DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 12/11/2025 has been entered and considered by Examiner. Claims 1, 4-6, 11-13, 16-18, 25, 28-31, 33, 35-37, 40-43, 45 and 47-48 are presented for examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 11-13, 16-18, 25, 28-31, 33, 35-37, 40-43, 45 and 47-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siomina et al. (US Pub. 20190305918 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US Pub. 20190044678 A1).
For claims 1, and 25, Siomina discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) [0124], comprising:
receiving a reference signal carrier switching configuration for reference signal carrier switching between a first carrier and a second carrier associated with an uplink data channel or an uplink control channel transmission (Figs. 4-5, the device gets setup information about how to switch the reference signal between two different frequencies or carriers, this setup tells the device how to switch the reference signal between Carrier 1 and Carrier 2, these carriers are used when the device is sending either user data or control information to the network) [0117-123, 0138, 0150-167];
receiving an indication for uplink transmission switching between the second carrier and a third carrier (Figs. 4-5, the device also gets a message telling it to switch where it sends its signals from Carrier 2 to Carrier 3) [0104, 0120-122, 0136-140]; and
suspending transmission on the third carrier during a transmission of a reference signal on the first carrier based at least in part on (the device delaying/pausing sending any data on Carrier 3, while the device is busy sending a reference signal on Carrier 1 this pause is based on the fact that the device was already set up to handle switching for both reference signals and uplink data) [0180-183, 0200-226];
the UE being configured for the reference signal carrier switching between the first carrier and the second carrier [0109-112], and
the UE being configured for the uplink transmission switching between the second carrier and the third carrier (Figs. 4-5, the device pauses sending any data on Carrier 3, while the device is busy sending a reference signal on Carrier 1 this pause is based on the fact that the device was already set up to handle switching for both reference signals and uplink data) [0109-112, 0180-183, 0200-226].
But Siomina doesn’t discloses suspending uplink transmission.
However, Liu discloses suspending uplink transmission on the third carrier during a transmission of a reference signal on the first carrier (Fig. 2) [0320, 0034, 0154, 0179] based at least in part on:
Liu also discloses the UE being configured for the reference signal carrier switching between the first carrier and the second carrier (Fig. 2) [0081, 0099, 0320, 0034], and
the UE being configured for the uplink transmission switching between the second carrier and the third carrier (Fig. 2) [0081, 0099, 0320, 0034].
Since, all are analogous arts addressing telecommunication signaling used by a mobile device; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Siomina with Liu to ensure optimum uplink communication schemes can enhance reliability of the communication signal.
Claim 25 differs from claim 1 only by the additional recitation of the following limitation, which is also taught by the cited prior art. The cited prior art Siomina further discloses
user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories (Figs. 8-9) [0396-402]; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors configured to (Figs. 8-9) [0396-402]: All other identical limitations are rejected based on the same rationale as shown above.
For claims 13, and 37, Siomina discloses method of wireless communication performed by a network node, comprising:
transmitting a reference signal carrier switching configuration that configures a user equipment (UE) to perform reference signal carrier switching between a first carrier and a second carrier associated with an uplink data channel or an uplink control channel transmission (Figs. 4-5, the device gets setup information about how to switch the reference signal between two different frequencies or carriers, this setup tells the device how to switch the reference signal between Carrier 1 and Carrier 2, these carriers are used when the device is sending either user data or control information to the network) [0117-123, 0138, 0150-167],
transmitting an indication for uplink transmission switching between the second carrier and a third carrier (Figs. 4-5, send a message telling it to switch where it sends its signals from Carrier 2 to Carrier 3) [0104, 0120-122, 0136-140]; and
suspending uplink communication on the third carrier with regard to the UE during a transmission of a reference signal on the first carrier based at least in part on (the device delaying/pausing sending any data on Carrier 3, while the device is busy sending a reference signal on Carrier 1 this pause is based on the fact that the device was already set up to handle switching for both reference signals and uplink data) [0180-183, 0200-226]:
the UE being configured for the reference signal carrier switching between the first carrier and the second carrier [0109-112], and
the UE being configured for the uplink transmission switching between the second carrier and the third carrier (Figs. 4-5, the device pauses sending any data on Carrier 3, while the device is busy sending a reference signal on Carrier 1 this pause is based on the fact that the device was already set up to handle switching for both reference signals and uplink data) [0109-112, 0180-183, 0200-226].
