DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ZH et al. (CN 103779766, Cite No. 1 in Foreign Patent Doc. of IDS filed on 6/16/2023, here, English translated one in FIT database of PE2E Search).
Regarding claim 1, ZH et al. discloses in figure 1 and specification:
1. A Raman laser conversion device (see, Abstract) for generating a single longitudinal mode, SLM, laser output, comprising:
a Raman medium (see, 7, fig. 1, see also paragraph [0016]) that exhibits a Stokes emission when subject to pumping by a laser pump input, the laser pump input having a pump linewidth and the Raman medium having a Raman linewidth (see, paragraph [0016]); wherein
the Raman medium is configured to define feedback interfaces of a resonator such that the Stokes emission resonates within the Raman medium (see, paragraph [0012]-[0013]); and further wherein
the free spectral range, FSR, (see, paragraph [0016], here, he Raman light resonator longitudinal mode interval about 5 GHz) of the resonator with respect to the pump linewidth and/or the Raman linewidth or a function thereof is such that only one longitudinal mode of the Stokes emission is able to resonate within the Raman medium; whereby
the laser conversion device generates a SLM laser output that is frequency shifted with respect to the laser pump input (see, paragraph [0016], here, 1064 nm, 1197 nm).
Regarding claim 2, ZH et al. discloses in figure 1 and specification the device of claim 1, wherein the FSR of the resonator is greater than the pump linewidth (see, paragraph [0016], here, 6 GHz, 12 GHz).
Regarding claim 3, ZH et al. discloses in figure 1 and specification the device of claim 1, wherein the Raman medium is a diamond crystal (see, paragraph [0016], here, Raman gain crystal 7 selecting Ba (N03) 2 crystal).
Regarding claim 4, ZH et al. discloses in figure 1 and specification the device of claim 1, further comprising an actuator (see, paragraph [0016], here, the FP etalon 5)
configured to adjust at least one parameter of the resonator so as to adjust the frequency of the SLM laser output (see, paragraph [0016])
Regarding claim 5, ZH et al. discloses in figure 1 and specification the device of claim 4, wherein the actuator comprises means for adjusting the temperature of the Raman medium (see, paragraph [0016]).
Regarding claim 6, ZH et al. discloses in figure 1 and specification the device of claim 4, the actuator comprises one or more of: a pressure actuator; an acoustic wave generator; a magnetic field input; a voltage input; and a position controller configured to adjust the position of the Raman medium with respect to the laser pump input (see, paragraph [0016]).
Regarding claim 7, ZH et al. discloses in figure 1 and specification the device of claim 1, wherein at least one feedback interface comprises a feedback element that is configured to increase the feedback of the Stokes emission at that interface. (see, paragraph [0016]).
Regarding claim 8, ZH et al. discloses in figure 1 and specification the device of claim 1, further comprising a pump feedback element that is configured to feed back the pump laser input into the Raman medium (see, paragraph [0016]).
Regarding claim 9, ZH et al. discloses in figure 1 and specification the device of claim 1, herein the geometry of the Raman medium is configured to define an optical path length of the resonator for a particular resonator mode (see, paragraph [0016]).
Regarding claim 10, ZH et al. discloses in figure 1 and specification the device of claim 1, further comprising a second Raman medium coupled to the first Raman medium via a coupling feedback interface wherein the second Raman medium is configured to define feedback interfaces of a second resonator (see, paragraph [0016]).
Regarding claim 11, ZH et al. discloses in figure 1 and specification the device of claim 1, a Raman laser system for generating a single longitudinal mode, SLM, laser output, comprising: a pump laser configured to provide a laser pump input, the laser pump input having a pump linewidth; and a Raman laser conversion device according to claim 1, configured to receive the laser pump input (see, paragraph [0016]).
Regarding claim 12, ZH et al. discloses in figure 1 and specification the laser system according to claim 11, further comprising a focussing element (see, fig. 1 see also, paragraph [0012]) configured to focus the laser pump input into the Raman medium with an intensity great enough such that the device operates in the coherent Raman scattering regime.
Regarding claim 13, ZH et al. discloses in figure 1 and specification the laser system according to claim 12, further comprising a focussing element configured to focus the laser pump input into the Raman medium with an intensity great enough such that the device operates in the coherent Raman scattering regime (see, paragraph [0012]).
Regarding claim 14, ZH et al. discloses in figure 1 and specification the laser system according to claim 11, wherein the free spectral range of the resonator is greater than the pump linewidth (see, paragraph [0016], here, 6 GHz, 12 GHz).
Regarding claim 15, method claim15 is rejected for the same reasons applied to device claim 1-14 since the limitations of method claim15 are implemented by the limitations of device claims 1-14.
Conclusion
4. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Kinam Park whose telephone number is (571) 270-1738. The examiner can normally be reached on from 9:00 AM-5:00 PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, MINSUN HARVEY, can be reached on (571) 272-1835. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/KINAM PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828