DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 16, 18-19, 23-25, 27-28, 32, 35-36, and 41-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0355639 (Anantha) in view of US 9,184,553 (Ozyilmaz).
For claim 1, Anantha teaches a carbon dioxide (CO2) laser configured to produce infrared radiation ([0008]) comprising :
an optical element comprising a structure having a substantially periodic pattern of features ([0029] refers to one or more alternating layers which present a periodic pattern of features), wherein a response of the optical element is configured to change upon receipt of a signal, wherein a Q-factor of the CO2 laser changes upon receipt of the signal ([0027], the optical element switches from absorptive to reflective in response to a temperature change; [0038] and fig. 1, 100).
Anantha does not teach the optical element comprises graphene where the optical element comprising graphene has a frequency selective structure having a substantially periodic pattern of features, wherein a frequency response is configured to change upon receipt of the signal.
However, Ozyilmaz teaches a Q-switching element (fig.4 and 5; col. 6, l. 1-11) comprising graphene (fig.4 and 5, graphene layers; col. 6, l. 1-11) where the optical element comprising graphene has a frequency selective structure (col. 10, l. 14-17 and claims 7-8) having a substantially periodic pattern of features (fig. 4, periodic layers or fig. 5, periodic array), wherein a frequency response is configured to change upon receipt of the signal (claims 7 and 8) in order to tune the resonant wavelength from pulse to pulse (claim 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Q-switching element of Ozyilmaz with the invention of Anantha in order to enable the device to tune the resonant wavelength from pulse to pulse.
For claim 16, Ozyilmaz teaches the signal comprises a bias voltage (fig. 4, V and claim 7).
For claim 18, Ozyilmaz teaches a reflectivity, a transmissivity and/or an absorptivity of the optical element changes across a range of frequencies of infrared electromagnetic radiation upon receipt of the signal (col. 10, l. 14-17 and claims 7-8).
For claim 19, Ozyilmaz teaches the optical element (fig. 4) comprises a switching component (fig. 4, V) operably coupled to the frequency selective structure (fig. 4, graphene PVFD layers) wherein the optical element comprises a signal
transmission component operably coupled to the switching component configured to receive the signal and transmit the signal to the switching component (fig. 4, connection between layers and V).
For claim 23, the combination does not explicitly teach an electric permittivity and/or a magnetic permeability of the optical element is configured to change upon receipt of the signal. However, the configuration of the combination is substantially similar to the claimed invention, and the device of the combination will have an electric permittivity and/or a magnetic permeability of the optical element is configured to change upon receipt of the signal based on the similar configuration.
Further, apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. The combination of the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim, and a change in the claimed change in the permittivity/permeability does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
For claim 24, the combination does not explicitly teach a conductivity and a resistivity of the optical element is configured to change upon receipt of the signal. However, the configuration of the combination is substantially similar to the claimed invention, and the device of the combination will have a conductivity and resistivity of the optical element configured to change upon receipt of the signal based on the similar configuration.
Further, apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. The combination of the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim, and a change in the claimed change in the conductivity and resistivity does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
For claim 25, Ozyilmaz teaches the substantially periodic pattern of features comprises an array of geometric features configured to at least partially determine the frequency response of the optical element (fig. 5a, circles, col. 6, l. 28-32), wherein the array comprises tuning elements configured to at least partially determine the frequency response of the optical element (fig. 5a, S and D).
For claim 27, the combination does not explicitly teach the substantially periodic pattern of features is configured to act as a polarizer. However, array of Ozyilmaz (fig. 5b) in the combination will inherently act as a polarizer due to the lines between S and D. Alternatively, the examiner takes official notice that configuring an array to act as a polarizer was well-known in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the array of the previous combination as a polarizer in order to generate polarized light.
For claim 28, Ozyilmaz teaches the optical element comprises a metamaterial (fig. 4, repeating layers of graphene and PVDF) wherein the frequency selective structure comprises a plurality of frequency selective layers configured to at least partially determine the frequency response of the optical element (fig. 4, repeating layers of graphene and PVDF).
For claim 32, Ozyilmaz teaches the signal is configured to: control a bias level of a switching component of the optical element (fig. 4, V); and,
control a timing between a laser output command of the CO2 laser and an initiation of Q-switching of the CO₂ laser (col. 5, 40-41, saturation speed).
For claim 35, Anantha and Ozyilmaz are applied according to the rejection of claim 1 above. The additional recitation in the preamble of claim 35 recites an intended use which does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention from the previous combination of Anantha and Ozyilmaz.
