DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 17 August, 2026 has been fully considered and entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 17 August, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Velikov neither describes nor suggests the claimed penetration depths, nor that open ends of cores are fused into and within the material of the optical element with those penetration depths.
Examiner does not find this argument persuasive. The relied upon figures show the claimed penetration depths and Velikov describes fusing the fibers to the optical element. Whether or not Velikov describes these penetration depths with words in the disclosure is irrelevant, since they are apparent from the figures.
Applicant argues that the manner of measurement now recited in claim 1 confirms that the claimed arrangement is absent, since measured from the surface through which the signal light radiation enters the material of the lens matrix, the open end of the core of each fiber has no penetration depth. Applicant further argues that the crater-like projections extend away from the body of the material in which the microlenses are formed and not “to within a material of the optical element”.
Examiner disagrees. Examiner is applying the same interpretation of the limitation “wherein the open ends of the cores of the glass fibers are arranged with penetration depths relative from entry surfaces of the optical element to within a material of the optical element measured along side surfaces of the glass fibers from the open ends of the glass fibers along a longitudinal axis of the glass fibers and to last points of surfaces of the glass fibers that overlap the optical element along a transverse axis perpendicular to the longitudinal axis” to the present invention as to Velikov, as demonstrated by the figures below. If applicant intends for “the open ends of the cores”/”the open ends of the glass fibers” to instead be somewhere along the side surfaces of the fibers, i.e. at the entry surfaces, this would be counter to the understood meaning of fiber/core ends in the art. However, if the side surfaces of fibers are meant to be considered end surfaces in the present disclosure, the same interpretation could be applied to Velikov and it would still disclose the claimed features.
Annotated Fig. 1A of Instant Application:
Corresponding Annotated Portion of Velikov Fig. 6:
Applicant argues that “Even if one of ordinary skill in the art were to substitute fusing for the UV-curable glue 74, the resulting joint would be formed at the same butt interface disclosed by Velikov, that is, at the flat bottoms 66-1, 66-2, … 66-n, and the open ends of the cores would remain at that surface. The modified device would therefore still lack open ends of the cores “fused into and within the material of the optical element with the penetration depths,” as recited in claim 1.”
The entry face is interpreted according to the previously provided annotated figure, copied below. The open ends of the cores are within the material of the optical element with a penetration depth, as they are fused below the entry surface, as shown. Examiner notes that Applicant has not specified in the claim that in their invention, the side surfaces of the optical fibers are also fused with the optical element all the way along the penetration depths. Therefore, the claim does not require anything besides the butt interface to be fused into the optical element at the penetration depth. It appears that Applicant is attempting to import limitations from the specification into the claim regarding the open ends of the glass fibers being pressed into the melted material of the entry surface 21, as recited in paragraph 0090 of the instant application. If so, Examiner notes that this feature is also not claimed.
Applicant disagrees with Examiner’s stated position that fusing the ends of the fibers “would necessarily result in the open ends of the cores being fused into and within the material of the optical element,” since fusing includes joining the materials of two elements by melting.
As previously indicated, when two elements are joined by fusion, some amount of blending of the interface is inherent, wherein the material of one is fused into and within the material of the other, as would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Applicant argues that “Melting the open ends of the cores into and within the material of the lens matrix would destroy the very flat-bottom butt geometry upon which the optical matching and self-alignment of Velikov depend” and thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have not motivation to modify Velikov in the manner proposed. Applicant further argues that the modification relies on impermissible hindsight rather than from the teachings of the cited art.
Velikov specifically teaches that the fibers can be joined to the optical elements by fusing them. Therefore, Applicant’s argument that fusing the fibers relies on impermissible hindsight is unconvincing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velikov (US 2002/0131703; hereinafter Velikov) in view of Filhaber et al. (US 2003/0231850; hereinafter Filhaber).
