DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application was filed 15 June 2023 and is the national stage entry of PCT/EP2021/086077 filed 16 December 2021. The Applicant claims priority to foreign application IT102020000031379 filed 18 December 2020. An English copy of the foreign document has not been provided. Therefore, the effective filing date of the instant application is 16 December 2021.
Examiner’s Note
The Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 08 July 2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. The Examiner has re-weighed all the evidence of record. Rejections
not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application. In the Applicant’s response, filed 08 July 2026, it is noted that claims 1 and 2 have been amended, no claims have been canceled, and claims 14-16 have been newly added. Support for the amendment(s) and/or new claim(s) can be found from claims 6 and 11. No new matter has been added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7-11, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon (WO 2020209902 A1), as evidenced by myskinrecipes.com.
Regarding claim 1, Moon teaches topical compositions (para. 43; entire teaching) with lipid structured nanoparticles of encapsulated cannabinoids (paras. 17, 20), which are constructed from phospholipids, such as lecithin (para. 49), which is interpreted as a niosome (hydrophilic vesicle formed by a non-ionic surfactant) based on Applicant’s description (instant specification, pg. 7). Water may be used as a suitable solvent for the nanoparticles (para. 48). A pharmaceutically acceptable excipient may be included (para. 91). The nanoparticles may have a diameter of 1-500 nm (para. 6). Vesicles are known in the art to comprise both hydrophilic and hydrophobic components. Therefore, the nanoparticle in Moon is interpreted as addressing the “hydrophilic vesicle” limitation.
Regarding claim 3, the THC of the cannabinoids is obtained directly from cannabis (naturally) or made synthetically (para. 36).
Regarding claim 7, the composition may include polyethylene glycol (para. 92), which is interpreted as addressing a glycol with 4-16 carbons (iii).
Regarding claim 8, the formulation may be in the form of a liquid dosage (para. 96).
Regarding claim 9, the formulation may be an aqueous solution or emulsion (para. 96).
Regarding claim 10, Moon teaches hydroxyethyl cellulose (para. 101) in their composition, which is known in the art to act as a thickener or gel-forming agent (evidenced by myskinrecipes.com, pgs. 1-2), which is interpreted as forming a gel.
Regarding claims 11, 15, and 16, the amount of active may be 10-100 mg of THC (para. 25) and the composition may include a 10-300 mg dose (para. 9).
Moon does not specifically teach the water-based composition present in an amount of 0.5-20% in claim 11.
Regarding claim 11, 15, and 16, the amount of active may be 10-100 mg of THC (para. 25) and the composition may include a 10-300 mg dose (para. 9). That being said and in lieu of objective evidence of unexpected results, the amount can be viewed as a variable that achieves the recognized result of successfully making the cannabinoid niosome composition, which a skilled artisan would have been easily motivated to modify and adjust based on the broad teachings of Moon. The optimum or workable range of the amount can be accordingly characterized as routine optimization and experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05 (II)B). “[Discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art.” In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980). Applicants provide no evidence of any secondary consideration, such as unexpected results, that would render the optimized amounts of water-based composition as nonobvious.
Claim(s) 1-11, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon (WO 2020209902 A1) and Sahle et al. (Polyglycerol fatty acid ester surfactant-based microemulsions for targeted delivery of ceramide AP into the stratum corneum: Formulation, characterization, in vitro release and penetration investigation, European Journal of Pharmaceutics and Biopharmaceutics, 2012), as evidenced by myskinrecipes.com.
In regards to claim(s) 1, 3, 7-11, 15, and 16, Moon et al., as applied supra, is herein applied in its entirety for its teachings of a cannabinoid niosome composition.
Regarding claim 6, the composition in Moon may include cellulose (para. 92), which is interpreted as a polysaccharide of natural origin.
Moon does not specifically teach a linear or branched polyglycerol esterified with saturated or monounsaturated linear fatty acids in claims 2, 4, and 5.
Sahle teaches that polyglyceryl fatty acid ester surfactants, such as polyglycerol-4 oleate (instant specification, pg. 8), helped to stabilize emulsion structures for topical drug delivery (abs, pg. 147).
