DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 12/19/2025 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 10/30/2024, only with respect to the non-patent literature document, fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because the document should be identified as a Chilean office action, not a Columbian office action. Please correct and resubmit. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Drawings
The drawings were received on 06/16/2023. These drawings are accepted.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 8, and 10-15 are currently amended, and Claims 2, 6, and 9 are as originally filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a refractory material more resistant to corrosion and thermal shock” in line 11. It is not clear to what this refractory material is being compared, since “more” implies a different material.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the complementary receiving portion" in lines 1 and 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the locking portion" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In Claim 6, it is not clear what applicant intends to recite with the limitation “with chords removed.” Does the rotary device need to represent empty spaces from which chords are removed, or is this a negative limitation with no chords?
Claims dependent on any of the rejected claims are likewise rejected under this statute.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmeisser (US 8,281,964 B2) in view of International Syalons.
Schmeisser teaches a rotary stirring device as represented below in the annotated drawings:
Inert gas is passed through the driveshaft and the graphite shaft into the metal via the rotor and is dispersed (column 11, lines 49-51). A continuous flow path exists from the source of the gas, through the bore of the shaft and connection piece, through the roof of the rotor, into the chamber, through the inlets, into the passages, and out of the rotor through the outlet (column 7, lines 62-67). Shaft is connected directly to the rotor or indirectly (column 5, lines 43-48). However, Schmeisser does not teach the tubular sleeve or driveshaft is formed from a refractory material as claimed.
International Syalons teaches using sialon (silicon alumina nitride) ceramics for rotary degassers (page 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the sialon ceramic for the driveshaft material in Schmeisser, since International Syalons teaches sialon ceramics are uniquely suited to withstand the demanding thermochemical conditions of molten aluminum processing at temperatures exceeding 700 °C (pages 2 and 3).
Regarding Claim 2, International Syalons teaches silicon alumina nitride as described above.
Regarding Claim 3, Schmeisser teaches the rotor is threaded to the shaft as represented above.
Regarding Claim 4, Schmeisser teaches the first end of the graphite shaft is connected to the driveshaft within a housing 182 as represented above in FIG. 15. The second end of the graphite shaft is attached to the rotor as described above with FIG. 3a.
Regarding Claim 5, Schmeisser teaches a threaded throughbore with a tubular connection piece (column 7, lines 41-43).
Regarding Claim 6, Schmeisser teaches in FIG. 3b a polygonal cross section in the rotor (column 8, lines 2-16).
Conclusion
Tima M. McGuthry-Banks
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1733
/TIMA M. MCGUTHRY-BANKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733