Regarding claim 1: Velikov disclosesA fiber exit element (see Figs. 1, 6, and 11)with a plurality of fibers (Fig. 6, optical fibers 56a-n) each having at least one core (since the fiber guides light, it is considered to have at least one core, i.e. the part of the fiber where light travels), each of which is designed to guide a signal light radiation (see paragraph 0042), andwith at least one optical element (Fig. 6, lens matrix 52), which is connected with open ends of the cores of the fibers and is designed to obtain the signal light radiation from the open ends of the cores of the fibers and to discharge the signal light radiation to the outside as exit radiation via at least one exit surface (according to paragraph 0042, light propagates from the fibers 56a-n to the lens matrix 52; the lens matrix thus obtains the signal light from the open ends of the core of the fibers, and the lenses then will discharge the light to the outside as exit radiation via at least one exit surface, being the surface facing away from the optical fibers), wherein the open ends of the cores of the fibers are arranged with penetration depths relative from entry surfaces of the optical element to within the material of the optical element (see Fig. 5, crater-like projections 64_1-64n form an arrangement with a penetration depth relative from entry surfaces of the optical element to within the material of the optical element) measured along side surface of the glass fibers from the open ends of the glass fibers along a longitudinal axis of the glass fibers and to last points of surfaces of the glass fibers that overlap the optical element along a transverse axis perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (see the corresponding arrow in the annotated portion of Velikov Fig. 6 copied below; Examiner further notes the penetration depth “relative from entry surfaces of the optical element to within the material of the optical element” can be “measured along side surfaces of the glass fibers from the open ends of the glass fibers along a longitudinal axis of the glass fibers and to last points of surfaces of the glass fibers that overlap the optical element along a transverse axis perpendicular to the longitudinal axis”; it is the same penetration depth measured in the forward and reverse directions), the open ends of the cores being fused into and within the material of the optical element with the penetration depths (see paragraph 0056, which teaches a modification to the described embodiments, which includes the illustrated embodiment shown in Figs. 1 and 6, wherein the ends of the fibers are attached to the lens elements by fusing; one of ordinary skill in the art would understand this to involve melting the interface where the fiber ends are attached to the lens elements and joining the material, such that the material of the cores is joined with the material of the lens elements; the melting of said interface would ensure the claimed feature of the open ends of the cores being fused into and within the material of the optical element with the penetration depths), andcharacterized in that the entry surfaces of the optical element are separated from each other by a plurality of depressions (see depressions between the projections 64_1 and 64n), and at least one first fused fiber of the plurality of fibers and a second fused fiber of the plurality of fibers are spaced apart by a first depression of the plurality of depressions (Fig. 6 shows this feature).
Velikov fails to teach that the optical fiber is a glass fiber. However, glass fibers are conventional in the art. For instance, an optical fiber array wherein the fibers are composed of glass was taught by Filhaber (see abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide glass fibers for the optical fibers in the Velikov device, since it had previously been taught by Filhaber and since optical fibers made of glass are conventional in the art. Doing so would have allowed one of ordinary skill in the art to match the refractive index between the lens matrix, which is disclosed to be glass (see paragraph 0036), and the optical fibers, reducing loss from the refractive index boundaries in the device.
Annotated Portion of Velikov Fig. 6:
Regarding claim 2: Modified Velikov teachesA fiber exit element according to claim 1 (as applied above), wherein the plurality of depressions each extends linearly along a width of an optical body of the optical element, the width defined by a transverse direction Y and wherein the fused glass fibers are arranged perpendicular to the transverse direction Y (see Fig. the depressions each extend in 2 dimensions, and one of the dimensions is perpendicular to an axis along which the fused fibers are arranged; see Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 3: Modified Velikov teachesA fiber exit element according to claim 1 (as applied above), wherein the at least one first fused glass fiber is enclosed by a first cavity or by a plurality of cross-linear recesses (Fig. 4 shows the top-view of the crater-like projections; they enclose the fused fibers, including a first fused fiber).
