DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to Applicant's preliminary amendment filed 15 June, 2023. As filed, Claims 1-14 are pending.
Priority
This application, filed 06/15/2023 is a National Stage entry of PCT/US2021/061513 , International Filing Date: 12/02/2021
PCT/US2021/061513 is a Continuation of 63127643 , filed 12/18/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicants' information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 6/15/2023 and 9/23/2023 have been considered except where lined through. Please refer to Applicants' copy of the 1449 submitted herewith.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected for reciting improper Markush language: the recitation in claim 1 “selected from” should be changed to “selected from the group consisting of”. See MPEP 803.02. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1.Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0321178 by Suzuki et al (“the ‘178 publication”; cited by Applicants in IDS).
The claimed invention is directed to a method for preparing methacrylic acid from methacrolein comprising: contacting a liquid mixture comprising methacrolein and water in the presence of oxygen with a heterogeneous catalyst comprising a support and gold; wherein the support comprises an oxide selected from y-, β-, or δ-alumina, magnesia, titania, zirconia, hafnia, vanadia, niobiumoxide, tantalum oxide, ceria, yttria, lanthanum oxide, zinc oxide or a combination thereof.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art
The ‘178 publication teaches a method for producing Methacrylic acid was produced from methacrolein and water in liquid phase – water and acetonitrile solvent, by using the noble metal-supported material specifically AuNi/SiAl- Ni-Mg composite oxide as shown in examples 18-24. The methacrylic acid selectivity was 94.9% [0286]-[0303]; (instant claims 1-5, 8, 12).
Regarding instant claims 2-3 , the ‘178 publication teaches in example 18 the amount of water of about 60% of total wt % liquid mixture.
Regarding instant claims 4-8, the ‘178 publication teaches as suitable solvent ketones, nitriles, alcohols, organic esters, hydrocarbons, organic acids and amides including acetone, N,N-dimethylformamide, etc. [0158].
Regarding instant claims 9-11 , the ‘178 publication teaches the on [0119] that the noble metal particles are preferably supported on a support in a highly dispersed state. Specifically, the noble metal particles are supported n a state where the particles do not overlap one another in a stacking direction on the support, and are supported to be dispersed more preferably in a particulate state - where the particles are not in contact with one another- or in a thin film state- where the particles do not overlap one another in the stacking direction on the support although they are in contact with one another. The noble metal particles have an average particle size ranging from 2 to 10 nm. Example 15 on [0259]-[0266] of the cited reference describes a noble metal-supported material supporting 2.0% by mass of Au a 2%Au/Si-Al-Ni-Mg composite oxide; the specific surface area measured by the nitrogen adsorption method was 242 m2/g, the pore volume was 0.27 mL/g and the average pore size was 3.9 nm. The average particle size was found to be 62 μm by laser scattering particle size distribution measurement. The noble metal-supported material was found to be free from break or crack and be in a substantially spherical shape on the basis of observation with a scanning electron microscope.
Regarding instant claims 12-13, the ‘178 publication teaches on [1021] titanium as the component of composite oxide of the noble-metal supported material.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue
The difference between the prior art and the instant is that the prior art is that the catalyst for the synthesizing methacrylic acid which catalyst comprises gold on support comprises silica and nickel as additional components.
However, it is noted that applicant(s) "comprising" terminology regarding the catalyst components is open language and does not exclude those additional elements disclosed therein- i.e. silica and nickel as additional catalyst components.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, to use the method on producing methacrylic acid by reacting methacrolein with oxygen in liquid phase under gold-containing catalyst composition on support such as alumina or titania as taught by the ‘178 publication, because the prior art specifically teach catalyst comprising gold and support composition which encompasses instantly claimed catalyst composition as effective for methacrylic acid production of the prior art.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at the instantly claimed process because the prior art teach that the oxidation of methacrolein to methacrylic acid when mediated by catalyst comprising gold on support such as titania, alumina increased methacrylic acid selectivity.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. KSR, 550 U.S. at_, 82 USPQ2d at 1395.
Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the teachings of the prior art.
2. Claims 1-8, 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2005-22069 , 2005 (“the ‘069 publication”; cited by Applicants in IDS).
