Claim Interpretation
The claims refer to a high frequency alternating current (HFAC) source. In view of the instant specification at page 8, lines 29-33, a high frequency alternating current source is characterized by generating alternating current at a frequency above at least 1 kHz.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-12, 22-24, and 26-27 are amended. Claims 13-21, 25, and 29-30 are cancelled. Claims 1-12, 22-24, and 26-28 are pending and have been fully considered.
The previously set forth objections to claims 2, 6-12, 17-26, and 29-30, are withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims.
The previously set forth rejection of claim 29 under 35 U.S.C. 101 is withdrawn as moot in view of the cancellation of claim 29.
The previously set forth rejections of claims 2-10, 20, 22-27, and 29-30 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims.
Response to Arguments
The applicant’s arguments with respect to the previously set forth rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive because the cited references do not clearly teach all limitations of independent claims 1 and 27 (see applicant’s response filed 07 May, 2026 at pages 10-12). Accordingly, the previously set forth rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn.
However, upon further search and consideration, new grounds of rejection over the prior art are set forth below. The new grounds of rejection are not considered to be necessitated by the amendments to the claims, because the scope of independent claims 1 and 27 was not meaningfully altered by the claim amendments. Therefore, this action is non-final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1&2) as being anticipated by Yamazaki (US 2009/0047774 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yamazaki teaches a first high-frequency power source (104) and a second high-frequency power source (105) which generate a [first] high frequency power (130) and a [second] high frequency power (131/132), respectively, which are superimposed on each other (Fig. 2, [0054]) and output to an electrode (101) (high-frequency electric powers outputted from the first high-frequency power source 104 and the second high-frequency power source 105 are both supplied to the first electrode—Fig. 1, [0051]; second high-frequency power source 105 may provide pulse oscillations of a high-frequency power 132—[0055])). The two high-frequency electric powers with different frequencies which are supplied to the electrode are selected to produce glow discharge plasma with increased plasma density ([0014], [0017], [0050], [0070], [0094], [0117], [0128], [0148], claim 1). Said electrode fairly defines a light source because it generates a glowing plasma, which emits light. Figs.
See the superimposed AC currents (130,131) in Fig. 2 below, and wherein the second AC current (132) is applied intermittently in Fig. 3.
Accordingly, Yamazaki teaches a light source (electrode 101) arranged to be powered by a first power supply circuitry (first high-frequency power source 104) providing a first alternating current (130) having a first frequency and by a second power supply circuit (105) providing a second alternating current (131/132) having a second frequency superimposed on the first alternating current ([0051], [0054]-[0055], Figs. 1-3).
Wherein the second alternating current has a higher frequency than the first alternating current (the first high-frequency electric power [130] has a frequency in the HF band of 3 MHz to 30 MHz inclusive, typically 13.56 MHz, and the second high-frequency electric power [131/132] has a frequency in the VHF band of higher than 30 MHz and 300 MHz or lower as shown in this embodiment mode—[0070]; also evident from Figs. 2-3 that frequency of AC current 131 much higher than AC current 130).
Claim 1 further indicates that the higher frequency of the second alternating current causes the intensity of the light emitted by the light source to be modulated at a higher frequency than the frequency of the first alternating current. This limitation describes an effect of the claimed device, without setting fourth clear, further limitations on the structure or configuration of the device. Accordingly, since Yamazaki otherwise explicitly meets all limitations of claim 1, it is presumed that the device of Yamazaki has the effect of causing the intensity of the light emitted by the light source to be modulated at a higher frequency than the frequency of the first alternating current; see MPEP 2112.01 regarding the presumed inherency of claimed properties or functions when the structure recited in the prior art is identical to the claim. Similarly, the recitation of the claimed device as a disinfection device in the preamble of claim 1 amounts to a recitation of intended use which does not set forth a patentable distinction in terms of structure; therefore, the device of Yamazaki fairly defines the claimed disinfection device.
Regarding claim 3, Yamazaki teaches the device of claim 3, and further teaches the second power supply circuitry is configured to switch the second alternating current on and off to provide a series of pulses of alternating current (see Fig. 3; a power source oscillating pulses is employed as the second high-frequency power source 105, and a high-frequency power source 105, and a high-frequency electric power 132 of pulse oscillation and the high-frequency electric power 130 from the high-frequency power source 104 are used—[0055]).
