DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 11, filed 10/01/2025, with respect to objections to the specification and rejections under 35 USC 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to the specification and the rejections under 35 USC 112 of claims 2, 5, and 9 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 10/01/2025 regarding the rejection of claims 1-3 under PAWELLEK have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that PAWELLEK does not disclose adjacent stator lamination stacks of at least to stator lamination stacks being disposed so as to be spaced apart from one another in the axial direction. However, PAWELLEK discloses two alternating elements in its structure: A. stator lamination stacks (2) with webs (4) (see Fig. 1) and B. poles (7) without webs (see Fig. 1b). The poles without webs serve to space adjacent ones of the stacks (2) apart axially, as broadly claimed.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejections of claim 1 under 35 USC 102 as anticipated by NOER have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument, except insofar as discussed with respect to PAWELLEK, above.
Applicant's arguments regarding the rejection of claim 7 under HARTMANN have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the claimed rotor ‘segment’, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “the rotor is segmented and includes several rotor segments”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The section of HARTMANN depicted in the drawings is a ‘rotor segment’ as broadly claimed.
Regarding the placement of magnets, Hartmann discloses that the disclosed rotor may be an internal rotor (see para [0037]). Whether the magnets are surface mounted or not in the case of an internal rotor, situating the rotor inside the stator places the magnets on an “internal circumferential face” as broadly claimed. Regarding the two clamping grooves of HARTMANN, though they are similar, each one is the reverse of the other. Thus, they are ‘different’ as broadly claimed.
Applicant's arguments regarding claim 14 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. To the extent that these arguments rely upon the discussion above, these elements have been addressed in this action, above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by PAWELLEK (US 6483221).
Regarding Claim 1, PAWELLEK discloses a stator laminated core (1) for receiving at least one coil unit (windings 12) of a stator segment (col. 3, line 11) of a stator (col. 1, line 1) of a generator for a wind turbine (this statement in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention does not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art), comprising:
at least one stator lamination stack (laminate 6) with two or more lamination stack units (poles 2) which are disposed so as to be spaced apart from one another in a circumferential direction (see Fig. 1 and col. 3, lines 37-47) and have a plurality of first stator lamination elements (individual poles 7 are lamination elements as broadly claimed) which are disposed next to one another in an axial direction (see Figs. 1b, 3 and col. 4, lines 4-8 and 48-52);
wherein the at least one stator lamination stack (6) comprises at least one second stator lamination element (web 4) which differs from the first stator lamination element and connects adjacent lamination stack units (2) of the two or more lamination stack units (2) to one another (see Fig. 1 and col. 3, lines 37-47), and
wherein adjacent stator lamination stacks (2,4) of the at least two stator lamination stacks being disposed so as to be spaced apart from one another in the axial direction (i.e. spaced apart by poles 7; see Fig. 3, col. 4, lines 47-52).
Regarding Claim 2, PAWELLEK discloses the stator laminated core (1) as claimed in claim 1,wherein:
the first stator lamination elements (7) of the plurality of first stator lamination elements (7) have a first lamination length in the circumferential direction, and the at least one second stator lamination element (4) has a second lamination length in the circumferential direction, wherein the second lamination length extends at least twice as far in the circumferential direction in comparison with the first lamination length; and/or
the first stator lamination elements (7) have a first lamination width in the axial direction, and the at least one second stator lamination element (4) has a second lamination width in the axial direction which is equal to the first lamination width (the widths are substantially the same; see Figs. 3 and 4; col. 4, lines 47-61).
Claims 7, 9-11 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HARTMANN (US 20170033626; previously cited).
