DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-10, and 12-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments focus on alleged deficiencies in Nicora. However, the rejection has been modified and now relies on Cazenave in view of Bielicki, not Nicora. Therefore, arguments directed to Nicora are not responsive to the current grounds of rejection and are not persuasive.
To the extent Applicant’s arguments regarding claim interpretation are intended to apply generally, the applied references disclose the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-8, 10, 12-13, 15-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cazenave et al. (US 20150327438 A1) in view of Bielicki et al. (US 11339798 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Cazenave teaches an extractor (20) for a sugarcane harvester (10), comprising:
a housing (70) having a volume (142) and an inlet (70a) and an outlet (70b);
a fan assembly (124) disposed within the volume (via 142); and
However, Cazenave fails to disclose a guide vane disposed between the fan assembly and the outlet, the guide vane arranged to divide the volume into two volumes and extending from the fan assembly to the outlet such that only air from the fan assembly passes through the two volumes.
Bielicki teaches a guide vane (44) disposed between the fan assembly (14) and the outlet (22, 32), the guide vane arranged to divide the volume (via 40) into two volumes (via 22, 32) and extending from the fan assembly to the outlet such that only air from the fan assembly passes through the two volumes.
Bielicki states, "With particular reference to FIGS. 2 and 5, the first airflow deflector nose 44 and the second airflow deflector nose 54 are offset relative to each other about a circumference of the scroll 12. The first and second airflow deflector noses 44, 54 are thus spaced apart and not aligned with one another. The first and second airflow deflector noses 44, 54 are separate noses, which is in contrast to existing blower assemblies, which include only a single nose extending along a single line parallel to an axis of rotation of a blower. Thus, existing blower assemblies include only a single joint duct and only a single outlet, which is in contrast to the first and second joint ducts 20 and 30 having first and second outlets 22 and 32" (Bielicki Col. 3, lines 35-47).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the extractor as taught by Cazenave with the first airflow deflector nose as disclosed by Bielicki so as to increases efficiency by providing a more even airflow and reducing turbulence at the outlet.
Regarding claim 3, Cazenave teaches the extractor of claim 1.
Cazenave fails to disclose wherein in the guide vane is arranged to divide the volume into a top volume and a bottom volume.
Bielicki teaches wherein in the guide vane (44) is arranged to divide the volume (via 40) into a top volume (via 22) and a bottom volume (via 32). See Bielicki annotated Fig. 2 below.
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the extractor as taught by Cazenave with the first airflow deflector nose as disclosed by Bielicki so as to increases efficiency by providing a more even airflow and reducing turbulence at the outlet.
Regarding claim 4, Cazenave teaches the extractor of claim 1, including a guide vane (120) coupled to a fan assembly (124). Cazenave further discloses, "unless otherwise specified, terms such as "fixed", "connected," "attached," "supported," and "coupled" are similar terms are used broadly, and generally include both direct and indirect fixing, connection, attachment, support, coupling, and so on. Also as used herein, unless otherwise specified or limited, a “body” may include a single-piece body, or a multiple-piece body, with various of multiple pieces being attached in various ways (e.g., via welding, mechanical fasteners such as clips, screws, tabs, or detent devices, and so on) to form the multiple-piece body." (See Cazenave [0026]). A person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that such mechanical fastening arrangements permit the components (including vanes or other guide structures) to be removed and replaced when worn or damaged, thereby teaching replaceable coupling.
Bielicki teaches the guide vane (44), wherein the guide vane coupled to the fan assembly.
Bielicki states, "With particular reference to FIGS. 2 and 5, the first airflow deflector nose 44 and the second airflow deflector nose 54 are offset relative to each other about a circumference of the scroll 12. The first and second airflow deflector noses 44, 54 are thus spaced apart and not aligned with one another. The first and second airflow deflector noses 44, 54 are separate noses, which is in contrast to existing blower assemblies, which include only a single nose extending along a single line parallel to an axis of rotation of a blower. Thus, existing blower assemblies include only a single joint duct and only a single outlet, which is in contrast to the first and second joint ducts 20 and 30 having first and second outlets 22 and 32" (Bielicki Col. 3, lines 35-47).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the extractor as taught by Cazenave with the first airflow deflector nose as disclosed by Bielicki so as to increases efficiency by providing a more even airflow and reducing turbulence at the outlet
Regarding claim 6, Cazenave teaches the extractor of claim 1, including a guide vane (120) is fixably attached to the fan assembly (124). Cazenave further discloses, "unless otherwise specified, terms such as "fixed", "connected," "attached," "supported," and "coupled" are similar terms are used broadly, and generally include both direct and indirect fixing, connection, attachment, support, coupling, and so on. Also as used herein, unless otherwise specified or limited, a “body” may include a single-piece body, or a multiple-piece body, with various of multiple pieces being attached in various ways (e.g., via welding, mechanical fasteners such as clips, screws, tabs, or detent devices, and so on) to form the multiple-piece body." (See Cazenave [0026]). A person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that such mechanical fastening arrangements permit the components (including vanes or other guide structures) to be removed and replaced when worn or damaged, thereby teaching replaceable coupling.
