DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I drawn to a cosmetic composition in the reply filed on 15 December 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 15 December 2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of caprylyl/capryl glucoside as the species of nonionic surfactant; a mixture of heterocyclic coupling agents and m-aminophenol as the species of additional oxidation coupler; para-phenylenediamines as the species of oxidation base; mixtures of liquid hydrocarbons containing more than 16 carbon atoms, plant oils, and fatty alcohols as the species of fatty substance; steareth-20 as the species of additional nonionic surfactant; EDTA as the species of sequestrant agent; alkanolamines for the species of alkaline agent; and hydrogen peroxide for the species of chemical oxidizing agent in the reply filed on 15 December 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 12 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 15 December 2025.
Claims 1-11 and 13-16 are examined on the merits herein.
Claim Objections
Claims 8, 10-11, and 13-15 objected to because of the following informalities: the term “further” should be recited immediately prior to the term “comprising”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-11, 13, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claims 2-11, 13, and 15-16 recite broad limitations, followed by the phrases “preferably”, “preferentially”, “more preferentially”, “better still”, “even better still”, and “such as” followed by narrower limitations. The claims are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For examination purposes, the narrower language is interpreted as being merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 13, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicou et al. (WO 2017/108840) in view of Agostino et al. (US 2013/0220358).
Claim 1 is drawn to a cosmetic composition comprising:
at least one oxidation coupler chosen from 6-hydroxybenzomorpholine, its addition salts, its solvates, and/or solvates of its salts;
at least one oxidation coupler chosen from hydroxyethyl-3,4-methylenedioxyaniline, its addition salts, its solvates, and/or solvates of its salts;
one or more nonionic surfactants of alkylpolyglycoside type (more specifically caprylyl/capryl glucoside (claim 6, Applicant’s elected species).
Nicou et al. teach compositions for dying hair comprising oxidation couplers (Abstract) including formula 1 (pgs. 26-27) comprising:
hydroxybenzomorpholine;
-; and
caprylyl/capryl glucoside,
further teaching the use of 6-hydroxybenzomorpholine as the oxidation coupler (Pg. 5 lines 7-8).
The composition of Nicou et al. differs from the instantly claimed composition in the following ways:
the composition of Nicou et al. does not comprise hydroxyethyl-3,4,-methylenedioxyaniline.
Yet, as to 1: Nicou et al. further teach that the composition can comprise additional couplers (Pg. 5 lines 1-6).
Agostino et al. teach similar hair dying compositions (Abstract) comprising oxidation couplers (Par. [0031]) including 6-hydroxybenzomorpholine and hydroxyethyl-3,4-methylenedioxyaniline (Par. [0033]).
And as discussed in MPEP 2144.06, “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose… [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
In the instant case, as both 6-hydroxybenzomorpholine and hydroxyethyl-3,4-methylenedioxyaniline are known in the prior art as oxidation couplers suitable for use in hair dyes, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the composition of Nicou et al. to include hydroxyethyl-3,4-methylenedioxyaniline. It would have been obvious to combine the two oxidation couplers to yield a composition further capable of acting as an oxidation coupler in a hair dye, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Based on all of the foregoing, claims 1 and 6 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 2 is drawn to the composition of claim 1, wherein the 6-hydroxybenzomorpholine is present in a total content ranging from 0.001% to 20% by weight, relative to the weight of the composition.
Claim 3 is drawn to the composition of claim 1, wherein the hydroxyethyl-3,4-methylenedioxyaniline is present in a total content ranging from 0.001% to 20% by weight, relative to the weight of the composition.
Claim 4 is drawn to the composition of claim 1, wherein the total amount of 6-hydroxybenzomorpholine and hydroxyethyl-3,4-methylenedioxyaniline is present in a total content ranging from 0.001% to 20% by weight, relative to the weight of the composition.
Nicou et al. further teach formula 1 comprising 0.006% 6-hydroxybenzomorpholine (pg. 26), overlapping with the instantly claimed range. Additionally, Nicou et al. teach the total amount of couplers ranging from 0.0001% to 20% by weight relative to the total weight of the composition (Pg. 5 lines 28-31), overlapping with the instantly claimed range and indicating that the amount of hydroxyethyl-3,4-methylenedioxyaniline would necessarily fall into the instantly claimed range.
