DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 08/28/2026 has been entered and accepted.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues regarding claim 1 that “The Office Action treats data packets, instruction sets, lasing recipes, and arrangements of vectors as interchangeable. Drouillard, however, describes these as distinct concepts serving different purposes. The cited sections of Drouillard do not disclose that the controllers generate the claimed laser marking vectors from received marking data (as recited in claim 1)” (Page 11 of applicant’s remarks filed 08/28/2026). Regarding claim 1, the term “configurable to” is functional claim language which covers all devices that are capable of performing the recited function. MPEP2144.IV. In this case, any controller which can be configured to receive data, perform processing, and output control signals would read upon the limitations. Furthermore, the receipt of data packets, generation of instruction sets, and laser receipts are taught by the prior art in a manner which reasonably anticipates the applicant’s claimed invention. Drouillard Paragraphs 48-50 teach that said data packets which are received include lasing instructions generated by a controller using signal data received from industrial components. Drouillard Paragraph 46 teaches that industrial components comprise sizers, graders, or other components that can send signals. Drouillard Paragraph 43 teaches that in a pre-processing section, said industrial components are used to generate information regarding the product such as a grade. Paragraph 58 teaches that the laser markings on the product include a product grade. Thus, Drouillard teaches at least of a controller configured to receive information including a product grade indicating information to be marked on the product. Drouillard Paragraph 48 teaches that controllers generate lasing instructions/recipes using signal data received from the industrial components. Drouillard Paragraph 46 teaches that lasing recipes include specifying an arrangement of vectors. Thus, Drouillard teaches at least of a controller which laser generates instructions/recipes which include laser marking vectors based upon the received data. Drouillard Paragraph 71 teaches sending generated instructions to a laser marking head. Thus, Drouillard teaches at least of a controller which sends generated instructions/recipes including laser marking vectors to a laser head such as to control said laser head. Drouillard Figures 2A-2B Paragraphs 46-49 teaches a plurality of embodiments wherein controllers are associated with their own respective individual laser marker for generating instructions and controlling said respective individual laser markers. Thus, Drouillard teaches a first and a second controller each associated with their own respective laser marking head for performing the claimed limitations.
The applicant further argues regarding claim 4 that the “cited disclosures concern lasing instructions and vector arrangements generally, not the claimed processing that produces separate sub-sets of laser marking vectors from corresponding portions of the received data” (Page 12 of applicant’s remarks filed 08/28/2026) and “Specifying an arrangement of vectors within a lasing recipe is fundamentally different from generating first and second sub-sets of laser marking vectors based on corresponding first and second sub-sets of data” (Page 13 of applicant’s remarks filed 08/28/2026). Applicant argues that producing multiple sub-sets of laser marking vectors is substantially different from generating laser receipt specifying an arrangement of vectors. However, generating a single laser recipe can reasonably be interpreted as generating a single sub-set of laser marking vectors. Drouillard Paragraph 3 teaches that the controller is configured to send a first instruction set to a first laser and a second instruction set to a second laser. Each of these instruction sets can reasonably be interpreted as a sub-set of the overall instructions, wherein each of the instruction sets contain laser marking vectors. Drouillard Paragraphs 46-49 additionally teaches that the apparatus can consist of a plurality of controllers wherein each laser marker is attributed a respective controller and wherein each said respective controller receives data including lasing instructions, which would include laser marking vectors. Thus, Drouillard reasonably teaches of generating, sending, and receiving lasing instructions containing lasing vectors for each individual laser markers. Drouillard Paragraphs 57-58 teach that the first laser marking can apply laser markings which are different in location or purpose from subsequent laser markings downstream from it. Drouillard Paragraph 3 teaches that a controller is configured to send a first instruction set to a first laser and a second laser set to a second laser. In Drouillard Figure 2B Paragraph 46, a master controller would receive data from the industrial components, determine the relevant data to be marked by the first marker and second marker, generate data for each of the markers, and provide the instructions to each of the local controllers associated with their respective laser markers. Drouillard Page 48 further teaches that each of the master controller and local controller includes an interface wherein an operator can modify instructions and recipe which can reasonably be interpreted as generating instructions/receipts based on the received data, since the modification is performed on existing data.
The applicant further argues regarding claim 2 that the “In claim 2, the first controller determines which laser marking vectors remain with the first controller and which laser marking vectors are provided to the second controller for subsequent marking operations. Thus, the claimed determination (as recited in claim 2) partitions generated laser marking vectors between controllers. By contrast, paragraph [0086] merely determines whether a slave device should process a previously generated command based on the slave device's assigned address. Paragraph [0086] does not determine which information is retained by one controller and which information is transferred to another controller, much less determine which generated laser marking vectors are retained and which generated laser marking vectors are provided to another controller” (Page 16 of applicant’s remarks filed 08/28/2026). However, under broadest reasonable interpretation, an entire data packet or plurality of data packets can reasonably be interpreted as a “subset of the laser marking vectors”. Under this interpretation, a plurality of “subset of the laser marking vector”, or plurality of data packets, comprise the “data indicating information to be marked on the product”, wherein each subset includes separate data packets including instructions for a particular controller and their respective laser marker. Under a daisy chain configuration, the first controller receives and determines which packets to retain and which packets to provide for the second controller. The paragraphs cited in the rejection provides evidence that the first controller receives, writes data, and determines when said packet should be provided to the next controller along the daisy chain. Thus, in the case that a first controller receives and retains a packet of data when it determines that the assigned address is within the range of the specified device address and passes the packet to the second controller when the address is outside of the range. Thus, under a daisy chain configuration, a master controller which generates vectors for a plurality of local controllers and which pushes the laser marking vectors down the daisy chain for the relevant controller to retain similar to that taught by Figure 2B. Paragraph 38 teaches that one or more lasers can be controlled directly by a master controller and thus under broadest reasonable interpretation, the master controller would send the relevant data directly to the first laser marker instead of a intermediate local controller, but pass the packet down the chain for the other lasers. It should be noted that under broadest reasonable interpretation, said master controller and local controller associated with the first laser marker can reasonably be interpreted in combination as a “first controller”. Drouillard Page 48 further teaches that each of the master controller and local controller includes an interface wherein an operator can modify instructions and recipe which can reasonably be interpreted as generating instructions/receipts based on the received data, since the modification is performed on existing data.
