DETAILED ACTION
Amendment filed 8/12/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11-13, and 15 have been amended. The previous objection to claims 4, 7, 11, and 15 is withdrawn in light of the present amendments.
Claims 1-15 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US20200351818A1), hereafter Park, in view of Fujishiro et al. (US20230171791A1), hereafter Fujishiro.
Regarding claims 1 and 8,
Park discloses a method performed by a terminal (Fig. 3, wireless device 110) in a wireless communication system comprising at least one transceiver (Fig. 3, communication interfaces 310) and at least one processor (Fig. 3, processor 314) coupled to the at least one transceiver and at least one memory (Fig. 3, memory 315) coupled to the at least one processor storing instructions (Fig. 3, instructions 316) executable by the processor to cause the terminal to receive, from a base station (Fig. 3, base station 120A/B), a search space configuration for MBS in a SIB including a search space ID (paragraph 126, 185-187, 249; base station configures wireless device with MBMS service via common, device-specific, paging search spaces including search space ID via SIB1).
Park further shows receiving configuration information associated with the MBS including information on a duration of a window (paragraph 141, 146, 185-187; various time window configurations, length of DRX, PDCCH monitoring occasions), identifying at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion within the window based on the search space configuration for the MBS (paragraph 187; PDCCH monitoring occasions according to a paging search space and/or monitoring occasion parameter), and monitoring a PDCCH addressed to a RNTI associated with the MBS in a PDCCH monitoring occasion of the at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion within the window (paragraph 106-110, 145-149, 187, 247; base station dynamically allocates resources to the wireless device via RNTI one or more PDCCHs; paging information scrambled with RNTI is received on monitored PDCCH occasions).
Park further shows information associated with a period (paragraph 95, 107-116, 187-188; periodicity of PDCCH monitoring/SSB reception configured by the network) and offset (paragraph 184-185, 249-251; ssb-subcarrier offset) of the window as well as PDCCH monitoring starts based on a SFN where SFN modulo the period equals the offset (paragraph 138, 184; SFN for a PF determined based on the disclosed equations) but fails to expressly disclose an MBS window and information on a period and offset from which an identified SFN is based where the window starts.
Fujishiro discloses a communication control method for MBS control channels (Title: Abstract; Fig. 7, 8) including an MBS window and information on a period and offset from which an identified SFN is based where the window starts (paragraph 104-120; MBS scheduling information includes On duration timer, scheduling period and start offset (SFN offset value)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Park by providing for an MBS window and information on a period and offset from which an identified SFN is based where the window starts, as shown by Fujishiro, thereby enabling directly pointing/receiving MBS traffic channels for each MBS service identifier without use of the conventional MBS control channel.
Regarding claims 5 and 12,
Park discloses a method performed by a base station (Fig. 3, base station 120A/B) in a wireless communication system comprising at least one transceiver (Fig. 3, communication interfaces 320A/B) and at least one processor (Fig. 3, processor 321A/B) coupled to the at least one transceiver and at least one memory (Fig. 3, memory 322A/B) coupled to the at least one processor storing instructions (Fig. 3, instructions 323A/B) executable by the processor to cause the transmitting, to a terminal (Fig. 3, wireless device 110), a search space configuration for MBS in a SIB including a search space ID (paragraph 126, 185-187, 249; base station configures wireless device with MBMS service via common, device-specific, paging search spaces including search space ID via SIB1).
Park further shows transmitting configuration information associated with the MBS including information on a duration of a window (paragraph 141, 146, 185-187; various time window configurations, length of DRX, PDCCH monitoring occasions), and transmitting control information for the MBS in a PDCCH monitoring occasion of at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion within the window based on the search space configuration for the MBS (paragraph 106-110, 145-149, 187, 247; PDCCH monitoring occasions according to a paging search space and/or monitoring occasion parameter).
Park further shows information associated with a period (paragraph 95, 107-116, 187-188; periodicity of PDCCH monitoring/SSB reception configured by the network) and offset (paragraph 184-185, 249-251; ssb-subcarrier offset) of the window as well as PDCCH monitoring starts based on a SFN where SFN modulo the period equals the offset (paragraph 138, 184; SFN for a PF determined based on the disclosed equations) but fails to expressly disclose an MBS window and information on a period and offset from which an identified SFN is based where the window starts.
Fujishiro discloses a communication control method for MBS control channels (Title: Abstract; Fig. 7, 8) including an MBS window and information on a period and offset from which an identified SFN is based where the window starts (paragraph 104-120; MBS scheduling information includes On duration timer, scheduling period and start offset (SFN offset value)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Park by providing for an MBS window and information on a period and offset from which an identified SFN is based where the window starts, as shown by Fujishiro, thereby enabling directly pointing/receiving MBS traffic channels for each MBS service identifier without use of the conventional MBS control channel.
Regarding claims 2, 6, 9, and 13,
The combination of Park and Fujishiro further discloses the at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion is sequentially numbered from one in the window, and wherein a (x*N+k)-th PDCCH monitoring occasion corresponds to a k-th SSB, where x = 0, 1, .., X-1, X is equal to ceil{(number of PDCCH monitoring occasions for the MBS in the window)/N}, N is number of the at least one actual transmitted SSB, and K=1,2,..N (paragraph 187; sequentially numbered from zero starting from the first PDCCH monitoring occasion for paging in the PF, starting PDCCH monitoring occasion number/quantity of (i_s+1)th PO may be the (i_s+1)th value of the monitoring occassion parameter (e.g., firstPDCCH-MonitoringOccasionOfPO), for example, if the monitoring occassion parameter (e.g., firstPDCCH-MonitoringOccasionOfPO) is present).
Regarding claim 3, 4, 7, 10, 11, 14, and 15,
The combination of Park and Fujishiro further discloses the search space configuration for the MBS includes information associated with a search space type (paragraph 126, 185-187; base station configures wireless device with common, device-specific, paging search spaces including search space ID via SIB1) and further includes information associated with a period (paragraph 95, 107-116, 187-188; periodicity of PDCCH monitoring/SSB reception configured by the network) and offset (paragraph 184-185, 249-251; ssb-subcarrier offset) of the window for the PDCCH monitoring for the MBS that starts based on a SFN where SFN modulo the period satisfies the offset (paragraph 138, 184; SFN for a PF determined based on the disclosed equations).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on newly-cited Fujishiro reference for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rastegardoost et al. (US20230189232A1); Bandwidth Part with Subband Hopping. Paragraph 235 discusses period/duration/offset with respect to SFN via multicast signaling.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477