DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed 2/19/2026 has been received and entered into the record. As a result, claims 1 and 14 have been amended and claims 12 and 13 have been withdrawn. Therefore, claims 1-11 and 14 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 3, 4, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamane [U.S. Pub. 2017/0244575] in view of Belleschi et al. [U.S. Pub. 2018/0248658] ("Belleschi").
With regard to claim 1, Yamane teaches a remote monitoring system to monitor an operating state of an air-conditioner ("the management apparatus 110 receives the current status of the devices 1a to 1c from the devices 1a to 1c via the device communication interface 4 [par. 0019]" and "device 1a is an air-conditioner [par. 0042]" and [fig. 1]), the remote monitoring system comprising:
a storage device mounted on the air-conditioner or a remote monitoring apparatus to monitor the air-conditioner ("The management apparatus 110 includes … an operation history storage (storage) 6 [par. 0017]"), the storage device being configured to record the operating state for a first period of the air-conditioner ("When judging that a new operation has been performed based on the current status received from the device 1a, the management apparatus 110 updates the operation history (step S109) and saves the result in the operation history storage 6 [par. 0048]" and "operation history may, for example, be stored day by day or year by year [par. 00021]");
a communication control unit mounted on the air-conditioner or the remote monitoring apparatus ("The remote communication interface 5 is an interface for the management apparatus 110 and the server 120 to communicate [par. 0026]"), the communication control unit transmitting the operating state stored in the storage device ("During regular communication between the server 120 and the management apparatus 110, the management apparatus 110 transmits the operation history from the remote communication interface 5 [par. 0036]"); and
a server configured to communicate with the communication control unit over a network and to obtain the operating state from the storage device ("The remote communication interface 5 is an interface for the management apparatus 110 and the server 120 to communicate [par. 0026]" and "During regular communication between the server 120 and the management apparatus 110, the management apparatus 110 transmits the operation history from the remote communication interface 5 [par. 0036]"),
wherein the communication control unit is configured to
a) transmit to the server, when there is no missing portion in the operating state obtained by the server from the storage device until now, the operating state newly recorded in the storage device after previous transmission of the operating state ("The operation history may be transmitted by transmitting only the updated operation history or by transmitting the operation history for a certain past time period, including the updated operation history [par. 0037]" and "The management apparatus 110 communicates with the server 120 regularly, such as once per minute (step S102). With this regular communication as a trigger, the server 120 performs a response check, for example to acquire the status of the devices 1a to 1c from the management apparatus 110 (step S103), an operation history check to acquire the operation history stored by the management apparatus 110 (step S104) [par. 0046]"), and
b) transmit to the server("after one minute has passed since executing step S102, the management apparatus 110 communicates with the server 120 again (step S122). With this regular communication as a trigger, the server 120 again performs a response check, for example to acquire the state of the devices 1a to 1c from the management apparatus 110 (step S123), an operation history check to acquire the operation history stored by the management apparatus 110 (step S124) [par. 0059]").
Although Yamane teaches transmitting to the server, the operating state newly recorded after previous transmission and transmitting operating state history for a certain past period of time ("The operation history may be transmitted by transmitting only the updated operation history or by transmitting the operation history for a certain past time period, including the updated operation history [par. 0037]"),
Yamane does not explicitly teach wherein the communication control unit determines whether the server has obtained a complete operating state from the storage device or whether a missing portion of the operating state exists, and
to transmit, when it is determined that a missing portion in the operating state obtained by the server from the storage device exists, the missing portion that remains in the storage device.
In the same field of endeavor (transmitting data), Belleschi teaches wherein a communication control unit determines ("The modules can be implemented using software instructions such as a computer program executing in the network node 11 [par. 0100]")
whether a server has obtained a complete data from a storage device or
whether a missing portion of the data exists ("The failed reception can e.g. be detected by a DTX event 34 when the expected HARQ feedback is not received by the network node 11 [par. 0070]"), and
to transmit, when it is determined that a missing portion in the data obtained from a storage device exists, the missing portion that remains in the storage device ("Instead of only retransmitting the content of the transport block that failed to be received properly, a combination of old and new content is included in the retransmission, thereby reducing delay of new content SDUs [par. 0074]").