The applicant further argues regarding claim 3 that “Neither Drouillard nor Attarwala (alone or in combination) discloses or suggests that the second controller generates a second sub-set of the laser marking vectors based on the second sub-set of the data, as expressly required by claim 3” (Page 20 of applicant’s remarks filed 08/28/2026). Drouillard Paragraphs 57-58 teach that the first laser marking can apply laser markings which are different in location or purpose from subsequent laser markings downstream from it. Drouillard Paragraph 3 teaches that a controller is configured to send a first instruction set to a first laser and a second laser set to a second laser. Attarwala Paragraph 86 teaches that each slave device determines whether the assigned address is within the range of the specified device address and forwards the information to the next device if the address is not within the specified range. Drouillard Figure 2A Paragraphs 46-47 teach that a controller can reasonably be associated with each laser marker wherein each of the controllers receive data packets from the industrial components and generate an instruction or instruction set in response to such data for their associated laser marker. Thus, in a daisy chain configuration, the first controller can receive data packets from the industrial components when the assigned address is within the range of the specified device address and provide said packets to the second controller when it is not in the range, wherein the first controller and second controller each generate lasing instructions including vectors based on their respective retained data packets. The cited paragraphs further provides evidence that the first controller receives, write data, and determines when said packet should be provided to the next controller along the daisy chain. Drouillard Page 48 further teaches that each of the master controller and local controller includes an interface wherein an operator can modify instructions and recipe which can reasonably be interpreted as generating instructions/receipts based on the received data, since the modification is performed on existing data.
The applicant further argues regarding claim 5 that “the cited paragraph does not disclose that the first and second sub-sets of laser marking vectors are different” (Page 21 of applicant’s remarks filed 08/28/26). Drouillard Paragraph 78 teaches that the maximum and minimum vector length for the laser can be defined and/or selected in the GUI. Drouillard Claim 20 teaches that the graphic vector property of one instruction set is different from a graphic vector property of another instruction set. Drouillard Paragraph 57 teaches that one laser can be configured to apply laser markings in a raster manner over a larger 2-D area compared to another one. Drouillard Paragraph 58 teaches that a first laser can be configured to output a product grade while a second laser marking can include a product logo and/or brand name. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that at least some part of the first and second sub-sets of laser marking vectors instructions sent to the laser markers would be different, given that the first and second marking lasers are intended to mark shapes and symbols different from the other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 44, the term “the first sub-set of laser marking vectors and the second sub-set of laser marking vectors are mutually exclusive” is vague and unclear. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it unclear how a first-subset of laser marking vectors can exclude another set of marking vectors given that the existence of one set of vectors would not affect another subset. The applicant’s specifications and drawings filed 06/15/2023 further do not provide clarity on this issue. Figure 3A of the applicant’s drawings and Page 24 of the applicant’s specification does indicate that the first subset and second subset can form different characters. Thus, for purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted to mean that the first sub-set of laser marking vectors is different from the second sub-set of laser marking vectors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 11, 13, 37, 41, and 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by DROUILLARD (US 20200356076 A1).
Regarding claim 1, DROUILLARD (US 20200356076 A1) teaches a laser marking system (Figure 6) comprising:
first and second laser marking heads configured to mark a product (Figure 6 Paragraph 59, each of an array of 32 downward-facing CLL lasers is mounted to one of 4 laser mounting shafts, with each of eight unique 4 laser subset from the array of lasers being assigned to an associated conveyor lane, each laser from a given 4-laser subset being positioned at different a spatial/linear position along and adjacent to that conveyor lane such that each one of the lasers from the 4-laser subset is aimed at/aligned with and adjacent to that conveyor lane; Paragraph 3, lasers mark the product as it is conveyed along the conveyor); and,
a first controller associated with the first laser marking head and a second controller associated with the second laser marking head (Paragraph 48, each of the laser markers comprise a local controller which can receive data packets from a master controller; Paragraph 46, Each laser marker 222-1, 222-2 can receive, via its associated data input 222F, data packets from one or more industrial components 201), wherein the first and second controllers are configurable to1:
receive data indicating information to be marked on the product (Paragraph 48, each of the laser markers comprise a local controller which can receive data packets from a master controller);
generate laser marking vectors based upon the received data (Paragraph 38, laser marking performed by the lasers under the control of a laser controller that can generate instruction sets and dynamically adjust the data input received from equipment upstream of the conveyor; Paragraph 38, said instruction sets include changing the laser markings and associated instruction sets such that when the product arrives at the laser the marking will be adjusted; Paragraph 46, lasing recipes include specifying an arrangement of vectors); and,
control their associated laser marking head based on the laser marking vectors (Figure 10 Paragraph 72, an update is sent to each associated laser from the plurality of lasers and during the operation of the plurality of lasers such that at least lasing parameter of the laser is adjusted).
