instant claims are anticipated by the applied reference.
Response to Applicants’ Arguments
4. Applicants’ remarks submitted with the amendment on 03/09/2026 have been reviewed, however they are not found persuasive in view of a new ground of rejection(s) and/or objection(s) above and the following reasons.
The amendment to claim 1 introducing a new claim limitation on “an intra-particle intruded specific pore volume, as measured by mercury intrusion porosimetry, in the range from 0.150 to 1.300 cm2/g” does not appear to distinguish the claimed process from that of the reference applied, thus the rejection is maintained. See rejection section above for more detailed explanations.
5. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Citations
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. All references are cited for related art. See PTO-892 Form prepared.
Conclusion
7. Claims 1-14 & 17-22 are pending. Claims 1-14 & 17-22 are rejected. No claims are allowed.
Contacts
/Cam N. Nguyen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/CNN/
April 23, 2026