DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Hu failed to teach “wherein the multiple samples are in a microplate having a plurality of wells configured to contain the multiple samples, and the microplate is in a container configured to have a fluid therein, and the acoustic energy redirectors are attached to the microplate”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Hu (CN111979122, see attached English translation) teaches wherein the multiple samples (Figs.1-2, samples are inside sample holding tubes 5) are in a microplate (Figs.1-2, the test tube support 4 includes two opposing vertical plates and a horizontal plate, the horizontal plate is interpreted as a microplate) having a plurality of wells configured to contain the multiple samples (Figs.1-2, the horizontal plate of the test tube support 4 has a plurality of wells), and the microplate is in a container (Figs.1-2, 3) configured to have a fluid therein (Paragraph 76), and the acoustic energy redirectors (Figs.1-2, the test tube support 4 includes two opposing vertical plates and a horizontal plate, the vertical plates are interpreted as the acoustic energy redirectors because paragraph 17 states that “The test tube support 4 includes a vertical plate and a horizontal plate, both of which have sound reflection capabilities”) are attached to the microplate (Figs.1-2, the test tube support 4 includes two opposing vertical plates and a horizontal plate, the horizontal plate is interpreted as a microplate and the vertical plates are interpreted as the acoustic energy redirectors, the horizontal plate is attached to the vertical plate).
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Hu failed to teach “a base configured to hold the plurality of samples; and one or more acoustic energy redirectors on the base configured to redirect acoustic energy to the plurality of samples”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Hu (CN111979122, see attached English translation) teaches a base (Figs.1-2, the test tube support 4 includes two opposing vertical plates and a horizontal plate, the horizontal plate is interpreted as a base) configured to hold the plurality of samples (Figs.1-2, samples are inside sample holding tubes 5); and one or more acoustic energy redirectors (Figs.1-2, the test tube support 4 includes two opposing vertical plates and a horizontal plate, the vertical plates are interpreted as the acoustic energy redirectors because paragraph 17 states that “The test tube support 4 includes a vertical plate and a horizontal plate, both of which have sound reflection capabilities”) on the base configured to redirect acoustic energy to the plurality of samples (Paragraphs 6, 16-17, 23, 60 and 62).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-11, 13-21, 24, 29-31, 33-34, 38-45 and 47-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HU et al. hereinafter Hu (CN111979122, see attached English translation).
With respect to claim 1, Hu teaches a method of simultaneously sonicating multiple samples consistently with a single acoustic source (Figs.1-2, 1) using strategically positioned acoustic energy redirectors comprising reflectors, refractors, scatterers, and/or energy distributors, wherein the multiple samples (Figs.1-2, samples are inside sample holding tubes 5) are in a microplate (Figs.1-2, the test tube support 4 includes two opposing vertical plates and a horizontal plate, the horizontal plate is interpreted as a microplate) having a plurality of wells configured to contain the multiple samples (Figs.1-2, the horizontal plate of the test tube support 4 has a plurality of wells), and the microplate is in a container (Figs.1-2, 3) configured to have a fluid therein (Paragraph 76), and the acoustic energy redirectors (Figs.1-2, the test tube support 4 includes two opposing vertical plates and a horizontal plate, the vertical plates are interpreted as the acoustic energy redirectors because paragraph 17 states that “The test tube support 4 includes a vertical plate and a horizontal plate, both of which have sound reflection capabilities”) are attached to the microplate (Figs.1-2, the test tube support 4 includes two opposing vertical plates and a horizontal plate, the horizontal plate is interpreted as a microplate and the vertical plates are interpreted as the acoustic energy redirectors, the horizontal plate is attached to the vertical plate).
With respect to claim 2, Hu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the samples are biological in nature (See paragraphs [0001], [0032], [0060], [0067], [0069]).
With respect to claim 4, Hu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the acoustic source is a bath sonicator, cup horn sonicator, focused sonicator, or other induced or natural force field (Various types of sonicator are contemplated, para. [0034], [0051]) and Figs. 1 & 2 show a focused sonicator).
With respect to claim 5, Hu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the frequency of the acoustic source ranges from 1 kHz to 100 MHz (The ultrasonic transducer has an operating frequency of 16 kHz to 10 MHz, para. [0044]. The operating frequency of the ultrasonic transducer can be selected according to the demand, for example, a frequency of 20 kHz to 3 MHz may be selected, para. [0045]).