Regarding claim 4, DROUILLARD teaches the laser marking system of claim 1,
wherein the first controller (Figure 2B Paragraph 48, master controller 200 can be interpreted as the first controller under a different embodiment wherein local controller 222E of the second laser marker is configured as the second controller; Figure 2B, master controller 200 and/or master controller 200 and local controller 222E associated with laser marker 222-1) is configured to:
receive the data indicating information to be marked on the product (Paragraph 48, master controller receives signal data from industrial components 201);
determine a first sub-set of the data to be marked by the first laser marking head and a second sub-set of the data to be marked by the second laser marking head (Paragraph 48, each of the local controllers 222E can receive data packets from the centralized/common master controller 200, the data packets including lasing instructions generated by the master controller 200 using signal data received from industrial components);
generate a first sub-set of the laser marking vectors based on the first sub-set of the data and generate a second sub-set of the laser marking vectors based on the second sub-set of the data (Paragraph 48, master controller 200 generates the data packets including lasing instructions generated by the master controller 200 using signal data received from industrial components for each of the local controllers; Paragraph 46, lasing recipes include specifying an arrangement of vectors),
control the first laser marking head at least partially based on the first sub-set of laser marking vectors (Paragraph 38, instruction set for the laser is modified such that the laser marking will include the desired text when the product arrives at the laser); and
provide the second sub-set of the laser marking vectors to the second controller (Paragraph 48, each of the local controllers 222E can receive data packets from the centralized/common master controller 200, the data packets including lasing instructions generated by the master controller 200 using signal data received from industrial components),
wherein the second controller (Figure 2B, local controller 222E associated with laser marker 222-2) is configured to control the second laser marking head at least partially based on the second sub-set of the laser marking vectors (Paragraph 72, step 1008 wherein updates are sent to each associate laser from a plurality of lasers wherein during operation of the plurality of lasers, such that at least one lasing parameter of that laser is adjusted; Paragraph 38, instruction set for the laser is modified such that the laser marking will include the desired text when the product arrives at the laser).
Regarding claim 6, DROUILLARD teaches the laser marking system of claim 1,
wherein the first controller (Figure 2B Paragraph 48, master controller 200 can be interpreted as the first controller under a different embodiment wherein local controller 222E of the second laser marker is configured as the second controller) is configured to:
generate a third sub-set of the data indicating information to be marked on the product (Paragraph 48, master controller 200 generates the data packets including lasing instructions generated by the master controller 200 using signal data received from industrial components for each of the local controllers; Paragraph 38, modify laser markings to include desired text);
generate a third sub-set of the laser marking vectors based on the third sub-set of data (Paragraph 48, master controller 200 generates the data packets including lasing instructions generated by the master controller 200 using signal data received from industrial components for each of the local controllers; Paragraph 46, lasing recipes include specifying an arrangement of vectors); and,
provide the third sub-set of laser marking vectors to the second controller (Paragraph 48, each of the local controllers 222E can receive data packets from the centralized/common master controller 200, the data packets including lasing instructions generated by the master controller 200 using signal data received from industrial components),
wherein the second controller is configured to control the second laser marking head at least partially based on the third sub-set of the laser marking vectors (Paragraph 72, step 1008 wherein updates are sent to each associate laser from a plurality of lasers wherein during operation of the plurality of lasers, such that at least one lasing parameter of that laser is adjusted; Paragraph 38, instruction set for the laser is modified such that the laser marking will include the desired text when the product arrives at the laser), wherein the third sub-set of data indicates dynamic information to be marked on the product (Paragraph 38, sizer upstream determines grade data wherein the laser markings will include grade text; grade text changes between products based on the grade of the product and thus is dynamic), and wherein the third sub-set of laser marking vectors is static (Paragraph 48, memory of each laser marker stores instructions to cause a predetermined pattern to be lased onto a surface of a product that is disposed; Paragraph 58, product logo and brand name are all static markings which do not change between products and thus the vectors are static as well).
Regarding claim 11, DROUILLARD teaches the laser marking system of claim 1, comprising a first detector configured to detect a position of the product relative to the first laser marking head and output a first detector signal indicative of the position (Paragraph 38, grade data and associated position data of the associated products can be transmitted from a detector positioned upstream to a master controller), wherein the second controller is configured to receive the first detector signal and control the second laser marking head at least partially based on the first detector signal (Paragraph 38, grade data of the associated products can be transmitted to a master controller which modifies an instruction set such that when the first product arrives at the laser the laser marking will include the text grade).
Regarding claim 13, DROUILLARD teaches the laser marking system of claim 1, comprising a holder (Paragraph 56, laser mounting shafts) configured to support the first and second laser marking heads in pre-determined positions relative to the holder (Paragraph 56, each of the downward facing lasers are each mounted to a different one of 4 laser mounting shafts are positioned at different spatial positions along and adjacent to a different conveyor).