Belleschi further teaches, "Using this method of resegmentation, new packets of delay sensitive data, such as voice traffic or other real-time traffic, is transmitted sooner to the wireless device after a failed reception at the wireless device [par. 0073]."
Because Yamane teaches transmitting new and past data [par. 0037], and Belleschi teaches transmitting new and past (missing or failed) data [par. 0071], it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have included Belleschi's teachings of transmitting new and missing data with the teachings of Yamane, for the benefit of delivering new data sooner when providing the data that is missing.
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
With regard to claim 3, the combination above teaches the remote monitoring system according to claim 1. Yamane in the combination further teaches wherein the communication control unit is configured to transmit the operating state from the storage device to the server at time intervals shorter than the first period ("The management apparatus 110 communicates with the server 120 regularly, such as once per minute (step S102). With this regular communication as a trigger, the server 120 performs a response check, for example to acquire the status of the devices 1a to 1c from the management apparatus 110 [par. 0046]").
With regard to claim 4, the combination above teaches the remote monitoring system according to claim 1. Yamane in the combination further teaches wherein the communication control unit is configured to periodically transmit the operating state from the storage device to the server every second period shorter than the first period ("The management apparatus 110 communicates with the server 120 regularly, such as once per minute (step S102). With this regular communication as a trigger, the server 120 performs a response check, for example to acquire the status of the devices 1a to 1c from the management apparatus 110 [par. 0046]"), and
when the server fails in reception, in transmission of the operating state in a next second period, the communication control unit transmits the operating state together with the missing portion (Belleschi: "Instead of only retransmitting the content of the transport block that failed to be received properly, a combination of old and new content is included in the retransmission, thereby reducing delay of new content SDUs [par. 0074]").
With regard to claim 14, the combination above teaches claim 1. Claim 14 recites limitations having the same scope as those pertaining to claim 1; therefore, claim 14 is rejected along the same grounds as claim 1.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamane in view of Belleschi further in view of Lee et al. [U.S. Pub. 2017/0363311] ("Lee").
With regard to claim 2, the combination of Yamane Belleschi teaches the remote monitoring system according to claim 1. Yamane in the combination further teaches wherein the communication control unit is configured to transmit, in transmission of the newly recorded operating state to the server, ("after one minute has passed since executing step S102, the management apparatus 110 communicates with the server 120 again (step S122). With this regular communication as a trigger, the server 120 again performs a response check, for example to acquire the state of the devices 1a to 1c from the management apparatus 110 (step S123), an operation history check to acquire the operation history stored by the management apparatus 110 (step S124) [par. 0059];" where steps S123 occurs after steps S109, S113, and S121).
The combination does not explicitly teach difference data.
In an analogous art (air conditioner communication), Lee teaches difference data ("Only the difference between the periodic packet of the previous period and the periodic packet of the current period is transmitted between the indoor modem 135 and the outdoor modem 125. In this case, the amount of data transmitted between the indoor modem 135 and the outdoor modem 125 is reduced, thereby reducing the load of the communication line generated by the periodic packets [par. 0094]").
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have included the teachings of Lee, with the teachings of Yamane, for the benefit of reducing the amount of data transmitted.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamane in view of Belleschi further in view of Tanaka [U.S. Pub. 2015/0109636].
With regard to claim 5, the combination of Yamane and Belleschi teaches the remote monitoring system according to claim 4. Although Yamane in the combination teaches the server processing for periodically obtaining the operating state from the storage device ("The management apparatus 110 communicates with the server 120 regularly, such as once per minute (step S102). With this regular communication as a trigger, the server 120 performs a response check, for example to acquire the status of the devices 1a to 1c from the management apparatus 110 [par. 0046]"),
the combination does not explicitly teach wherein when the server receives an operation halt command from a user, the server stops processing for periodically obtaining the operating state from the storage device, and when the server receives an operation resumption command from the user, the server resumes the processing for periodically obtaining the operating state from the storage device.
