DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Final Office Action is in response to the applicant’s amendment/response of 03 December 2025.
Claims 7-11, 13, and 15 have been canceled.
Claims 1-6, 12, and 14 are currently pending and addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to the rejection of claims 5-6, and 14 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of claims 5-6, and 14 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn. However, new rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is presented below based on the amendment to the claims presented in the Amendment of 03 December 2025.
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The Examiner Notes that Cantrell et al. is being used to teach the determining of a control entity from among a plurality of control entities/controllers (e.g. list of control entities/controllers). Further, the Examiner notes that applicant argument regarding the “…a particular control entity-not known in advance-to which the control of the drone is to be transferred…” is not commensurate with the scope of the claim language because “a particular control entity-not known in advance” is not apparently claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, the claim recites “identifying said second control entity from a list of control entities possessing an authorization for control of said drone, as a function of at least one parameter associated to said second control entity in said list, relating to a condition for transferring control to said second control entity, and of said event triggering the transfer of control of said drone,”. It is unclear to the Examiner due to the apparently improper punctuation what “as a function of at least one parameter associated to said second control entity in said list” means in context and what is “and of said event triggering the transfer of control of said drone,” intended to modify. For example, is the “and of said event triggering the transfer of control of said drone,” connected to the “relating…” clause or is it an independent clause?
As to claim 12, the claim is rejected for the same reasons as mentioned in the rejection of claim 1.
Dependent claims inherit the defect of the claim from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tu Jian-Feng (CN 105261189 A) in view of Cantrell et al. (US 20190235489 A1).
Regarding claim 1, and similarly with respect to claim 12, Tu Jian-Feng discloses A method
for transferring to a second control entity control of a remotely-controlled vehicle, called a drone, from a first control entity exercising control of the drone via a first control data stream transmitted throughout a first communication session established between said first control entity and the drone, wherein said method is implemented by a device and comprises: ([0009] “provides a flight control system for an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), which can realize the control of the UAV by using multiple remote controllers”, and [0011] – [0012] “The UAV establishes a wireless communication connection with the first remote controller; The drone receives the control request from the first remote controller and sends a handover negotiation message to the second remote controller currently controlling it.”). Examiner Notes: See the “second remote controller” as the first control entity and the “first remote controller” as the second control entity.
identifying said second control entity said second control entity ([0013] “The drone receives a switching response from the second remote controller. If the switching response indicates that the switching is approved, the drone sends a control permission message to the first remote controller.”, [0050] – [0051] “The control request sent by the remote controller to the drone includes an authentication password. After the drone receives the control request from the first remote controller in step 102, the method further includes: The drone extracts the original authentication password stored locally and compares it with the received authentication password. If the two are consistent, the drone executes the step of sending a switching negotiation message to the second remote controller currently controlling the drone. Otherwise, the drone rejects the control of the first remote controller.”, and [0054] “using a broadcast method to detect whether a remote control corresponding to the broadcast message can be received; establishing a connection with the detected remote control can specifically include: receiving a control request from the remote control, performing verification and judgment, and allowing the connection after consistency;”)
establishing transmission of a second control data stream throughout a second communication session between the drone and said second control entity, the establishment of the transmission of said second control data stream throughout the second communication session contributing to an end of the control exercised by the first control entity over the drone. ([0011] “The UAV establishes a wireless communication connection with the first remote controller”, and [0080] “The UAV establishes a wireless communication connection with the first remote controller, receives a control request from the first remote controller, and sends a handover negotiation message to the second remote controller currently controlling the UAV; receives a handover response from the second remote controller, and if the handover response indicates that the handover is approved, sends a control permission message to the first remote controller, thereby allowing the UAV to fly under the control of the first remote controller;”, [0042] “the second remote controller to release the control right and switch to the first remote controller”, and [0081] “The first remote controller establishes a connection with the drone, sends a control request to the drone, receives a control permission message from the drone, and controls the drone”)