Regarding claim 37, DROUILLARD (US 20200356076 A1) teaches a method of laser marking a product comprising:
receiving data indicating information to be marked on the product (Paragraph 48, each of the laser markers comprise a local controller which can receive data packets from a master controller);
generating laser marking vectors based upon the received data (Paragraph 38, laser marking performed by the lasers under the control of a laser controller that can generate instruction sets and dynamically adjust the data input received from equipment upstream of the conveyor; Paragraph 38, said instruction sets include changing the laser markings and associated instruction sets such that when the product arrives at the laser the marking will be adjusted; Paragraph 46, lasing recipes include specifying an arrangement of vectors);
using a first controller to control a first laser marking head based on the laser marking vectors to mark the product (Paragraph 48, each of the laser markers comprise a local controller which can receive data packets from a master controller; Paragraph 46, Each laser marker 222-1, 222-2 can receive, via its associated data input 222F, data packets from one or more industrial components 201; Figure 10 Paragraph 72, an update is sent to each associated laser from the plurality of lasers and during the operation of the plurality of lasers such that at least lasing parameter of the laser is adjusted); and,
using a second controller to control a second laser marking head based on the laser marking vectors to mark the product (Paragraph 48, each of the laser markers comprise a local controller which can receive data packets from a master controller; Paragraph 46, Each laser marker 222-1, 222-2 can receive, via its associated data input 222F, data packets from one or more industrial components 201; Figure 10 Paragraph 72, an update is sent to each associated laser from the plurality of lasers and during the operation of the plurality of lasers such that at least lasing parameter of the laser is adjusted).
Regarding claim 41, DROUILLARD teaches the method of claim 37, comprising:
using the first controller to generate a third sub-set of the data indicating information to be marked on the product (Paragraph 48, master controller 200 generates the data packets including lasing instructions generated by the master controller 200 using signal data received from industrial components for each of the local controllers; Paragraph 38, modify laser markings to include desired text);
using the first controller to generate a third sub-set of the laser marking vectors based on the third sub-set of data (Paragraph 48, master controller 200 generates the data packets including lasing instructions generated by the master controller 200 using signal data received from industrial components for each of the local controllers; Paragraph 46, lasing recipes include specifying an arrangement of vectors);
providing the third sub-set of laser marking vectors to the second controller (Paragraph 48, each of the local controllers 222E can receive data packets from the centralized/common master controller 200, the data packets including lasing instructions generated by the master controller 200 using signal data received from industrial components); and,
using the second controller to control the second laser marking head at least partially based on the third sub-set of the laser marking vectors (Paragraph 72, step 1008 wherein updates are sent to each associate laser from a plurality of lasers wherein during operation of the plurality of lasers, such that at least one lasing parameter of that laser is adjusted; Paragraph 38, instruction set for the laser is modified such that the laser marking will include the desired text when the product arrives at the laser), wherein the third sub-set of data indicates dynamic information to be marked on the product (Paragraph 38, sizer upstream determines grade data wherein the laser markings will include grade text; grade text changes between products based on the grade of the product and thus is dynamic), and wherein the third sub-set of laser marking vectors is static (Paragraph 48, memory of each laser marker stores instructions to cause a predetermined pattern to be lased onto a surface of a product that is disposed; Paragraph 58, product logo and brand name are all static markings which do not change between products and thus the vectors are static as well).
Regarding claim 43, DROUILLARD teaches the method of claim 1, wherein
each of the laser marking vector defines a geometric path followed by a laser beam during marking (Paragraph 12, each instruction set includes instructions to lase a predetermined pattern onto food product when the food product is conveyed; Paragraph 46, lasing recipes include specifying an arrangement of vectors; vectors have a magnitude and a direction which defines a geometric path which are specified and followed by the laser to lase a predetermined pattern onto the food product).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DROUILLARD (US 20200356076 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Attarwala (US 20160205066 A1).
Regarding claim 2, DROUILLARD teaches the laser marking system of claim 1,
wherein the first controller (Figure 2B, master controller 200 and/or master controller 200 and local controller 222E associated with laser marker 222-1) is configured to:
receive the data indicating information to be marked on the product (Paragraph 38, a sizer upstream from the laser determines that a first orange being conveyed down the lane and associated position data of the associated products is transmitted to a master controller for the laser which modifies an instruction set);
generate the laser marking vectors based on the data (Paragraph 38, controller for the laser modifies an instruction set based on the received information; Paragraph 46, lasing recipes include specifying an arrangement of vectors);
control the first laser marking head at least partially based on the first subset of the laser marking vectors (Paragraph 38, instruction set for the laser is modified such that the laser marking will include the desired text when the product arrives at the laser);
wherein the second controller (local controller 222E associated with laser marker 222-2) is configured to control the second laser marking head at least partially based on the second sub-set of the laser marking vectors (Paragraph 72, step 1008 wherein updates are sent to each associate laser from a plurality of lasers wherein during operation of the plurality of lasers, such that at least one lasing parameter of that laser is adjusted; Paragraph 38, instruction set for the laser is modified such that the laser marking will include the desired text when the product arrives at the laser; Figure 2B Paragraph 48, master controller generates instructions which are sent to the local controllers associated with each respective marking head).
DROUILLARD fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the first controller is configured to:
determine a first sub-set of the laser marking vectors to retain and a second sub- set of the laser marking vectors to provide to the second controller;
provide the second sub-set of the laser marking vectors to the second controller
Attarwala (US 20160205066 A1) teaches a unique device address assignment technique, wherein:
the first controller (slave device) is configured to:
determine a first sub-set of the laser marking vectors to retain (Paragraph 86, each slave device processes the command to determine if its assigned address is within range of the specified device address; Paragraphs 83-84, slave device receives the write command and processes the write command when the device address specified in the command byte matches the device address assigned to said slave device; Paragraph 84, multiple register pointer bytes and multiple data bytes can be included in each write command; Paragraph 49, memory register pointer byte can be a register located at a single slave device; said data bytes can reasonably include a first sub-set of laser marking vectors assigned to a particular register of a particular slave device) and a second sub-set of the laser marking vectors to provide to the second controller (Paragraph 83, slave devices read the command and forwards the write command to downstream slave devices; slave device determines a write command which includes data byte information and forwards it to the next slave device wherein said command can reasonably include a second sub-set of laser marking vectors);
provide the second sub-set of the laser marking vectors to the second controller (Paragraph 83, slave devices read the command and forwards the write command to downstream slave devices which could reasonably include a second sub-set of laser marking vectors)
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified DROUILLARD with Attarwala and have the controllers be connected in a daisy chain configuration. This would have been done such that each device can easily determine its relative position from the host controller and any other device in the network (Attarwala Paragraph 87).
