DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to applicant’s amendment received on 10/30/2025, all requested changes to the claims have been entered.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments filed on 10/30/2025 have been considered but they are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Giuffrida et al. (“CloudScout: A Deep Neural Network for On-Board Cloud Detection on Hyperspectral Images”, remote sensing, 10 July 2020).
With respect to claim 1, Giuffrida et al. teach an image sensor configured to output sensor data, wherein the sensor data comprises a sensor image (page 3. bands of hyperspectral cubes produced by the HyperScout-2 sensor,);
a control unit configured to (Fig. 7).
receive the sensor image from the image sensor (Fig. 7 input);
execute a feature amount conversion process to convert the sensor image into a specific feature amount (feature extraction), wherein
the control unit comprises a convolutional neural network (CNN model),
the convolutional neural network is configured to execute the feature amount conversion process (feature extraction), and
the specific feature amount includes a value of one of a convolution layer or a pooling layer of the convolutional neural network (page 9, convolutional layer and global max pooling layer);
execute a recognition process on the specific feature amount to obtain a recognition process result; (pages8-9, 3.4. CloudScout Network fig. 7 output)
execute a feature amount generation process on the specific feature amount, to generate first feature amount data (page 10-11, 4.Result; cloudy, not cloudy.), wherein the first feature amount data comprises metadata associated with the recognition process result (page 13-14, 5. Discussion; binary response (cloudy/not cloudy) leads); and
a transmission unit configured to transmit the generated first feature amount data by wireless communication (page 1, downlink transmission, images transmitted to ground (not cloudy image)).
With respect to claim 10, Giuffrida et al. teach execute processing operation for generation of a second of generating additional feature amount data, based on the generated first feature amount data is insufficient data for the recognition process (page 13-14, 5. Discussion; pixel-level information on the presence of clouds can be exploited to improve compression performance through the substitution of cloudy areas through completely white areas.),
With respect to claim 11, Giuffrida et al. teach execute data integration processing operation for integration of the generated second feature amount data and the generated first feature amount data (page 13-14, 5. Discussion; pixel-level information on the presence of clouds can be exploited to improve compression performance through the substitution of cloudy areas through completely white areas.),
With respect to claim 12, Giuffrida et al. teach that the first feature amount data is information indicating a change amount of the sensor data detected in a monitoring target area. (page 9-10, cloudy/cloudless).
With respect to claim 13, Giuffrida et al. teach that the first feature amount data is information indicating distribution data of the sensor data detected in a monitoring target area (page 10-11, 4.Result; cloudy, not cloudy.).
With respect to claim 14, Giuffrida et al. teach that the sensor device is installed on one of a mobile object on an ocean (page 13, to capture Aral sea cloud)
With respect to claim 15, Giuffrida et al. teach that the transmission unit is further configured to transmit the feature amount data to an unmanned aircraft by the wireless communication (page 1, downlink transmission from satellite, images transmitted to ground).
Claim 16 is rejected as same reason as claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Giuffrida et al. (“CloudScout: A Deep Neural Network for On-Board Cloud Detection on Hyperspectral Images”, remote sensing, 10 July 2020).in view of Rutschman et al. (US 2018/0239948).
Giuffrida et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as applied above from which claim 2 respectively depend.
Giuffrida et al do not teach expressly that transmits the feature amount data to an artificial satellite by the wireless communication.
Rutschman et al. teach transmits the feature amount data to an artificial satellite by the wireless communication. (para [0208], The image data can be processed on-board by a processor 504N (para [0202], neural network comparisons performed by the processor 504N) the parking data (feature amount) can be transmitted to another satellite 500N trailing the satellite 500 in its orbital path).
At the time of effective filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to transmits the feature amount data to an artificial satellite by the wireless communication in the method of Giuffrida et al.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that it can continuously process a geographical area when one satellite is moving away from the geographical area and other satellite is moving into the geographical area.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Rutschman et al. with Giuffrida et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 2.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Giuffrida et al. (“CloudScout: A Deep Neural Network for On-Board Cloud Detection on Hyperspectral Images”, remote sensing, 10 July 2020).in view of Chan (US 2019/0236793).
Giuffrida et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as applied above from which claim 3 respectively depend.
Giuffrida et al do not teach expressly that the control unit is further configured to cause a storage unit to store the first feature amount data, wherein the storage unit excludes storage of the sensor data.
Chan teaches the control unit is further configured to cause a storage unit to store the first feature amount data, wherein the storage unit excludes storage of the sensor data (para [0010], the captured images are discarded from said analytic device after analyzing, and only a structured data set containing an identity and said path of movement of said object across time is retained).
At the time of effective filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to store the first feature amount data, wherein the storage unit excludes storage of the sensor data in the method of Giuffrida et al.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that to save resources in edge computing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Chan with Giuffrida et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 3.
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Giuffrida et al. (“CloudScout: A Deep Neural Network for On-Board Cloud Detection on Hyperspectral Images”, remote sensing, 10 July 2020).in view of Ricaert et. al. (JP 2019513315, English translation).
With respect to claim 7, Giuffrida et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as applied above from which claim 7 respectively depend.
Giuffrida et al do not teach expressly that perform an image capturing operation again by the image sensor, based on the generated first feature amount data is insufficient data for the recognition process.
Ricaert et. al. teach perform an image capturing operation again by the image sensor, based on the generated first feature amount data is insufficient data for the recognition process (page 36, 2nd para., acquire a second set of images based at least in part on the first subset of images providing an unobstructed view).
At the time of effective filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to capture image again based on the generated first feature amount data is insufficient data in the method of Giuffrida et al.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that to get higher accuracy image analysis result.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Ricaert et. al. with Giuffrida et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 7.
With respect to claim 8, Ricaert et. al. teach control to increase a resolution of the image sensor. and perform the image-capturing operation again (page 36, 2nd para., the second of the images The set of is acquired by a second sensor having a higher resolution than the first sensor).
With respect to claim 9, Ricaert et. al. teach perform the image-capturing operation again of a specific area of the sensor image captured by the image sensor (page 36, 2nd para., narrow field of view sensor).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/RANDOLPH I CHU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667