Regarding Claim 7, HARTMANN discloses a rotor segment (see Fig. 1-3) of a rotor of a generator for a wind turbine (see paragraph [0037]), comprising;
a magnet carrier segment having an annular or part-annular geometry (see Fig. 1) and a rotor internal circumferential face (see paragraph [0037]);
at least one rotor laminated core (1), which is configured to receive at least one magnet unit (6,8,4) and is disposed on the rotor internal circumferential face;
at least one magnet unit (6,8,4), which is disposed on the rotor laminated core (1); and
at least one magnet cover device (4) which is connected to the rotor laminated core (1), wherein one magnet unit (6,8,4) is in each case disposed between a magnet cover device and the rotor laminated core (1)
wherein the at least one magnet unit (6,8,4) is connected in a materially integral manner (via sealing compound 5; see para [0059] and Figs 1-3) to the rotor laminated core (1); and
wherein the rotor laminated core (1) has at least one first clamping groove and at least one second clamping groove (3) for the force-fitting and/or form-fitting (see Fig. 1) connection of the magnet cover device (4) to the rotor laminated core (1), wherein the first clamping groove (3) is different from the second clamping groove (3) (they are mirror images; see Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 9, HARTMANN discloses the rotor segment as claimed in claim 7, wherein
the at least one magnet unit (6,8,4) comprises at least one cuboid magnet block (4; see Fig. 1), wherein the magnet block (4) at least on one side of the magnet block (4) has grooves (unlabeled grooves for interlocking with grooves 3; see Fig. 1) for distributing a casting compound (5) between the magnet block (4) and the rotor internal circumferential face;
wherein the at least one magnet block (4) has an axial groove in an axial direction and/or a circumferential groove in a circumferential direction and/or a diagonal groove running diagonally to the axial direction and the circumferential direction; and/or
wherein the rotor segment includes a plurality of magnet units (6,8,4) which on the rotor internal circumferential face are disposed spaced apart from one another in the circumferential direction (see Fig. 1); and/or
wherein, in the axial direction, two or more magnet units of the plurality of magnet units are disposed spaced apart from one another, wherein the magnet units disposed adjacently in the axial direction define a circumferential gap with a gap width; and/or
wherein the magnet units comprise one, two or more rows of magnets which are disposed spaced apart from one another in the circumferential direction, equidistantly; and/or
wherein a row of magnets comprises one or a plurality of magnet blocks which are preferably disposed next to one another in the axial direction.
Regarding Claim 10, HARTMANN discloses the rotor segment as claimed in claim 7,wherein:
the rotor laminated core (1) is connected in a materially integral manner, with a welded connection, to the magnet carrier segment; and/or
the rotor laminated core (1) has at least one casting compound channel (groove 3) on a rotor laminated core (1) internal circumferential face, wherein the at least one casting compound channel is configured as a groove (3), wherein the at least one casting compound channel has an axial channel in an axial direction (normal to the page, perpendicular to the circumferential direction; see annotated Fig. 1, below) and/or a circumferential channel in a circumferential direction and/or a diagonal channel that runs diagonally to the axial direction and the circumferential direction.
Regarding Claim 11, HARTMANN discloses a rotor of a generator of a wind turbine (see paragraph [0037]), comprising an annularly configured rotor segment as claimed in claim 7.
Regarding Claim 14, HARTMANN discloses a method for producing a rotor segment of a rotor of a generator for a wind turbine (see para [0037]), the method comprising:
providing a magnet carrier segment having an annular or part-annular geometry (see Fig. 1) and a rotor internal circumferential face (see paragraph [0037]), and
providing at least one rotor laminated core (1), which is configured to receive at least one magnet unit (6,8,4) and is disposed on the rotor internal circumferential face; and
providing at least one magnet unit (6,8,4) with at least one magnet block (4); and
disposing the at least one magnet unit (6,8,4) on the rotor laminated core (1) (see Fig. 1); and
connecting in a materially integral manner (via sealing compound 5; see para [0059] and Figs 1-3) the at least one magnet unit (6,8,4) to the rotor laminated core (1); and
providing at least one magnet cover device (4); and
fastening the at least one magnet cover device to the rotor laminated core (1), wherein the rotor laminated core (1) has at least one first clamping groove and at least one second clamping groove (3) for the force-fitting and/or form-fitting (see Fig. 1) connection of the magnet cover device (4) to the rotor laminated core (1), wherein the first clamping groove (3) is different from the second clamping groove (3) (they are mirror images; see Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 15, HARTMANN discloses the method as claimed in claim 14, wherein