However, Tu Jian-Feng fails to explicitly disclose identifying said second control entity from a list of control entities possessing an authorization for control of said drone, as a function of at least one parameter associated to said second control entity in said list, relating to a condition for transferring control to said second control entity, and of said event triggering the transfer of control of said drone,
Cantrell et al. teaches identifying said second control entity from a list of control entities possessing an authorization for control of said drone, as a function of at least one parameter associated to said second control entity in said list, relating to a condition for transferring control to said second control entity, and of said event triggering the transfer of control of said drone, ([0041] “A plurality of remote autonomous pilots 140[1]-140[N] may be established along the drone flight route 122 and transfer the pilot control operations at the virtual nodes. Each remote pilot 140 may be registered in the system with a unique identification number or its device address… the autonomous remote pilot system may use standard encryption techniques and/or security protocols (e.g., pre-defined criteria), such as blockchain handoffs to prevent devices not in the system from remotely taking over a drone. In one example embodiment, the system may transfer control operations from remote pilot 140[2] to an autonomous drone 130 temporarily and then to remote pilot 140[3].”, and [0055] “The central sever 112 may continuously update the mission instructions while generating the first verification code and the second verification code; broadcasting the second verification code to the plurality of remote autonomous pilots; selecting a second remote pilot from the plurality of the remote pilots to monitor, control, or backup the drone along the flight route. The central server 112 may verify the second verification code provided by the second remote pilot for authorizing the second remote pilot to monitor, control, or backup the drone along the flight route 122 such that a visual line of sight may be maintained along a drone flight route. For example, the system may communicatively control a first pilot 140[1] to a second pilot 140[2] and facilitate the transfer of control from the first pilot 140[1] to the second pilot 140[2], and so on until the drone 130 safely arrives at the destination 120 or node D6, as shown in FIG. 1. Thus, the plurality of the remote pilots are established along the flight route and are configured to operate at least one drone remotely and visually so that the system can maintain autonomous VLOS until the drone flight mission is completed.”, and see at least Figure 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention Tu Jian-Feng to incorporate determining a controller from a plurality of authorized controllers (e.g. a list) as taught by Cantrell et al. for the purpose of “extend[ing] operations of the drone beyond a pilot's vision by employing autonomous remote pilots which can take over the operation of the drone when needed or if required…” and “prevent(ing) outside entities from remotely taking over a drone”. ([0020] and [0036], Cantrell et al.)
Regarding claim 3, Tu Jian-Feng in view of Cantrell et al. discloses The method for
transferring control of a drone according to claim 1,
Tu Jian-Feng discloses wherein said second control entity is also identified as a function of
a parameter representative of the event triggering the transfer of control of the drone. ([0035] “the drone is controlled by the second remote controller. During subsequent flights, if another remote controller needs to control the drone, it will first establish a wireless communication connection with it and send a control request.”, [0037] “The drone receives a control request from the first remote controller and sends a handover negotiation message to the second remote controller currently controlling the drone.”, and [0042] “the second remote controller to release the control right and switch to the first remote controller.”)
Regarding claim 4, Tu Jian-Feng in view of Cantrell et al. discloses The method for
transferring control of a drone according to claim 1,
Tu Jian-Feng discloses wherein the at least one parameter relating to the condition for
transferring control of said drone to said second control entity is a parameter representing a status of exercise of control of the drone by said second control entity, said method comprising: modifying said parameter representing a status of exercise of control of the drone by said second control entity from inactive to active, triggering the transmission of the second control data stream. ([0011] “The UAV establishes a wireless communication connection with the first remote controller”, [0080] “The UAV establishes a wireless communication connection with the first remote controller, receives a control request from the first remote controller, and sends a handover negotiation message to the second remote controller currently controlling the UAV; receives a handover response from the second remote controller, and if the handover response indicates that the handover is approved, sends a control permission message to the first remote controller, thereby allowing the UAV to fly under the control of the first remote controller;”, [0042] “the second remote controller to release the control right and switch to the first remote controller”, [0081] “The first remote controller establishes a connection with the drone, sends a control request to the drone, receives a control permission message from the drone, and controls the drone”, and [0091] “after receiving the control request from the first remote controller, the switching module further extracts the locally stored original authentication password and compares it with the received authentication password. If the two are consistent, a switching negotiation message is sent to the second remote controller currently controlling the first remote controller; otherwise, the control of the first remote controller is rejected.”). Examiner notes: See “a status of exercise of control of the drone” as the second remote controller granting or rejecting the control request of the first remote controller.