As such, claims 2-4 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 5 is drawn to the composition of claim 1, further comprising one or more additional oxidation couplers, more specifically a mixture of heterocyclic coupling agents and m-aminophenol (Applicant’s elected species).
Nicou et al. further teach formula 1 comprising additional oxidation couplers including m-aminophenol, resorcinol, 4-amino-m-cresol, and p-aminophenol (pg. 26). Nicou et al. do not teach the formula 1 comprising heterocyclic coupling agents.
However, Nicou et al. further teach the use of oxidation couplers including hydroxyindole, 2-amino-3-hydroxypyridine, and 3-methyl-1-phenyl 5-pyrazolone (Pg. 5 lines 7-22), i.e., heterocyclic coupling agents.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the composition of Nicou et al. to include a heterocyclic coupling agent. It would have been obvious to substitute one oxidation coupling agent suitable for use in a hair dye for another to obtain the predictable result of a hair dye composition, with a reasonable expectation of success.
As such, claim 5 is rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 7 is drawn to the composition of claim 1, wherein the total content of the alkylpolyglycoside ranges from 0.05% to 15% by weight, relative to the weight of the composition.
Nicou et al. further teach formula 1 comprising 2.4% caprylyl/capryl glucoside (pg. 27), overlapping with the instantly claimed range.
As such, claim 7 is rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 8 is drawn to the composition of claim 1, further comprising an oxidation base, more specifically a para-phenyldiamine (Applicant’s elected species).
Claim 9 is drawn to the composition of claim 8, wherein the oxidation base is present in an amount ranging from 0.001% to 20% by weight, relative to the weight of the composition.
Nicou et al. further teach formula 1 comprising 0.6% 3-(2,5-diaminophenyl)-1-propanol (pg. 27), i.e., a para-phenyldiamine compound. Nicou et al. additionally teach 3-(2,5-diaminophenyl)-1-propanol as an oxidation base (Pg. 4 lines 17-20).
As such, claims 8-9 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 10 is drawn to the composition of claim 1, further comprising at least one fatty substance.
Claim 11 is drawn to the composition of claim 1, comprising at least one liquid fatty substance, more specifically mixtures of liquid hydrocarbons containing more than 16 carbon atoms, plant oils, and fatty alcohols (Applicant’s elected species).
Nicou et al. further teach formula 1 comprising mineral oil (pg. 27) i.e., a liquid fatty substance. Nicou et al. further teach liquid fatty substances including liquid hydrocarbons comprising more than 16 carbon atoms, plant oils, and liquid fatty alcohols (pg. 19 lines 21-25).
As such, claims 10-11 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 13 is drawn to the composition of claim 1, further comprising an additional surfactant, more specifically the nonionic surfactant steareth-20 (Applicant’s elected species).
Nicou et al. further teach formula 1 comprising steareth-20 (Pg. 27).
As such, claim 13 is rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 14 is drawn to the composition of claim 1, further comprising one or more sequestrants, more specifically EDTA (Applicant’s elected species).
Nicou et al. further teach formula 1 comprising EDTA (pg. 26).
As such, claim 14 is rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 15 is drawn to the composition of claim 1, further comprising at least one alkaline agent, more specifically an alkanolamine (Applicant’s elected species).
Nicou et al. further teach formula 1 comprising ethanolamine (Pg. 26).
As such, claim 15 is rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 16 is drawn to the composition of claim 1, further comprising one or more chemical oxidizing agents, more specifically hydrogen peroxide (Applicant’s elected species).
Nicou et al. further teach combining formula 1 with oxidizing formula Ox1, which comprises hydrogen peroxide (pg. 27).
As such, claim 16 is rejected as prima facie obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 and 13-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 9-10, and 12-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,290,586. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1 of Patent No. ‘586 recites cosmetic compositions comprising an oxidation coupler chosen from 6-hydroxybenzomorpholine, its addition salts, its solvates, and/or solvates of its salts; and at least one oxidation coupler chosen from hydroxyethyl-3,4-methylenedioxyaniline, its addition salts, its solvates, and/or solvates of its salts. Claim 12 of Patent No. ‘586 recites the composition of claim 1 further comprising a surfactant. Claims 1 and 12 of Patent No. ‘586 render instant claims 1, 6-7, and 13 prima facie obvious.