connecting in a materially integral manner the at least one magnet unit (6,8,4) to the rotor laminated core (1) comprises:
casting the at least one magnet unit (6,8,4) on the rotor laminated core (1) so that a casting compound (5, 8) at least partially encloses the magnet unit (6,8,4) (see Figs. 1-3 and para [0059-0062]); and/or
the method further comprises:
; and/or
providing an auxiliary assembling tool, wherein the auxiliary assembling tool is composed of steel or comprises the latter, and wherein the auxiliary assembling tool is a negative mold of the at least one magnet cover device and/or of the rotor laminated core (1) internal circumferential face; and/or
fastening the at least one rotor laminated core (1) to the rotor internal circumferential face of the magnet carrier segment ; and/or
disposing the auxiliary assembling tool on the magnet carrier segment so that the auxiliary assembling tool encloses the at least one magnet cover device and/or the at least one rotor laminated core (1) ; and/or
inserting the at least one magnet block (4) of the at least one magnet unit (6,8,4) into the at least one magnet cover device ; and/or
casting at least the at least one magnet cover device including the at least one magnet block (4) inserted therein and the rotor laminated core (1) with a casting compound, wherein the casting with the casting compound performed counter to gravity from bottom to top; and/or
curing the casting compound (V); and/or
removing the auxiliary assembling tool.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PAWELLEK in view of JELDEN (US 20180262070).
Regarding Claim 3 PAWELLEK discloses the stator laminated core as claimed in claim 1.
However, PAWELLEK does not disclose the two or more lamination stack units are disposed so as to be spaced apart from one another in the circumferential direction by a lamination stack spacing, the lamination stack spacing being more than 0 mm and/or at most 10 mm; and/or the stator lamination stack extends in the circumferential direction with an arc angle of at least 100 and of at most 200; and/or the plurality of first stator lamination elements extend in the circumferential direction with an arc angle of at least 2.50 and of at most 7 and/or the at least one second stator lamination element extends in the circumferential direction with an arc angle of at least 7.5 and of at most 12.50.
JELDEN discloses a rotor with first stator lamination elements (poles) having an arc angle of 6 (see para [0040]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the stator laminated core of PAWELLEK with the plurality of first stator lamination elements extend in the circumferential direction with an arc angle of at least 2.50 and of at most 7, similar to JELDEN.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to increase the generated torque, as taught by JELDEN (see para [0040])
Claims 1, 4-6, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NOER (US 20150084454) in view of PAWELLEK.
Regarding Claim 1, NOER discloses a stator laminated core (laminated body structure: see para [0033]) for receiving at least one coil unit (116) of a stator segment (112) of a stator (100) of a generator for a wind turbine (see para [0002]), comprising:
at least one stator lamination stack (see para [0035]) with two or more lamination stack units which are disposed so as to be spaced apart from one another in a circumferential direction (see annotated Fig. 1, below) and have a plurality of first stator lamination elements (recess 118) which are disposed next to one another in an axial direction (normal to page; see Fig. 1 and para [0022]);
wherein the at least one stator lamination stack comprises at least one second stator lamination element (protrusion 119) which differs from the first stator lamination element (118) and connects adjacent lamination stack units of the two or more lamination stack units to one another.
However, NOER fails to disclose adjacent stator lamination stacks of the at least two stator lamination stacks being disposed so as to be spaced apart from one another in the axial direction.
PAWELLEK discloses adjacent stator lamination stacks (2,4) of the at least two stator lamination stacks being disposed so as to be spaced apart from one another in the axial direction (i.e. spaced apart by poles 7; see Fig. 3, col. 4, lines 47-52).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the stator laminated core of NOER with the adjacent stator lamination stacks of the at least two stator lamination stacks being disposed so as to be spaced apart from one another in the axial direction , similar to PAWELLEK.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to simplify production with no power losses, be used with a variety of windings, minimize stray flux, and reduce mechanical and magnetic loads, among other benefits, as taught by PAWELLEK (see col. 1, line 63-Col 2, line 65, etc.).