In the same field of endeavor (data acquisition), Tanaka teaches wherein when an apparatus receives an operation halt command from a user, the apparatus stops processing for periodically obtaining the operating state from a storage device ("The management software periodically transmits a packet for confirming the status to the MFP, and recognizes the status of the MFP by referring to a response packet to the status confirmation packet [par. 0034]" and "When the user operates one of these buttons, the window is closed, and the process advances to the next step. Polling is continued if the YES button 801 is operated (polling continuation is designated), and stopped if the NO button 802 is operated (polling stop is designated). Note that it is also possible to temporarily stop polling until the user operates one of these buttons [par. 0073]"), and
when the apparatus receives an operation resumption command from the user, the apparatus resumes the processing for periodically obtaining the operating state from the storage device ("the polling control module 302 determines whether to continue polling. If the YES button 801 is operated in step S706, the polling control module 302 determines the continuation of polling [par. 0074]").
Tanaka further teaches, "That is, polling is continued unless a polling stop instruction is issued although there is no peripheral apparatus as a polling target in the network environment. This causes an unnecessary network traffic, or makes the information processing apparatus perform unnecessary processing [par. 0006]."
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have included Tanaka's teachings of halting and resuming, with the teachings of Yamane, for the benefit of avoiding unnecessary network traffic.
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamane in view of Belleschi further in view of Morita [U.S. Pub. 2015/0185742].
With regard to claim 7, the combination of Yamane and Belleschi teaches the remote monitoring system according to claim 1. Although Yamane in the combination teaches the server, the remote monitoring apparatus, and a user terminal [fig. 1], where the server starts processing for obtaining the operating state from the remote monitoring apparatus (as presented in claim 1 above),
the combination does not explicitly teach wherein in the server, the remote monitoring apparatus and the user terminal can be registered, and when a result of checking of information specific to the remote monitoring apparatus against information transmitted from the user terminal indicates matching, the server starts processing.
In an analogous art (air conditioning control), Morita teaches wherein in a server, a remote monitoring apparatus and a user terminal ("an air-conditioning controller 30, an access point 40, an operating terminal 50, and a server 60 [par. 0040]") can be registered ("the user US uses the camera function of the operating terminal 50. The user US captures the second image 82 displayed in the display unit 322 of the air-conditioning controller 30, thereby making the operating terminal 50 read the second image 82 (step D13). As a result, the operating terminal 50 acquires the setting information included in the second image 82, or in other words, information such as the server connection ID, the password, and the common key [par. 0068]"), and when a result of checking of information specific to the remote monitoring apparatus against information transmitted from the user terminal indicates matching, the server starts processing ("the operating terminal 50 connects to the first server 61 using the server connection ID and the password acquired at step D13 (step D14). As a result, the connection between the operating terminal 50 and the first server 61 is established [par. 0069]" and "the control unit 31 of the air-conditioning controller 30 collates the common key provided to the air-conditioning controller 30 itself and the common key provided to the operating terminal 50. When determined that the common keys match, the control unit 31 receives commands from the operation terminal 50 via the first server 61. In this way, the operating terminal 50 connects to the air-conditioning controller 30 via the first server 61, over the Internet 41 [par. 0070]").
Morita further teaches, "It is thus desired to provide an air-conditioning control system and a method for connecting a control device and an operating terminal in which, when an operating terminal and an air-conditioning controller serving a control device are connected via a server on the Internet, setting can be easily performed by omitting user operations related to the setting as much as possible [par. 0009]."
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have included Morita's teachings of registering a user terminal, with the teachings of Yamane, for the benefit of allowing the user to easily connect and operate the user device to control the air conditioning system.
With regard to claim 8, the combination above teaches the remote monitoring system according to claim 7. Morita in the combination further teaches wherein the remote monitoring apparatus includes a one-dimensional or two-dimensional bar code in which the information specific to an individual remote monitoring apparatus is recorded, the user terminal includes a camera to shoot the bar code and an operation portion to operate the remote monitoring apparatus ("the second image 82 is a two-dimensional code [par. 0065]" and "the user US uses the camera function of the operating terminal 50. The user US captures the second image 82 displayed in the display unit 322 of the air-conditioning controller 30, thereby making the operating terminal 50 read the second image 82 (step D13). As a result, the operating terminal 50 acquires the setting information included in the second image 82, or in other words, information such as the server connection ID, the password, and the common key [par. 0068]"), and when a result of checking of the information specific to the remote monitoring apparatus against information indicated by the bar code and transmitted from the user terminal indicates matching, the server starts processing for obtaining the operating state from the storage device ("the operating terminal 50 connects to the first server 61 using the server connection ID and the password acquired at step D13 (step D14). As a result, the connection between the operating terminal 50 and the first server 61 is established [par. 0069]" and "the control unit 31 of the air-conditioning controller 30 collates the common key provided to the air-conditioning controller 30 itself and the common key provided to the operating terminal 50. When determined that the common keys match, the control unit 31 receives commands from the operation terminal 50 via the first server 61. In this way, the operating terminal 50 connects to the air-conditioning controller 30 via the first server 61, over the Internet 41 [par. 0070];" where the processing for obtaining the operating state is taught by Yamane).