Bielicki teaches the guide vane (44), wherein the guide vane attached to the fan assembly, the housing, or a combination of the fan assembly and the housing.
Bielicki states, "With particular reference to FIGS. 2 and 5, the first airflow deflector nose 44 and the second airflow deflector nose 54 are offset relative to each other about a circumference of the scroll 12. The first and second airflow deflector noses 44, 54 are thus spaced apart and not aligned with one another. The first and second airflow deflector noses 44, 54 are separate noses, which is in contrast to existing blower assemblies, which include only a single nose extending along a single line parallel to an axis of rotation of a blower. Thus, existing blower assemblies include only a single joint duct and only a single outlet, which is in contrast to the first and second joint ducts 20 and 30 having first and second outlets 22 and 32" (Bielicki Col. 3, lines 35-47).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the extractor as taught by Cazenave with the first airflow deflector nose as disclosed by Bielicki so as to increases efficiency by providing a more even airflow and reducing turbulence at the outlet
Regarding claim 7, Cazenave discloses the extractor of claim 6, wherein the attachment comprises a welded attachment (See Cazenave [0026]).
Regarding claim 8, Cazenave teaches the extractor of claim 1.
However, Cazenave fails to disclose wherein the guide vane comprises a flat sheet of material with a curved geometry that approximates a side profile of the housing between the fan assembly and the outlet.
Bielicki teaches wherein the guide vane (44) comprises a flat sheet of material with a curved geometry that approximates a side profile of the housing between the fan assembly (14) and the outlet (22, 32). See Bielicki Fig. 3 below.
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the extractor as taught by Cazenave with the first airflow deflector nose as disclosed by Bielicki so as to increases efficiency by providing a more even airflow and reducing turbulence at the outlet.
Regarding claim 10, Cazenave teaches a sugarcane harvester (10), comprising:
a chopper system (44, 46) configured to chop harvested material;
a primary extractor (50);
an elevator (52); and
a secondary extractor (56), wherein the primary extractor (50) is configured to filter harvested material from the chopper system (44, 46) and the secondary extractor is configured to filter material from the elevator (52), each of the primary and secondary extractors comprising:
a housing (70) having a volume (142) and an inlet (70a) and an outlet (70b);
a fan assembly (124) disposed within the volume (142); and
However, Cazenave fails to disclose a guide vane disposed between the fan assembly and the outlet, the guide vane arranged to divide the volume into two volumes and extending from the fan assembly to the outlet such that only air from the fan assembly passes through the two volumes.
Bielicki teaches a guide vane (44) disposed between the fan assembly (14) and the outlet (22, 32), the guide vane arranged to divide the volume (via 40) into two volumes (via 22, 32) and extending from the fan assembly to the outlet such that only air from the fan assembly passes through the two volumes.
Bielicki states, "With particular reference to FIGS. 2 and 5, the first airflow deflector nose 44 and the second airflow deflector nose 54 are offset relative to each other about a circumference of the scroll 12. The first and second airflow deflector noses 44, 54 are thus spaced apart and not aligned with one another. The first and second airflow deflector noses 44, 54 are separate noses, which is in contrast to existing blower assemblies, which include only a single nose extending along a single line parallel to an axis of rotation of a blower. Thus, existing blower assemblies include only a single joint duct and only a single outlet, which is in contrast to the first and second joint ducts 20 and 30 having first and second outlets 22 and 32" (Bielicki Col. 3, lines 35-47).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the extractor as taught by Cazenave with the first airflow deflector nose as disclosed by Bielicki so as to increases efficiency by providing a more even airflow and reducing turbulence at the outlet.
Regarding claim 12, Cazenave teaches the sugarcane harvester of claim 10.
Cazenave fails to disclose wherein in the guide vane is arranged to divide the volume into a top volume and a bottom volume.
Bielicki teaches wherein in the guide vane (44) is arranged to divide the volume (via 40) into a top volume (via 22) and a bottom volume (via 32). See Bielicki annotated Fig. 2 below.
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the extractor as taught by Cazenave with the first airflow deflector nose as disclosed by Bielicki so as to increases efficiency by providing a more even airflow and reducing turbulence at the outlet.