Regarding Claim 4, NOER in view of PAWELLEK teaches a stator segment as disclosed in NOER of a stator (100) of a generator for a wind turbine comprising;
a coil carrier segment (120) having an annular or part-annular geometry (see para. [0018]) and a stator circumferential structure; and
at least one stator laminated core (112) as claimed in claim 1,which is configured to receive at least one coil unit (116) and is disposed on the stator circumferential structure; and
a fastening device (122) for fastening the at least one stator laminated core (112) to the coil carrier segment (120) , wherein
the fastening device (122) is configured as a clamping device for the force-fitting and/or form-fitting connection (see Fig. 1) of the at least one stator laminated core (112) to the coil carrier segment (120).
Regarding Claim 5, NOER in view of PAWELLEK teaches the stator segment as claimed in claim 4, wherein:
NOER discloses stator laminated cores disposed adjacently in the circumferential direction are disposed on the stator circumferential structure so as to be spaced apart from one another by a laminated core spacing; wherein:
the laminated core spacing is equal to a lamination stack spacing; or
the laminated core spacing is greater than the lamination stack spacing; or
the laminated core spacing is smaller than the lamination stack spacing (inherently, the two spacings must either be equal/corresponding or one greater than the other); and/or
the fastening device comprises:
at least one first trapezoidal clamping strip, and/or at least one second partially trapezoidal clamping strip, for the force-fitting and/or form-fitting fastening of the fastening device to the at least one stator laminated core, wherein the first trapezoidal clamping strip is different than the second partially trapezoidal clamping strip;
wherein the at least one first and/or second clamping strip has at least one contact face for fastening the first and/or second clamping strip to the at least one stator laminated core, wherein the contact face has one or a plurality of punctiform and/or linear contact elevations, which are configured to produce a clamping connection with the stator laminated core by way of punctiform and/or linear contact;
a fastening connector for fastening the fastening device to the coil carrier segment and to the stator circumferential structure;
wherein the fastening connector comprises at least one tensioning element for the force-fitting and/or form-fitting connection of the at least one first and/or second clamping strip on the coil carrier segment and on the stator circumferential structure; and
at least one damping element for disposal between the at least one first and/or second clamping strip of the fastening device, and the stator laminated core; and/or
the at least one stator laminated core comprises:
at least one first trapezoidal fastening groove, and/or at least one second partially trapezoidal fastening groove, for receiving the fastening device and a first and/or second clamping strip of the at least one first and/or second clamping strip, wherein the first fastening groove is different from the second fastening groove;
wherein the at least one first and/or second fastening groove has at least one groove wall as a contact face for fastening the fastening device to the at least one first and/or second fastening groove, the groove wall having one or a plurality of punctiform and/or linear contact elevations which are configured to produce a clamping connection with the fastening device by way of punctiform and/or linear contact.
Regarding Claim 6, NOER in view of PAWELLEK teaches a stator as disclosed by NOER of a generator of a wind turbine (see para [0007]), comprising an annular stator segment as claimed in claim 4.
Regarding Claim 17, NOER in view of PAWELLEK teaches the stator laminated core (1) as claimed in claim 1, wherein:
NOER discloses the stator (100) is a segmented stator of a segmented generator (see para [0017]);
the plurality of first stator lamination elements (118) are stacked in the axial direction (see Fig. 1 and para [0022]); and the at least one stator lamination stack comprises two second stator lamination elements (118) (see Fig. 1).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NOER in view of PAWELLEK and further in view of HARTMANN.
Regarding Claim 12, NOER in view of PAWELLEK teaches a generator for a wind turbine, comprising a stator as claimed in claim 6, as discussed above.
However, neither NOER nor PAWELLEK disclose a rotor including an annularly configured rotor segment including: a magnet carrier segment having an annular or part-annular geometry and a rotor internal circumferential face, at least one rotor laminated core, which is configured to receive at least one magnet unit and is disposed on the rotor internal circumferential face; and at least one magnet unit, which is disposed on the rotor laminated core, wherein the at least one magnet unit is connected in a materially integral manner to the rotor laminated core.
