DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS form(s) submitted on 7/3/25, 6/4/25, 5/31/24, 5/16/24, 9/21/23, and 9/19/23 is/are in compliance with the requirements of the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure(s) are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 152-156, and 159-169 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2018/0177982 A1 to Albany et al.
In regard to claim 152:
A catheter housing device (Fig. 1B element 100) configured for use at a catheter insertion site on a subject (Para. 76 “As illustrated in FIG. 1A, an assembled catheter housing device 100, also referred to herein as “catheter housing” 100, can include a catheter holding structure 107 and a band 160. The catheter holding structure 107 forms a catheter lock that is configured to engage and/or secure a catheter to the patient at a location near, but not directly at, the catheter insertion site. The catheter housing device 100 can be positioned at and/near any location where an IV can be inserted into a patient.”), the catheter housing device comprising: a hub (Fig. 1B element 100) configured for placement at the catheter insertion site (Para. 76 “As illustrated in FIG. 1A, an assembled catheter housing device 100, also referred to herein as “catheter housing” 100, can include a catheter holding structure 107 and a band 160. The catheter holding structure 107 forms a catheter lock that is configured to engage and/or secure a catheter to the patient at a location near, but not directly at, the catheter insertion site. The catheter housing device 100 can be positioned at and/near any location where an IV can be inserted into a patient.”), the hub comprising: a membrane comprising an opening (Fig. 1B elements 104 and 160. Fig. 4 element 121 protruding through opening of element 104), the membrane configured to secure to skin of the subject such that the catheter insertion site is positioned within the opening (Para. 76 “assembled catheter housing device 100, also referred to herein as “catheter housing” 100, can include a catheter holding structure 107 and a band 160. The catheter holding structure 107 forms a catheter lock that is configured to engage and/or secure a catheter to the patient at a location near, but not directly at, the catheter insertion site. The catheter housing device 100 can be positioned at and/near any location where an IV can be inserted into a patient.”); a frame (Fig. 1B elements 120 and 101) connected to the membrane along at least a portion of a perimeter of the opening (Para. 86 “The membrane 104 can form an outer membrane that extends outwardly from and surrounds a perimeter of the base of the main body 102.”. Elements 101 and 120 considered the frame as they lock together see Fig. 2B. Para. 93 “The lock body 122 can include a tongue and/or a groove 124. In FIG. 3A, for example, the lock body 122 includes a tongue 124 to engage a corresponding locking groove 125 (FIG. 1B) positioned along at least a portion of an inner perimeter of an inner wall of the hub 101. This can allow the lock body 122 to securely engage with the main body 102.”); and mounting (Fig. 3b element 127) structure extending across the opening of the membrane and connected to the frame (Fig. 3b element 127), wherein a portion of said mounting structure is configured to secure a catheter hub connected to a catheter that is configured to be inserted in the catheter insertion site (Para. 97 “The support structure 127 can include a cavity 145 sized and shaped to receive all or a portion of the catheter hub 123.”), said portion of said mounting structure spaced inward relative to the perimeter of the opening (Fig. 3B element 127. Fig. 2B inner frame element 120 is locked nested inside of outer frame element 102. Para. 86 “The membrane 104 can form an outer membrane that extends outwardly from and surrounds a perimeter of the base of the main body 102.”. Therefore, element 127 is considered spaced inward relative to the perimeter of the opening member.) and spaced above the opening of the membrane to inhibit said portion of said mounting structure from contacting the subject's skin when the hub is in use (Fig. 3B element 127, Para. 29 “FIG. 3B illustrates a bottom perspective view of a lock body of a catheter housing device”. Considered held above the opening of the membrane as there is a shown to be an air along the vertical axis from the bottom surface of element 122 to the bottom surface of element 127); and a cover (Fig. 1 element 140) configured to removably secure to the hub and at least partially enclose the catheter insertion site (para. 77 “The cover 140 can be coupled to the hub 101 and/or the catheter lock 120 to secure and/or seal the stabilizing device.”).
In regard to claim 153:
The catheter housing device of Claim 152, wherein said mounting structure comprises a first arm and a second arm (see annotated Fig. 3B below), said first and second arms spaced from one another and configured to conform to and surround a portion of the catheter hub (Fig. 3B element 145, cavity formed between first and second arms)
Annotated Fig. 3B
In regard to claim 154:
The catheter housing device of Claim 153, wherein said mounting structure further comprises a base (see annotated Fig. 3A below) extending across the opening of the membrane between opposing sides of the frame (see annotated Fig. 3A below, base extending across inner frame element 120), and wherein said first and second arms extend outward from said base (Figs. 3A and 3B, the cross section of the mounting structure element 145 defined by base, left arm, and right arm).