Regarding claim 4: Modified Velikov teachesA fiber exit element according to claim 1 (as applied above), wherein the fused glass fibers are each enclosed by one of the depressions (Fig. 4 shows that each of the fibers corresponds to a depression that encloses it).
Regarding claim 5: Modified Velikov teachesA fiber exit element according to claim 1 (as applied above), wherein the first depression is annularly arranged around the at least one first fused glass fiber (compare Figs. 4 and 6, which together show this feature).
Regarding claim 6: Velikov disclosesA fiber exit element (see Figs. 1, 6, and 11)with a plurality of fibers (Fig. 6, optical fibers 56a-n) each having at least one core (since the fiber guides light, it is considered to have at least one core, i.e. the part of the fiber where light travels), each of which is designed to guide a signal light radiation (see paragraph 0042), and with at least one optical element (Fig. 6, lens matrix 52), which is connected with open ends of the cores of the fibers and is designed to obtain the signal light radiation from the open ends of the cores of the fibers and to discharge the signal light radiation to the outside as exit radiation via at least one exit surface (according to paragraph 0042, light propagates from the fibers 56a-n to the lens matrix 52; the lens matrix thus obtains the signal light from the open ends of the cores of the fibers, and the lenses then will discharge the light to the outside as exit radiation via at least one exit surface, being the surface facing away from the optical fibers), wherein the open ends of the cores of the fibers are arranged with penetration depths relative from entry surfaces of the optical element to within the material of the optical element (see Fig. 5, crater-like projections 64_1-64n form an arrangement with a penetration depth from entry surfaces of the optical element to within the material of the optical element) measured along side surfaces of the glass fibers from the open ends of the glass fibers along a longitudinal axis of the glass fibers and to last points of the surfaces of the glass fibers that overlap the optical element along a transverse axis perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (see corresponding arrow in annotated portion of Velikov Fig. 6 in the rejection of claim 1; Examiner further notes the penetration depth “relative from entry surfaces of the optical element to within the material of the optical element” can be “measured along side surfaces of the glass fibers from the open ends of the glass fibers along a longitudinal axis of the glass fibers and to last points of surfaces of the glass fibers that overlap the optical element along a transverse axis perpendicular to the longitudinal axis”; it is the same penetration depth measured in the forward and reverse directions), the open ends of the cores being fused into and within the material of the optical element with the penetration depths (see paragraph 0056, which teaches a modification to the described embodiments, which includes the illustrated embodiment shown in Figs. 1 and 6, wherein the ends of the fibers are attached to the lens elements by fusing; one of ordinary skill in the art would understand this to involve melting the interface where the fiber ends are attached to the lens elements and joining the material, such that the material of the cores is joined with the material of the lens elements; the melting of said interface would ensure the claimed feature of the open ends of the cores being fused into and within the material of the optical element); and characterized in thatthe entry surfaces of the optical element corresponds to a plurality of elevations raised from an optical body of the optical element (Fig. 6, the center of the crater-like cavities 64_1-n are each considered to be elevations), wherein at least one first fused fiber of the plurality of fibers is disposed in a first elevation of the plurality of elevations (Fig. 6, the fiber 56a is disposed in a first elevation), and wherein at least one second fused fiber of the plurality of fibers is disposed in a second elevation of the plurality of elevations (Fig. 6, the fiber 56b is disposed in a second elevation).
Velikov fails to teach that the optical fiber is a glass fiber. However, glass fibers are conventional in the art. For instance, an optical fiber array wherein the fibers are composed of glass was taught by Filhaber (see abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide glass fibers for the optical fibers in the Velikov device, since it had previously been taught by Filhaber and since optical fibers made of glass are conventional in the art. Doing so would have allowed one of ordinary skill in the art to match the refractive index between the lens matrix, which is disclosed to be glass (see paragraph 0036), and the optical fibers, reducing loss from refractive index boundaries in the device.