HARTMANN discloses a rotor including an annularly configured rotor segment including: a magnet carrier segment having an annular or part-annular geometry (see Fig. 1) and a rotor internal circumferential face (see paragraph [0037]), at least one rotor laminated core (1), which is configured to receive at least one magnet unit (6,8,4) and is disposed on the rotor internal circumferential face; and at least one magnet unit (6,8,4), which is disposed on the rotor laminated core (1), wherein the at least one magnet unit (6,8,4) is connected in a materially integral manner to the rotor laminated core (1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the generator of NOER in view of PAWELLEK with a rotor structure similar to that of HARTMANN including the claimed magnet carrier segment, rotor internal circumferential face, rotor laminated core, magnet unit, and materially integral connection.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to reduce the number of manufacturing steps and increase process reliability in production of the rotor, by dispensing with the need for weld seems between the cover and the rotor housing, as taught by HARTMANN (see para [0034])
Regarding Claim 13, NOER in view of PAWELLEK and further in view of HARTMANN teaches a wind turbine comprising a generator as claimed in claim 12. NOER discloses a wind turbine (see para [0002])
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HARTMANN in view of PIERCEY (US 20110043065; previously disclosed).
Regarding Claim 16, HARTMANN discloses the method of claim 14, as discussed above.
However, HARTMANN does not disclose using an auxiliary assembling tool to produce the rotor segment; and using the auxiliary tool to dispose the at least one magnet unit on the rotor laminated core and to connect in a materially integral manner the at least one magnet unit to the rotor laminated core.
PIERCEY discloses a method for producing a rotor segment of a rotor (208) of a generator (120) for a wind turbine (see para [0037]), the method comprising using an auxiliary assembling tool (720; see Fig. 7) to produce the rotor segment; and using the auxiliary tool to dispose the at least one magnet unit (216,216’) on the rotor laminated core (208) and to connect in a materially integral manner the at least one magnet unit (216,216’) to the rotor laminated core (208)(see para [0028]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the method of producing a rotor segment of HARTMANN with the steps of PIERCEY including using an auxiliary assembling tool to dispose and connect the magnet unit.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to simplify maintenance by making it possible to remove and replace the magnet unit as needed, as taught by PIERCEY (see para [0005]).
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PAWELLEK in view of JELDEN and further in view of DYER (US 20120235519).
Regarding Claim 18, PAWELLEK in view of JELDEN teaches the stator laminated core (1) as claimed in claim 3, as discussed above.
However, neither PAWELLEK nor JELDEN disclose the lamination stack spacing is at least 0.5 mm and/or at most 7.5 mm; and/or the stator lamination stack (6) extends in the circumferential direction with an arc angle of 15°+/-1°; and/or the plurality of first stator lamination elements (7) extend in the circumferential direction with an arc angle of 5°+/-1°; and/or the at least one second stator lamination element (4) extends in the circumferential direction with an arc angle of 10°+/+1.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the stator of PAWALLEK in view of JELDEN with lamination stack spacing in the ranges taught by DYER.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to reduce losses in a transverse flux machine as taught by DYER (see para [0083]).
DYER discloses a lamination stack spacing (width Gw of interfacing gap 660) is at least 0.5 mm and/or at most 7.5 mm. (“The interfacing gap 660 may be configured with any suitable width Gw including, but not limited to, greater than about 1 mm (0.04 inches), greater than about 1.5 mm (0.06 inches), greater than about 2 mm (0.08 inches), greater than about 2.5 mm (0.10 inches) and any range between and including the widths provided” para [0083]; see also Fig 6G).
Regarding Claim 19, PAWELLEK in view of JELDEN and further in view of DYER teaches the stator laminated core (1) as claimed in claim 18, as discussed above.
DYER discloses the lamination stack spacing (Gw) is at least 1 mm, as discussed above (see para [0083]).
Regarding Claim 20, PAWELLEK in view of JELDEN and further in view of DYER teaches the stator laminated core (1) as claimed in claim 18, as discussed above.
DYER discloses the lamination stack spacing (Gw) is at least 1.5 mm , as discussed above (see para [0083]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN STEFANON/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834