DETAILED ACTION
Examiner truly regrets the untimely reopening of prosecution.
Applicant’s amendment and accompanying remarks filed November 24, 2025 are acknowledged.
Examiner acknowledges amended claim 1.
Examiner acknowledges cancelled claims 8 and 17-18.
The rejection of claims 1-5, 7-10 and 12-16 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Lamberts et al., U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2019/0225750 is withdrawn due to Applicant’s arguments.
The rejection of claims 6 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lamberts et al., U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2019/0225750 is withdrawn due to Applicant’s arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Hewel, U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2008/0274355.
Regarding claims 1-5, 7, Hewel discloses in paragraph 0013 a polyamide molding composition. It is disclosed in paragraph 0039 that the composition includes glass and/or carbon fibers. Also, paragraph 0039 discloses that the composition can include impact modifiers. Paragraph 0056 discloses a semi-aromatic polyamide. Paragraph 0068 discloses that the molding composition includes glass fibers having a length ranging from 2-12 mm. Paragraphs 0080-0082 disclose that the composition includes impact modifiers such as ethylene-octene copolymer, ethylene-propylene rubber, ethylene- vinyl acetate and styrene-butadiene-styrene [SBS] [0094]. Paragraph 0117 discloses that the molded compositions can include multilayers [includes at least two layers].
Regarding claim 9, paragraph 0081 discloses that the composition can include 5 to 30 weight % of impact modifier.
Regarding claims 14-15, paragraph 0117 discloses that the molding compositions can be used in the automobile sector.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hewel, U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2008/0274355 in view of Sauer et al., U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2016/0101592.
Hewel, above, remains relied upon for claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Hewel is silent to the volume of the continuous reinforcing fibers is from 20% to 80% with respect to the total volume. Sauer discloses two or more layers of fibrous material made of carbon fibers; one or more layers of fibrous material made of glass fibers; polyamide resin composition wherein the fibrous materials made of carbon and glass fibers are impregnated with the polyamide resin composition [0011-0015]. Paragraph 0031 discloses that the fibrous material is a continuous material. Paragraph 0090 discloses that the polyamide can include semi-aromatic polyamide resins. Reference claim 12 discloses that the polyamide resin include one or more impact modifiers. Paragraph 0089 of Sauer discloses that the composite structure comprises between 40 to 60 volume percent of fibrous material. Paragraph 0073 of Sauer that glass fibers allow for a more rapid impregnation rate. Additionally, Sauer discloses that the composite can be used for automobile components. Hewel and Sauer are analogous art in that both references disclose components for automobiles comprising layers of carbon and/or glass fibers impregnated with semi-aromatic polyamide resin. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would optime the volume of the fibers in the composition to 40 to 80% for the benefit of enhanced rate of impregnation.
Regarding claims 11-13, Hewel is silent to the composite being a unidirectional composite; multiaxial composite laminate and wherein the continuous reinforcing fibers are in configuration selected from the group consisting of a woven fabric, a layered fabric or a combination as recited in claims 11-13, respectively. Sauer discloses two or more layers of fibrous material made of carbon fibers; one or more layers of fibrous material made of glass fibers; polyamide resin composition wherein the fibrous materials made of carbon and glass fibers are impregnated with the polyamide resin composition [0011-0015]. Paragraph 0031 discloses that the fibrous material is a continuous material. Paragraph 0090 discloses that the polyamide can include semi-aromatic polyamide resins. Reference claim 12 discloses that the polyamide resin include one or more impact modifiers. Sauer discloses in paragraph 0083 of Sauer discloses that the fibrous material can include unidirectional non crimp fabric, a woven fabric or multiaxial textile [0085]. Additionally, Sauer discloses that the composite can be used for automobile components. The abstract of Sauer discloses that the composite structure having improved high modulus and strength. Hewel and Sauer are analogous art in that both references disclose components for automobiles comprising layers of carbon and/or glass fibers impregnated with semi-aromatic polyamide resin. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would utilize the fibrous material of Sauer as the fibrous material of Hewel for the benefit of obtaining a polyamide composition having enhanced high modulus and strength.
Claims 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hewel U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2008/0274355 in view of Stopplemann et al., U.S. 2015/0005426.
Hewel above, remains relied upon for claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Hewel is silent to the one semi-aromatic polyamide selected from the group consisting of PA 6T, PA 61, PA 9T, PA 10T, PA 6T/6I, PA 6T/66 and PA 6T/6I/66, and 0.5 to 15.0 wt.% of the at least one impact modifier. Hewel does disclose a semi-aromatic polyamide [0056]. Hewel discloses in paragraph 0081 discloses that the composition can include 5 to 30 weight % of impact modifier. Stopplemann discloses polyamide molding compositions including glass fibers [abstract and 0014] having a fibrous length ranging from 0.20-20 mm [0106]. Additionally, Stopplemann discloses that the composition can include impact modifiers [0034] such as ethylene-propylene rubber, ethylene-octene rubber or ethylene vinyl acetate. Paragraphs 0105 discloses that the semi-aromatic polyamide include PA10T/6T, PA 6T/6I, PA6T/66. Hewel teaches PA10T/6T as the semi-aromatic polyamide. Hewel and Stopplemann are analogous art in that both references are directed to polyamide molding compositions that include impact modifiers and glass fibers having a length ranging from 2-12 mm. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to do a simple substitution of PA 6T/6I, PA6T/66 for the PA10T/^T in Hewel as Stoppelman discloses that PA 6T/6I, PA6T/66 and PA10T/^T are interchangeable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the present claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/CAMIE S THOMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786