DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, drawn to a medical device system, in the reply filed on 10/28/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-13, 15, 16, 18, and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/28/25.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Information Disclosure Statement
The accompanying information disclosure statement (IDS) submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Butcher et al. (US 2020/0046217 A1, hereinafter Butcher).
For claim 1, Butcher discloses a medical device system (100) (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042]), comprising inter alia:
a guide sheath (105) comprising a steerable lumen (interior lumen(s) of 105) (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042]); and
an endoscope (1200, 105) (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]) comprising inter alia:
an elongate shaft (1200, 105) extending between a proximal end portion and a distal end face (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]), the elongate shaft configured for displacement along the steerable lumen (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]);
a working tool lumen (first of the three lumens of 1200) (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]) extending along the elongate shaft and exiting at the distal end face (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042]);
an anchor lumen (second of three lumens of 1200) (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]) entering the elongate shaft between the proximal end portion and the distal end face and exiting the elongate shaft at the distal end face (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]); and
a non-axial lumen (third of the three lumens of 1200 and lumen of 150) (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040])extending from the working tool lumen to an exterior of the elongate shaft at the distal end face (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]).
For claim 2, Butcher discloses the medical device system of claim 1, further comprising an anchor wire (806 via 1000) ([0040[) extending through the anchor wire lumen (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]).
For claim 3, Butcher discloses the medical device system of claim 2, wherein the anchor wire comprises: an elongate cable (806) (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]); and a tissue anchor (802, 804, 810) (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]) located proximate a distal end of the anchor wire (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]).
For claim 4, Butcher discloses the medical device system of claim 1, further comprising a tissue retrieval device (840) (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]) extendable from the working tool lumen (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]).
For claim 5, Butcher discloses the medical device system of claim 4, wherein the tissue retrieval device comprises a shaft capable of resiliently bending from extending along the working tool lumen to extending along the working tool lumen and into the non-axial lumen (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]).
For claim 6, Butcher discloses the medical device system of claim 5, wherein the tissue retrieval device comprises forceps (840) (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]).
For claim 7, Butcher discloses the medical device system of claim 1, wherein the non-axial lumen comprises a slit (side openings of 150 extending towards 1200) (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]) at the distal end face extending along the elongate shaft to intersect the working tool lumen (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]).
For claim 8, Butcher discloses the medical device system of claim 7, wherein the non-axial lumen extends through a side surface of the elongate shaft (side openings of 150 extending towards 1200) (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]).
For claim 9, Butcher discloses the medical device system of claim 1, wherein the non-axial lumen extends within the distal-most ten percent of the length of the elongate shaft (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]).
For claim 10, Butcher discloses the medical device system of claim 1, wherein the endoscope includes steering capabilities (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]).
For claim 21, Butcher discloses a medical device system (100) (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]), comprising inter alia:
a guide sheath (105) (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]) comprising a steerable lumen (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]); and
an endoscope (1200,105) (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]) comprising inter alia:
an elongate shaft (1200, 105) (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]) extending between a proximal end portion and a distal end face (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]), the elongate shaft configured for displacement along the steerable lumen (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]);
a working tool lumen (first of the three lumens of 1200) (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]) extending along the elongate shaft and exiting at the distal end face; and
an anchor lumen (second of the three lumens of 1200) (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]) entering the elongate shaft between the proximal end portion and the distal end face and exiting the elongate shaft at the distal end face (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]).
For claim 22, Butcher discloses the medical device system of claim 21, further comprising a slot (lateral opening(s) of 105) (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]) extending from the working tool lumen to an exterior of the elongate shaft at the distal end face to allow an instrument (e.g. 840, 1000) extending through the working tool lumen to be bent radially (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]).
For claim 23, Butcher discloses the medical device system of claim 22, further comprising:
an anchor wire (806) (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]) extending through the anchor lumen (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]), wherein the anchor wire comprises:
an elongate cable (806) (Figs 8-14) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]); and a tissue anchor (802, 804, 810) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]) located proximate a distal end of the anchor wire ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]); and
a tissue retrieval (840) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]) device extendable from the working tool lumen ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]), wherein the tissue retrieval device comprises a shaft (shaft of 840) ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]) capable of resiliently bending from extending along the working tool lumen to extending along the working tool lumen and into the slot ([0025-0042, especially 0026, 0040]).
Conclusion
Jeffrey G. Hoekstra
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JEFFREY G. HOEKSTRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791