DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-19 and 21-23 are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
New Claim Objections
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities: the term “further” should be immediately recited prior to the term “comprises.” Appropriate correction is required.
Modified Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agostino et al., (US 2013/0220358 A1, Aug. 29, 2013) (hereinafter Agostino) as evidenced by PubChem (6-hydroxybenzomorpholine, accessed July 7, 2025) (hereinafter 6-hydroxybenzomorpholine) and PubChem (hydroxyethyl-3,4- methylenedioxyaniline, accessed July 7, 2025) (hereinafter PubChem hydroxyethyl-3,4- methylenedioxyaniline).
Agostino discloses non-diluted and diluted hair colouring compositions that include a dye component comprising at least one oxidative dye precursor and/or an alkalizing agent. Oxidative dye precursors are usually classified either as primary intermediates (also known as developers) or couplers (also known as secondary intermediates). The total amount of oxidative dye precursors ranges up to 12%. Various couplers may be used with primary intermediates in order to obtain different shades. Suitable primary intermediates include p-aminophenol (i.e., one or more oxidation bases). Suitable couplers include, but are not limited to, 6-hydroxybenzomorpholine, 6-hydroxyindole (i.e., a heterocyclic coupling agent), hydroxyethyl-3,4-methylenedioxyaniline, and mixtures thereof ([0032]). The hair colouring compositions may contain from 0.01% to 5% by weight of a chelant or sequestering agent, salts thereof or mixtures thereof. The term “salts thereof” means all salts comprising the same functional structure as the chelant they are referring to and includes alkali metal. The chelant may be present in the dye component ([0040]). Chelants include N,N-Dicarboxymethyl-L-glutamic acid ([0046]) and ethylenediamine disuccinic acid (EDDS) (i.e., one or more sequestrant) ([0042]). The hair colouring compositions may comprise polyalkylsiloxane oils (i.e., at least one liquid fatty substance) as a conditioning agent present in the dye component ([0067] and [0068]). The hair colouring compositions may comprise ceramides (i.e., at least one solid fatty substance) and surfactants in the dye component ([0036]). The dye component of the non-diluted and diluted hair colouring compositions may optionally comprise an alkalizing agent, such as monoethanolamine ([0033]). The non-diluted and diluted hair colouring compositions comprise a developer component comprising an oxidizing agent, such as urea peroxide ([0031]). The compositions may be utilized in a variety of packaging and dispensing devices that come in the form of separate devices which may be used independently or in combination with one another. Typically, the hair colouring or bleaching components are contained within separate single or multi compartment containers so that the components can be stored separately from one another before use. The components are then mixed together by a mixing means and then applied to the consumer's hair by an application means. ([0099]). The developer component, the dye component and a dilutant component may be provided as separate containers in a kit ([0100]).
Agostino discloses hair colouring compositions containing 6-hydroxybenzomorpholine ([0032]), hydroxyethyl-3,4-methylenedioxyaniline ([0032]), and N,N-Dicarboxymethyl-L-glutamic acid ([0046]). Together these would provide a composition as claimed instantly. The prior art is not anticipatory insofar as these combinations must be selected from various lists/locations in the reference. It would have been obvious, however, to make the combination since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding the limitation of claim 1 reciting at least one oxidation coupler chosen from 6-hydroxybenzomorpholine of formula (II)
,
The 6-hydroxybenzomorpholine of Agostino has the structure,
, which is the same as formula (II), as evidenced by PubChem 6-hydroxybenzomorpholine (bottom of page 2 - top of page 3, 2D Structure).
Regarding the limitation of claim 1 reciting at least one oxidation coupler chosen from hydroxyethyl-3,4- methylenedioxyaniline of formula (III)
, the hydroxyethyl-3,4- methylenedioxyaniline of Agostino has the structure
, which is the same as formula (III), as evidenced by PubChem hydroxyethyl-3,4- methylenedioxyaniline (page 3, 2D Structure).