Regarding claim 8: Modified Velikov teaches A fiber exit element according to claim 6 (as applied above), wherein the first elevation is square-like or rectangular in shape (see Fig. 5, the cross-section shows the elevation has a square-like shape).
Regarding claim 9: Velikov disclosesA fiber exit element (see Figs. 1, 6, and 11)with a plurality of fibers (Fig. 6, optical fibers 56a-n) each having at least one core (since the fiber guides light, it is considered to have at least one core, i.e. the part of the fiber where light travels), each of which is designed to guide a signal light radiation (see paragraph 0042), andwith at least one optical element (Fig. 6, lens matrix 52), which is connected with open ends of the cores of the fibers and is designed to obtain the signal light radiation from the open ends of the cores of the fibers and to discharge the signal light radiation to the outside as exit radiation via at least one exit surface (according to paragraph 0042, light propagates from the fibers 56a-n to the lens matrix 52; the lens matrix thus obtains the signal light from the open ends of the cores of the fibers, and the lenses will then discharge the light to the outside as exit radiation via at least one exit surface, being the surface facing away from the optical fibers), wherein the open ends of the cores of the fibers are arranged with penetration depths relative from entry surfaces of the optical element to within the material of the optical element (see Fig. 6, crater-like projections 64_1-64n form an arrangement with penetration depths relative from entry surfaces of the optical element to within the material) measured along side surfaces of the glass fibers from the open ends of the glass fibers along a longitudinal axis of the glass fibers and to last points of the surfaces of the glass fibers that overlap the optical element along a transverse axis perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (see corresponding arrow in annotated portion of Velikov Fig. 6 in the rejection of claim 1; Examiner further notes the penetration depth “relative from entry surfaces of the optical element to within the material of the optical element” can be “measured along side surfaces of the glass fibers from the open ends of the glass fibers along a longitudinal axis of the glass fibers and to last points of surfaces of the glass fibers that overlap the optical element along a transverse axis perpendicular to the longitudinal axis”; it is the same penetration depth measured in the forward and reverse directions), the open ends of the cores being fused into and within the material of the optical element with the penetration depths(see paragraph 0056, which teaches a modification to the described embodiments, which includes the illustrated embodiment shown in Figs. 1 and 6, wherein the ends of the fibers are attached to the lens elements by fusing; one of ordinary skill in the art would understand this to involve melting the interface where the fiber ends are attached to the lens elements and joining the material, such that the material of the cores is joined with the material of the lens elements; the melting of said interface would ensure the claimed feature of the open ends of the cores being fused into and within the material of the optical element), characterized in that at least one first fused fiber of the plurality of fibers and a second fused fiber of the plurality of fibers are spaced apart from one another by at least one spacer element (portions of plate 60 between adjacent fibers).
Velikov fails to teach that the optical fiber is a glass fiber. However, glass fibers are conventional in the art. For instance, an optical array wherein the fibers are composed of glass was taught by Filhaber (see abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide glass fibers for the optical fibers in the Velikov device, since it had previously been taught by Filhaber and since optical fibers made of glass are conventional in the art. Doing so would have allowed one of ordinary skill in the art to match the refractive index between the lens matrix, which is disclosed to be glass (see paragraph 0036), and the optical fibers, reducing loss from refractive index boundaries in the device.
Regarding claim 12: Modified Velikov teaches A fiber exit element according to claim 1 (as applied above), wherein the entry surfaces are each arranged at an angle to the exit surface (see Fig. 6, surface of lens 54a is considered to be arranged at an angle to the exit surface) and/orwherein the entry surfaces each have at least two sections which are arranged at an angle to one another and/or to the exit surface.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velikov (US 2002/0131703; hereinafter Velikov) in view of Filhaber et al. (US 2003/0231850; hereinafter Filhaber) and further in view of Hwang et al. (KR 20110059213; hereinafter Hwang).