Claim 2 of Patent No. ‘586 recites the composition of claim 1, wherein the 6-hydroxybenzomorpholine is present from 0.001% to 20% by weight, rendering instant claim 2 prima facie obvious.
Claim 3 of Patent No. ‘586 recites the composition of claim 1, wherein the hydroxyethyl-3,4-methylenedioxyaniline is present from 0.001% to 20% by weight, rendering instant claim 3 prima facie obvious.
Claim 4 of Patent No. ‘586 recites the composition of claim 1, wherein the total amount of 6-hydroxybenzomorpholine and hydroxyethyl-3,4-methylenedioxyaniline is from 0.001% to 20% by weight, rendering instant claim 4 prima facie obvious.
Claim 5 of Patent No. ‘586 recites the composition of claim 1, further comprising an additional oxidation coupler, rendering instant claim 5 prima facie obvious.
Claims 6-7 of Patent No. ‘586 recite the composition of claim 1, comprising 0.0001% to 20% by weight of oxidation bases, rendering instant claims 8-9 prima facie obvious.
Claims 9-10 of Patent No. ‘586 recite the composition of claim 1, further comprising at least one liquid fatty substance, rendering instant claims 10-11 prima facie obvious.
Claim 13 of Patent No. ‘586 recites the composition of claim 1, further comprising a sequestrant, rendering instant claim 14 prima facie obvious.
Claim 14 of Patent No. ‘586 recites the composition of claim 1, comprising at least one alkaline agent, rendering instant claim 15 prima facie obvious.
Claim 15 of Patent No. ‘586 recites the composition of claim 1, further comprising a chemical oxidizing agent, rendering instant claim 16 prima facie obvious.
Claims 1-11 and 13-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 6-7, 10-12, 15, and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,296,035. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1 of Patent No. ‘035 recites a composition comprising 2-(methoxymethyl) benzene-1,4-diamine (i.e., an oxidation base); at least one coupler chosen from the group including 6-hydroxybenzomorpholine, hydroxyethyl-3,4,-methylenedioxyaniline, 2-amino-5-ethylphenol, and mixtures thereof; and a fatty substance. Claims 11-12 of Patent No. ‘035 recite the composition of claim 1 further comprising a nonionic surfactant. Claims 1 and 11-12 of Patent No. ‘035 render instant claims 1, 5-8, 10, and 13 prima facie obvious.
Claim 2 of Patent No. ‘035 recites the composition of claim 1 wherein the fatty substance is a liquid fatty substance, rendering instant claim 11 prima facie obvious.
Claim 6 of Patent No. ‘035 recites the composition of claim 1, wherein the total amount of 2-(methoxymethyl)benzene-1,4-diamine is from 0.001% to 20% by weight, rendering instant claim 9 prima facie obvious.
Claim 7 of Patent No. ‘035 recites the composition of claim 1, wherein the total amount of couplers ranges from 0.001% to 20% by weight, rendering instant claims 2-4 prima facie obvious.
Claim 10 of Patent No. ‘035 recites the composition of claim 1, further comprising a sequestrant, rendering instant claim 14 prima facie obvious.
Claim 15 of Patent No. ‘035 recites the composition of claim 1, further comprising at least one alkaline agent, rendering instant claim 15 prima facie obvious.
Claim 17 of Patent No. ‘035 recites the composition of claim 1, further comprising at least one chemical oxidizing agent, rendering instant claim 16 prima facie obvious.
Claims 1-11 and 13-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4, 6, 10-11, 14-16, and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,409,124. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1 of Patent No. ‘124 recites a composition comprising at least one oxidation coupler chosen from 6-hydroxybenzomorpholine, hydroxyethyl-3,4-methylenedioxyaniline, 2-amino-5-ethylphenol, and mixtures thereof; and N,N-dicarboxymethyl glutamic acid (i.e., a sequestering agent). Claims 14-15 of Patent No. ‘124 recite the composition of claim 1 further comprising a non-ionic surfactant. Claims 1 and 14-15 of Patent No. ‘124 render instant claims 1, 5-7, and 13-14 prima facie obvious.
