DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The response filed on May 1, 2026 is acknowledged. Four pages of drawings were received on May 1, 2026. The drawings are acceptable to correct the obvious scrivener’s errors in the original disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19-24, 28-30 and 33-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 刘建福 Liu et al. (WO2018113669. Liu hereinafter. See attached English translation by Google Patents).
With respect to claim 19, Liu discloses an aerosol-generating system (Figs. 1-20), comprising: an aerosol-generator housing (201, 2015, 2026, 2024); and a piezoelectric transducer (205, 2012, 2010, 2013) having an elliptical shape (page 3, tenth paragraph) and comprising a first region (205) and a second region (2012), wherein the second region is electrically isolated from the first region (via 2019), wherein the piezoelectric transducer is secured to the aerosol-generator housing at a single attachment point (sleeved in or wrapped by 2018 and 2019) positioned only within the first region.
With respect to claim 20, Liu discloses the aerosol-generating system according to claim 19, wherein the attachment point is positioned at (near) a centre of the piezoelectric transducer.
With respect to claim 21, Liu discloses the aerosol-generating system according to claim 19, wherein the second region extends between the first region and an (top) edge of the piezoelectric transducer (2013).
With respect to claim 22, Liu discloses the aerosol-generating system according to claim 19, wherein the piezoelectric transducer further comprises a first (annular) groove (occupied by 2011) in a (lower) surface of the piezoelectric transducer (205) and an electrically insulating material (2011) positioned within the first groove, and wherein the first groove defines a (separation) boundary between the first region and the second region.
With respect to claim 24, Liu discloses wherein the piezoelectric transducer further comprises a first layer of piezoelectric material (of 205) and a second layer of piezoelectric material (of 2012), and wherein the first layer overlies (on top of) the second layer.
With respect to claim 28, Liu discloses wherein a (bottom) surface of the first layer of piezoelectric material forms a first surface of the piezoelectric transducer, wherein a (top) surface of the second layer of piezoelectric material forms a second surface of the piezoelectric transducer opposite (faxing) the first surface, and wherein the first layer of piezoelectric material (indirectly) contacts the second layer of piezoelectric material at an interface (via 2019, 2011, 2012) between the first layer of piezoelectric material and the second layer of piezoelectric material.
With respect to claim 29, Liu discloses the aerosol-generating system according to claim 19, further comprising: a power supply (battery assembly. Not shown); and a controller (wiring from the battery assembly to the piezoelectric transducer) configured to (capable of) supply power from the power supply to the piezoelectric transducer.
With respect to claim 30, Liu discloses the aerosol-generating system according to claim 28, further comprising: a power supply (battery assembly. Not shown); and a controller (wiring from the battery assembly to the piezoelectric transducer) configured to (capable of) supply power from the power supply to the piezoelectric transducer, and supply power to the piezoelectric transducer to generate a first oscillating potential (around the radial oscillating body. Page 2, lines 44-52) difference in the first region between the first surface of the piezoelectric transducer and the second surface of the piezoelectric transducer.
With respect to claim 33, Liu discloses the aerosol-generating system according to claim 19, further comprising a first liquid storage compartment (2017) in fluid communication with the first region of the piezoelectric transducer.
With respect to claim 34, Liu discloses the aerosol-generating system according to claim 33, further comprising a first liquid aerosol-forming substrate (2018) contained within the first liquid storage compartment.
With respect to claim 35, Liu discloses the aerosol-generating system according to claim 33, further comprising a second liquid storage compartment (in 2018) in fluid communication with the second region of the piezoelectric transducer (Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 36, Liu discloses the aerosol-generating system according to claim 35, further comprising a second liquid aerosol-forming substrate (2018) contained within the second liquid storage compartment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 1-5, filed on May 1, 2026, with respect to the drawing objections, 35 USC § 112(a) and 35 USC § 112(b) rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The drawing objections, 35 USC § 112(a) and 35 USC § 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
With respect to the 35 USC § 102(a)(1) rejections, Applicant's arguments filed on May 1, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that Liu does not disclose that Liu's "atomizing core electrode ring 2012" is a second region of "a piezoelectric transducer" as recited in claim 19. Fundamentally, Liu fails to disclose or suggest a piezoelectric transducer that is mechanically secured to a housing solely at a single, localized attachment point. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As clearly elaborated in the previous and current Office Actions above, the aerosol-generator housing is collectively defined by elements 201, 2015, 2026, 2024 and the piezoelectric transducer is collectively defined by elements 205, 2012, 2010, 2013, wherein the piezoelectric transducer (205, 2012, 2010, 2013) comprising a first region (205) and a second region (2012)… wherein the piezoelectric transducer is secured to the aerosol-generator housing at a single attachment point (sleeved in or wrapped by 2018 and 2019) positioned only within the first region. The “sleeved in” or “wrapped around” by elements 2018 and 2019 are single, localized attachment point relative to the bigger device as a whole. The Applicant appear to argues that a single attachment point is a one “small dot attachment.” Applicant's argument is not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. No such limitations can be found in the claimed invention. In accordance with MPEP 2111.01, during examination, the claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow. In re American Academy of Science Tech Center, 367 F.3d 1359, 1369, 70 USPQ2d 1827, 1834 (Fed. Cir. 2004). A single attachment point does not necessarily refer to a one small dot attachment. A single attachment point can be interpreted as the “sleeved in” or “wrapped around” by elements 2018 and 2019, the attachment is at a single point, relative to a bigger device as a whole.
The Applicant further argues that Liu fails to disclose "the piezoelectric transducer is secured to the aerosol-generator housing at a single attachment point positioned only within the first region." The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The first region is defined by the entirety of the ultrasonic vaporization body 205 and the ultrasonic vaporization body 205 is “sleeved in” or “wrapped around” by elements 2018 and 2019. The limitation “within the first region” has been properly interpreted as “at least, at the exterior surface of the ultrasonic vaporization body 205.”
The Applicant also argues that Liu fails to disclose "the second region is electrically isolated from the first region." The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As shown in Fig. 1, first region 205 is separated from the second region 2012 by atomizing core insulating ring 2011 and silicone sleeve 2019. The terms “insulating” and “silicone” clearly indicating common electrical insulators, especially the term “silicone” which is synonym to “excellent electrical insulator.” Furthermore, the disclosure, “an electrode ring 2013 electrically connected to the ultrasonic atomizing body 205 through an atomizing core electrode ring 2012” simply indicating one condition (fully assemble (when the atomizing core electrode ring 2012 installed in the atomizing seat 2010) and operating (powered)) of the aerosol-generating system. Fig. 5 of Liu, shows another condition of the aerosol-generating system (dissembled and exploded view) and when aerosol-generating system is not turned ON, the second region is electrically isolated from the first region because there is not current flowing through the aerosol-generating system (yet another condition of the aerosol-generating system).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 June 15, 2026