DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Abstract
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract (07/28/25) repeats the information given in the title and needs to be corrected.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the language repeats information given in the title. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Specification
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification of fails to include the section headings. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 9 recites the limitation “means of fixing means”, which is defined in the specification as a releasable fastener, adhesive or stitching.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-11, 15 and 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Christopher et al. (US 2,202,415).
In regard to claim 1, Christopher et al. teaches a wearable protection device comprising at least one inflatable member designed to move between a deflated condition and an inflated condition remaining inside a casing of the wearable protection device (see figures 1 vs. figure 2 and page 1, column 1, lines 7-12), characterized in that, in the deflated condition (figure 1, page 1, column 1, lines 43-45) the at least one inflatable member (inflatable member is inner tube: 12) has:(i) outer dimensions corresponding to the dimensions of available space inside the casing (see figures 1 and 3); and (ii) at least one portion folded with an accordion shape (see figure 3, page 1, column 2, lines 13-25), whereby such an accordion- shaped portion expands when the at least one inflatable member moves from the deflated condition into the inflated condition and such an accordion-shaped portion contracts when the at least one inflatable member moves from the inflated condition to the deflated condition (see figures 1-3, column 2, lines 1-25); wherein the casing comprises at least one accordion-shaped portion (casing is outer tube: 13), the accordion-shaped portion of the at least one inflatable member being configured to expand when the at least one inflatable member moves in the inflated condition so as to cause the expansion of the corresponding accordion-shaped portion of the casing (figures 1-3, page 1, column 2, lines 13-25), whereby a larger area of a user's body is covered by the at least one inflatable member and the casing (see figures 1 vs. figure 2 and page 1, column 1, lines 7-12).
In regard to claim 3, Christopher et al. teaches the accordion-shaped portion of the at least one inflatable member and the accordion-shaped portion of the casing are shaped and sized so that the accordion-shaped portion of the at least one inflatable member is housed into the accordion-shaped portion of the casing (see pleats: 14 in both outer and inner tube in figure 3 and page 1, column 2, lines 13-25).
In regard to claim 4, Christopher et al. teaches an outer layer and/or an inner layer of the casing consists at least partially of an accordion-shaped portion suitable to match a facing accordion-shaped portion of the at least one inflatable member (see pleats: 14 in both outer and inner tube in figure 3 and page 1, column 2, lines 13-25).
In regard to claim 5, Christopher et al. teaches the casing is provided with an accordion-shaped portion in proximity of the accordion-shaped portion of the inflatable member (see pleats: 14 in both outer and inner tube in figure 3 and page 1, column 2, lines 13-25).
In regard to claim 6, Christopher et al. teaches the casing is delimited between an inner surface and an outer surface of the wearable protection device (wearable protection device is life preserver and the casing/outer layer is delimited between an inner and outer surface of the life preserver: see figure 1).
In regard to claim 7, Christopher et al. teaches the casing is provided on a supporting layer of the wearable protection device (wearable protection device is garment or belt: page 1, column 2, lines 51-56).
In regard to claim 8, Christopher et al. teaches said accordion-shaped portion of the casing is arranged at one or more of the shoulder area, the chest area, and the back area of the wearable protection device (wearable protection device is belt and the casing would be attached/arranged at the back area or the chest area: page 1, column 2, lines 51-56).
In regard to claim 9, Christopher et al. teaches at least one end of the accordion-shaped portion of the at least one inflatable member is fixed by means of fixing means to a corresponding end of the casing (page 1, column 2, lines 35-47, releasable fastener: clamping member is the means attaching the casing and inflatable end together).
In regard to claim 10, Christopher et al. teaches side ends of the accordion-shaped portion of the at least one inflatable member are fixed to corresponding ends of the accordion-shaped portion of the casing (page 1, column 2, lines 35-47, clamping member attaching the casing and inflatable end together).
In regard to claim 11, Christopher et al. teaches one or more of the accordion-shaped portion of the at least one inflatable member and the accordion-shaped portion of the casing are obtained by means of a thermoforming process of at least a portion of inflatable member and/or the casing (this is a product-by-process limitation see MPEP: 2113, the method of manufacture is not needed to be taught by the prior art as long as the final apparatus structure is taught by the prior art, Christopher et al. teaches the inflation member and casing with accordion-shaped portions: see pleats: 14 in figure 3 and page 1, column 2, lines 13-25).
In regard to claim 15, Christopher et al. teaches the casing is made at least partially with an elastic or stretchable material (casing is made of rubber: page 3, column 1, lines 6-8, which is stretchable and elastic).
In regard to claim 18, Christopher et al. teaches the casing consists of a pocket provided on the inner surface or on the outer surface of the wearable protection device (wearable protection device is belt and the pocket/life preserver is located on the outer surface of the belt: page 1, column 2, lines 51-56).
In regard to claim 19, Christopher et al. teaches side ends of the accordion-shaped portion of the at least one inflatable member are fixed to corresponding ends of the accordion-shaped portion of the casing (clamping members: 18 affix the casing the inflatable member, page 1, column 2, lines 35-46).
In regard to claim 20, Christopher et al. teaches the casing is provided with an elastic portion (casing is made of rubber: page 3, column 1, lines 6-8).
In regard to claim 21, Christopher et al. teaches the accordion-shaped portion of the at least one inflatable member is configured to expand via folded end portions when the at least one inflatable member moves in the inflated condition and to cause corresponding expansion of the accordion-shaped portion of the casing as warranted (see figures 1-3, page 1, column 2, lines 13-25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christopher et al. (US 2,202,415) in view of Mazzarolo et al. (US 2012/0073035).
Christopher et al. fails to teach the inflator device containing more than one inflation charge. Further, Christopher et al. teaches the inflator device designed to be coupled to the at least one inflatable member for inflating said at least one inflatable member (pressure bottle: 15 and page 2, lines 44-58).
In regard to claim 16, Mazzarolo et al. teaches an inflator device, wherein the inflator device is designed to be coupled to an inflatable member for inflating said at least one inflatable member (paragraphs 0038-0039); said inflator device containing more than one inflation charge (paragraph 0038).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the inflator device of Christopher et al. with more than one charge as taught by Mazzarolo et al., since the inflator of Christopher et al. provided with more than one charge would allow for repeated uses of the protection device (see paragraph 0038 of Mazzarolo et al.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and can be found cited in PTO-892 form submitted herewith. The cited art to Estcourt et al. (GB 2,277,906) is of particular relevance to the claimed invention.
ALISSA L. HOEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/ALISSA L HOEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732