With respect to claim 6, Hu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the samples are arranged in a rectangular or circular pattern, or other two-dimensional or three-dimensional geometries (2D or 3D) that may be relevant for biological, chemical, or industrial applications (The samples may be arranged in columns and rows and may have a rectangular pattern, para. [0050], [0052], [0059]). A 3x3 pattern is shown in Figure 1.).
With respect to claim 7, Hu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the samples are loaded in a 96, 384, 1536, or other SBS-standard or non-standard microplate/PCR plate (The test tube holder (4) and the sample tubes (5) together define a nonstandard microplate, para. [0054] - [0059]; Fig. 2).
With respect to claim 9, Hu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the acoustic energy redirectors are solid, hollow, semi-hollow, or designed with a consistent or non-replicating internal structural pattern in terms of composition (The vertical and horizontal plates of the test tube holder (4) and the tooth-shaped concentrator (2) are solid structures, paragraphs [0014], [0015], [0053], [0055]; Figure 2).
With respect to claim 10, Hu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the acoustic energy redirectors are composed of metal, plastic, glass, any type of polymer, rubber, silicone, ceramics, or crystals (The vertical and horizontal plates of the test tube holder (4) and the tooth-shaped concentrator (2) would almost certainly be formed from one of the broadly recited listed materials, See paragraphs [0014], [0015], [0053], [0055]; Figure 2).
With respect to claim 11, Hu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the acoustic energy redirectors are discrete objects or a continuous singular object (The vertical and horizontal plates of the test tube holder (4) define a singular object (i.e., the test tube holder (4)) and the tooth-shaped concentrator (2) is a continuous singular object defined by a plurality of teeth (each of which is a discrete object when considered alone), See paragraphs [0014], [0015], [0053], [0055]; Figure 2).
With respect to claim 13, Hu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the acoustic energy redirectors are arranged outside of a perimeter of a sample array or between samples in a sample array, such that an acoustic field energy specific to a sonication device providing the single acoustic source is redirected towards the samples (The vertical and horizontal plates of the test tube holder (4) are arranged outside of a perimeter of the sample array, while the teeth of the and the tooth- shaped concentrator (2) are disposed between samples of the sample array, such that field energy specific to the sonication device is redirected towards the samples, See paragraphs [0060], [0068], [0069]; Figure 2).
With respect to claim 14, Hu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the acoustic energy redirectors are arranged in a pattern determined computationally through finite element analysis (The number, and the size and shape of the teeth of the tooth-shaped concentrator is determined according to the actual demand, See paragraph [0069]).
With respect to claim 15, Hu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the acoustic energy redirectors affect a load on sonication devices that provide an acoustic filed energy such that the sonication device transduce energy more closely to design requirements and therefore more effectively and efficiently (The vertical and horizontal plates of the test tube holder (4) and the tooth-shaped concentrator (2)improve the utilization of acoustic energy, thereby affecting the load on the sonication device and leading to more effective and efficient sonication, See paragraphs [0020], [0030], [0060]).
With respect to claim 16, Hu discloses the 16. The method of claim 1, wherein the acoustic energy redirectors are integrated into a rack designed to hold and position the samples (The vertical and horizontal plates of the test tube holder (4) are integrated into the test tube holder (4), which is designed to hold and position the samples disposed in the sample tubes (5), See paragraphs [0053], [0055] - [0059]; Figures 1 & 2).
With respect to claim 17, Hu discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the rack is configured to hold individual sample tubes, strips of tubes, 2D arrays of tubes, microplates, PCR plates, automation compatible plates, and skirted, semi-skirted and unskirted plates (The test tube holder (4) is configured to hold individual sample tubes (5) or 2D arrays of sample tubes (5), See paragraphs [0054] - [0059]; Figure 2).
With respect to claim 18, Hu discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the rack has regions designed for an end effector of a liquid handling robot or any other type of automation system (The vertical plates of the test tube holder (4) are spaced apart from the walls of the sample processing tank (3), thereby providing a region allowing for manipulation by an end effector of an automation system, See paragraphs [0053], [0055] - [0059]; Figure 2).
