DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the left side reference character 100 directed to the “body” of the unit block in Fig. 8 should be replaced with reference character 110 to be consistent with the remainder of the disclosure.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “each of the unit blocks comprises a groove portion formed concavely between the body and the second connecting surface of the connecting portion” (emphasis added) as set forth in claim 13 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 6, 8-11, 13-17 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the close state”.
Regarding claim 8, the limitation “an outer surface heading for an outside” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what is considered to be “heading for an outside” (e.g., if the wheel unit were positioned “outside”, how is the outer surface considered to be “heading for an outside”). The Examiner suggests replacing this limitation with -- an outer surface facing radially outwardly away from the hub.
Regarding claim 16, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the close state”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoo et al. (KR 20160120920 A; hereinafter “Yoo”).
Regarding claim 1, Yoo discloses a wheel unit 100 comprising: a hub 120 rotating by receiving a rotating force (2nd full paragraph on page 4 of the English language machine translation); a plurality of unit blocks 112 spaced apart from the hub and forming an outer shape of the wheel unit (Fig. 3); and a supporting body 130 configured to connect the hub with the unit blocks (Fig. 3), or filled between the hub and the unit blocks, wherein the supporting body applies a tension to the unit blocks along a direction toward the hub (2nd full paragraph on page 6 of the English language machine translation), to close up the unit blocks with each other, when the wheel unit passes through a ground (evident from Fig. 3 and the last paragraph on page 4 of the English language machine translation), wherein the unit blocks adjacent to each other are relatively rotated or moved, when the wheel unit overcomes an obstacle (5th and 6th full paragraphs on page 3 and the last paragraph on page 4 of the English language machine translation).
Regarding claim 3, Yoo further discloses the unit blocks adjacent to each other making contact with the obstacle rotates relatively radially outward (evident from the 5th and 6th full paragraphs on page 3 and the last paragraph on page 4 of the English language machine translation and the hinged connection between adjacent unit blocks as shown in Fig. 3), and at least some of the unit blocks adjacent to each other not making contact with the obstacle rotates relatively radially inward (evident from the 5th and 6th full paragraphs on page 3 and the last paragraph on page 4 of the English language machine translation and the hinged connection between adjacent unit blocks as shown in Fig. 3), when the wheel unit overcomes the obstacle.
Regarding claim 5, Yoo further discloses the unit blocks adjacent to each other remain close to each other when the unit blocks adjacent to each other rotate relatively radially outward (evident from the 5th and 6th full paragraphs on page 3 and the last paragraph on page 4 of the English language machine translation and the hinged connection between adjacent unit blocks as shown in Fig. 3), and the close state of the unit blocks adjacent to each other is released and the distance between the unit blocks adjacent to each other is increased when the unit blocks adjacent to each other rotate relatively radially inward (evident from the 5th and 6th full paragraphs on page 3 and the last paragraph on page 4 of the English language machine translation and the hinged connection between adjacent unit blocks as shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Yoo further discloses each of the unit blocks comprises: a body 112; a rotating portion 112b disposed at a first side of the body (Fig. 5(a)); a combining portion 112a disposed at a second side of the body and rotatably combined with the rotating portion of an adjacent unit block (Fig. 5(a)); and a pin 114 combining the combining portion with the rotating portion of the adjacent unit block to be rotated and moved within a predetermined range (evident from the 6th full paragraph on page 3 of the English language machine translation and Fig. 5(a)).
Regarding claim 11, Yoo further discloses each of the unit blocks comprises: a body 112 forming a rounded outer surface (at “convex portion” 112b); and a connecting portion (comprised of first and second connecting surfaces labeled in reproduced and annotated Fig. 5(a) provided below) extending from the body and forming an inserting space (labeled in reproduced and annotated Fig. 5(a) provided below) into which the body of an adjacent unit block is inserted (Fig. 5(a)), wherein the connecting portion comprises: a first connecting surface (labeled in reproduced and annotated Fig. 5(a) provided below) extending from a first side (labeled in reproduced and annotated Fig. 5(a) provided below) of the body; a second connecting surface (labeled in reproduced and annotated Fig. 5(a) provided below) extending from a second side (labeled in reproduced and annotated Fig. 5(a) provided below) of the body and forming the inserting space with the first connecting surface (Fig. 5(a)); and a contact surface (at “concave portion” 112a) connecting the first surface with the second surface (Fig. 5(a)), and having a concaved rounded surface (surface of “concave portion” 112a) to make contact with an outer surface of the body of the adjacent unit block (Fig. 5(a)).
Regarding claim 16, Yoo further discloses the close state of the unit blocks adjacent to each other is released and the distance between the unit blocks adjacent to each other is increased when the unit blocks adjacent to each other rotate relatively radially outward and the unit blocks adjacent to each other rotate relatively radially inward (evident from the 5th and 6th full paragraphs on page 3 and the last paragraph on page 4 of the English language machine translation and the hinged connection between adjacent unit blocks as shown in Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo in view of Chalk (US 3,942,839).
Although Yoo further discloses the supporting body 130 comprises a plurality of wires (5th full paragraph on page 4 of the English language machine translation) connected between the unit blocks and the hub unit (Fig. 3), Yoo fails to expressly disclose the hub comprises a first hub unit and a second hub unit which are spaced apart from each other along an axial direction, wherein the tension applied by the wires is controlled as the distance between the first and second hub units is changed.
Chalk, however, teaches a wheel unit in which a hub 12 comprises a first hub unit 24 and a second hub unit 26 which are spaced apart from each other along an axial direction (Figs. 1 and 2), wherein the tension applied by the wires 16 is controlled as the distance between the first and second hub units is changed (lines 51-65 of col. 3; Figs. 1 and 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wheel unit of Yoo by forming its hub with a first hub unit and a second hub unit which are spaced apart from each other along an axial direction, wherein the tension applied by the wires is controlled as the distance between the first and second hub units is changed, such as taught by Chalk, with a reasonable expectation of success in controlling the tension supplied by the supporting body.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24 and 37 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 8-10, 13-15, 17 and 19-22 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Kip T Kotter/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615