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art
The ‘069 publication teaches a method for producing an alpha-beta -unsaturated carboxylic acid by oxidizing an alpha-beta-unsaturated aldehyde with molecular oxygen in a liquid phase, containing organic solvent comprising water and any organic solvent, using a noble metal catalyst such as gold supported on a carrier such as activated carbon, carbon black, silica, alumina, magnesia, titania, and zirconia; examples of the unsaturated aldehyde raw material include methacrolein; example an alpha-beta -unsaturated carboxylic acid- methacrylic acid (abstract; [0007]; [0015]; [0021]; [0033]; [0042]; instant claim 1)
Regarding instant claim 2-3, the ‘069 publication teaches various composition of the mixed solvent at this time was acetic acid 0.40, water 0.10, and acetone 0.50 in molar ratio [0033]; acetic acid 0.32, water 0.39, and acetone 0.29 in molar ratio on [0035].
Regarding instant claims 4-8, the ‘069 publication teaches as suitable solvents such as acetone [0010].
Regarding instant claims 12-14, the ‘178 publication teaches titania as the carrier material; The loading rate of the noble metal in the supported catalyst is usually 0.1 mass% or more, and particularly preferably 15 mass% or less [0021].
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue
The difference between the prior art and the instant is that the prior art does not teach preparative example of synthesizing methacrylic acid by reaction of methacrolein and water with oxygen in which the catalyst comprises gold as noble metal component of the catalyst.
However, the ‘069 publication specifically teaches gold as suitable metal as catalyst component on [0015] and the catalyst carrier include alumina, magnesia, titania, and zirconia and further that the supported catalyst can be produced in the same manner as discussed in the provided examples [0021].
A prima facie case of obviousness based on structure exists if the prior art suggests to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the substitution or modification. In re Tabor, 502 F.2d 775 (CCPA 1974). It has been held several times that structurally similar compounds are obvious over one another. See, e.g., In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, (CCPA 1979) (An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails motivation of one skilled in the art to make the claimed compound with an expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties. When prior art compounds essentially "bracket" the instantly claimed compound, one of ordinary skill in the art would clearly be motivated to make the claimed compound.).
In the instant case, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize gold as metal component and alumina, magnesia, titania, and zirconia as support, and have reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the claimed invention, because the prior art specifically suggest gold on support such as titania are suitable option for the liquid-phase oxidation reaction to produce the same compound as claimed by same starting materials and reagents and same process steps.
MPEP 2141 provides that exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of
obviousness include (E) " Obvious to try" - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Thus, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the teachings of the prior art.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 18257644 in view of JP2005-22069 , 2005 (“the ‘069 publication”; cited by Applicants in IDS).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim a process for preparing (meth)acrylic acid by the same steps: contacting a liquid mixture comprising (meth)acrolein and water in the presence of oxygen with a heterogeneous catalyst comprising a support and gold; wherein the support comprises an oxide selected from y-, 8-, or 8-alumina, magnesia, titania, zirconia, hafnia, vanadia, niobium oxide, tantalum oxide, ceria, yttria, lanthanum oxide, zinc oxide or a combination thereof.
While the copending application ‘644 teaches oxidation of acrolein instead of methacrolein under the same process steps and catalyst to corresponding acrylic acid – instead of methacrylic acid, as discussed in the prior art the general synthetic methodology for oxidation of unsaturated aldehydes to corresponding acid is applicable for both substrates- acrolein or methacrolein given the similar reactivity.
In this regards, the prior art by the ‘069 publication teaches that the method for producing an alpha-beta -unsaturated carboxylic acid by oxidizing an alpha-beta-unsaturated aldehyde with molecular oxygen in a liquid phase, containing organic solvent comprising water using a noble metal catalyst such as gold supported on a carrier such as alumina, magnesia, titania, and zirconia wherein the unsaturated aldehyde raw material include acrolein, methacrolein; (abstract; [0007]; [0015]; [0021]; [0033]; [0042].
The prior art as taught by copending Application No. 18257644 and the ‘069 publication teach the same general process for the production of unsaturated carboxylic acid , and copending Application No. 18257644 and the ‘069 publication reside in the closely overlapping technical area of processes related to production method for producing an alpha-beta -unsaturated carboxylic acid by oxidizing an alpha-beta-unsaturated aldehyde substrate with oxygen in a liquid phase, mediated by gold supported on a carrier catalyst.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
Claims 1-14 are rejected.
Telephone Inquiry
examiner should be directed to:
Ana Muresan
(571) 270-7587 (phone)
(571)270-8587 (fax)
Ana.Muresan@uspto.gov
The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday (9:00AM - 5:30PM).
/ANA Z MURESAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692