With respect to claim 19, Hu discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the rack is configured to hold plastic tubes, metal tubes, and glass tubes (The test tube holder (4) is configured to hold sample tubes (5), including test tubes, centrifuge tubes and the like, which comprise plastic tubes, metal tubes, and/or glass tubes, See paragraphs [0061], [0063]; Figure 2).
With respect to claim 20, Hu discloses an acoustic energy redirector or rack for use in the method of claim 1 (The vertical and horizontal plates of the test tube holder (4) and the tooth-shaped concentrator (2) are disclosed to be acoustic energy redirectors and/or racks, See paragraphs [0014], [0015], [0053], [0055]).
With respect to claim 21, Hu discloses a method of simultaneously sonicating multiple samples consistently with a single acoustic source using a load on or in the samples to (For simultaneous sonicating see Figures 1 &2; paragraphs [0003], [0052], [0073]. For single acoustic source, see paragraphs [0009], [0036], [0049], [0073]. The vertical and horizontal plates of the test tube holder (4) and the tooth-shaped concentrator (2) are disclosed to be acoustic loads, See paragraphs [0014], [0015], [0053], [0055]):
a. match an optimum load input of sonication device that provides the single acoustic source (The length of the tooth-shaped concentrator (2) (length of the plate-shaped portion), and the number and size of the teeth can be adjusted according to the actual needs, and the number, size, arrangement and operating frequency of the ultrasonic transducer (1) can also be selected according to the actual needs, See paragraphs [0051], [0069]); and/or
b. reduce or optimize energy leakage in the form of vibrations (The vertical and horizontal plates of the test-tube holder (4) and the tooth-shaped concentrator (2) improve the utilization of acoustic energy, thereby reducing energy leakage and affecting the load on the sonication device, thus leading to more effective and efficient sonication, See paragraphs [0020], [0030], [0060]).
With respect to claim 24, Hu discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the acoustic source is a bath sonicator, cup horn sonicator, or focused sonicator (Various types of sonicators are contemplated, see paragraphs [0034], [0051]; Figures 1 & 2 show a focused sonicator.)
With respect to claim 29, Hu discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the load is an object that is partially or wholly submerged in the sonication device bath, such that the total load on the device is affected (The sample processing tank (3) is filled with water, with the vertical and horizontal plates of the test tube holder (4) and the tooth-shaped concentrator (2) being partially or wholly submerged therein, See paragraphs [0067], [0069]).
With respect to claim 30, Hu discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the load is a weighted object that is placed on top of the samples (The sample in the sample container tube 5 is a liquid, and the liquid level is no higher than the vertical height of the tooth groove, see para. 21).
With respect to claim 31, Hu discloses the method of claim 30, wherein the load is distributed across a portion of or all of the samples (sample placed in the sample container. see para. 0076).
With respect to claim 33, Hu discloses the method of claim 31, wherein the load is distributed across the center portion of the samples, an outer portion of the samples, across a band of samples in the middle, or across alternating samples in any multiple or pattern (The sample in the sample container tube 5 is a liquid, and the liquid level is no higher than the vertical height of the tooth groove, see para. 21).
With respect to claim 34, Hu discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the load is a lid, integrated with a sample rack that provides a clamping force on vessels that contain the multiple samples (the plate-shaped part is fixedly connected to the inner bottom surface of the sample processing tank 3, see para. [0047]).
With respect to claim 38, Hu discloses a load or carrier for use in the method of claim 21 (The vertical and horizontal plates of the test tube holder (4) and the tooth-shaped concentrator (2) are disclosed to be acoustic loads, See paragraphs [0014], [0015], [0053], [0055])).
With respect to claim 39, Hu teaches a carrier for holding a plurality of samples in a sonicator, the carrier comprising: a base (Figs.1-2, the test tube support 4 includes two opposing vertical plates and a horizontal plate, the horizontal plate is interpreted as a base) configured to hold the plurality of samples (Figs.1-2, samples are inside sample holding tubes 5); and one or more acoustic energy redirectors (Figs.1-2, the test tube support 4 includes two opposing vertical plates and a horizontal plate, the vertical plates are interpreted as the acoustic energy redirectors because paragraph 17 states that “The test tube support 4 includes a vertical plate and a horizontal plate, both of which have sound reflection capabilities”) on the base configured to redirect acoustic energy to the plurality of samples (Paragraphs 6, 16-17, 23, 60 and 62).
