DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II, claims 12, 14, 15 and 20 in the reply filed on 9/8/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that Lyons et al. does not teach polyvinyl acetate acrylate. This is not found persuasive because evidence of lack of unity between the groups is found in the combination of Noda et al. (US Patent Application No. 2020/0269554) and Branston et al. (US Patent Application No. 2010/0190012), wherein it is found to disclose the technical features in common between the groups. As such, the technical features in common of the claimed invention are not found to be special, since they do not define a contribution over the prior art. Noda et al. teach a coating color composition (page 2, paragraph [0024], page 5, paragraphs [0089], [0090]), wherein the coating color composition comprises 50 parts by weight or more and 2000 parts by weight or less, more preferably 65 parts by weight or more and 1000 parts by weight or less of pigments (page 5, paragraph [0095]) selected from calcium carbonate, titanium dioxide, clay, satin white, barium sulfate, talc and kaolin (page 5, paragraphs [0089], [0090]). Branston et al. teach a polyvinyl acetate acrylate latex based coating color composition (page 1, paragraphs [0018], [0019], page 5, paragraphs [0105], [0106]), wherein the coating color composition comprises pigments selected from calcium carbonate, titanium dioxide, gypsum, clay, talc and kaolin and mixtures thereof (page 1, paragraphs [0018]-[0020], page 4, paragraph [0102]) and from about 5 to about 60% or more, more preferably from about 5 to about 40%, and most preferably from about 10 to about 40% by weight of polyvinyl acetate-acrylate latex (page 5, paragraphs [0106], [0109]).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: the word “multi-layered” is misspelled as “lulti-layered”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12, 14, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noda et al. (US Patent Application No. 2020/0269554) in view of Branston et al. (US Patent Application No. 2010/0190012).
Regarding claim 12, Noda et al. teach a heat sealable multiple layer paperboard (page 4, paragraph [0078], page 8, paragraph [0129], page 9, paragraph [0148]) comprising a coating color composition on the paperboard (page 2, paragraph [0024], page 5, paragraphs [0089], [0090]) including 50 parts by weight or more and 2000 parts by weight or less, more preferably 65 parts by weight or more and 1000 parts by weight or less of pigments (page 5, paragraph [0095]) selected from calcium carbonate, titanium dioxide, clay, satin white, barium sulfate, talc and kaolin (page 5, paragraphs [0089], [0090]).
Noda et al. fail to teach wherein the coating comprises 10-20 parts of one or more binders comprising polyvinyl acetate acrylate latex, wherein the polyvinyl acetate acrylate latex comprises 30-100% by dry weight of the one or more binders. However, Branston et al. teach a composition for coating paperboard (page 1, paragraph [0018]) comprising a pigments selected from calcium carbonate, titanium dioxide, gypsum, clay, talc and kaolin and mixtures thereof (page 1, paragraphs [0018]-[0020], page 4, paragraph [0102]) and from about 5 to about 60% or more, more preferably from about 5 to about 40%, and most preferably from about 10 to about 40% by weight of polyvinyl acetate-acrylate latex (page 5, paragraphs [0106], [0109]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the polyvinyl acetate acrylate of Branston et al. on the paperboard of Noda et al. in order to assist in holding the pigment particles together and to the paperboard substrate (Branston et al., page 5, paragraph [0107]).
The product-by-process limitation “obtainable by a method according to claim 1” would not be expected to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the paperboard. The product itself does not depend on the process of making it. MPEP 2113. It can therefore be ascertained that the paperboard of Noda et al., as modified by Branston et al. possesses the same characteristics as the Applicant’s claimed paperboard.
Regarding claim 14, Noda et al. teach a coating color composition (page 2, paragraph [0024], page 5, paragraphs [0089], [0090]), wherein the coating color composition comprises 50 parts by weight or more and 2000 parts by weight or less, more preferably 65 parts by weight or more and 1000 parts by weight or less of pigments which reads on Applicant’s claimed 100 parts of pigments (page 5, paragraph [0095]) selected from calcium carbonate, titanium dioxide, clay, satin white, barium sulfate, talc and kaolin (page 5, paragraphs [0089], [0090]).