Regarding claim 3, DROUILLARD teaches the laser marking system of claim 1,
wherein the first controller (Figure 2A, master controller 222E associated with laser marker 222-1) is configured to:
receive the data indicating information to be marked on the product (Paragraph 38, a sizer upstream from the laser determines that a first orange being conveyed down the lane and associated position data of the associated products is transmitted to a master controller for the laser which modifies an instruction set);
generate a first sub-set of the laser marking vectors based on the first sub-set of data (Paragraph 38, controller for the laser modifies an instruction set based on the received information; Paragraph 46, lasing recipes include specifying an arrangement of vectors);
control the first laser marking head at least partially based on the first sub-set of the laser marking vectors (Paragraph 38, instruction set for the laser is modified such that the laser marking will include the desired text when the product arrives at the laser);
wherein the second controller (Figure 2A, master controller 222E associated with laser marker 222-2) is configured to:
generate a second sub-set of the laser marking vectors based on the second sub-set of the data (Paragraph 38, controller for the laser modifies an instruction set based on the received information; Paragraph 46, lasing recipes include specifying an arrangement of vectors); and,
control the second laser marking head at least partially based on the second sub- set of the laser marking vectors (Paragraph 72, step 1008 wherein updates are sent to each associate laser from a plurality of lasers wherein during operation of the plurality of lasers, such that at least one lasing parameter of that laser is adjusted; Paragraph 38, instruction set for the laser is modified such that the laser marking will include the desired text when the product arrives at the laser).
DROUILLARD fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the first controller is configured to:
determine a first sub-set of the data to retain and a second sub-set of the data to provide to the second controller;
provide the second sub-set of the data to the second controller,
Attarwala (US 20160205066 A1) teaches a unique device address assignment technique, wherein:
wherein the first controller (slave device) is configured to:
determine a first sub-set of the data to retain (Paragraph 86, each slave device processes the command to determine if its assigned address is within range of the specified device address; Paragraphs 83-84, slave device receives the write command and processes the write command when the device address specified in the command byte matches the device address assigned to said slave device; Paragraph 84, multiple register pointer bytes and multiple data bytes can be included in each write command; Paragraph 49, memory register pointer byte can be a register located at a single slave device; said data bytes can reasonably include a first sub-set of laser marking vectors assigned to a particular register of a particular slave device) and a second sub-set of the data to provide to the second controller (Paragraph 83, slave devices read the command and forwards the write command to downstream slave devices; slave device determines a write command which includes data byte information and forwards it to the next slave device wherein said command can reasonably include a second sub-set of laser marking vectors);
provide the second sub-set of the data to the second controller (Paragraph 83, slave devices read the command and forwards the write command to downstream slave devices which could reasonably include a second sub-set of laser marking vectors),
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified DROUILLARD with Attarwala and have the controllers be connected in a daisy chain configuration with the industrial components. This would have been done such that each device can easily determine its relative position from the host controller and any other device in the network (Attarwala Paragraph 87).
Regarding claim 5, DROUILLARD teaches the laser marking system of claim 2, wherein
the first and second sub-sets of laser marking vectors are different (Paragraph 58, first laser marking of the first laser of the lasers include a product grade while a second laser marking of the second laser of the lasers include a product logo and/or brand name).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DROUILLARD (US 20200356076 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Armbruster (US 20140247316 A1).
Regarding claim 8, DROUILLARD teaches the laser marking system of claim 1.
DROUILLARD fails to teach:
wherein the first and second laser marking heads are arranged such that their marking fields at least partially overlap.
Armbruster (US 20140247316 A1) teaches a marking apparatus, wherein:
the first and second laser marking heads are arranged such that their marking fields at least partially overlap (Paragraph 33, laser beams can be directed at a common spot such that they overlap)
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified DROUILLARD with Armbruster and have the marking fields at least partially overlap. This would have been done such that power can be combined from both lasers to form a common spot (Armbruster Paragraph 33).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DROUILLARD (US 20200356076 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Florez (US 20230166529 A1).
Regarding claim 12, DROUILLARD teaches the laser marking system of claim 1.
DROUILLARD fails to teach:
comprising a second detector configured to detect a previously marked position on the product and output a second detector signal indicative of the previously marked position, wherein at least one of the first and second controllers is configured to receive the second detector signal and use the second detector signal to determine a subsequent marking position on the product.
Florez (US 20230166529 A1) teaches a marking method and marked receptable, comprising:
a second detector configured to detect a previously marked position on the product and output a second detector signal indicative of the previously marked position (Paragraph 32, first camera and second camera positioned on both sides of the receptacle), wherein at least one of the first and second controllers is configured to receive the second detector signal and use the second detector signal to determine a subsequent marking position on the product (Paragraph 32, first and second laser beams is controlled by the two independent cameras such as to ensure that each surface region is marked with its respective pattern; Figure 5 Paragraph 92, each successive laser-marked dot in each line is connected to one another in an overlap zone; using the cameras to control the processing would involve using previously marked positions to control subsequent markings to ensure that the pattern is within a certain tolerance).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified DROUILLARD with Florez and have the cameras control the marking pattern on the product. This would have been done to ensure that the markings are within a certain tolerance (Florez Paragraph 32).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DROUILLARD (US 20200356076 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mabee (US 20150273641 A1).