Regarding claim 5, Tu Jian-Feng in view of Cantrell et al. disclose The method for
transferring control of a drone according to claim 1,
Tu Jian-Feng discloses wherein said method comprises modifying a priority level associated with the first control entity or with the second control entity in said list of control entities intended to control said drone, the modifying triggering the transmission of the second control data stream. ([0011] “The UAV establishes a wireless communication connection with the first remote controller”, and [0080] “The UAV establishes a wireless communication connection with the first remote controller, receives a control request from the first remote controller, and sends a handover negotiation message to the second remote controller currently controlling the UAV; receives a handover response from the second remote controller, and if the handover response indicates that the handover is approved, sends a control permission message to the first remote controller, thereby allowing the UAV to fly under the control of the first remote controller;”, [0042] “the second remote controller to release the control right and switch to the first remote controller”, and [0081] “The first remote controller establishes a connection with the drone, sends a control request to the drone, receives a control permission message from the drone, and controls the drone”). Examiner Notes: See the “modification of the priority level” as the second remote controller release the control right and switch to the first remote controller.
Regarding claim 6, Tu Jian-Feng in view of Cantrell et al. discloses The method for
transferring control of a drone according to claim 1,
Tu Jian-Feng disclose wherein the event triggering the transfer of control of said drone
belongs to the following list:
a crossing of a geographical limit or an altitude of said drone, a cutoff in a transmission
channel established between the first control entity exercising control over the drone and a drone connectivity management system, said transmission channel supporting a communication session established between the first control entity exercising control over the drone and the drone, an insufficient service quality of the transmission channel established between the first control entity exercising control over the drone and a drone connectivity management system, a reception of a request to transfer control of the drone emitted by a drone traffic management entity, a reception of a request to transfer control of the drone emitted by a drone fleet management entity to which the drone belongs, a reception of a request to transfer control of the drone emitted by a control entity belonging to a list of control entities, a reception of a request to transfer control of the drone emitted by the drone itself, an automatic detection of an alert on an infrastructure that justifies a control entity change, or a detection of an injunction from accredited authorities. ([0012] “The drone receives the control request from the first remote controller and sends a handover negotiation message to the second remote controller currently controlling it.”, and [0013] “The drone receives a switching response from the second remote controller. If the switching response indicates that the switching is approved, the drone sends a control permission message to the first remote controller”) Examiner Notes: the Examiner is interpreting the claim to mean that only one item from the list is required to be part of the limitation.
Regarding claim 14, Tu Jian-Feng in view of Cantrell et al. discloses The method according to
claim 1,
Cantrell et al. teaches A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising a computer program stored thereon comprising program code instructions for implementing the method according to claim 1, when executed by a processor of the device. ([0007] “non-transitory computer-readable storage medium configured as disclosed herein can have instructions stored which, when executed by a computing device, cause the computing device to perform operations…”, [0067] “The drives and the associated computer-readable storage media provide nonvolatile storage of computer-readable instructions, data structures, program modules and other data for the computing device 700.”, and see at least claim 19)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to implement conventional hardware (e.g. a computer program comprising program instructions) for Tu Jian-Feng as taught by Cantrell et al. for the purpose of performing/implementing the intended functionality.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tu Jian-Feng (CN 105261189 A), in view of Cantrell et al. (US 20190235489 A1), and further in view of Russell et al. (US 20190051190 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Tu Jian-Feng in view of Cantrell et al. discloses The method of
transferring control of a drone according to claim 1,
Tu Jian-Feng discloses wherein the at least one parameter relating to a condition for transferring control of said drone to said second control entity is a transfer priority level associated with said second control entity. ([0039] “After the second remote controller receives the switching negotiation message, it will display a prompt message asking "Do you want to allow switching?" The user can select "Yes" or "No" according to the actual situation and feedback the selection result to the drone. The drone determines whether to continue the switching process based on the switching response. Specifically, if the switching response is to agree to the switching, it sends a control permission message to the first remote controller; otherwise, it rejects the control of the first remote controller.”). Examiner Notes: See “transfer priority level associated said second control entity” as being included in the prompt message.
However, Tu Jian-Feng in combination with Cantrell et al. may be alleged to not explicitly disclose priority level associated with said
Russell et al. teaches priority level associated with said ([0014] “authorisation management and flight compliance system which uses a certificate-based encryption scheme, and where the system includes all controllers (user agents) as well as the flight compliance authority. By assigning an explicit level of authority to each controller, it enables the source of restrictions to be identified when flight plans are filed or modified.”, and [0075] “different roles that a controller (107,108,109) may have within this hierarchical structure”, and see at least [0076] -[0080])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention Tu Jian-Feng in combination with Cantrell et al. to incorporate a list of controllers associated with priority levels as taught by Russell et al. for the purpose of “providing for the control of unmanned aerial vehicle by one or more persons, ensuring compliance with safety and regulatory conditions”. (Russell et al., [0054])
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MISA H NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666