Noda et al. fail to teach wherein the composition is a polyvinyl acetate acrylate latex based coating color composition comprising 10-20 parts of one or more binders comprising the polyvinyl acetate acrylate latex, wherein the polyvinyl acetate acrylate latex comprises 30-100% by dry weight of the one or more binders. However, Branston et al. teach a polyvinyl acetate acrylate latex based coating color composition (page 1, paragraphs [0018], [0019], page 5, paragraphs [0105], [0106]), wherein the coating color composition comprises pigments selected from calcium carbonate, titanium dioxide, gypsum, clay, talc and kaolin and mixtures thereof (page 1, paragraphs [0018]-[0020], page 4, paragraph [0102]) and from about 5 to about 60% or more, more preferably from about 5 to about 40%, and most preferably from about 10 to about 40% by weight of polyvinyl acetate-acrylate latex which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of 10-20 parts of one or more binders comprising 30-100% by dry weight of the one or more binders (page 5, paragraphs [0106], [0109]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the polyvinyl acetate acrylate of Branston et al. in the composition of Noda et al. in order to assist in holding the pigment particles together and to the paperboard substrate (Noda et al., page 5, paragraph [0107]).
The limitation “suitable for improving heat sealability of a multi-layered paperboard" is deemed to be a statement with regard to intended use and is not further limiting in so far as the structure of the product is concerned. In article claims, a claimed intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. MPEP 2111.02. The composition of Noda et al., as modified by Branston et al., is capable of improving the heat sealability of a multi-layered paperboard in that it contains the same constituents and displays the same characteristics as claimed by Applicant.
Regarding claims 15 and 20, Noda et al. teach wherein the composition comprises styrene butadiene (page 4, paragraph [0086]).
Claims 14, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Branston et al. (US Patent Application No. 2010/0190012) in view of Noda et al. (US Patent Application No. 2020/0269554).
Regarding claim 14, Branston et al. teach a polyvinyl acetate acrylate latex based coating color composition (page 1, paragraphs [0018], [0019], page 5, paragraphs [0105], [0106]), wherein the coating color composition comprises pigments selected from calcium carbonate, titanium dioxide, gypsum, clay, talc and kaolin and mixtures thereof (page 1, paragraphs [0018]-[0020], page 4, paragraph [0102]) and from about 5 to about 60% or more, more preferably from about 5 to about 40%, and most preferably from about 10 to about 40% by weight of polyvinyl acetate-acrylate latex which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of 10-20 parts of one or more binders comprising 30-100% by dry weight of the one or more binders (page 5, paragraphs [0106], [0109]).
Branston et al. fail to teach wherein the composition comprises 100 parts of pigments. However, Noda et al. teach a coating color composition (page 2, paragraph [0024], page 5, paragraphs [0089], [0090]), wherein the coating color composition comprises 50 parts by weight or more and 2000 parts by weight or less, more preferably 65 parts by weight or more and 1000 parts by weight or less of pigments which reads on Applicant’s claimed 100 parts of pigments (page 5, paragraph [0095]) selected from calcium carbonate, titanium dioxide, clay, satin white, barium sulfate, talc and kaolin (page 5, paragraphs [0089], [0090]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the amount of pigments of Noda et al. in the composition of Branston et al. in order to enhance water vapor barrier property (Noda et al., page 5, paragraphs [0089], [0091]).
The limitation “suitable for improving heat sealability of a multi-layered paperboard" is deemed to be a statement with regard to intended use and is not further limiting in so far as the structure of the product is concerned. In article claims, a claimed intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. MPEP 2111.02. The composition of Branston et al., as modified by Noda et al., is capable for improving the heat sealability of a multi-layered paperboard in that it contains the same constituents and displays the same characteristics as claimed by Applicant.
Regarding claims 15 and 20, Branston et al. fail to teach wherein the composition comprises synthetic polymers selected from the group consisting of styrene butadiene latex, styrene acrylate latex, ethylene vinyl acetate latex and vinyl acetate latex. However, Noda et al. teach a coating color composition (page 2, paragraph [0024], page 5, paragraphs [0089], [0090]), wherein the coating color composition comprises 50 parts by weight or more and 2000 parts by weight or less, more preferably 65 parts by weight or more and 1000 parts by weight or less of pigments (page 5, paragraph [0095]) selected from calcium carbonate, titanium dioxide, clay, satin white, barium sulfate, talc and kaolin (page 5, paragraphs [0089], [0090]) and styrene butadiene (page 4, paragraph [0086]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the styrene butadiene of Noda et al. in the composition of Branston et al. in order to provide water vapor barrier property (Noda et al., page 4, paragraph [0086]).
Conclusion
/Chinessa T. Golden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 12/12/2025