Regarding claim 13, Cazenave teaches the extractor of claim 10, including a guide vane (120) coupled to a fan assembly (124). Cazenave further discloses, "unless otherwise specified, terms such as "fixed", "connected," "attached," "supported," and "coupled" are similar terms are used broadly, and generally include both direct and indirect fixing, connection, attachment, support, coupling, and so on. Also as used herein, unless otherwise specified or limited, a “body” may include a single-piece body, or a multiple-piece body, with various of multiple pieces being attached in various ways (e.g., via welding, mechanical fasteners such as clips, screws, tabs, or detent devices, and so on) to form the multiple-piece body." (See Cazenave [0026]). A person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that such mechanical fastening arrangements permit the components (including vanes or other guide structures) to be removed and replaced when worn or damaged, thereby teaching replaceable coupling.
Bielicki teaches the guide vane (44), wherein the guide vane coupled to the fan assembly.
Bielicki states, "With particular reference to FIGS. 2 and 5, the first airflow deflector nose 44 and the second airflow deflector nose 54 are offset relative to each other about a circumference of the scroll 12. The first and second airflow deflector noses 44, 54 are thus spaced apart and not aligned with one another. The first and second airflow deflector noses 44, 54 are separate noses, which is in contrast to existing blower assemblies, which include only a single nose extending along a single line parallel to an axis of rotation of a blower. Thus, existing blower assemblies include only a single joint duct and only a single outlet, which is in contrast to the first and second joint ducts 20 and 30 having first and second outlets 22 and 32" (Bielicki Col. 3, lines 35-47).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the extractor as taught by Cazenave with the first airflow deflector nose as disclosed by Bielicki so as to increases efficiency by providing a more even airflow and reducing turbulence at the outlet
Regarding claim 15, Cazenave teaches the extractor of claim 10, including a guide vane (120) is fixably attached to the fan assembly (124). Cazenave further discloses, "unless otherwise specified, terms such as "fixed", "connected," "attached," "supported," and "coupled" are similar terms are used broadly, and generally include both direct and indirect fixing, connection, attachment, support, coupling, and so on. Also as used herein, unless otherwise specified or limited, a “body” may include a single-piece body, or a multiple-piece body, with various of multiple pieces being attached in various ways (e.g., via welding, mechanical fasteners such as clips, screws, tabs, or detent devices, and so on) to form the multiple-piece body." (See Cazenave [0026]). A person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that such mechanical fastening arrangements permit the components (including vanes or other guide structures) to be removed and replaced when worn or damaged, thereby teaching replaceable coupling.
Bielicki teaches the guide vane (44), wherein the guide vane attached to the fan assembly, the housing, or a combination of the fan assembly and the housing.
Bielicki states, "With particular reference to FIGS. 2 and 5, the first airflow deflector nose 44 and the second airflow deflector nose 54 are offset relative to each other about a circumference of the scroll 12. The first and second airflow deflector noses 44, 54 are thus spaced apart and not aligned with one another. The first and second airflow deflector noses 44, 54 are separate noses, which is in contrast to existing blower assemblies, which include only a single nose extending along a single line parallel to an axis of rotation of a blower. Thus, existing blower assemblies include only a single joint duct and only a single outlet, which is in contrast to the first and second joint ducts 20 and 30 having first and second outlets 22 and 32" (Bielicki Col. 3, lines 35-47).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the extractor as taught by Cazenave with the first airflow deflector nose as disclosed by Bielicki so as to increases efficiency by providing a more even airflow and reducing turbulence at the outlet.
Regarding claim 16, Cazenave discloses the extractor of claim 15, wherein the attachment comprises a welded attachment (See Cazenave [0026]).
Regarding claim 17, Cazenave teaches the extractor of claim 10.
However, Cazenave fails to disclose wherein the guide vane comprises a flat sheet of material with a curved geometry that approximates a side profile of the housing between the fan assembly and the outlet.
Bielicki teaches wherein the guide vane (44) comprises a flat sheet of material with a curved geometry that approximates a side profile of the housing between the fan assembly (14) and the outlet (22, 32). See Bielicki Fig. 3 below.
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the extractor as taught by Cazenave with the first airflow deflector nose as disclosed by Bielicki so as to increases efficiency by providing a more even airflow and reducing turbulence at the outlet.