Regarding claim 19, DROUILLARD teaches the laser marking system of claim 1.
DROUILLARD fails to teach:
comprising a shielding apparatus configured to house at least one of the first and second laser marking heads, wherein the shielding apparatus comprises:
an external shielding portion configured to selectively allow physical objects to pass through the shielding apparatus; and,
an internal shielding portion configured to prevent at least some laser radiation from exiting the shielding apparatus.
Mabee (US 20150273641 A1) teaches a laser workstation with endless loop conveyor, comprising:
a shielding apparatus configured to house at least one of the first and second laser marking heads (Paragraphs 39-40, enclosure 52 is configured to house a laser workstation; Paragraph 25, unprocessed first workpiece is delivered to the laser workstation and subjected to laser processing by a laser robot 24), wherein the shielding apparatus comprises:
an external shielding portion configured to selectively allow physical objects to pass through the shielding apparatus (Paragraph 40, laser processing unit 10 further includes movable doors for respectively closing the openings of the wall sections of the enclosure 52); and,
an internal shielding portion configured to prevent at least some laser radiation from exiting the shielding apparatus (Figure 1 Paragraph 40, doors are in a closed position during laser processing with prevents the laser light from escaping the enclosure in combination with the walls of the enclosure).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified DROUILLARD with Mabee and have the laser marking head be located within an enclosure. This would have been done to prevent laser light from escaping during the laser processing (Mabee Paragraph 40).
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DROUILLARD (US 20200356076 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Attarwala (US 20160205066 A1) and Clement (US 5653900 A).
Regarding claim 25, DROUILLARD teaches the laser marking system of claim 1,
a laser marking head sequence for sequential marking of the product (Paragraph 56, lasers 1-4 will apply a laser marking to the product sequentially)
wherein the laser marking system comprises a fourth detector configured to detect a position of the product and output a fourth detector signal indicative of the position of the product (Paragraph 38, grade data and associated position data of the associated products can be transmitted from a detector positioned upstream to a master controller),
wherein the first controller is configured to:
receive the data indicating information to be marked on the product (Paragraph 48, each of the laser markers comprise a local controller which can receive data packets from a master controller);
generate a portion of the laser marking vectors based upon the received data (Paragraph 38, laser marking performed by the lasers under the control of a laser controller that can generate instruction sets and dynamically adjust the data input received from equipment upstream of the conveyor; Paragraph 38, said instruction sets include changing the laser markings and associated instruction sets such that when the product arrives at the laser the marking will be adjusted; Paragraph 46, lasing recipes include specifying an arrangement of vectors),
control the first laser marking head based on the generated portion of laser marking vectors and fourth detector signal (Figure 10 Paragraph 72, an update is sent to each associated laser from the plurality of lasers and during the operation of the plurality of lasers such that at least lasing parameter of the laser is adjusted; Paragraph 38, associated position data and grade data is transmitted which modifies an instruction set such that the product will receive the desired laser markings); and,
wherein the second controller is configured to:
generate remaining laser marking vectors based upon the received signal (Paragraph 48, each of the local controllers 222E can receive data packets from the centralized/common master controller 200, the data packets including lasing instructions generated by the master controller 200 using signal data received from industrial components); and,
control the second laser marking head based on the remaining laser marking vectors and the fourth detector signal (Paragraph 72, step 1008 wherein updates are sent to each associate laser from a plurality of lasers wherein during operation of the plurality of lasers, such that at least one lasing parameter of that laser is adjusted; Paragraph 38, instruction set for the laser is modified such that the laser marking will include the desired text when the product arrives at the laser).
DROUILLARD fails to teach:
wherein the first and second laser marking heads are daisy-chained,
wherein the laser marking system comprises a fourth detector configured to detect a position of the product relative to a marking field of the first laser head and output a fourth detector signal indicative of the position of the product relative to the marking field of the first laser marking head
produce an output signal indicative of a remaining portion of the data indicative of information to be marked on the product, wherein the second controller is configured to:
receive the output signal indicative of the remaining portion of the data,
Attarwala (US 20160205066 A1) teaches a unique device address assignment technique, wherein:
wherein the first and second laser marking heads are daisy-chained (Paragraph 5, host controller and multiple slave devices are connected in a daisy chain configuration),
first controller produces an output signal indicative of a remaining portion of the data indicative of information to be marked on the product (Paragraph 83, slave devices read the command and forwards the write command to downstream slave devices; slave device determines a write command which includes data byte information and forwards it to the next slave device wherein said command can reasonably include a second sub-set of laser marking vectors), wherein the second controller is configured to:
receive the output signal indicative of the remaining portion of the data (Paragraph 83, slave devices read the command and forwards the write command to downstream slave devices which could reasonably include a second sub-set of laser marking vectors),
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified DROUILLARD with Attarwala and have the controllers be connected in a daisy chain configuration. This would have been done such that each device can easily determine its relative position from the host controller and any other device in the network (Attarwala Paragraph 87).