Since Moon does not specifically teach a linear or branched polyglycerol esterified with saturated or monounsaturated linear fatty acids in claims 2, 4, and 5, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use Sahle’s teaching of using polyglyceryl fatty acid ester surfactants, such as polyglycerol-4 oleate (instant specification, pg. 8). Moon teaches emulsion compositions (para. 18) comprising cellulose (ii. polysaccharides) with surfactants that are known in the art (para. 50), and Sahle teaches that polyglycerol fatty acid ester surfactants may beneficially increase the stability of compositions formulated as emulsions. Therefore, a skilled artisan would have been led to combine the teachings to improve Moon’s teaching. “Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (see MPEP § 2144.07).”
Claim(s) 1-11, and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon (WO 2020209902 A1), Sahle et al. (Polyglycerol fatty acid ester surfactant-based microemulsions for targeted delivery of ceramide AP into the stratum corneum: Formulation, characterization, in vitro release and penetration investigation, European Journal of Pharmaceutics and Biopharmaceutics, 2012), and Choukaife et al. (Alginate Nanoformulation: Influence of Process and Selected Variables, pharmaceuticals, 2020), as evidenced by myskinrecipes.com.
In regards to claim(s) 1-11, 15, and 16, Moon et al., as applied supra, is herein applied in its entirety for its teachings of a cannabinoid niosome composition.
Moon does not specifically teach alginate in their composition in claim 14.
Choukaife teaches alginate nanoparticles, which is interpreted as the alginate within the nanoparticle structure, is used to improve the bioavailability of drugs (pg. 5).
Since Moon does not specifically teach alginate in their composition in claim 14, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use Choukaife’s teaching of using alginate in their nanoparticle composition. A skilled artisan would have been led to combine the teachings to improve the bioavailability of drugs in Moon’s composition. “Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (see MPEP § 2144.07).”
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5, 6, 9, 11, 12 of copending Application No. 17/905,387 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Instant claim 1 recites a topical formulation comprising cannabinoids in niosomes with a particle size of less than 500 nm and an excipient. Claims 1 and 11 of the reference application recites a topical composition comprising a cannabinoid in a niosome with a particle size smaller than 500 nm and an excipient. The niosomes comprise an esterified polyglyerol that is not chemically linked to the cannabinoid. Therefore, instant claim 1 is considered not patentably distinct over claims 1 and 11 of the reference application.
Instant claims 2 and 4 recite a niosome with an esterified polyglyerol and a polysaccharide with a glycerol, tetraglycerol, hexaglycerol, etc. group. Claims 1 and 5 recite an esterified polyglycerol with a triglycerol, tetraglycerol, hexaglycerol, etc. group. Therefore, instant claims 2 and 4 are considered not patentably distinct over claims 1 and 5 of the reference application.
Instant claim 3 recites a natural or synthetic cannabinoid. Claim 2 of the reference application recites a cannabinoid of natural or synthetic origin. Therefore, instant claim 3 is considered not patentably distinct over claim 2 of the reference application.
Instant claim 5 recites polyglycerol with fatty acids with 4-32 carbons. Claim 6 of the reference application recites fatty acids with 4-32 carbons. Therefore, instant claim 5 is considered not patentably distinct over claim 6 of the reference application.
Instant claim 6 recites a natural polysaccharide and claim 3 of the reference application recites a natural polysaccharide. Therefore, instant claim 6 is considered not patentably distinct over claim 3 of the reference application.
Instant claim 7 recites a glycol with 4-16 carbons and claim 9 of the reference application recites a glycol with 4-16 carbons. Therefore, instant claim 7 is considered not patentably distinct over claim 9 of the reference application.