Velikov teachesA fiber exit element (see Figs. 1, 6, and 11)with a plurality of fibers (Fig. 6, optical fibers 56a-n) each having at least one core (since the fiber guides light, it is considered to have at least one core, i.e. the part of the fiber where light travels), each of which is designed to guide a signal light radiation (see paragraph 0042), andwith at least one optical element (Fig. 6, lens matrix 52), which is connected with open ends of the cores of the glass fibers and is designed to obtain the signal ends of the cores of the glass fibers and is designed to obtain the signal light radiation from the open ends of the cores of the glass fibers and to discharge the signal light radiation to outside as exit radiation via at least one exit surface (according to paragraph 0042, light propagates from the fibers 56a-n to the lens matrix 52; the lens matrix thus obtains the signal light from the open ends of the cores of the fibers, and the lenses then will discharge the light to the outside as exit radiation via at least one exit surface, being the surface facing away from the optical fibers).
Velikov fails to teach that the optical fiber is a glass fiber. However, glass fibers are conventional in the art. For instance, an optical fiber array wherein the fibers are composed of glass was taught by Filhaber (see abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide glass fibers for the optical fibers in the Velikov device, since it had previously been taught by Filhaber and since optical fibers made of glass are conventional in the art. Doing so would have allowed one of ordinary skill in the art to match the refractive index between the lens matrix, which is disclosed to be glass (see paragraph 0036), and the optical fibers, reducing loss from refractive index boundaries in the device.
Modified Velikov fails to teach that the fiber exit element is characterized in that the open ends of the cores of the glass fibers are each integrally bonded to first open ends of transition elements, wherein second open ends of the transition elements are each arranged with penetration depths relative from entry surfaces of the optical element to within a material of the optical element measured along side surfaces of the transition elements from the second open ends of the transition elements along a longitudinal axis of the transition elements and to last points of surfaces of the transition elements that overlap the optical element along a transverse axis perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, the second open ends of the transition elements being fused into and within the material of the optical element with the penetration depths, andwherein the transition elements are transition fibers which have a core and a sheath which substantially surrounds the core. However, Hwang teaches that tapering the end of an optical fiber at an end formed integrally with a lens improves alignment tolerance when coupling the light from the lens to another component (see translation attached to previous office action, first paragraph page 3). In order to improve alignment tolerances to components on the other side of the optical element, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a tapering and a larger lens connected to the ends of the glass fibers in the Velikov device, since it was previously taught by Hwang. In providing this tapering, the tapered region of the fibers would be transition elements having second open ends fused into and within the material of the optical element with the penetration depths as recited in the claim, since Velikov teaches fusing the ends of the fibers to the optical element according to the claimed arrangement (see paragraph 0056, which teaches a modification to the described embodiments, which includes the illustrated embodiment shown in Figs. 1 and 6, wherein the ends of the fibers are attached to the lens elements by fusing; one of ordinary skill in the art would understand this to involve melting the interface where the fiber ends are attached to the lens elements and joining the material, such that the material of the cores is joined with the material of the lens elements; the melting of said interface would ensure the claimed feature of the second open ends of the transition elements being fused into and within the material of the optical element), including with penetration depths relative from entry surfaces of the optical element to within the material of the optical element (see Fig. 5, crater-like projections 64_1-64n form an arrangement with a penetration depth relative from entry surfaces of the optical element to within the material of the optical element) measured along side surface of the glass fibers from the open ends of the glass fibers along a longitudinal axis of the glass fibers and to last points of surfaces of the glass fibers that overlap the optical element along a transverse axis perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (see the corresponding arrow in the annotated portion of Velikov Fig. 6 copied below; Examiner further notes the penetration depth “relative from entry surfaces of the optical element to within the material of the optical element” can be “measured along side surfaces of the glass fibers from the open ends of the glass fibers along a longitudinal axis of the glass fibers and to last points of surfaces of the glass fibers that overlap the optical element along a transverse axis perpendicular to the longitudinal axis”; it is the same penetration depth measured in the forward and reverse directions), the open ends of the cores being fused into and within the material of the optical element with the penetration depths (see paragraph 0056, which teaches a modification to the described embodiments, which includes the illustrated embodiment shown in Figs. 1 and 6, wherein the ends of the fibers are attached to the lens elements by fusing; one of ordinary skill in the art would understand this to involve melting the interface where the fiber ends are attached to the lens elements and joining the material, such that the material of the cores is joined with the material of the lens elements; the melting of said interface would ensure the claimed feature of the open ends of the cores being fused into and within the material of the optical element with the penetration depths).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velikov (US 2002/0131703; hereinafter Velikov) in view of Filhaber et al. (US 2003/0231850; hereinafter Filhaber) and further in view of Hu et al. (US 2012/0045169; hereinafter Hu).