DROUILLARD modified with Attarwala fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the laser marking system comprises a fourth detector configured to detect a position of the product relative to a marking field of the first laser head and output a fourth detector signal indicative of the position of the product relative to the marking field of the first laser marking head
Clement (US 5653900 A) teaches a dynamic laser marking apparatus, wherein:
wherein the laser marking system comprises a fourth detector (Figure 2, sensing module 12 comprises opto-detectors 32 and 34) configured to detect a position of the product relative to a marking field of the first laser head and output a fourth detector signal indicative of the position of the product relative to the marking field of the first laser marking head (Column 5 Lines 6-26, sensing module 12 detects a position of the moving body on the conveyor belt; Column 8 Lines 53-54, sensing module 12 and marking apparatus are at a known distance from each other; Column 8 Line 66 – Column 9 Line 7, the estimated time of arrival of the body into the marking field of the marking apparatus can be estimated based on the sensing module)
control the first laser marking head based on the fourth detector signal (Column 9 Lines 8-32, laser marking is performed and controlled as a result of the estimated time calculated from the sensing module 12)
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified DROUILLARD with Clement and have a detector detect the position of the product relative to the marking field of the laser head. This would have been done determine when to begin the laser marking (Clement Column 9 Lines 8-32).
Claim(s) 38-40 and 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DROUILLARD (US 20200356076 A1) as applied to claim 37 above, and further in view of Attarwala (US 20160205066 A1).
Regarding claim 38, DROUILLARD teaches the method of claim 37, comprising:
using the first controller (Figure 2B, master controller 200 and/or master controller 200 and local controller 222E associated with laser marker 222-1) to generate the laser marking vectors based on the data (Paragraph 38, controller for the laser modifies an instruction set based on the received information; Paragraph 46, lasing recipes include specifying an arrangement of vectors);
using the first controller to control the first laser marking head at least partially based on the first sub-set of the laser marking vectors (Paragraph 38, instruction set for the laser is modified such that the laser marking will include the desired text when the product arrives at the laser);
using the second controller (local controller 222E associated with laser marker 222-2) to control the second laser marking head at least partially based on the second sub-set of the laser marking vectors (Paragraph 72, step 1008 wherein updates are sent to each associate laser from a plurality of lasers wherein during operation of the plurality of lasers, such that at least one lasing parameter of that laser is adjusted; Paragraph 38, instruction set for the laser is modified such that the laser marking will include the desired text when the product arrives at the laser).
DROUILLARD fails to teach:
determining a first sub-set of the laser marking vectors to retain for the first controller and a second sub-set of the laser marking vectors to provide to the second controller;
providing the second sub-set of the laser marking vectors to the second controller; and,
Attarwala (US 20160205066 A1) teaches a unique device address assignment technique, wherein:
determining a first sub-set of the laser marking vectors to retain for the first controller (Paragraph 86, each slave device processes the command to determine if its assigned address is within range of the specified device address; Paragraphs 83-84, slave device receives the write command and processes the write command when the device address specified in the command byte matches the device address assigned to said slave device; Paragraph 84, multiple register pointer bytes and multiple data bytes can be included in each write command; Paragraph 49, memory register pointer byte can be a register located at a single slave device; said data bytes can reasonably include a first sub-set of laser marking vectors assigned to a particular register of a particular slave device) and a second sub-set of the laser marking vectors to provide to the second controller (Paragraph 83, slave devices read the command and forwards the write command to downstream slave devices; slave device determines a write command which includes data byte information and forwards it to the next slave device wherein said command can reasonably include a second sub-set of laser marking vectors);
providing the second sub-set of the laser marking vectors to the second controller (Paragraph 83, slave devices read the command and forwards the write command to downstream slave devices which could reasonably include a second sub-set of laser marking vectors);
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified DROUILLARD with Attarwala and have the controllers be connected in a daisy chain configuration. This would have been done such that each device can easily determine its relative position from the host controller and any other device in the network (Attarwala Paragraph 87).
Regarding claim 39, DROUILLARD teaches the method of claim 37, comprising:
using the first controller (Figure 2A, master controller 222E associated with laser marker 222-1) to generate a first sub-set of the laser marking vectors based on the first sub-set of the data (Paragraph 48, master controller 200 generates the data packets including lasing instructions generated by the master controller 200 using signal data received from industrial components for each of the local controllers; Paragraph 46, lasing recipes include specifying an arrangement of vectors);
using the first controller to control the first laser marking head at least partially based on the first sub-set of the laser marking vectors (Paragraph 38, instruction set for the laser is modified such that the laser marking will include the desired text when the product arrives at the laser);
using the second controller (Figure 2A, master controller 222E associated with laser marker 222-2) to generate a second sub-set of the laser marking vectors based on the second sub-set of the data (Paragraph 48, master controller 200 generates the data packets including lasing instructions generated by the master controller 200 using signal data received from industrial components for each of the local controllers; Paragraph 46, lasing recipes include specifying an arrangement of vectors); and,
using the second controller to control the second laser marking head at least partially based on the second sub-set of the laser marking vectors (Paragraph 72, step 1008 wherein updates are sent to each associate laser from a plurality of lasers wherein during operation of the plurality of lasers, such that at least one lasing parameter of that laser is adjusted; Paragraph 38, instruction set for the laser is modified such that the laser marking will include the desired text when the product arrives at the laser).
