DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of species in the reply filed on 3/12/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
In response to the species election, applicant elected
(1) exenatide for Genus G,
(2) molecular change of the brain for Genus BFI(iv), reading on claim 10 and withdrawal of claims 8-9, and
(3) Genus Addition election reads on claims 11-12 and 18-19 and withdrawal of claims 13-17.
Claim Status
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Claims 8-9 and 13-17 are withdrawn as being directed to a non-elected species, the election having been made on 3/12/2026.
Claims 1-7, 10-12, and 18-19 have been examined.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/CN2021/138827 12/16/2021
PCT/CN2021/138827 has PRO 63/126,122 12/16/2020
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/28/2013 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 12, and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities
Claim 1 contains the acronym “GLP-1R”, and an acronym in the first instance of claims should be expanded upon/spelled out as “glucagon-like peptide-1 receptor” with the acronym indicated in parentheses as GLP-1R. The abbreviations can be used thereafter.
Claim 12 contains the acronym “TAR DNA-binding protein 43”, and an acronym in the first instance of claims should be expanded upon/spelled out as “Transactive response DNA binding protein 43 kDa” with the acronym indicated in parentheses as (TAR DNA-binding protein 43). The abbreviations can be used thereafter.
Claim 18 contains the acronyms “DNA” and “RNA”, and an acronym in the first instance of claims should be expanded upon/spelled out as “Deoxyribonucleic acid” and “Ribonucleic acid” with the acronyms indicated in parentheses as (DNA) and (RNA). The abbreviations can be used thereafter.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 2 is drawn to administer a list of GLP-1R agonists or any other molecule that activates GLP-1R not in the list, but claim 2 failing to further limit the subject matter of “a GLP-1R agonist” in claim 1 (the sum of a list of GLP-1R agonists and any other molecule that activates GLP-1R not in the list in claim 2).
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 10, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bomba et al. (Neurobiol Aging. 2018 Apr:64:33-43, cited in IDS).
Claim 1 is drawn to a method of treating aging-associated brain functional impairment in a subject comprising administering an effective amount of a GLP-1R agonist to the subject.
Bomba et al. teach Exenatide exerts cognitive effects by modulating the BDNF-TrkB neurotrophic axis in adult mice (Title). In the abstract, Bomba et al. teach altered brain insulin signaling participates in the cognitive decline seen in Alzheimer’s disease patients and the aging brain (reading on a human patient) and glucagon-like peptide-1 (GLP-1) regulates insulin secretion and, along with GLP-1 analogues, enhances neurotrophic signaling and counteracts cognitive deficits in preclinical models of neurodegeneration. Bomba et al. further teach exenatide promotes the enhancement of long-term memory performances. Bomba et al. teach 2-month treatment with exenatide in adult mice enrolled at 10 months of age (m.o.a.). The time frame of the intervention (10-12 m.o.a.) was chosen because, in mice, this age bracket is comparable to the mid-life stage of humans, a period that is crucial for the onset of either age-related cognitive decline or dementia (p34, col 1, para 2). In legend of figure 6, Bomba et al. teach exenatide activating the transcription factor CREB and CREB increases BDNF protein levels, thereby promoting the enhanced activation of the neurotrophic BDNF-TrkB axis leading to activation of ERK5 (a prosurvival kinase) and PSD95 (a protein highly involved in synaptic potentiation). Exenatide also promotes anti-apoptotic effects by reducing the proBDNF-p75NTR-mediated signaling cascade. Reduction in proBDNF-p75NTR signaling results in decreased activation of a set of kinases, ERK1,2 and JNK, that participate in neuronal demise. See Bomba et al. (p37, col 1, Sec 3.4-Sec 3.5) and figure 6 shown above in details.
With respect to claims 1-2 and 4, Bomba et al. teach a method of administering exenatide (a GLP-1R agonist) to adult mice at 10 months of age, comparable to the mid-life stage of humans, a period that is crucial for the onset of either age-related cognitive decline or dementia (p34, col 1, para 2). Bomba et al. teach exenatide treated mice performed significantly better in parameters related to long-term memory (LTM) activities, showed reduced time spent to reach the platform location, and time spent in the opposite quadrant (p35, col 2, Sec 3.1, para 2; p36, Fig 1).
With respect to claim 3, Bomba et al. teach animals receiving daily injections of exenatide (p34, col 1, Sec 2.1). Figure 1A at page 36 shows exenatide in a formulation comprising an inherent carrier mixed with exenatide suitable for the injection.
