DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is in response to Applicant's Restriction Requirement remarks filed on January 28, 2026. Claim(s) 1-25 are pending. Claim(s) 1-14 and 23-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant's election of Group III drawn to a method of inhibiting the progression of a urea cycle disorder and election of species of Ornithine transcarbamoylase (OTC) without traverse of the restriction requirement in the reply is acknowledged. The requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Claim(s) 15-22 are examined herein insofar as they read on the elected invention and species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pahan (WO 2015/109215) and Marini (US 2020/170984) of record.
Pahan teaches a method for inhibiting the progression of a urea cycle disorder comprising administering to a patient in need thereof an effective amount of a pharmaceutical composition comprising glyceryl tribenzoate and/or glyceryl dibenzoate (claim 1).
Pahan teaches the pharmaceutical composition is administered to the patient one time per day (claim 2).
Pahan teaches the effective amount is from about 3 grams to about 10 grams per day, based on a 50 kg patient (claim 3).
Pahan teaches the pharmaceutical composition is formulated together with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier or excipient (claim 4).
Pahan teaches the pharmaceutical composition is administered orally (claim 5).
Pahan teaches the urea cycle disorder is selected from the group consisting of N-acetylglutamate synthase, Carbamoyl Phosphate Synthetase 1, Ornithine transcarbamoylase, Argininosuccinate synthase, argininosuccinate lyase, Arginase 1, and any combination thereof (claim 6).
Pahan does not teach glycerol phenylbutyrate in combination with glycerol tribenzoate.
Marini teaches a method of treating an individual for one or more urea cycle disorders administering a therapeutically effective amount of sodium benzoate and sodium phenylbutyrate or glycerol phenylbutyrate, wherein, the sodium benzoate and sodium phenylbutyrate or glycerol phenylbutyrate are each administered at no more than 200mg/kg/day (claim 1).
Marini teaches the urea cycle disorder encompasses one or more of the following diseases: N-acetylglutamate synthase deficiency (NAGS deficiency), Carbamoyl-phosphate synthase 1 deficiency (CPS1 deficiency), Ornithine transcarbamylase deficiency (OTC deficiency), Ornithine translocase (ORNT1) deficiency, Citrullinemia type I (ASS1 deficiency), Argininosuccinic aciduria (AS L deficiency), Arginase deficiency (hyperargininemia, ARG1 deficiency), and/or Citrin deficiency (claim 2).
Marini teaches the glycerol phenylbutyrate is administered to the individual orally (claim 3) as well as intranasally [0040].
Marini teaches glycerol phenylbutyrate are administered to the individual daily, weekly, multiple times in a week, bi-weekly, or monthly (claim 4).
Marini teaches the active compound may comprise between about 2% to about 75% of the weight of the unit [0042].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed the use of glyceryl tribenzoate for the use of treating urea disorders as taught by Pahan and combined said agent with glycerol phenylbutyrate for the treatment of the same disorders as taught b Marini. The examiner respectfully points out the following from MPEP 2144.06: "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose ....[T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.', In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850,205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
Thus, based on the foregoing reasons, the instant claims are deemed unpatentable over the cited reference.
Conclusion
Claims 15-22 are not allowed.
/SAHAR JAVANMARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1622