But Siomina doesn’t discloses suspending uplink transmission.
However, Liu discloses suspending uplink communication on the third carrier with regard to the UE during a transmission of a reference signal on the first carrier based at least in part on (Fig. 2) [0320, 0034, 0154, 0179] based at least in part on:
Liu also discloses the UE being configured for the reference signal carrier switching between the first carrier and the second carrier (Fig. 2) [0081, 0099, 0320, 0034], and
the UE being configured for the uplink transmission switching between the second carrier and the third carrier (Fig. 2) [0081, 0099, 0320, 0034].
Since, all are analogous arts addressing telecommunication signaling used by a mobile device; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Siomina with Liu to ensure optimum uplink communication schemes can enhance reliability of the communication signal.
Claim 37 differs from claim 1 only by the additional recitation of the following limitation, which is also taught by the cited prior art. The cited prior art Siomina further discloses a network node for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors configured to (Figs. 8-9) [0396-402]: All other identical limitations are rejected based on the same rationale as shown above.
For claims 4, 16, 28, and 40, Siomina, as modified by Liu, discloses to suspend the uplink transmission on the third carrier comprises:
temporarily suspending the uplink transmission on the third carrier (the device only stops sending on Carrier 3 for a short period while the device is using Carrier 1 to send a reference signal because the device was already set up to handle both reference signal switching and uplink switching) [0132-135].
For claims 5, 17, 29, and 41, Siomina, as modified by Liu, discloses to suspend the uplink transmission on the third carrier during the transmission of the reference signal on the first carrier comprises:
suspending the uplink transmission on the third carrier during transmission of the reference signal on the first carrier based at least in part on configuration information indicating that the UE is to suspend the uplink transmission on the third carrier during transmission of the reference signal on the first carrier (this is another way the device might decide to pause using Carrier 3, the device stops sending signals on Carrier 3 while the device is sending a reference signal using Carrier 1, because the instructions it received specifically tell the device to pause using Carrier 3 while it's using Carrier 1 for the reference signal) [0095-96, 0139-140, 0200-215].
For claims 6, 18, 30, and 42, Siomina, as modified by Liu, discloses the configuration information is based at least in part on a capability indicating that the UE is associated with a switched uplink (Fig. 7, steps 302-310, device is capable of switching between different uplink carriers — i.e., it has "switched uplink" ability) [0312-335].
For claims 11, 35, and 47, Siomina, as modified by Liu, discloses the first carrier is a time division duplexing carrier configured with DL and UL slots but without an uplink data channel or control channel transmission [0248-250, 0005, 0098].
For claims 12, 36, and 48, Siomina, as modified by Liu, discloses the reference signal is a sounding reference signal (SRS) and the time associated with the transmission of the reference signal includes at least one of: an SRS transmission time, or a radio frequency retuning time [0095-96, 0004-5].
For claims 31 and 43, Siomina, as modified by Liu, discloses the one or more processors, to suspend the uplink transmission on the third carrier, are configured to: suspend the uplink transmission on the third carrier based at least in part on configuration information indicating that the UE is to suspend the uplink transmission on the third carrier, wherein the configuration information is based at least in part on a capability indicating that the UE is associated with a dual uplink [0053, 0094, 0379].
For claims 33 and 45, Siomina, as modified by Liu, discloses the one or more processors, to suspend the uplink transmission on the third carrier, are configured to: suspend the uplink transmission on the third carrier based at least in part on a capability indicating that the UE is associated with a switched uplink (Fig. 7, steps 302-310, device is capable of switching between different uplink carriers — i.e., it has "switched uplink" ability) [0312-335].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to all the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
In view of amendment, a new reference has been used for new ground of rejections.
Inquiries
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Armouche, Hadi can be reached on 571-270-3618. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PAKEE FANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409