Regarding claim 19, Cazenave teaches a method for extracting material from harvested sugarcane and implemented in an extractor of a sugarcane harvester (10), the method comprising:
drawing, via an air flow through an inlet (70a) of the extractor (20), the material from a harvested material flow, the extractor (56) including a housing (70) having a volume (142) and the inlet (70a) and an outlet (70b); and
However, Cazenave fails to disclose dividing the air flow comprising the drawn material through two separate volumes of the extractor extending from a fan assembly disposed within the volume to an outlet such that only air from the fan assembly passes through the two volumes and out the outlet.
Bielicki teaches dividing the air flow comprising the drawn material through two separate volumes (via 22, 32) of the extractor (20) extending from a fan assembly (14) disposed within the volume (via 40) to an outlet (22, 32) such that only air from the fan assembly passes through the two volumes and out the outlet.
Bielicki states, "Airflow generated by the rotor 14 circulates about the scroll 12 and exits the scroll 12 through the first joint duct 20 and the second joint duct 30. The airflow ultimately exits the blower assembly 10 through the first outlet 22 and the second outlet 32. Airflow exiting the blower assembly 10 through the first outlet 22 and the second outlet 32" (Bielicki Col. 2, lines 43-48).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the extractor as taught by Cazenave with the first airflow deflector nose as disclosed by Bielicki so as to increases efficiency by providing a more even airflow and reducing turbulence at the outlet.
Regarding claim 20, Cazenave teaches the method of claim 19.
However, Cazenave fails to disclose wherein dividing the air flow comprising the drawn material is performed using a curved guide vane coupled between a fan assembly and the outlet.
Bielicki teaches wherein dividing the air flow (via 40) comprising the drawn material is performed using a curved guide vane (44) coupled between a fan assembly (14) and the outlet (22, 32).
Bielicki states, "With particular reference to FIGS. 2 and 5, the first airflow deflector nose 44 and the second airflow deflector nose 54 are offset relative to each other about a circumference of the scroll 12. The first and second airflow deflector noses 44, 54 are thus spaced apart and not aligned with one another. The first and second airflow deflector noses 44, 54 are separate noses, which is in contrast to existing blower assemblies, which include only a single nose extending along a single line parallel to an axis of rotation of a blower. Thus, existing blower assemblies include only a single joint duct and only a single outlet, which is in contrast to the first and second joint ducts 20 and 30 having first and second outlets 22 and 32" (Bielicki Col. 3, lines 35-47).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the extractor as taught by Cazenave with the first airflow deflector nose as disclosed by Bielicki so as to increases efficiency by providing a more even airflow and reducing turbulence at the outlet.
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cazenave et al. (US 20150327438 A1) in view of Bielicki et al. (US 11339798 B2) as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 6-8, 10, 12-13, 15-17, and 19-20 above, and further in view of Fattepur et al. (US 20210227751 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Cazenave, as part of the assembly taught by the combined teachings of Cazenave in view of Bielicki, teaches the extractor of claim 8 and the flat sheet (See Bielicki annotated Fig. 3 below).
However, Cazenave fails to disclose wherein the flat sheet of material is comprised of a wear-resistant material.
However, Cazenave fails to disclose wherein the flat sheet of material is comprised of a wear-resistant material.
Fattepur teaches wherein the flat sheet of material is comprised of a wear-resistant material.
Fattepur states "The cover assembly 120, in different embodiments, is made of one or more materials including sheet metal, rubber, plastics, or composite materials. The materials are selected based on the anticipated conditions to be experienced of the cover assembly." (Fattepur [0035])
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the extractor and flat sheet of material as taught by Cazenave in view of Bielicki with said wear-resistant material as disclosed by Fattepur to improve durability and resistance to abrasion caused by high-velocity airflow and entrained debris within the extractor.
Regarding claim 18, Cazenave, as part of the assembly taught by the combined teachings of Cazenave in view of Bielicki, teaches the extractor of claim 17 and the flat sheet (See Bielicki annotated Fig. 3 below).
However, Cazenave fails to disclose wherein the flat sheet of material is comprised of a wear-resistant material.
However, Cazenave fails to disclose wherein the flat sheet of material is comprised of a wear-resistant material.
Fattepur teaches wherein the flat sheet of material is comprised of a wear-resistant material.
Fattepur states "The cover assembly 120, in different embodiments, is made of one or more materials including sheet metal, rubber, plastics, or composite materials. The materials are selected based on the anticipated conditions to be experienced of the cover assembly." (Fattepur [0035])
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the extractor and flat sheet of material as taught by Cazenave in view of Bielicki with said wear-resistant material as disclosed by Fattepur to improve durability and resistance to abrasion caused by high-velocity airflow and entrained debris within the extractor.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JOSE ANTONIO. MARTINEZ
Examiner
Art Unit 3671
/JOSEPH M ROCCA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671