For claim 36, Anantha teaches a method of Q-switching a carbon dioxide (CO2) laser to produce infrared electromagnetic radiation comprising:
exciting a C02 gain medium of the C02 laser (fig. 3, 302; [0040]); and,
generating a signal (fig. 3, 304,IR radiation) to change a frequency response of a frequency selective structure (fig. 5, absorption response changes from 502 to 504; [0058]) and thereby produce a pulse of infrared electromagnetic radiation (fig. 3, 308; [0044]).
Anantha does not teach the optical element comprises graphene where the optical element comprising graphene has a frequency selective structure having a substantially periodic pattern of features, wherein a frequency response is configured to change upon receipt of the signal.
However, Ozyilmaz teaches a Q-switching element (fig.4 and 5; col. 6, l. 1-11) comprising graphene (fig.4 and 5, graphene layers; col. 6, l. 1-11) where the optical element comprising graphene has a frequency selective structure (col. 10, l. 14-17 and claims 7-8) having a substantially periodic pattern of features (fig. 4, periodic layers or fig. 5, periodic array), wherein a frequency response is configured to change upon receipt of the signal (claims 7 and 8) in order to tune the resonant wavelength from pulse to pulse (claim 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Q-switching element of Ozyilmaz with the invention of Anantha in order to enable the device to tune the resonant wavelength from pulse to pulse.
For claim 41, Ozyilmaz teaches the frequency selective structure is configured to selectively control optical loss within the laser cavity (col. 10, l. 13-15, tunable saturable absorber ).
For claim 42, Ozyilmaz teaches the frequency selective structure is configured to modify a reflectivity of the optical element (col. 10, l. 14-17 and claims 7-8, and col. 3, l. 45-49, saturable absorbing supplied by an optical element such as a mirror; and col. 10, l. 65 to col. 11, l. 4; fig. 9, 326).
For claim 43, Ozyilmaz teaches the substantially periodic pattern comprises an array of geometric features having a geometry selected to determine the frequency response of the optical element (fig. 5).
Claims 2 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0355639 (Anantha) in view of US 9,184,553 (Ozyilmaz) and US 2003/0161358 (Mueller).
For claim 2, Anantha teaches a laser cavity comprising a CO2 gain medium ([0020]). The previous combination does not teach a radio frequency excitation source configured to excite the CO₂ gain medium to produce infrared electromagnetic radiation; and a control system configured to: provide the signal to the optical element to Q-switch the CO2 laser: and provide a separate control signal to the radio frequency excitation source to excite the CO2 gain medium.
However, Mueller teaches a radio frequency excitation source configured to excite the CO₂ gain medium to produce infrared electromagnetic radiation (fig. 5-7, 60); and, a control system (fig. 5-7, 72) configured to: provide the signal to the optical element to Q-switch the CO2 laser (fig. 5-7, signal from 72 to 70): and provide a separate control signal to the radio frequency excitation source to excite the CO2 gain medium (fig. 5-7, signal from 72 to 60) in order to control the power supply and driver of the q-switch element ([0070]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the excitation source and controller of Mueller with the previous combination in order to control the power supply and driver of the q-switch element.
For claim 4, Anantha teaches the optical element forms part of a mirror of the CO2 laser ([0043]-[0044]). While Anantha does not specify the mirror is a rear mirror, Mueller teaches the Q-switching element may be used as the rear mirror (fig. 5, 20) a folding mirror (fig. 6, 20) or the output coupler (fig. 7, 20). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the optical switching element of the previous combination with the back mirror as taught by Mueller as a suitable location for the optical element of the previous combination.
For claim 5, Anantha teaches the optical element forms part of a mirror of the CO2 laser ([0043]-[0044]). The previous combination does not teach the CO2 laser has a folding mirror where the optical element is part of the folding mirror.
However, Mueller teaches a folding mirror allows multiple passes through the gain medium (fig. 6) and the Q-switching element may be used as the rear mirror (fig. 5, 20) a folding mirror (fig. 6, 20) or the output coupler (fig. 7, 20). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a folding mirror as taught by Mueller in order to allow multiple passes through the gain medium and the optical switching element of the previous combination with the folding mirror as taught by Mueller as a suitable location for the optical element of the previous combination.
For claim 6, Anantha teaches the optical element comprises silicon or GaAs ([0021], substrate). Ozyilmaz also teaches the saturable absorber may be provided on a substrate or mirror (col. 3, l. 45-48).