Regarding claim 26, Yamazaki teaches the light device according to claim 1. Yamazaki further teaches a switch (switches 127—[0116]) associated with the light source (electrode).
Regarding claim 27, Yamazaki—for similar reasons as discussed with respect to claim 1 above—teaches a method lighting comprising: generating a first electrical signal at a first frequency (first high-frequency power source 104 generates a high frequency power 130—Fig. 2, [0054]); superimposing a second electrical signal having a frequency onto the first frequency to provide a combined electrical signal (second high-frequency power source 105 generates a high frequency power 131…output from power source 105 is superimposed on output from power source 104—[0054])); and driving a light with the combined signal (superimposed alternating currents used to drive an electrode to produce glow discharge plasma—see [0014], [0017], [0050], [0070], [0094], [0117], [0128], [0148], claim 1; an electrode discharging a glow plasma fairly defines a light source because glow plasma emits light
Regarding claim 28, Yamazaki teaches the method of claim 27. Yamazaki further teaches the second frequency is superimposed for an interval, followed by a period where it is not superimposed (Fig. 3, [0055]).
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1&2) as being anticipated by Shan (US 2017/0280521 A1).
Shan teaches an LED lighting system (title), an embodiment thereof configured to receive an AC voltage and superimpose a carrier wave thereupon (command generator 900 receives external power on external power line 912…signal on power line 910 may be superimposed on power received from external power line 912—[00153]); particularly, a command generator (900) can receive an AC voltage from an external power line (912) and add to the AC voltage signal a command signal, which is directed to a light source via a power line (910) (command generator 900 generates at least one unit of control command and generates at least one signal on power line 910 representing the control command…the signal on power line 910 may be superimposed on power received from external power line 912…the signal representing the command may be formed by changes in parameters of the power transmitted on power line 910 …the parameters may include frequency of a change of the signal, and amplitude of the signal or size of a change in amplitude of the signal…the change of the signal may be in the form of a wave, the frequency being a wave frequency…the change of the signal may also be in the form of pulses…amplitude refers to voltage and/or current…the frequencies and amplitudes may be frequencies and amplitudes of a carrier wave applied to an AC power line and coexisting and superimposed with the AC voltage and current of the power line—[0153]; electronic circuit may apply a signal representing a command in superposition with power received one external power line 912 and transmitted on power line 910—[0154]; functional distribution system 904 receives commands from command generator 900 via power line 910…and controls LED drivers 906 in response to the command[s]…which in turn adjust the LEDs to produce dimming, brightness changes, color changes, flashing, or color temperature variations—[0158]).
If the functional distribution system (904), LED drivers (906), and LEDs (908) are considered to collectively define a light source, Shan fairly teaches a light source which receives two superimposed AC currents which may have different frequencies (power line 910 sends signal including AC power from line 912 and a superimposed command signal to distribution system 904). It is understood the frequency of the AC power from the power line and AC signal from the command generator can differ (the electronic circuit may generate variable or fixed waves with particular frequencies and amplitudes, and the electronic circuit may mix waves of different frequencies and amplitudes—[0154]), and the superimposed waves may directly affect the intensity of emitted light (electronic circuity may apply a signal representing a command in superposition with power received on external power line 912 and transmitted on power line 910—[0154]; functional distribution system 904 may control LED drivers 906 by sending further commands to the LED drivers that may correspond directly to the commands received by the functional distribution system…to produce the desired changes to LED output—[0158]).
Shan thus fairly teaches a light source (904,906,908) arranged to be powered by a first power supply circuitry providing a first alternating current having a first frequency (external power supply line 912…with first AC voltage) and by a second power supply circuitry (900) providing a second alternating current having a second frequency superimposed on the first alternating current (command generator superimposes second AC voltage on top of AC voltage from power supply line 912), wherein the second alternating current has a higher frequency than the first alternating current (electronic circuit may mix waves of different frequencies…and apply a signal representing a command in superposition with power from line 912—[0154]) to cause the intensity of the light emitted by the light source to be modulated at a higher frequency than the frequency of the first alternating current (LED drivers sends commands to LED drivers that may directly correspond to commands received by functional distribution system…to produce desired changes to LED output—[0158]; Shan thus reasonably discloses an embodiment at least capable of delivering a higher second frequency which results in light modulation at a frequency above the first frequency).