Instant claims 8 and 9 recite a liquid or semi-solid form, a solution, emulsion, etc. Insatnt claim 10 recites a gel or cream-gel form. Claim 12 of the reference application recites an aqueous solution or dispersion, where gel is interpreted as a type of dispersion. Therefore, instant claims 8 and 9 are considered not patentably distinct over claim 12 of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Double Patenting Arguments
The Applicant argues that there is nothing in the claims of Application ‘387 that would suggest the compositions of the present claims (Remarks, pg. 10).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. The amendments have not meaningfully altered the claims that would make the present invention patentably distinct from the reference application. Therefore, the Double Patenting rejection is maintained for reasons stated above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that Moon does not teach or suggest “niosomes” in claim 1 (Remarks, pg. 7).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. Moon teaches topical compositions (para. 43; entire teaching) with lipid structured nanoparticles of encapsulated cannabinoids (paras. 17, 20), which are constructed from phospholipids, such as lecithin (para. 49), which is interpreted as a niosome (hydrophilic vesicle formed by a non-ionic surfactant) based on Applicant’s description (instant specification, pg. 7). Vesicles are known in the art to comprise both hydrophilic and hydrophobic components. Therefore, the nanoparticle in Moon is interpreted as addressing the “hydrophilic vesicle” limitation.
The Applicant argues that Moon does not teach polyglycerols in claim 4.
In response, Sahle teaches that polyglyceryl fatty acid ester surfactants, such as polyglycerol-4 oleate (instant specification, pg. 8), helped to stabilize emulsion structures for topical drug delivery (abs, pg. 147).
Since Moon does not specifically teach a linear or branched polyglycerol esterified with saturated or monounsaturated linear fatty acids in claims 2, 4, and 5, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use Sahle’s teaching of using polyglyceryl fatty acid ester surfactants, such as polyglycerol-4 oleate (instant specification, pg. 8). Moon teaches emulsion compositions (para. 18) comprising cellulose (ii. polysaccharides) with surfactants that are known in the art (para. 50), and Sahle teaches that polyglycerol fatty acid ester surfactants may beneficially increase the stability of compositions formulated as emulsions. Therefore, a skilled artisan would have been led to combine the teachings to improve Moon’s teaching. “Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (see MPEP § 2144.07).”
The Applicant argues that claim 2 requires polysaccharides in the niosomal structure (Remarks, pg. 7).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive Moon teaches cellulose as an optional carrier or component in the composition, which is broadly interpreted to be within the nanoparticle structure. Art is art, not only for what it expressly teaches, but also for what it would reasonably suggest to the skilled artisan, including alternative or non-preferred embodiments (see MPEP § 2123).
The Applicant argues that Moon does not disclose a C4-C16 glycol (Remarks, pg. 8).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. Regarding claim 7, the composition may include polyethylene glycol (para. 92), which is interpreted as addressing a glycol with 4-16 carbons (iii).
The Applicant notes that the term “hydrophilic” is understood to mean an aqueous core with the hydrophobic portions facing one another within the bilayer (Remarks, pg. 8).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. There are several examples in the art that show liposomes (para. 82 of Moon) with a similar structure to niosomes (evidenced by Viegas, section 5.1).
The Applicant argues that Sahle does not disclose cannabinoids or niosomes (Remarks, pg. 9).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. Since Moon does not specifically teach a linear or branched polyglycerol esterified with saturated or monounsaturated linear fatty acids in claims 2, 4, and 5, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use Sahle’s teaching of using polyglyceryl fatty acid ester surfactants, such as polyglycerol-4 oleate (instant specification, pg. 8). Moon teaches emulsion compositions (para. 18) comprising cellulose (ii. polysaccharides) with surfactants that are known in the art (para. 50), and Sahle teaches that polyglycerol fatty acid ester surfactants may beneficially increase the stability of compositions formulated as emulsions. Therefore, a skilled artisan would have been led to combine the teachings to improve Moon’s teaching. “Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (see MPEP § 2144.07).”
The Applicant argues that the Office Action uses hindsight reconstruction (Remarks, pg. 9).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. It must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
The Applicant argues that Sahle teaches microemulsions (Remarks, pg. 9).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. Sahle teaches microemulsion nanostructures (pg. 142) and Moon teaches microemulsions as one form of embodiment (para. 52). Therefore, a skilled artisan would have been led to combine the teachings with a reasonable expectation of success.
The Applicant argues that Ham does not teach that a gel product would form (Remarks, pg. 10).
Ham has been removed as prior art and the arguments against them will not be addressed. Regarding claim 10, Moon teaches hydroxyethyl cellulose (para. 101) in their composition, which is known in the art to act as a thickener or gel-forming agent (evidenced by myskinrecipes.com, pgs. 1-2), which is interpreted as forming a gel.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1613
/ANDREW S ROSENTHAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613