With regard to claim 9, the combination above teaches the remote monitoring system according to claim 8. Morita in the combination further teaches wherein when the result of checking indicates matching, the remote monitoring apparatus changes the operating state of the air-conditioner based on an operation onto the operation portion of the user terminal ("the operating terminal 50 connects to the first server 61 using the server connection ID and the password acquired at step D13 (step D14). As a result, the connection between the operating terminal 50 and the first server 61 is established [par. 0069]" and "the control unit 31 of the air-conditioning controller 30 collates the common key provided to the air-conditioning controller 30 itself and the common key provided to the operating terminal 50. When determined that the common keys match, the control unit 31 receives commands from the operation terminal 50 via the first server 61. In this way, the operating terminal 50 connects to the air-conditioning controller 30 via the first server 61, over the Internet 41 [par. 0070]").
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamane in view of Belleschi further in view of Miyahara [U.S. Pub. 2018/0087727].
With regard to claim 10, the combination of Yamane and Belleschi teaches the remote monitoring system according to claim 1. Although Yamane in the combination teaches wherein the remote monitoring apparatus includes a wireless communication module, the wireless communication module transmitting data requested from the server ("During regular communication between the server 120 and the management apparatus 110, the management apparatus 110 transmits the operation history from the remote communication interface 5 [par. 0036]"), the combination does not explicitly teach wherein the remote monitoring apparatus includes a housing made of metal, a power supply related circuit accommodated in the housing, a cover attached to the housing, the cover being made of resin, and the wireless communication module supplied with a power supply voltage from the power supply related circuit, and the wireless communication module is arranged on an outer side of the housing and on an inner side of the cover.
In the same field of endeavor (electronic housing), Miyahara teaches wherein an apparatus [figs. 1-2] includes a housing made of metal ("Main body 20 is, for example, made of metal [par. 0027]"), a power supply related circuit accommodated in the housing ("power supply 90 [par. 0019]"), a cover attached to the housing, the cover being made of resin ("resin cover 61, resin cover 62 [par. 0019]"), and a wireless communication module ("wireless communication unit 50 [par. 0019]") supplied with a power supply voltage from the power supply related circuit ("lighting apparatus 10 includes attaching component 71, attaching component 72, connector-equipped cable 34, connector-equipped cable 91, connector-equipped cable 92, power supply cable 94, and power supply plug 95 [par. 0019]"), and the wireless communication module is arranged on an outer side of the housing and on an inner side of the cover (see [fig. 2] where wireless communication unit 50 is arranged the side of apparatus 10 and within the inner side of covers 61 and 62).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have placed the remote monitoring apparatus as taught by Yamane, in a housing as taught by Miyahara, because the combination predictably uses prior art elements according to their established functions to yield a predictable result. That is, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that the remote monitoring apparatus of Yamane could be placed in various housings and that various different electronic apparatuses could be placed in Miyahara's housing. The result of the combination would allow Yamane's remote monitoring apparatus to be consolidated to a housing which provides the necessary components to allow the remote monitoring apparatus to function.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamane in view of Belleschi in view of Miyahara further in view of Chang [U.S. Pub. 2013/0050959].
With regard to claim 11, the combination of Yamane, Belleschi, and Miyahara teaches the remote monitoring system according to claim 10. Although Miyahara in the combination further teaches wherein the cover made of the resin is provided with a knock-out portion to allow passage of an (see [fig. 2] where cable 94 passes through resin cover 62),
the combination does not explicitly teach knock-out portion to allow passage of an antenna cable to be connected to the wireless communication module.