Claim 2 of Patent No. ‘124 recites the composition of claim 1 wherein the total amount of oxidation couplers ranges from 0.001% to 20% by weight, rendering instant claims 2-4 prima facie obvious.
Claims 4 and 6 of Patent No. ‘124 recite the composition of claim 1, further comprising 0.001% to 20% by weight of an oxidation base, rendering instant claims 8-9 prima facie obvious.
Claims 10-11 of Patent No. ‘124 recite the composition of claim 1, further comprising a liquid fatty substance, rendering instant claims 10-11 prima facie obvious.
Claim 16 of Patent No. ‘124 recites the composition of claim 1, further comprising an alkaline agent, rendering instant claim 15 prima facie obvious.
Claim 18 of Patent No. ‘124 recites the composition of claim 1, further comprising a chemical oxidizing agent, rendering instant claim 16 prima facie obvious.
Claims 1-8, 10-11 and 13-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 24, 26, 30, 36-38, and 41 of copending Application No. 18/574,814 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 24 of Application No. ‘814 recites a composition comprising an oxidation dye comprising at least one coupler chosen from 6-hydroxybenzomorpholine, hydroxyethyl-3,4-methylenedioxyaniline, 2-amino-5-ethylphenol, and mixtures thereof; and an oxidation base; an alkaline agent, and at least one fatty substance. Claims 36-7 of Application No. ‘814 recite the composition of claim 24, further comprising a nonionic surfactant. Claims 24 and 36-37 of Application No. ‘814 render instant claims 1, 5-8, 10, 13, and 15 prima facie obvious.
Claim 26 of Application No. ‘814 recites the composition of claim 24, wherein the total amount of the couplers ranges from 0.001% to 20% by weight, rendering instant claims 2-4 prima facie obvious.
Claim 30 of Application No. ‘814 recites the composition of claim 24, comprising a liquid fatty substance, rendering instant claim 11 prima facie obvious.
Claim 38 of Application No. ‘814 recites the composition of claim 24, further comprising a sequestrant, rendering instant claim 14 prima facie obvious.
Claim 41 of Application No. ‘814 recites the composition of claim 24, further comprising a chemical oxidizing agent, rendering instant claim 16 prima facie obvious.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-11 and 13-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6, 9-12, 14, and 16-17 of copending Application No. 18/257,841 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1 of Application No. ‘841 recites a cosmetic composition comprising 6-hydroxybenzomorpholine, hydroxyethyl-3,4-methylenedioxyaniline, and N,N-dicarboxymethyl glutamic acid (i.e., a sequestrant). Claim 14 of Application No. ‘841 recites the composition of claim 1 further comprising a surfactant. Claims 1 and 14 of Application No. ‘841 render instant claims 1, 6-7, and 13-14 prima facie obvious.
Claims 2-4 of Application No. ‘841 recite the composition of claim 1, wherein the 6-hydroxybenzomorpholine, hydroxyethyl-3,4,-methylenedioxyaniline, and total amount of 6-hydroxybenzomorpholine and hydroxyethyl-3,4,-methylenedioxyaniline are between 0.001% and 20% by weight, rendering instant claims 2-4 prima facie obvious.
Claim 6 of Application No. ‘841 recites the composition of claim 1, further comprising an additional oxidation coupler, rendering instant claim 5 prima facie obvious.
Claims 9-10 of Application No. ‘841 recite the composition of claim 1, further comprising 0.001% to 20% by weight of an oxidation base, rendering instant claims 8-9 prima facie obvious.
Claims 11-12 of Application No. ‘841 recite the composition of claim 1, further comprising a liquid fatty substance, rendering instant claims 10-11 prima facie obvious.
Claim 16 of Application No. ‘841 recites the composition of claim 1, further comprising at least one alkaline agent, rendering instant claim 15 prima facie obvious.
Claim 17 of Application No. ‘841 recites the composition of claim 1, further comprising a chemical oxidizing agent, rendering instant claim 16 prima facie obvious.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/BETHANY P BARHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1611
/PAUL HOERNER/Examiner, Art Unit 1611