With respect to claim 40, Hu discloses the carrier of claim 39, wherein the acoustic energy redirectors extend away from the base (The vertical plates of the test tube holder (4) and the tooth-shaped concentrator (2) each extend away from the horizontal plate of the test tube holder (4) (i.e., the base), See paragraph [0056]; Figures 1 & 2).
With respect to claim 41, Hu discloses the carrier of claim 39, wherein the base is configured to receive a microplate having a plurality of wells with the plurality of samples therein (The horizontal plate of the test tube holder (4) (i.e., the base) has a plurality of spaced openings formed therein, preferably in a row by column pattern, such that it is configured to receive a microplate having a plurality of wells with the plurality of samples therein, See paragraphs [0015], [0058], [0059]; Figures 1 & 2).
With respect to claim 42, Hu discloses the carrier of claim 39, wherein the base comprises a generally planar portion having apertures therein the receive the plurality of wells (The horizontal plate of the test tube holder (4) (i.e., the base) is generally planar and has a plurality of spaced apertures formed therein, preferably in a row by column pattern, such that it is configured to receive a plurality of wells (i.e., sample tubes (5)), See paragraphs [0015], [0058], [0059]; Figures 1 & 2).
With respect to claim 43, Hu discloses the carrier of claim 39, wherein the plurality of wells extend away from a side of the generally planar portion of the base (The horizontal plate of the test tube holder (4) (i.e., the base) is generally planar and has an upper side, with the plurality of wells (i.e., sample tubes (5)) extending downwardly, away from the upper side, See paragraphs [0063] - [0065]; Figures 1 & 2).
With respect to claim 44, Hu discloses the carrier of claim 39, wherein the one or more acoustic energy redirectors extend away from the side of the generally planar portion of the base (The horizontal plate of the test tube holder (4) (i.e., the base) is generally planar and has an upper side, with the vertical plates of the test tube holder (4) and the tooth-shaped concentrator (2) each extending away from the upper side of the horizontal plate of the test tube holder (4) (i.e., the base), See paragraph [0056]; Figures 1 & 2).
With respect to claim 45, Hu discloses the carrier of claim 39, wherein the one or more acoustic energy redirectors are formed of a material that redirects acoustic energy impinged on the material (The vertical and horizontal plates of the test tube holder (4) and the tooth-shaped concentrator (2) are disclosed to be acoustic reflectors, and consequently must be formed from a material that redirects acoustic energy impinged on the material, See paragraphs [0014], [0015], [0053], [0055]).
With respect to claim 47, Hu discloses the carrier of claim 39, wherein the one or more acoustic energy redirectors are positioned adjacent an edge or a corner of the carrier (The vertical plates of the test tube holder (4) portion of the carrier are positioned adjacent to a peripheral edge of the sample processing tank (3) portion of the carrier and the tooth-shaped concentrator (2) portion of the carrier is positioned adjacent to a lower edge of the sample processing tank (3), See paragraphs [0014], [0015], [0053], [0055]).
With respect to claim 48, Hu discloses the carrier of claim 39, wherein the carrier comprises an interior region and an edge portion, and the carrier is configured to hold the plurality of samples at an interior region (The horizontal plate of the test tube holder (4) portion of the carrier is configured to hold the plurality of samples in the plurality of sample tubes (5) at an interior region. The vertical plates of the test tube holder (4) portion of the carrier are positioned adjacent to a peripheral edge of the sample processing tank (3), see Figures 1-2), and the one or more acoustic energy redirectors are positioned in the edge portion (portion of the carrier and the tooth-shaped concentrator (2) portion of the carrier is positioned adjacent to a lower edge of the sample processing tank (3). (See paragraphs [0014], [0015], [0053], [0055])).
With respect to claim 49, Hu discloses the carrier of claim 39, wherein the one or more acoustic energy redirectors are well- or cylindrically shaped (The tooth-shaped concentrator (2) defines a plurality of teeth and corresponding groove areas therebetween, which are generally well-shaped, See paragraph [0069]; Figure 2).
With respect to claim 50, Hu discloses the carrier of claim 39, wherein the one or more acoustic energy redirectors comprises a wall that extends away from the base (The vertical plates of the test tube holder (4) comprise walls that extend away from the horizontal plate of the test tube holder (4) (i.e., the base), See para. [0056]; Figures 1 & 2).