Regarding the limitation of claim 5 reciting the weight ratio between the content of 6- hydroxybenzomorpholine of formula (II) and the content of hydroxyethyl-3,4- methylenedioxyaniline of formula (III), their addition salts, their solvates and/or the solvates of their salts is between 0.1 and 10, as discussed above, Agostino teaches that oxidative dye precursors include 6-hydroxybenzomorpholine and hydroxyethyl-3,4-methylenedioxyaniline and wherein a total amount of oxidative dye precursors ranges up to 12% is present. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have selected an amount of 6-hydroxybenzomorpholine and an amount of hydroxyethyl-3,4-methylenedioxyaniline from this range. The amounts selected would have led to a ratio between the two components that overlaps with the claimed ratio. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant argues that the claimed combination of three compounds leads to unpredictable results that are significantly better than those obtained from any combination of two of the compounds. Applicant cites the results disclosed in instant Table 3 demonstrating a ΔE value of 2.26 for the inventive mixture which is roughly half of the ΔE values for the comparative mixtures 1 and 2, which are 4.48 and 4.31, respectively, and lower ΔE values represent color homogeneity.
Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but found not to be persuasive. As noted in the instant specification on page 45, line 15, ΔE is a measure of color difference. As discussed above, Agostino teaches that 6-hydroxybenzomorpholine and hydroxyethyl-3,4-methylenedioxyaniline are couplers. Agostino discloses in paragraph [0032] wherein various couplers may be used with primary intermediates in order to obtain different shades. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that each mixture in instant Table 3 comprising a coupler would have a ΔE. Although, Comparative mixture 2 and Comparative mixture 1 have similar ΔE values, the Examiner is not persuaded that a mixture comprising both of the couplers in Comparative mixture 2 and Comparative mixture 1 would be expected to have a similar ΔE as the comparative mixtures and that when the ΔE is different it is unexpected. As evidenced by Chan et al., (US 5,344,463 A, Sept. 06, 1994) (hereinafter Chan), whether to use coupler (I) alone or in combination with other couplers will depend on the shade of the color desired (col 3, lines 64-67). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that combining two couplers together would produce a shade different from when one coupler is used. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect for Invention mixture comprising both 6-hydroxybenzomorpholine and hydroxyethyl-3,4-methylenedioxyaniline as couplers to have a ΔE different than Comparative mixture 2 comprising just 6-hydroxybenzomorpholine as the coupler and a ΔE different than Comparative mixture 1 comprising just hydroxyethyl-3,4-methylenedioxyaniline as the coupler. Applicant has not shown wherein a mixture comprising two other couplers may have a similar ΔE value compared to two mixtures each comprising one of those two couplers. As such, Applicant's showing does not appear to be unexpected.
Additionally, with regards to a lower ΔE value representing colorations that are less selective, Applicant has not explained why it is desirable in the art to have a lower ΔE value. The evidence relied upon should establish that the differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance. See MPEP 716.02(b)(I). It is not clear how a lower ΔE is of practical significance when it appears that the degree of color change depends on a user’s preference for what color they would like for their hair.
Further, purely arguendo, even if Applicant's showing is unexpected, the independent claim is not commensurate in scope with Applicant's showing. As noted in instant Table 1, the inventive mixture comprises tetrasodium glutamate diacetate as the representative N,N-Dicarboxymethylglutamic acid salt. However, the claims recite N,N-dicarboxymethylglutamic acid and all of its salts and mixtures thereof. One of ordinary skill in the art would not reasonably expect tetrasodium glutamate diacetate to be reasonably representative of N,N-dicarboxymethylglutamic acid and all of its salts because different N,N-dicarboxymethylglutamic acid salts have different solubilities that would affect the final color produced by the composition. Also, the independent claim does not recite amounts. As noted in instant Table 1, the inventive composition comprises 2.1 mmol of each coupler and 0.1% of the tetrasodium glutamate diacetate. Chan teaches that the proportions and amounts of the several constituents in the hair dye composition will depend on the nature and amount of the dye components, the tonal impression to be created, and the color of the hair to be dyed (col 3, lines 60-64). Thus, one would not reasonably expect any or all amounts of couplers and any or all amounts of N,N-dicarboxymethylglutamic and its salts and mixtures thereof to produce the same or similar ΔE values.
Applicant argues that Agostino's examples and kit structure keep the chelant (e.g., GLDA) in the developer, while the couplers are in the dye cream-i.e., in separate compositions. Claim 1, on the other hand, requires a single cosmetic composition containing all three species.
Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but found not to be persuasive. As discussed above, Agostino teaches that the chelant may be present in the dye component ([0040]) and chelants include N,N-Dicarboxymethyl-L-glutamic acid ([0046]). Suitable couplers include, but are not limited to, 6-hydroxybenzomorpholine, hydroxyethyl-3,4-methylenedioxyaniline, and mixtures thereof and couplers are usually incorporated into the dye component ([0032]). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to formulate the dye component of Agostino comprising 6-hydroxybenzomorpholine, hydroxyethyl-3,4-methylenedioxyaniline, and N,N-Dicarboxymethyl-L-glutamic acid as a single cosmetic composition as required by claim 1.
Applicant argues that claims 2-19 and 21-23 depend from Claim 1, therefore claims 2-19 and 21-23 are not obvious over Agostino as evidenced by PubChem 6-hydroxybenzomorpholine and PubChem hydroxyethyl-3,4-methylenedioxyanilin.
Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but found not to be persuasive since Applicant’s arguments against Agostino were not found persuasive.
For the foregoing reasons the rejection is modified and maintained.
Modified Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 and 21-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 19-24 and 26-38 of copending Application No. 18/268,065 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the conflicting claims recite a more specific version of the instant claims (i.e., the conflicting claims recite the addition of 2-amino-5-ethylphenols of formula (III)) and thus read on the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-19 and 21-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 20-39 of copending Application No. 18/267,888 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the pending claims recite at least one oxidation coupler chosen from 6-hydroxybenzomorpholine of formula (II), addition salts thereof, solvates thereof, solvates of its salts thereof, or mixtures of two or more thereof.
However, Agostino discloses non-diluted and diluted hair colouring compositions that include a dye component comprising at least one oxidative dye precursor and/or an alkalizing agent. Oxidative dye precursors are usually classified either as primary intermediates (also known as developers) or couplers (also known as secondary intermediates. Various couplers may be used with primary intermediates in order to obtain different shades. Suitable couplers include, but are not limited to 6-hydroxybenzomorpholine, 2-amino-5-ethylphenol, hydroxyethyl-3,4-methylenedioxyaniline, and mixtures thereof ([0032]). The hair colouring compositions may contain a chelant. The presence of redox metals such as copper, iron, and calcium in tap water used by consumers, may affect the color chemistry of oxidative hair dyes. The presence of chelants may limit this effect ([0040]). Chelants include N,N-Dicarboxymethyl-L-glutamic acid ([0046]).
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. The copending claims disclose wherein the composition comprises oxidation couplers. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated 6-hydroxybenzomorpholine of formula (II) into the composition of the pending claims since it is a known and effective oxidation coupler as taught by Agostino.
Claims 1-19 and 21-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,290,586 B2 in view of Agostino et al., (US20130220358A1, Aug. 29, 2013) (hereinafter Agostino). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the pending recites one or more compounds chosen from N,N-dicarboxymethylglutamic acid, its salts and mixtures thereof.
However, Agostino discloses non-diluted and diluted hair colouring compositions that include a dye component comprising at least one oxidative dye precursor and/or an alkalizing agent. Oxidative dye precursors are usually classified either as primary intermediates (also known as developers) or couplers (also known as secondary intermediates. Various couplers may be used with primary intermediates in order to obtain different shades. Suitable couplers include, but are not limited to 6-hydroxybenzomorpholine, hydroxyethyl-3,4-methylenedioxyaniline, and mixtures thereof ([0032]). The hair colouring compositions may contain a chelant. The presence of redox metals such as copper, iron, and calcium in tap water used by consumers, may affect the color chemistry of oxidative hair dyes. The presence of chelants may limit this effect ([0040]). Chelants include N,N-Dicarboxymethyl-L-glutamic acid ([0046]).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to formulate the pending claims to comprise one or more compounds chosen from N,N-dicarboxymethylglutamic acid, its salts and mixtures thereof because the presence of chelants in hair colouring compositions may limit the effect of redox metals in the color chemistry of oxidative hair dyes, as taught by Agostino.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant argues that the amended claims render the double patenting rejections moot.
Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but found not to be persuasive since Applicant’s amendments were not sufficient to overcome the prior art rejections of the previous office action, as discussed above.
For the foregoing reasons the rejection is modified and maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.J.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1614
/TRACY LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614