Modified Velikov teaches a fiber exit element according to claim 1, as applied above. Modified Velikov fails to teach that the exit surface of the optical element has an optical coating, at least in sections. Hu teaches an optical fiber array (Fig. 1A1, fibers 130), connecting to an optical element (Fig. 1A1, base plate 110), wherein in order to improve light transmission, the exit surface of the optical element has an optical coating (anti-reflective coating applied to second surface 112, see paragraph 0076). In order to improve light transmission, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to coat the exit surface of the optical element of the Velikov device with an anti-reflective coating, since it had previously been taught by Hu.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velikov (US 2002/0131703; hereinafter Velikov) in view of Filhaber et al. (US 2003/0231850; hereinafter Filhaber) and further in view of Karlsen et al. (US 2019/0123505; hereinafter Karlsen).
Modified Velikov teaches the fiber exit element according to claim 1, as applied above. Modified Velikov fails to teach that at least one of the glass fibers has at least one sheath which substantially encloses the core, wherein at least one pump light trap is formed in a material of the sheath of the at least one of the glass fibers in a region of the fiber exit element in order to discharge cladding light from the sheath outside the at least one of the glass fibers.
Karlsen teaches a configuration for connecting a fiber (Fig. 2, fiber 224) for transmitting laser light (Fig. 2, fiber laser system 200), with a light trap connected at the end (Fig. 2, light trap 203), wherein the glass fiber has a sheath (fiber conduit or cladding, see paragraph 0019), and the pump light trap is formed in the material of the sheath of the glass fiber in the region of the optical element (see inset of Fig. 2, showing light trap 203, as well as Fig. 3a, showing light trap 303). The light trap of Karlsen is taught to prevent damage to the fiber by dissipating heat (see paragraph 0041), by doing so discharging cladding light from the sheath of the glass fiber to outside the glass fiber. In applications wherein the fiber connector is connecting to a pump laser, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to connect a pump light trap to the fiber in the region of the optical element in order to discharge cladding light from the sheath of the glass fiber outside the glass fiber, in order to prevent damage to the fiber, as was taught by Karlsen.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velikov (US 2002/0131703; hereinafter Velikov) in view of Filhaber et al. (US 2003/0231850; hereinafter Filhaber) and further in view of Shikama et al. (US 2022/0229240; hereinafter Shikama).
Modified Velikov teaches the fiber exit element according to claim 1, as applied above. Velikov fails to teach that the optical element comprises an optical beam splitter. However, Shikama, also related to structures for connecting optical elements at the end of optical fibers (see abstract and Figs. 1-6), does teach that the optical elements connected to the end of optical fibers can include an optical beam splitter (see paragraph 0008). Including an optical beam splitter would allow one of ordinary skill in the art to route the fiber light to different locations and such a structure could easily be integrated with the coupling structure of Velikov. In applications where beam splitting is desired, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include an optical beam splitter as part of the fiber exit element of the modified Velikov device since beam splitters are well known in the art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIRSTEN D. ENDRESEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/THOMAS A HOLLWEG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874