In the same field of endeavor (electronic housing), Chang teaches a knock-out portion to allow passage of an antenna cable to be connected to a wireless communication module ("a wireless transmission chip 12, an antenna connector 14, and a plurality of conductive terminals 15, wherein the wireless transmission chip 12, the antenna connector 14, and the plurality of conductive terminals 15 are electrically coupled to the printed circuit board 11 [par. 0021]" and "the casing 10 has a hole 102, and the connected circuit 161 is passed into the containing space of the casing 10 through the hole 102 to electrically couple the antenna connector 14 [par. 0023]").
Chang further teaches, "the external antenna 16 is installed outside the through slot 20 of the connector body 2 and provided for users to adjust the angle of the external antenna 16 freely …the users can change the transmitting strength of the wireless signal by using the pivot mechanism to adjust the angle of the external antenna [par. 0033]."
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have modified the teachings of Miyahara, to include Chang's teachings of a knock-out portion to allow passage of an antenna cable, for the benefit of allowing the housing to accommodate an external antenna capable of pivoting, allowing a user to adjust the strength of the wireless signals received and transmitted by the antenna.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments are summarized and responded to below:
Belleschi fails to teach or suggest storage of operating data, complete historical data at
the server, or selective or conditional transmission of missing data based on whether the server has received a complete operating history, as defined in the claimed invention [remarks page 10]
The examiner respectfully disagrees. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Yamane is relied upon to teach transmitting operating state stored in the storage device to a server. Belleschi is relied upon to teach determining whether data is missing and transmission of the missing data. It is the combination of Yamane and Belleschi that is relied upon to teach the pertinent limitations of claim 1. Additionally, the newly amended limitations, "wherein the communication control unit determines whether the server has obtained a complete operating state from the storage device or whether a missing portion of the operating state exists" is presented in the alternative. That is, the combination of Yamane and Belleschi teaches, "wherein the communication control unit determines … whether a missing portion of the operating state exists" thus meeting the claimed limitations.
One skilled in the art would not have been motivated to combine Yamana and Belleschi since they each address different technical problems at different system layers. More specifically, Yamane focuses on periodic reporting of operation history but does not address server-side gaps or failure recovery logic. Belleschi addresses radio level retransmission of failed payloads in a cellular network and does not contemplate application-level operating state synchronization or persistent storage [remarks page 10]
The examiner respectfully disagrees. A reference is analogous art to the claimed invention if (1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (even if it addresses a different problem); or (2) the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention). In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2004). In order for a reference to be "reasonably pertinent" to the problem, it must "logically would have commended itself to an inventor's attention in considering his problem." In re Icon Health and Fitness, Inc., 496 F.3d 1374, 1379-80 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (quoting In re Clay, 966 F.2d 656,659 (Fed. Cir. 1992)). Applicant's claimed invention generally relates to a remote monitoring apparatus and a network server. According to the instant application's specification, one of the issues sought to be addressed is transmission of operation data or the like in the case of a network failure [par. 0006]. Belleschi is reasonably pertinent to the problem of transmission of data in the case of a network failure by reducing transmission delay (see Belleschi [pars. 0065 and 0074]). Therefore, Belleschi is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention would have been motivated to combine Yamane and Belleschi as presented in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
While the prior art of record teaches storing the operating state of the air-conditioner periodically [Yamane], determine failure of transmission [Belleschi], and recording data including missing data from air conditioning operation [Nishida], the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest, alone or in combination, wherein the communication control unit causes the storage device to store the operating state of the air-conditioner periodically sent from the air-conditioner as an operation data file, when there is no response from the server at transmission timing to transmit the operation data file to the server, the communication control unit causes the storage device to store failure in transmission as transmission failure history information, in association with the operation data file transmission of which failed, and at next transmission timing, the communication control unit refers to the transmission failure history information to identify an operation data file that could not be transmitted and transmits the identified operation data file and a newly generated operation data file together, as recited in claim 6, in combination with the limitations as set forth in claim 1.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Machida [U.S. Pub. 2019/0334736] teaches an air conditioning system that retransmits packets upon communication failure.
Nishida et al. [U.S. Pub. 2018/0195755] teaches generating records of air conditioning operation data and accommodates missing data.
Ishizaka [U.S. Pub. 2010/0325270] teaches remote management of an air conditioning system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
VINCENT WEN-LIANG CHANG
Examiner
Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119