DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ogi (US 2019/0157323).
Regarding Claims 1 and 14, Ogi discloses a distance measurement apparatus [Fig 20-22]; comprising: an optical system [#2100 of Fig 20; 0096], a light detection device comprising: a semiconductor substrate that includes a first surface and a second surface opposed to each other [#400 of Fig 2; 0109-13], and includes a pixel array in which a plurality of pixels is disposed in an array [0092-93]; a semiconductor layer that is provided on a side of the first surface of the semiconductor substrate [#406 of Fig 2; 0113-14]; a light receiver that is provided inside the semiconductor substrate for each of the pixels [#160 of Fig 21; 0101; 0105], and generates carriers corresponding to a received light amount by photoelectric conversion; a multiplier that includes a first conduction-type region and a second conduction-type region sequentially stacked on the side of the first surface [#730, #740 of Fig 21; 0102-0106], at least the second conduction-type region being provided in the semiconductor layer, and that performs avalanche multiplication on the carriers generated by the light receiver [#720 of Fig 21; 0102]; a first electrode that is provided on the side of the first surface, and is electrically coupled to the light receiver [#152 of Fig 21; 0086-87; 0090; 0092]; and a second electrode that is provided on the side of the first surface, and is electrically coupled to the multiplier [#102 of Fig 21; 0103].
Regarding Claim 2, Ogi also discloses wherein the multiplier includes the first conduction-type region and the second conduction-type region both of which are provided in the semiconductor layer [Fig 20-22; 0102-06].
Regarding Claim 3, Ogi also discloses an insulating layer on the side of the first surface of the semiconductor substrate, wherein the semiconductor layer is embedded and formed in the insulating layer for each of the pixels [#200 of Fig 18, 19; 0092; 0094-95].
Regarding Claim 4, Ogi also discloses wherein the multiplier formed in the semiconductor layer has an end surface on an inner side relative to a side surface of the semiconductor layer [#720 of Fig 21; 0102-06].
Regarding Claim 5, Ogi also discloses wherein a side surface of the semiconductor layer is inclined with respect to the first surface [#200 of Fig 18, 19; #556 of Fig 41; 0092; 0094-95; 0167].
Regarding Claim 6, Ogi also discloses wherein the semiconductor substrate further includes a pixel separator that separates the plurality of pixels from each other and penetrates the semiconductor substrate between the first surface and the second surface [#150 of Fig 21; 0084; 0088; 0092; 0094-95; 0102; 0104; 0139].
Regarding Claim 7, Ogi also discloses wherein the pixel separator further penetrates the semiconductor layer [#150 of Fig 21; 0084; 0088; 0092; 0094-95; 0102; 0104; 0139].
Regarding Claim 8, Ogi also discloses wherein the pixel separator includes a conductive film and an insulation film, the conductive film having a light-shielding property [#558 of Fig 41; 0168], the insulation film being provided between the conductive film and the semiconductor substrate [#200 of Fig 18, 19; #556 of Fig 41; 0092; 0094-95; 0167].
Regarding Claim 9, Ogi also discloses a first conduction-type impurity region around the pixel separator, wherein the light receiver and the first electrode are electrically coupled to each other via the first conduction-type impurity region [#700, #760 of Fig 21 ; 0102-06].
Regarding Claim 10, Ogi also discloses a second conduction-type impurity region in the semiconductor layer, wherein the multiplier and the second electrode are electrically coupled to each other via the second conduction-type impurity region [#750 of Fig 21 ; 0102-06].
Regarding Claim 13, Ogi also discloses wherein the semiconductor substrate and the semiconductor layer each include silicon [#400 of Fig 22; 0112-14]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogi (US 2019/0157323), as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and further in view of Bandara (US 6,184,538)
Regarding Claims 11 and 12, Ogi does not explicitly teach – but Bandara does teach a reflection layer that is provided in the insulating layer and surrounds the semiconductor layer [Claims 5, 7] and wherein the reflection layer is split, one end is coupled to the second electrode, and another end is coupled to a readout circuit that reads out the carriers multiplied by the multiplier [Claims 5, 7]. It would have been obvious to modify the device of Ogi to include a reflective insulating layer and it coupled to a readout circuit so that plural stacks can be simultaneously read out by the corresponding readout pixels in the multiplexer.
Conclusion
JAMES R. HULKA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3645
/JAMES R HULKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645