Since Shan is understood to teach all required structural components of claim 1 as set forth above, the device of Shan is presumed to constituted a disinfection device as recited in the preamble of claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Shan teaches the device of claim 1. Shan further teaches the light source comprises a light emitting diode (LEDs 908—[0157]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki (US 2009/0047774 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Yamazaki teaches the device of claim 3. Yamazaki indicates that the repetition rate of the pulses may be between 1 kHz to 100 kHz ([0055]). At 1 kHz, the pulses of the second alternating current would be repeated every 1 ms, and the second alternating current would necessarily be switched on for less than 1ms [to define a pulse within the 1 ms window]. Thus, Yamazaki teaches that each pulse comprises the second alternating current being switched on for a length of time which is less than but approaching the claimed range of between 1 ms and 1 second. Yamazaki further indicates that the pulses should be optimized to suppress growth of particles with consideration for the average resident time of a gas molecule ([0055]). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to arrive at a pulse on time within the claimed range of 1 ms and 1 second by way of routine optimization for the benefit of suppressing particle formation (see Yamazaki at [0055]); also see MPEP 2144.05(I.) regarding the obviousness of approaching ranges, and MPEP 2144.05(II.) with respect to the obviousness of optimization through routine experimentation.
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yamazaki (US 2009/0047774 A1) in view of Maeda et al. (US 2009/0160340 A1, cited in IDS filed 04 December, 2023).
Regarding claim 7, Yamazaki teaches the device of claim 1. Yamazaki teaches an output connection of the first supply circuitry is connected to an output connection of the second power supply circuitry (see Fig. 1, power sources 104 and 105 have connected outputs via matching boxes 106 and 107; also see [0051]; it is noted that the superposition of two alternating currents essentially requires an arrangement wherein the outputs of the two AC current sources are connected). Yamazaki does not indicate that the output connection of the second power supply circuitry is DC isolated form the rest of the second power supply circuitry, which in exemplary embodiments of the instant invention corresponds to the second power supply circuitry comprising an output which is connected to the light source by a transformer.
However, in the analogous art of circuitry for providing high frequency power to drive a load (dielectric barrier discharge lamp runed on at high voltage and frequency—[0006]), Maeda teaches the use of a transformer (T2) to connect a load (14) to the outputs (NP1, NP2, Nb) associated with power sources ([0031]-[0034]), the transformer increasing voltage to a sufficient level to activate the load ([0034]). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Yamazaki to include a transformer at the output connection of the second power supply circuitry at least for the benefit of increasing an applied voltage to an output level required to activate the load (electrode); such a transformer is understood to DC isolate the output connection from the rest of the second power supply circuitry.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Shan (US 20170280521 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Shan teaches the device of claim 1. Shan does not explicitly indicate that the second frequency (frequency of command signal) is between 1 kHz and 1 MHz. However, Shan generally indicates that the frequency should be selected to achieve a desired command effect on the LED output (electronic circuit may mix waves of different frequencies…and may apply a signal representing a command in superposition with power received on external power line 912—[0154];functional distribution system 904 controls LED drivers 906 in response to commands from the command generator to cause the LED drivers to adjust the LEDs to produce brightness changes…by sending commands that correspond directly to the commands received by the functional l distribution system—[0158]). Accordingly, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to arrive at a second frequency within the broadly range of 1 kHz and 1 MHz by way of routine optimization for the benefit of selecting a command signal frequency which yields a desired response in the LED. Also, it is noted that Shan discusses certain signals being at frequencies within or near the claimed range (modulated signal at about 250 kHz—[0112]; pulse frequency of 200 kHz to 4 MHz), which may further guide a person of ordinary skill to use similar frequencies when selecting a frequency of the second alternating current.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 9-12, and 22-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, Yamazaki teaches the device of claim 4. As discussed with respect to claim 4, Yamazaki teaches a pulse repetition frequency of 1kHz to 100 kHz, corresponding to a maximum period of 1 ms (at a frequency of 1 kHz). Also, the language of claim 5 refers to a repeated pattern of a series of pulses, which is understood to be distinct from the repetition frequency of Yamazaki which refers to the frequency of a single pulse, not the frequency of a pattern of a series of pulses. Thus, the range of Yamazaki does not overlap with the claimed range of a period between 10 10ms and 10 seconds. No prior art was found which fairly suggests configuring the power circuitry to a light source to achieve the particularly claimed combination of frequencies and pulsing behavior.