With respect to claim 51, Hu discloses the carrier of claim 39, wherein the one or more acoustic energy redirectors comprise reflectors (The vertical and horizontal plates of the test tube holder (4) portion of the carrier and the tooth- shaped concentrator (2) portion of the carrier are disclosed to be acoustic energy reflectors configured to redirect acoustic energy to the plurality of samples, See paragraphs [0014], [0015], [0053], [0055]).
With respect to claim 52, Hu discloses the carrier of claim 39, further comprising a load on the base that is configured to distribute a load on the base, the load being configured to reduce vibrations of the samples during sonication (the radiating surface of the ultrasonic transducer is fixedly connected to the bottom surface of the sample processing tank, so that the vibration of the ultrasonic transducer excites the vibration of the toothed energy concentrator inside the sample processing tank, para. [0041]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Laugharn et al. hereinafter Laugharn (US 20020009015 A1).
With respect to claim 3, Hu discloses the method of claim 1 above. Hu discloses all the claimed subject matter except the samples are inorganic, or non-biological in nature.
Laugharn invention related to the field of non-contact mixing and fluid control (Para. [0002]) discloses the samples are inorganic, or non-biological in nature (Organic and inorganic materials can be treated with controlled acoustic pulses, para. [0151]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Hu to treat inorganic, or non-biological samples as thought by Laugharn, because Laugharn expressly discusses that inorganic materials can be treated using controlled acoustic pulses and selecting the sample type would have been a matter of routine design choice.
Claims 12 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu as applied to claims 1 and 45 above, and further in view of Shen (US 6185152 B1).
With respect to claim 12, Hu discloses the method of claim 1 above. Hu further discloses the vertical and horizontal plates of the test tube holder (4) and the tooth-shaped concentrator (2) suggest be formed from one of the broadly recited listed forming methods. (See paragraphs [0014], [0015], [0053], [0055]; Figure 2)). But does not explicitly disclose the acoustic energy redirectors are 3D printed, injection molded, blow-molded, extruded, cast, or machined.
Shen invention related to the field of sound steering systems (col. 1 lines 1-5) discloses the acoustic energy redirectors are 3D printed, injection molded, blow-molded, extruded, cast, or machined (the reflectors are made from injection molded plastic, claim 5).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to form the acoustic energy redirectors of Hu using one of the manufacturing methods taught by Shen, because Hu broadly suggests that the vertical and horizontal plates of the test tube holder and the tooth-shaped concentrator may be formed using known forming methods, while Shen expressly discloses that the acoustic energy redirectors injection molded. Incorporating Shen’s disclosed forming techniques into Hu would have been a predictable use of known manufacturing methods to produce known acoustic structures, yielding predictable result.
With respect to claim 46, Hu discloses the carrier of claim 45 above. Hu is silent about the material comprises an elastomeric material or metal.
Shen discloses the material comprises an elastomeric material or metal (102 is made from plastic using any type of injection molding process, col. 7 lines 23-25).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the carrier of Hu from an elastomeric material as thought by Shen, since the vertical and horizontal plates of the test tube holder and the tooth-shaped concentrator would almost certainly be formed from one of the broadly recited listed materials, making the modification a routine design choice with predictable results.
Claim 53 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu as applied to claim 39 above, and further in view of Newberg (US 6852288 B2).
With respect to claim 53, Hu discloses the carrier of claim 39 above. Hu is silent about the load comprises a removeable cover.
Newberg invention directed to the field of system for multiple sterile sample collection and isolation discloses the load comprises a removeable cover (Referring to Figs. 1A, 1B and 2A-2D, the device of the present invention includes a main housing 2 with an internal cavity 2a. The housing is depicted as having a removable cover plate 3 and a base plate 4, col. 4 lines 46-49).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the carrier of Hu to include a load comprising a removable cover as taught by Newberg, because Newberg expressly discloses a removable cover for enclosing and accessing a load within a housing, and such a modification would have provided the predictable benefit of facilitating access, protection, and isolation of the load without changing the fundamental operation of Hu’s carrier. The combination represents the use of a known structural feature for its intended purpose in a similar system and would have yielded predictable results.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIN Y ZHONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855