Annotated Fig. 3A
In regard to claim 155:
The catheter housing device of Claim 152, wherein said mounting structure and said frame are integral (Figs. 3A and 3B element 127 integrally formed with element 122 of element 120 (inner frame). Para. 97 “the lock body 122 can include a raised support bridge or structure 127 to enclose at least a portion of the catheter or catheter hub. The raised support structure 127 extends from an inner side wall of the lock body 122 to an opposite inner side wall of the lock body 122” (emphasis added)).
In regard to claim 156:
The catheter housing device of Claim 152, wherein said portion of said mounting structure is rounded to conform to a cylindrical-shaped portion of said catheter hub (see Fig. 3C below).
Annotated Fig. 3C
In regard to claim 159:
The catheter housing device of Claim 152, wherein the frame comprises a first material (Para. 92 “The catheter lock 120 can include a lock body 122. The lock body 122 can comprise rigid plastic material, such as a hard plastic, and/or hard rubber, among other hard materials.”) and the membrane comprises a second material (Para. 90 “the membrane 104 can comprise silicone, plastic, and/or rubber, among other materials.”), and wherein the first material is more rigid than the second material (First material considered to be more rigid that second material due to para. 92 “rigid plastic material, such as a hard plastic, and/or hard rubber” compared to “silicone” that is considered softer. Fig. 10B demonstrates membrane elements160 and 104 wrapping around a patients arm further identifying the material to not be rigid.).
In regard to claim 160:
The catheter housing device of Claim 152, wherein said portion of the mounting structure is configured to secure said catheter hub in an inclined position relative to the subject's skin when in use (Para. 98 “The structure 127 can also be configured to keep the catheter fixed in its natural position to the patient's skin after insertion. This provides for an optimal catheter holding angle”).
In regard to claim 161:
A catheter housing device (Fig. 1B element 100) configured for use at a catheter insertion site on a subject (Para. 76 “As illustrated in FIG. 1A, an assembled catheter housing device 100, also referred to herein as “catheter housing” 100, can include a catheter holding structure 107 and a band 160. The catheter holding structure 107 forms a catheter lock that is configured to engage and/or secure a catheter to the patient at a location near, but not directly at, the catheter insertion site. The catheter housing device 100 can be positioned at and/near any location where an IV can be inserted into a patient.”), the catheter housing device comprising: a hub (Fig. 1B element 100) configured for placement at the catheter insertion site (Para. 76 “As illustrated in FIG. 1A, an assembled catheter housing device 100, also referred to herein as “catheter housing” 100, can include a catheter holding structure 107 and a band 160. The catheter holding structure 107 forms a catheter lock that is configured to engage and/or secure a catheter to the patient at a location near, but not directly at, the catheter insertion site. The catheter housing device 100 can be positioned at and/near any location where an IV can be inserted into a patient.”), the hub comprising: a membrane comprising an opening (Fig. 1B elements 104 and 160. Fig. 4 element 121 protruding through opening of element 104), the membrane configured to secure to the subject's skin such that the catheter insertion site is positioned within the opening (Para. 76 “assembled catheter housing device 100, also referred to herein as “catheter housing” 100, can include a catheter holding structure 107 and a band 160. The catheter holding structure 107 forms a catheter lock that is configured to engage and/or secure a catheter to the patient at a location near, but not directly at, the catheter insertion site. The catheter housing device 100 can be positioned at and/near any location where an IV can be inserted into a patient.”); a frame (Fig. 1B elements 120 and 101) connected to the membrane along at least a portion of a perimeter of the opening (Para. 86 “The membrane 104 can form an outer membrane that extends outwardly from and surrounds a perimeter of the base of the main body 102.”. Elements 101 and 120 considered the frame as they lock together see Fig. 2B. Para. 93 “The lock body 122 can include a tongue and/or a groove 124. In FIG. 3A, for example, the lock body 122 includes a tongue 124 to engage a corresponding locking groove 125 (FIG. 1B) positioned along at least a portion of an inner perimeter of an inner wall of the hub 101. This can allow the lock body 122 to securely engage with the main body 102.”); and a first arm (see annotated Fig. 3B below) extending outward from a first portion of the frame and partially across the opening (see annotated Fig. 3B below), the first arm comprising a first end that is connected to the first portion of the frame (see annotated Fig. 3B below) and a second end that is opposite the first end of the first arm (see annotated Fig. 3B below); and a second arm (see annotated Fig. 3B below) extending outward from a second portion of the frame and partially across the opening towards the first arm (see annotated Fig. 3B below), the second arm comprising a first end that is connected to the second portion of the frame (see annotated Fig. 3B below) and a second end that is opposite said first end of the second arm (see annotated Fig. 3B below); wherein the second ends of the first and second arms are spaced from one another by a gap (Fig. 3B element 145) and are configured to secure a catheter hub connected to a catheter (Para. 97 “The support structure 127 can include a cavity 145 sized and shaped to receive all or a portion of the catheter hub 123.”); and a cover (Fig. 1 element 140) configured to removably secure to the hub and at least partially enclose the catheter insertion site on the subject (para. 77 “The cover 140 can be coupled to the hub 101 and/or the catheter lock 120 to secure and/or seal the stabilizing device.”).