Regarding claim 6, Yamazaki teaches the device of claim 3. Fig. 3 of Yamazaki depicts an on period for the second frequency being slightly shorter than the off period for each cycle, appearing to correspond roughly with a 40% duty cycle, with Yamazaki not explicitly disclosing any exemplary duty cycles. Thus, Yamazaki does not teach the series of pulses have a duty cycle of between 2% and 10%. No prior art was found which fairly suggests configuring the power circuitry to a light source to achieve the particularly claimed combination of frequencies and pulsing behavior.
Regarding claim 9, Yamazaki teaches the device of claim 7. Yamazaki does not teach the first power supply circuitry comprises a first coil configured to provide inductive coupling with a bus of an HFAC power supply system, and the second power supply circuitry comprises a second coil configured to provide inducive coupling with the bus, and further comprises an HFAC to DC converter connected to the second coil. While AC to AC conversion techniques (i.e., AC frequency changing arrangements) typically include an AC to DC converter (rectifier) and a DC to AC converter (inverter) (e.g., see Maeda at Fig. 2, converter 12 receives AC input from power source 11 and creates a DC output which is directed to inverter 13, wherein the inverter in turn generates an output with a high frequency—abstract, [0020]-[0023]). Nonetheless, no prior art was found which teaches the particularly configuration of the first power supply and second power supply, each including coils for inductive coupling with a common bus of an HFAC power supply system, and with an HFAC to DC converter connected to the second coil.
In view of the above, the subject matter of claims 5, 6, and 9 is found to be novel and non-obvious over the prior art.
Claims 10-12 and 22-24 incorporate allowable subject matter by virtue of dependency on claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ashdown et al. (US 2020/0344858 A1) teaches a temporally modulated lighting system (title), comprising a controller which connects to and controls light emitting elements (LEEs) to provide flicker with a target peak radiant flux, average radiant flux, duty factor, and pulse frequency (claim 1), wherein the LEEs are light emitting diodes (claim 17) and the controller provides a lower frequency signal which is superimposed with a higher frequency signals and used to drive the LEDs (claim 18: controller provides a first modulated first frequency signal for controlling the peak radiant flux, the controller provides a modulated second frequency signal for controlling the average radiant flux, the second frequency is lower than the first frequency and superimposed on the first frequency, and the current driver provides current modulated with the superimposed first and second frequencies to the glazing unit). Ashdown also discusses how controlling a light source to produce a particular flicker pattern can affect human health ([0052]), animal health ([0051]), and plant health ([0030]). Ashdown is not clear in establishing if the signals are sent as alternating currents.
Yamashita et al. (US 2012/0286695 A1) teaches an electric supply device for suppling an alternating current to a discharge lamp, the device comprising a control unit configured to switch between different lighting modes, including a low power lighting mode in which the control unit is configured to: i) continuously supply a predetermined base current to the lamp; and ii) send a current supply command signal so that boost current is periodically supplied to the lamp, the boost current obtained by superimposing a current having a predetermined magnitude on the base current, and wherein the supply of the boost current affects a luminance output by the lamp (claim 1; [0036]). The frequency of the base current and boost current can differ ([0062]) supplying an alternating current to the lamp control unit configured to supply base current and a boost current obtained by superimposing a current having a predetermined magnitude on the base current, which is periodically supplied of1 the high pressure discharge lamp (claim 1). The frequency of the base current and boost current do not need to be the same ([0062]).
Yang (US 20150054859 A1) teaches a pulse width modulation dimming signal and high frequency dimming signal which are multiplied to provide a driving signal to a power switch to improve dimming effect of LEDs (abstract).
Kobayashi (US 2012/0025731 A1) teaches a ballast which supplies alternating power to a high pressure discharge lamp; at ignition, a voltage containing a frequency component higher than a driving frequency during steady driving of the bulb is applied to the startup light source (abstract).
/BRADY C PILSBURY/Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/JENNIFER WECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797