DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it includes legal phraseology. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to claim 3, the scope of the claimed invention is indefinite because it is unclear from which claim it is intended to depend. For the purpose of prosecution on the merits, the examiner has considered the claim to depend from claim 1.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marquinez (US 3,990,977 A) in view of Doleshal (US 4,992,000 A).
With regard to claim 1, Marquinez discloses a system for excavating a trench in ground submerged in water, said system comprising:
an excavation device comprising:
locomotion means (1) able to move said excavation device over the submerged ground, and excavating means (8) able to be supplied with pressurized water and to excavate the submerged ground using the pressurized water (via 19; cl. 14), control means (Fig. 4) configured to control the locomotion means (cl. 9), and supply means positioned on the locomotion means (1) and configured to supply pressurized water to the excavating means (col. 4, ll. 39-44).
Marquinez fails to teach a water-jet turbine. Doleshal discloses a system (10) for excavating an underwater trench, the system including supply means (17, 18) configured to supply pressurized water to excavating means (20, Fig. 3), wherein the supply means comprise at least one water-jet turbine, said at least one water-jet turbine being positioned on floating means (12) adapted to position a water intake of said at least one water-jet turbine immersed in the water (col. 3, ll. 33-5). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the supply means (Doleshal, 17 and 18) of Doleshal for the supply means (Marquinez, col. 4, ll. 39-44) in the prior art excavation system (Marquinez). The motivation for making the modification would have been to reduce the weight carried by the locomotion means, and to have done so with a reasonable expectation of success.
With regard to claim 6, in the combination of Marquinez and Doleshal, the excavation device is a trencher.
With regard to claim 8, the method steps recited therein are inherent to use of the system taught by the combination of Marquinez and Doleshal, as applied above to address the limitations of claim 1.
Claim(s) 3 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marquinez (US 3,990,977 A) in view of Doleshal (US 4,992,000 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Grinsted (US 4759138 A).
With regard to claim 3, in the combination of Marquinez and Doleshal, the control means (Marquinez, Fig. 4) are able to control the locomotion means (1) to obtain excavation of a portion of the submerged ground underneath the pipeline (Marquinez, via 9a, 9b, 10). The prior art combination fails to teach detection means.
Grinsted discloses an underwater excavation system comprising detecting means having the functionality to detect a pipeline (27) positioned on submerged ground (col. 4, ll. 13-7). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the prior art underwater system (Marquinez-Doleshal) with the addition detecting means, as suggested by Grinsted. The motivation for making the modification would have been to include means for facilitating desired alignment of the pipeline with the system, and to have done so with a reasonable expectation of success.
With regard to claim 9, the method steps recited therein are inherent to use of the system taught by the combination of Marquinez, Doleshal and Grinsted, as applied above to address the limitations of claim 3.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marquinez (US 3,990,977 A) in view of Doleshal (US 4,992,000 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Saxon (US 6,022,173 A).
With regard to claims 4 and 5, neither Marquinez nor Doleshal teaches first and second acquisition means. Saxon discloses an underwater excavation system and teaches the use of a first acquisition means on a vessel to obtain a position of an excavation device and a depth of the water at said position (col. 12, ll. 43-7), via acoustic waves (“sonar”) or radio waves (“RF transmission”). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the prior art system with the addition of first and second acquisition means, as suggested by Saxon. The motivation for making the modification would have been to include means for enhancing the accuracy and precision of trenching operations, and to have done so with a reasonable expectation of success.
With regard to claims 10 and 11, the method steps recited therein are inherent to use of the system taught by the combination of Marquinez, Doleshal and Saxon, as applied above to address the limitations of claims 4 and 5.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TARA MAYO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/tm/
29 September 2025