DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The prior objections to the abstract have been overcome by the amended abstract filed 02 February 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The prior rejection of CLAIM 3 under §112(b) has been overcome by the response filed 02 February 2026, wherein Applicant corrected the dependency of the claim.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
CLAIMS 1, 6, 8, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marquinez (US 3,990,377 A) in view of Doleshal (US 4,992,000 A).
CLAIM 1
Marquinez ‘377 (“Marquinez”) discloses a system for excavating a trench in ground submerged in water, said system comprising:
an excavation device comprising
locomotion means (1) able to move said excavation device over the submerged ground, and
excavating means (8) able to be supplied with pressurized water and to excavate the submerged ground using the pressurized water (via 19; cl. 14);
control means (Fig. 4) configured to control the locomotion means (cl. 9); and
supply means positioned on the locomotion means (1) and configured to supply pressurized water to the excavating means (col. 4, ll. 39-44).
Marquinez fails to teach a water-jet turbine positioned on floating means.
Doleshal ‘000 (“Doleshal”) discloses a system (10) for excavating an underwater trench, the system including supply means (17, 18) configured to supply pressurized water to excavating means (20, Fig. 3), wherein the supply means comprise at least one water-jet turbine, said at least one water-jet turbine being positioned on floating means (12) adapted to position a water intake of said at least one water-jet turbine immersed in the water (col. 3, ll. 33-5). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have substituted the supply means (Doleshal, 17 and 18) of Doleshal for the supply means (Marquinez, col. 4, ll. 39-44) in the prior art excavation system (Marquinez). The motivation for making the modification would have been to have reduced the weight carried by the locomotion means, and to have done so with a reasonable expectation of success.
CLAIM 6
In the combination of Marquinez and Doleshal, the excavation device is a trencher.
CLAIM 8
The method steps recited therein are inherent to use of the system taught by the combination of Marquinez and Doleshal, as applied above to address the limitations of CLAIM 1.
CLAIM 12
In the combination of Marquinez and Doleshal, the excavating means (Marquinez, 8) are configured to form a trench in the ground submerged in water.
CLAIMS 3 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marquinez (US 3,990,377 A) in view of Doleshal (US 4,992,000 A) as applied to CLAIM 1 above, and further in view of Grinsted (US 4,759,138 A).
CLAIM 3
In the combination of Marquinez and Doleshal, the control means (Marquinez, Fig. 4) are able to control the locomotion means (1) to obtain excavation of a portion of the submerged ground underneath the pipeline (Marquinez, via 9a, 9b, 10).
The prior art combination fails to teach detection means.
Grinsted ‘138 (“Grinsted”) discloses an underwater excavation system comprising detecting means having the functionality to detect a pipeline (27) positioned on submerged ground (col. 4, ll. 13-7). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the prior art underwater system (Marquinez-Doleshal) with the addition of detecting means, as suggested by Grinsted. The motivation for making the modification would have been to have included means for facilitating desired alignment of the pipeline with the system, and to have done so with a reasonable expectation of success.
CLAIM 9
The method steps recited therein are inherent to use of the system taught by the combination of Marquinez, Doleshal and Grinsted, as applied above to address the limitations of CLAIM 3.
CLAIMS 4, 5, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marquinez (US 3,990,377 A) in view of Doleshal (US 4,992,000 A) as applied to CLAIM 1 above, and further in view of Saxon (US 6,022,173 A).
CLAIMS 4, 5
Neither Marquinez nor Doleshal teaches first and second acquisition means.
Saxon ‘173 (“Saxon”) discloses an underwater excavation system and teaches the use of a first acquisition means on a vessel to obtain a position of an excavation device and a depth of the water at said position (col. 12, ll. 43-7), via acoustic waves (“sonar”) or radio waves (“RF transmission”). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have further modified the prior art system with the addition of first and second acquisition means, as suggested by Saxon. The motivation for making the modification would have been to have included means for enhancing the accuracy and precision of trenching operations, and to have done so with a reasonable expectation of success.
CLAIMS 10, 11
The method steps recited therein are inherent to use of the system taught by the combination of Marquinez, Doleshal and Saxon, as applied above to address the limitations of CLAIMS 4 and 5.
Allowable Subject Matter
CLAIMS 2 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Rejections of Claims Under 35 U.S.C. §103
Marquinez
Applicant argues the prior art excavation means (Marquinez, 8) lacks the functionality to excavate submerged ground using pressurized water because the nozzles (Marquinez, 19) are laterally directed. The examiner disagrees for the following reasons.
In col. 4, ll. 47-50, Marquinez discloses “supplies the nozzles 19 with pressurized water so that the jets of water hollow out the side walls of the trench which consequently becomes sufficiently wide.” Thus, the prior art excavation means disclosed by Marquinez function to excavate submerged ground.
In claim 14, Marquinez recites “a plurality of nozzles distributed in the direction of the height of said plowshare and further comprising pressurized water means connected to said nozzles for locally enlarging said trench, by means of jets of water.” Thus, the prior art excavation means disclosed by Marquinez function to excavate submerged ground.
Excavation is not limited to a specific direction.
Applicant’s arguments are not fully responsive because they do not address the prior art passages and claims cited in the last Office Action.
Doleshal
Applicant submits the barge-supported water pump of Doleshal is not a water-jet turbine, as required by the claims, but fails to set forth reasons in support thereof. Thus, Applicant’s arguments amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. See 37 C.F.R. 1.111(b).
Applicant further challenges the motivation to combine set forth in the above obviousness rejection of CLAIM 1. The examiner contends the motivation is very clear. Placement of a water-jet turbine on floating means instead of the locomotion means would have reduced the weight on the latter during travel along the sea floor.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TARA MAYO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/tm/
21 May 2026