With respect to claims 10 and 18, Bomba et al. teach exenatide activating the transcription factor CREB and CREB increases BDNF protein levels, reading on aging-associated measurable molecular change in gene expression (p39, Fig 6, legend) and Bomba’s western blot shows change of protein levels as follows (p38, Fig 4A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-12, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bomba et al. (Neurobiol Aging. 2018 Apr:64:33-43) as applied to claims 1-4, 10, and 18, and further in view of NCT01255163 (2018-02-22) and Bloom (JAMANeurol.2014;71(4):505-508).
Claim 5 is drawn to administration of a GLP-1R agonist to a primate.
Bomba et al. teach (a) defective glucose metabolism and utilization in subjects affected by mild cognitive impairment, (b) insulin resistance along with altered insulin-related signaling found in the brain of AD patients, (c) brain aging associated with decreased insulin sensitivity (p33, col 2, para 1) and (d) Exenatide exerts cognitive effects by modulating the BDNF-TrkB neurotrophic axis in adult mice (Title).
Bomba et al. do not teach administration of Exenatide to a human patient.
Similarly, NCT01255163 teaches Exendin-4 (or Exenatide) has shown promising results in animal and cellular models of Alzheimer's disease (p8, Brief Summary). NCT01255163 teaches the treated patients are human with age > 60 (p14, Inclusion Criteria), reading on claims 5-7.
With respect to claims 19, NCT01255163 teaches the effects of Exendin-4 on cognitive performance by measuring molecular change of chemicals in blood and cerebrospinal fluid (p9, para 1) including CSF and plasma biomarkers, such as CSF A42, tau, p181-tau and plasma A42/A40.
Bloom is cited to show soluble toxic aggregates of both amyloid-β (Aβ) and tau can self-propagate and spread throughout the brain by prionlike mechanisms, successful therapeutic intervention for AD would benefit from detecting these species known in the art (Abstract and the figure shown as follows (p506)). Thus, it would be obvious to measure the structural change for aggregation of amyloid-β (Aβ) and tau to evaluate Exenatide’s treatment effect of NCT01255163, further reading on claims 11-12.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this invention would have found it obvious to combine Bomba et al. with NCT01255163 and Bloom because (A) Bomba et al. teach (i) defective glucose metabolism and utilization in subjects affected by mild cognitive impairment, (ii) insulin resistance along with altered insulin-related signaling found in the brain of AD patients, (iii) brain aging associated with decreased insulin sensitivity (p33, col 2, para 1) and (iv) Exenatide exerts cognitive effects by modulating the BDNF-TrkB neurotrophic axis in adult mice (Title), and (B) NCT01255163 teaches (i) Exendin-4 (or Exenatide) has shown promising results in animal and cellular models of Alzheimer's disease (p8, Brief Summary) consistent with Bomba et al. and (ii) Exenatide can be beneficially administered to treat human patients with age > 60 (p14, Inclusion Criteria) having early-stage Alzheimer's disease or mild cognitive impairment (p9, Eligibility). Bloom is cited to show soluble toxic aggregates of both amyloid-β (Aβ) and tau can self-propagate and spread throughout the brain by prionlike mechanisms known in the art (Abstract; p506, Figure). The combination would have reasonable expectation of success because both references of Bomba et al. and NCT01255163 teach a method of administering Exenatide to treat animals to improve cognitive effects.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, 10-12, and 18-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim of copending Application No. 18/394,367 (the ‘367 application) in view of Bomba et al. (Neurobiol Aging. 2018 Apr:64:33-43), NCT01255163 (2018-02-22) and Bloom (JAMANeurol.2014;71(4):505-508).
Claim 1 of the ‘745 application disclosed a method comprising administering a GLP-1R agonist for decreasing an aging-associated functional change in a subject.
Claim 2 of the ‘745 application disclosed the subject is a mammal.
Claims 1-2 of the ‘745 application do not disclose administering a GLP-1R agonist to treat aging-associated brain functional impairment in a subject in human.
The relevancy of Bomba et al. in view of NCT01255163 and Bloom is described above not repeated here.
Because Bomba et al. in view of NCT01255163 and Bloom teach beneficially administering exenatide taught by claims 1-2 of the ‘745 application to treat age-related cognitive decline in both mammal and human, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to combine claims 1-2 of the ‘745 application in view of Bomba et al. and NCT01255163 and Bloom.
Thus, claims 1-2 of the ‘745 application in view of Bomba et al., NCT01255163, and Bloom are obvious to the instant claims 1-7, 10-12, and 18-19.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/J.L/Examiner, Art Unit 1658
30-March-2026
/LI N KOMATSU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658