CTFR 18/257,753 CTFR 92638 DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Amendment The amendment filed 05/07/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2 and 4-13 remain pending in the application. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kono (JP 2005237168 A) . Regarding claim 1, Kono discloses an actuator (see Fig. 8) comprising: a hollow part (3) extending and running through the actuator, at least one umbilical member (10) extending through the hollow part, at least one first junction part (left side 13 in the figure) positioned at one end side of the actuator (left side in the figure) and being connected to one end of the umbilical member (left side of 10 in the figure) , at least one second junction part (right side 13 in the figure) positioned at another end side of the actuator (right side in the figure) and being connected to another end of the umbilical member (right side of 10 in the figure) , a first fastening part (8) fastening the umbilical member to the actuator between the first junction part and the second junction part, and a second fastening part (9) fastening the umbilical member to the actuator, a line segment (see annotated Fig. 8 below; A) connecting the first fastening part and the second fastening part is parallel to a central axis of the actuator (see annotated Fig. 8 below; B) , the first fastening part and the second fastening part are arranged in proximity to the central axis of the actuator (see annotated Fig. 8 below, wherein 8 and 9 are arranged in proximity to B) , or a portion of the first fastening part and a portion of the second fastening part are arranged on the central axis of the actuator, and a length of the umbilical member between the first fastening part and the second fastening part being made longer than a shortest distance between the first fastening part and the second fastening part (see Fig. 8). Regarding claim 6, Kono discloses the actuator includes a hollow motor (32) and a hollow speed reducer (31) coupled coaxially with the hollow motor (see Fig. 8). Regarding claim 8, Kono discloses the actuator further comprises a hollow brake (33) arranged coaxially with the hollow motor (32) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kono (JP 2005237168 A) in view of Miyazawa (US 20200235636 A1) . Regarding claim 9, Kono fails to disclose a force detector detecting a force acting on an output shaft of the actuator . However, Miyazawa teaches a force detector (see Fig. 1, 60) detecting a force acting on an output shaft (12) of the actuator (2-1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Kono with a force detector, as taught by Miyazawa, to measure the rotational torque transmitted from the reducer (see paragraph [0035]), such that the measurement result can be transmitted to a host via a cable, and the host may appropriately adjust (feedback) the value of the current supplied to the motor according to the received measurement results. As a result, the actuator may output target torque even in a case of receiving an external force (see paragraph [0107]). PNG media_image1.png 518 596 media_image1.png Greyscale 1 - Kono (JP 2005237168 A) Fig. 8 Annotated Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 05/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding Applicant’s argument that Kono cannot achieve the effect of the claimed invention, i.e. wherein “a high reliability and long service life of the umbilical members can be secured”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, “a high reliability and long service life of the umbilical members can be secured” are not required by the claim. Second, while the claims can be amended to include the limitations above and features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1478, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997). In this instance, Kono teaches a product appearing to be substantially identical to the claimed invention, and the functional limitations above are inherent in the prior art . Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOSEPH BROWN whose telephone number is (313)446-6568. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Thurs: 8:00am - 5:00pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Minnah Seoh can be reached at 571-357-2384. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JOSEPH BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618 Application/Control Number: 18/257,753 Page 2 Art Unit: 3618 Application/Control Number: 18/257,753 Page 3 Art Unit: 3618 Application/Control Number: 18/257,753 Page 4 Art Unit: 3618 Application/Control Number: 18/257,753 Page 5 Art Unit: 3618 Application/Control Number: 18/257,753 Page 6 Art Unit: 3618