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0355639 (Anantha) in view of US 9,184,553 (Ozyilmaz) and US 2009/0110019 (Houde-Walter).
For claim 39, Anantha teaches a method comprising:
exciting a C02 gain medium of a C02 laser (fig. 3, 302; [0040]);
generating a signal (fig. 3, 302; [0040]) to Q-switch the C02 laser by changing a frequency response of a frequency selective structure of an optical element of the C02 laser (fig. 1, element 100, and fig. 5, absorption response changes from 502 to 504; [0058]) thereby producing a pulse of infrared electromagnetic radiation (fig. 3, 308; [0044]).
Anantha does not teach the optical element comprises graphene where the optical element comprising graphene has a frequency selective structure having a substantially periodic pattern of features, wherein a frequency response is configured to change upon receipt of the signal.
However, Ozyilmaz teaches a Q-switching element (fig.4 and 5; col. 6, l. 1-11) comprising graphene (fig.4 and 5, graphene layers; col. 6, l. 1-11) where the optical element comprising graphene has a frequency selective structure (col. 10, l. 14-17 and claims 7-8) having a substantially periodic pattern of features (fig. 4, periodic layers or fig. 5, periodic array), wherein a frequency response is configured to change upon receipt of the signal (claims 7 and 8) in order to tune the resonant wavelength from pulse to pulse (claim 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Q-switching element of Ozyilmaz with the invention of Anantha in order to enable the device to tune the resonant wavelength from pulse to pulse.
The combination of Anantha and Ozyilmaz does not teach directing the pulse of infrared electromagnetic radiation to a target (i.e. marking the target).
However, Houde-Walter teaches directing the electromagnetic radiation output of a CO2 laser radiation to a target in order to mark the target so that may be viewed by a thermal imager ([0005] and [0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to direct the pulse of infrared electromagnetic radiation (Anantha and Ozyilmaz) to a target as taught by Houde-Walter in order to mark the target so that may be viewed by a thermal imager.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: For claim 7 Anantha and Ozyilmaz represent the closest prior art while the individual elements of claim 7 are known neither Anantha and Ozyilmaz teach the particular combination of elements and there is no suggestion or motivation to modify the references to arrive at the particular combination of elements in claim 7.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7-9, filed 8/3/2026, with respect to rejections under 35 USC 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections under 35 USC 112 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 8/3/2026 with respect to 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues at page 10 that claim 1 requires 1) an optical element comprising graphene with a frequency selective structure, 2) a signal changing the frequency response and 3) a resulting change in the Q-factor. Applicant asserts that the proposed combination fails to meet the limitations. However, as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above, Ozyilmaz does teach 1) an optical element comprising graphene with a frequency selective structure (fig.4 and 5 and col. 10, l. 14-17 and claims 7-8; “wavelength tuning” illustrates the frequency selective nature of the graphene structure), 2) a signal changing the frequency response (claims 7 and 8; the resonance wavelength is changed by electro static gates) and 3) a resulting change in the Q-factor (c. 10, l. 18 recites q-switching). Applicant’s arguments are therefore not persuasive.
Applicant argues that claims 2, 4-7, 16, 18-19, 23, 27-28 and 32 are allowable due to their dependency on claim 1. However, since claim 1 is not deemed allowable, other claims cannot be allowable based solely on their dependency.
Regarding claim 23, applicant argues at page 11 that the assertion that the limitation is present due to the fact that the prior art is substantially similar is insufficient reasoning to establish a prima facia case of obviousness. However, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially which is addressed in a similar manner identical to that of the claims, as is the case in the rejection of claim 23 above, claimed properties are presumed to be inherent. The prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. However, the applicant provides no such evidence in the current response. See MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding claim 24, the applicant makes a similar argument to claim 23 which is addressed in a similar manner.
Regarding claim 25, the applicant asserts at page 14 that Ozyilmaz does not teach the geometric features of fig. 5 function as tuning elements. However, col. 6, l. 9-16 discuss tuning with the geometric features of fig. 5 as does col. 10, l. 1-5. As Ozyilmaz describes the geometric features used as tuning elements, hindsight reconstruction is not required.
Applicant argues that claims 35-36 and 39 are allowable due to their having similar features as claim 1. However, since claim 1 is not deemed allowable, other claims cannot be allowable based solely on their similar features.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michael Carter/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828