Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 112(b), indefiniteness, since claim 11 (from which they depend) does not recited a copper substrate, and claims 15 and 16 recite the limitation "the copper substrate". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 1-4,6,7,9,11-14,18 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP-2009-221363.
JP discloses a semiconductor device that uses copper bumps/pillars in manufacture of its flip chip device. The adhesive composition, which bonds the copper bumps and the substrate and/or the underfill, comprises an epoxy resin, an amine curing agent, an inorganic filler, and 0.1-5 parts by weight of a sulfide silane compound. The preferred compounds [0027] are seen below:
which is Bis(3-triethoxysilyl-propyl) disulfide
which is Bis(3-triethoxysilyl-propyl) tetrasulfide
Note that when examining the examples, specifically comparative examples 1 and 2 which do not contain any amount of silane compound, the adhesive test contain peeling indicated by the “0” in the test results. Hence, one would naturally conclude that the silane is responsible for the improvement in adhesion with the copper.
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-14, 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferrari et al-US 2011/0094656 in view of Hempel et al-WO 2011/092278.
Ferrari discloses connecting of metal tubes via an adhesive composition. The tubes can be copper and copper, copper and aluminum or aluminum and aluminum, see 0022-0024. The adhesive composition can consist of an epoxy resin, a polyurethane or an acrylate resin adhesive.
Ferrari fails to teach the use of the claimed adhesion promoter.
Hempel discloses a primer composition which consists mainly of epoxy resin, which is applied to metal substrates, which also contains adhesion promoters. See page 11 which discloses:
Obviously, adhesion promoters are used to improve the adhesion of the resin material to the coated surface.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use/make the adhered copper substrate as disclosed in Ferrari and to have added the sulfur silanes of Hempel, to improve the adhesion of the resins in the Ferrari, as taught by Hempel.
Claim(s) 5,15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferrari et al-US 2011/0094656 in view of Van Ooij et al-WO 99/67444.
The disclosure of Ferrari above is applied here as such.
The Ferrari reference fails to disclose the use of the claimed adhesion promoter on the substrate before application of the adhesive.
Van Ooij discloses the prevention of corrosion of metals by the solvent application of bis-functional polysulfur silanes. Seen below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use/make the article of Ferrari and to pretreat the metal surfaces with the solution of Van Ooij to improve the corrosion resistance of those metal surfaces as taught by Van Ooij.
/RANDY P GULAKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1766