DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the piezoelectric transducer is secured to the aerosol-generator housing at a single attachment point positioned only within the first region as recited in claim 19 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claims 19-36 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
There are many factors to be considered when determining whether there is sufficient evidence to support a determination that a disclosure does not satisfy the enablement requirement and whether any necessary experimentation is "undue." In the instant case, Applicant fails to include sufficient amount of direction as to how the piezoelectric transducer is secured to the aerosol-generator housing at a single attachment point positioned only within the first region? The level of predictability is very low because unpredictable arts need more working examples to show how to achieve the results (secured at a single attachment point positioned only within the first region). No drawing is provided in explaining/elaborating the meaning of “secured… at a single attachment point positioned only within the first region?” The disclosure, as originally filed, does not disclose, in drawing, how to secure the piezoelectric transducer to the aerosol-generator housing at a single attachment point positioned only within the first region? The Examiner, hence the public, would not know how to secure the piezoelectric transducer to the aerosol-generator housing at a single attachment point positioned only within the first region. How big or small of the “point” to meet the claim limitation? Would cylindrically sleeving the piezoelectric transducer’s outer cylindrical wall meet the claim limitation? Why and why not? Does the “attachment” means loosely support or must it be fixed like bolted down or welded? Would a continuous welding strip meet the claim limitation? Why and why not? The breath of the claims are very broads. The nature of the invention is quite unpredictable because there are many ways to generate aerosol. Based on the limited information provided, the level of ordinary skill required to make and/or use the invention is very high due to the lack of detailed guidance in the specification.
Based on the unknowns listed above, undue experimentations (in quantity and quality of experimentations are needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure) must be perform to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. The Specification also fails to provide existence of working examples. Claim 19 recites a “system” as the Applicant’s invention, the breath of the claims are too broad for one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claims 19-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms “single attachment point” in line 6 of claim 19 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “single attachment point” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The exact size or shape of the point needed to meet the claim limitation is not known. Can the “point” as big as a dinner plate? Can the point be an elongated in shape? Why and why not? Clarification is respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19-24, 28-30 and 33-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 刘建福 Liu et al. (WO2018113669. Liu hereinafter. See attached English translation by Google Patents).
With respect to claim 19, Liu discloses an aerosol-generating system (Figs. 1-20), comprising: an aerosol-generator housing (201, 2015, 2026, 2024); and a piezoelectric transducer (205, 2012, 2010, 2013) having an elliptical shape (page 3, tenth paragraph) and comprising a first region (205) and a second region (2012), wherein the second region is electrically isolated from the first region (via 2019), wherein the piezoelectric transducer is secured to the aerosol-generator housing at a single attachment point (sleeved in or wrapped by 2018 and 2019) positioned only within the first region.
With respect to claim 20, Liu discloses the aerosol-generating system according to claim 19, wherein the attachment point is positioned at (near) a centre of the piezoelectric transducer.
With respect to claim 21, Liu discloses the aerosol-generating system according to claim 19, wherein the second region extends between the first region and an (top) edge of the piezoelectric transducer (2013).
With respect to claim 22, Liu discloses the aerosol-generating system according to claim 19, wherein the piezoelectric transducer further comprises a first (annular) groove (occupied by 2011) in a (lower) surface of the piezoelectric transducer (205) and an electrically insulating material (2011) positioned within the first groove, and wherein the first groove defines a (separation) boundary between the first region and the second region.
With respect to claim 24, Liu discloses wherein the piezoelectric transducer further comprises a first layer of piezoelectric material (of 205) and a second layer of piezoelectric material (of 2012), and wherein the first layer overlies (on top of) the second layer.
With respect to claim 28, Liu discloses wherein a (bottom) surface of the first layer of piezoelectric material forms a first surface of the piezoelectric transducer, wherein a (top) surface of the second layer of piezoelectric material forms a second surface of the piezoelectric transducer opposite (faxing) the first surface, and wherein the first layer of piezoelectric material (indirectly) contacts the second layer of piezoelectric material at an interface (via 2019, 2011, 2012) between the first layer of piezoelectric material and the second layer of piezoelectric material.
With respect to claim 29, Liu discloses the aerosol-generating system according to claim 19, further comprising: a power supply (battery assembly. Not shown); and a controller (wiring from the battery assembly to the piezoelectric transducer) configured to (capable of) supply power from the power supply to the piezoelectric transducer.
With respect to claim 30, Liu discloses the aerosol-generating system according to claim 28, further comprising: a power supply (battery assembly. Not shown); and a controller (wiring from the battery assembly to the piezoelectric transducer) configured to (capable of) supply power from the power supply to the piezoelectric transducer, and supply power to the piezoelectric transducer to generate a first oscillating potential (around the radial oscillating body. Page 2, lines 44-52) difference in the first region between the first surface of the piezoelectric transducer and the second surface of the piezoelectric transducer.
With respect to claim 33, Liu discloses the aerosol-generating system according to claim 19, further comprising a first liquid storage compartment (2017) in fluid communication with the first region of the piezoelectric transducer.
With respect to claim 34, Liu discloses the aerosol-generating system according to claim 33, further comprising a first liquid aerosol-forming substrate (2018) contained within the first liquid storage compartment.
With respect to claim 35, Liu discloses the aerosol-generating system according to claim 33, further comprising a second liquid storage compartment (in 2018) in fluid communication with the second region of the piezoelectric transducer (Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 36, Liu discloses the aerosol-generating system according to claim 35, further comprising a second liquid aerosol-forming substrate (2018) contained within the second liquid storage compartment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to show the art with respect to an aerosol-generating system: Ivri ‘153, Ivri ‘646, Katase, Fink, Buchberger, Ivri ‘211, Collins, Jr., Koerner, Martens, III, Ivri ‘174, Montaser and Ivri ‘235.
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 January 30, 2026