DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
The restriction requirement set forth in the Office Action dated March 19, 2026, has been withdrawn upon further consideration in view of applicant’s amendment dated June 25, 2026. Claims 11-12 have been rejoined and are no longer withdrawn.
Applicant’s Response Dated June 25, 2026
In the Response dated June 25, 2026, claim 1 was amended, claims 13-20 were canceled, and claims 21-34 were added. Claims 1-2, 7-12, and 21-34 are pending. An action on the merits of claims 1-2, 7-12, and 21-34 is contained herein.
The rejection of claims 1-2 and 7-10 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gella, A., et al. "Effect of the nucleotides CMP and UMP on exhaustion in exercise rats." Journal of physiology and biochemistry 64.1 (2008): 9-17 (Gella) has been rendered moot in view of applicant’s amendment dated June 25, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 10-12, 25, and 30-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Amante, Daniel J., et al. "Uridine ameliorates the pathological phenotype in transgenic G93A-ALS mice." Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis 11.6 (2010): 520-530 (Amante).
Amante teaches that amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) is a clinically severe, fatal neurodegenerative disorder characterized by a loss of upper and lower motor neurons, resulting in progressive muscle wasting and paralysis (page 520). Amante teaches that the goal of the current study was to determine whether uridine provided protective effects in the behavioral and neuropathological phenotype observed in the transgenic G93A-SOD 1 ALS mouse model (page 521). Uridine treatment extended survival in the G93AALS mice in a dose-dependent manner, compared to untreated G93A mice (Figure 1; page 524). The survival curve of the lowest uridine dose (0.5 g/kg) paralleled the untreated G93A mice. Although not significant, uridine administration at the 0.5 g/kg dose extended survival by 6.3% (untreated G93A mice: 126.4 ± 3.5 days; 0.5 g/kg uridine-treated G93A mice: 134.3 ± 3.5 days, p < 0.27). The 1 g/kg dose resulted in a significant extension of survival by 15.1 %, compared to the untreated G93A mice (145.5 ± 8.1 days, p < 0.01). The highest dose used in the study (2 g/kg) resulted in the greatest extension of survival at 17.4%, compared to the untreated G93A mice (148.4 ± 7.6 days, p < 0.01). Consistent with the survival data, body weight loss was significantly ameliorated from 112 days in both the 1 g/kg and 2 g/kg doses to end-stage disease compared to the untreated G93A mice (p < 0.01) (Figure 2). Amante teaches that this study tested the effect of uridine in the G93A mouse model of ALS based upon its potential neuroprotective properties (page 528). Compared to compounds that have entered into human clinical trials, based upon the efficacy found in preclinical mouse trials, uridine measures well against those potential therapeutic agents.
Thus, Amante teaches administering uridine (e.g., a pyrimidine nucleotide or precursor thereof) to ALS mice (e.g., an individual suffering from a disease or condition causing or resulting in muscle loss). Amante teaches all of the instantly claimed elements. Thus, claims 1-2, 10-12, 25, and 30-34 are anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 23, 26, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amante, Daniel J., et al. "Uridine ameliorates the pathological phenotype in transgenic G93A-ALS mice." Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis 11.6 (2010): 520-530 (Amante) as applied to claims 1-2, 10-12, 25, and 30-34 above, and further in view of Logroscino, Giancarlo, et al. "Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis: an aging-related disease." Current Geriatrics Reports 4.2 (2015): 142-153 (Logroscino).
Amante differs from the instantly claimed invention in that Amante does not explicitly teach a method wherein the individual is an elderly and/or suffering from muscle loss; however, these deficiencies would have been obvious in view of the teachings of Logroscino.
In the instant case, the references may be combined to show obviousness because Amante and Logroscino are each drawn to the treatment of ALS. They are from the same field of endeavor, and/or are reasonably pertinent to a method for suppressing or ameliorating muscle loss by promoting muscle-building an individual suffering from a disease or condition causing or resulting in muscle loss.
Logroscino teaches that ALS is an age-related disease with age incidence curve similar to other age-dependent neurodegenerative diseases like Parkinson’s disease and Alzheimer’s disease (page 142). The peak of incidence is in the eighth decade and declines thereafter, first in men and then in women. In the majority of cases, ALS is sporadic while 5–10 % of the disease is familiar.
In determining the differences between the prior art and the claims, the question under 35 U.S.C. 103 is not whether the differences themselves would have been obvious, but whether the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious. Stratoflex, Inc. v. Aeroquip Corp., 713 F.2d 1530, 218 USPQ 871 (Fed. Cir. 1983); Schenck v. Nortron Corp., 713 F.2d 782, 218 USPQ 698 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
Amante teaches or reasonably suggests the administration of uridine to an individual having ALS. Amante teaches or reasonably suggests that ALS is characterized by progressive muscle wasting; Logroscino teaches that ALS is an age-related disease with peak of incidence in the eighth decade and declines thereafter. Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to employ the method of Amante wherein the individual is elderly and/or suffering from muscle loss as these conditions are characteristic of ALS patients.
All of the instant limitations are taught by the combination of Amante and Logroscino. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reason to combine the teachings of Amante and Logroscino. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings Amante and Logroscino. Thus, claims 21, 23, 26, and 28 would have been obvious based on the preponderance of the evidence.
Conclusion
Claims 1-2, 7-12, and 21-34 are pending. Claims 1-2, 10-12, 21, 23, 25-26, 28, and 30-34 are rejected. Claims 7-9, 22, 24, 27, and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. No claims are allowed.
Contacts
/PATRICK T LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1691
/PL/