DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “wherein from a middle initial position the actuator drives the spreading actuator when driven in one direction of the two movement directions starting” is unclear. The phrase "when driven in one direction of the two movement directions starting," is unclear. The word "starting" appears to be out of place.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rinsma (US-6311807) in view of Yokoyama et al. (US-20160339888).
Regarding claim 1, Rinsma discloses brake device for a motor vehicle comprising: a brake element (11 and 12) for generating a frictionally locking connection to a rotating component (col. 4, line 33, disc not shown); an actuator (32 or 33) which can be driven in two movement directions (see col. 4, lines 25-27, col. 4, lines 53-56; it has been interpreted that 32 and/or 33 is capable of rotating both directions); an adjusting device (33) arranged in an actuator housing of the actuator for compensating wear of the rotating component and a spreading actuator (18/19/20/21/22) arranged in the actuator housing which moves the brake element toward the rotating component and away from the rotating component when driven by the actuator component (col. 4, lines 25-61); wherein from a middle initial position (col. 4, line 50, rest position) the actuator drives the spreading actuator when driven in one direction of the two movement directions starting, and drives the adjusting device in an opposite direction (col. 4, lines 25-61).
Rinsma lacks wherein the brake is a drum brake. Yokoyama et al. teaches wherein a brake actuator is configured to be used on either a disc or drum brake (see ¶ 0076). Yokoyama et al. teaches wherein any brake mechanism with a parking mechanism that holds pressing force by pressing (propelling) a friction member (pad, shoe) against a rotating member (disc rotor, drum) upon the actuation of an electric actuator (electric motor) may be used, such as an electric disc brake having an electric caliper, an electric drum brake using an electric actuator to press a shoe on a drum for braking force application, a disc brake having a parking brake of electric drum type, or a mechanism using an electrical actuator to pull a cable to hold a parking brake (see ¶ 0076).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the adjustment mechanism of Rinsma in the environment of a drum brake as taught by Yokoyama et al. at least because both serve the identical, fundamental functional purpose of converting a braking input (hydraulic pressure or electrical signal) into a mechanical force that causes a frictional component to contact a rotating member.
Regarding claim 2, Rinsma discloses wherein the initial position is the position of the actuator, in which it is not loaded with energy (col. 4, lines 50-53, in the rest position).
Regarding claim 3, Rinsma discloses wherein the actuator (33) has an electric motor (3).
Regarding claim 4, Rinsma discloses wherein the actuator (33) has a housing (fig 1 at least 2) with pressure pieces (10/13) arranged therein for supporting the brake elements (11/12) and the adjusting device (33).
Regarding claim 6, Rinsma discloses wherein the spreading actuator has two ramp disks (18/20) which can be rotated counter to one another, and supported indirectly on pressure pieces (at least 10), and wherein due to the shape of the ramp disks an axial distance between the ramp disks increases in case of a rotation counter to one another (col. 4, lines 45-61).
Regarding claim 8, Rinsma discloses wherein the adjusting device (33) has an adjusting nut (14) which is screwed on the axle (15) via an adjusting thread (fig 1), and in that the adjusting nut is secured in the initial position against rotation in a positively locking or non-positive manner (col. 4, lines 25-61).
Regarding claim 10, Rinsma discloses wherein the adjusting nut (14) is arranged in the force flow between the axle (15) and the one pressure piece (10).
Regarding claim 11, Rinsma discloses wherein the adjusting nut (14, fig 2) has a latching means (26) with a latching disk (27/29) or with an adjusting spring (23 and/or 28).
Regarding claim 12, Rinsma discloses wherein an adjusting cage (24) engages around the adjusting nut (at least at 14, fig 1) with one end, and supports the adjusting spring (23) with the other end (fig 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7, and 9 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.K.H/Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/NICHOLAS J LANE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616