DROUILLARD fails to teach:
determining a first sub-set of the data to retain for the first controller and a second sub-set of the data to provide to the second controller;
providing the second sub-set of the data to the second controller;
Attarwala (US 20160205066 A1) teaches a unique device address assignment technique, wherein:
determining a first sub-set of the data to retain for the first controller (Paragraph 86, each slave device processes the command to determine if its assigned address is within range of the specified device address; Paragraphs 83-84, slave device receives the write command and processes the write command when the device address specified in the command byte matches the device address assigned to said slave device; Paragraph 84, multiple register pointer bytes and multiple data bytes can be included in each write command; Paragraph 49, memory register pointer byte can be a register located at a single slave device; said data bytes can reasonably include a first sub-set of laser marking vectors assigned to a particular register of a particular slave device) and a second sub-set of the data to provide to the second controller (Paragraph 83, slave devices read the command and forwards the write command to downstream slave devices; slave device determines a write command which includes data byte information and forwards it to the next slave device wherein said command can reasonably include a second sub-set of laser marking vectors);
providing the second sub-set of the data to the second controller (Paragraph 83, slave devices read the command and forwards the write command to downstream slave devices which could reasonably include a second sub-set of laser marking vectors)
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified DROUILLARD with Attarwala and have the controllers be connected in a daisy chain configuration. This would have been done such that each device can easily determine its relative position from the host controller and any other device in the network (Attarwala Paragraph 87).
Regarding claim 40, DROUILLARD teaches the method of claim 37, comprising:
using the first controller (Figure 2B, master controller 200 and/or master controller 200 and local controller 222E associated with laser marker 222-1) to generate a first sub-set of the laser marking vectors based on the first sub-set of the data (Paragraph 38, controller for the laser modifies an instruction set based on the received information; Paragraph 46, lasing recipes include specifying an arrangement of vectors) and a second sub-set of the laser marking vectors based on the second sub-set of the data (Paragraph 38, controller for the laser modifies an instruction set based on the received information; Paragraph 46, lasing recipes include specifying an arrangement of vectors);
using the first controller to control the first laser marking head at least partially based on the first sub-set of laser marking vectors (Paragraph 38, instruction set for the laser is modified such that the laser marking will include the desired text when the product arrives at the laser);
providing the second sub-set of the laser marking vectors to the second controller (Paragraph 48, each of the local controllers 222E can receive data packets from the centralized/common master controller 200, the data packets including lasing instructions generated by the master controller 200 using signal data received from industrial components); and,
using the second controller (Figure 2B, local controller 222E associated with laser marker 222-2) to control the second laser marking head at least partially based on the second sub-set of the laser marking vectors (Paragraph 72, step 1008 wherein updates are sent to each associate laser from a plurality of lasers wherein during operation of the plurality of lasers, such that at least one lasing parameter of that laser is adjusted; Paragraph 38, instruction set for the laser is modified such that the laser marking will include the desired text when the product arrives at the laser).
DROUILLARD fails to teach:
determining a first sub-set of the data to retain for the first controller and a second sub-set of the data to provide to the second controller;
Attarwala (US 20160205066 A1) teaches a unique device address assignment technique, wherein:
determining a first sub-set of the data to retain for the first controller (Paragraph 86, each slave device processes the command to determine if its assigned address is within range of the specified device address; Paragraphs 83-84, slave device receives the write command and processes the write command when the device address specified in the command byte matches the device address assigned to said slave device; Paragraph 84, multiple register pointer bytes and multiple data bytes can be included in each write command; Paragraph 49, memory register pointer byte can be a register located at a single slave device; said data bytes can reasonably include a first sub-set of laser marking vectors assigned to a particular register of a particular slave device) and a second sub-set of the data to provide to the second controller (Paragraph 83, slave devices read the command and forwards the write command to downstream slave devices; slave device determines a write command which includes data byte information and forwards it to the next slave device wherein said command can reasonably include a second sub-set of laser marking vectors);
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified DROUILLARD with Attarwala and have the controllers be connected in a daisy chain configuration. This would have been done such that each device can easily determine its relative position from the host controller and any other device in the network (Attarwala Paragraph 87).
Regarding claim 44, DROUILLARD teaches the method of claim 38, wherein:
each laser marking vector defines a geometric path to be followed by a laser beam during marking (Paragraph 12, each instruction set includes instructions to lase a predetermined pattern onto food product when the food product is conveyed; Paragraph 46, lasing recipes include specifying an arrangement of vectors; vectors have a magnitude and a direction which defines a geometric path which are specified and followed by the laser to lase a predetermined pattern onto the food product), wherein the first sub-set of laser marking vectors and the second sub-set of laser marking vectors are mutually exclusive (Paragraph 58, first laser marking of the first laser of the lasers include a product grade while a second laser marking of the second laser of the lasers include a product logo and/or brand name), and wherein generating the first sub-set comprises assigning laser marking vectors to the first controller based on locations of the laser marking vectors within the marking (Paragraph 58, first laser of lasers is programmed to apply a first laser marking to a first location of a surface of the product while subsequent lasers are programmed to apply a laser to a second location; Paragraph 71, inputs that are received by the processor include a laser firing location which is used to generate a first instruction set for a first laser head; Paragraph 46, lasing recipes include specifying an arrangement of vectors; both lasing vectors and locations to which the first laser marker is assigned are specified in the instructions for the laser).
See 112b rejection above for “the first sub-set of laser marking vectors and the second sub-set of laser marking vectors are mutually exclusive”.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 27 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/WOODY A LEE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
1 The Office further notes that the term “configurable to” is functional claim language which covers all devices that are capable of performing the recited function. MPEP2144.IV. In this case, any controller which can be configured to receive data, perform processing, and output control signals would read upon the limitations.