Annotated Fig. 3B
In regard to claim 162:
The catheter housing device of Claim 161, wherein the second portion of the frame is opposite the first portion of the frame (see annotated Fig. 3B below, first and second portions of frame considered opposite across the longitudinal axis of element 120)
Annotated Fig. 3B
In regard to claim 163:
The catheter housing device of Claim 161, wherein the second ends of the first and second arms are configured to secure said catheter hub in an inclined position relative to the subject's skin when in use (Para. 98 “The structure 127 can also be configured to keep the catheter fixed in its natural position to the patient's skin after insertion. This provides for an optimal catheter holding angle”).
In regard to claim 164:
The catheter housing device of Claim 161, wherein the second ends of the first and second arms are spaced above the opening of the membrane (Fig. 3B element 127, Para. 29 “FIG. 3B illustrates a bottom perspective view of a lock body of a catheter housing device”. Considered held above the opening of the membrane as there is a shown to be an air along the vertical axis from the bottom surface of element 122 to the bottom surface of element 127).and a spaced inward relative to the perimeter of the opening of the membrane (Fig. 3B element 127. Fig. 2B inner frame element 120 is locked nested inside of outer frame element 102. Para. 86 “The membrane 104 can form an outer membrane that extends outwardly from and surrounds a perimeter of the base of the main body 102.”. Therefore, element 127 is considered spaced inward relative to the perimeter of the opening member.)
In regard to claim 165:
The catheter housing device of Claim 161, wherein: each of the first and second arms comprises a first section (see annotated Fig. 3C below, first section of second arm partially covered by frame in Fig. 3C however considered to be the same as first section of first arm but on the second arm) extending outward from the frame (see annotated Fig. 3C below, first section considered to be portion of first arm formed into frame) and a second section at the second end (see annotated Fig. 3C below, second section considered to be portion with curved portion and elements forming cavity (Fig. 3B element 145)), said second section connected to the first section and configured to contact the catheter hub when the catheter hub is secured by the second ends of the first and second arms (See annotate fig. 3C below second section holding catheter element 123); and the second section is at least partially curved to conform to and surround a portion of the catheter hub when the catheter hub is secured by the second ends of the first and second arms (see annotated Fig. 3C below second sections holding catheter element 123).
Annotated Fig. 3C
In regard to claim 166:
The catheter housing device of Claim 165, wherein surfaces of the second sections of the first and second arms that face in a direction toward one another comprise matching curvatures (See annotated Fig. 3C above under claim 165 rejection matching curved portions).
In regard to claim 167:
The catheter housing device of Claim 161, wherein the frame comprises a first material (Para. 92 “The catheter lock 120 can include a lock body 122. The lock body 122 can comprise rigid plastic material, such as a hard plastic, and/or hard rubber, among other hard materials.”) and the membrane comprises a second material that is different than the first material (Para. 90 “the membrane 104 can comprise silicone, plastic, and/or rubber, among other materials.”), and wherein the first material is more rigid than the second material (First material considered to be more rigid that second material due to para. 92 “rigid plastic material, such as a hard plastic, and/or hard rubber” compared to “silicone” that is considered softer. Fig. 10B demonstrates membrane elements160 and 104 wrapping around a patients arm further identifying the material to not be rigid.).
In regard to claim 168:
The catheter housing device of Claim 161, wherein the catheter housing device is configured such that no portion of the catheter housing device is positioned between the first and second arms of the hub and the subject's skin when in use (see annotated Fig. 4 below).
Annotated Fig. 4
In regard to claim 169:
The catheter housing device of Claim 161, wherein the catheter housing device is configured such that the catheter hub is spaced inward relative to the perimeter of the opening of the membrane when the catheter hub is secured by the first and second arms in use (Fig. 3B element 127 (element forming first and second arms). Fig. 2B inner frame element 120 is locked nested inside of outer frame element 102. Para. 86 “The membrane 104 can form an outer membrane that extends outwardly from and surrounds a perimeter of the base of the main body 102.”. Therefore, elements 127 and 123 (catheter) it is holding within element 145, are considered spaced inward relative to the perimeter of the opening member.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 144-147, 149-151, and 157-158 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0177982 A1 to Albany et al. in view of WO 2007/082093 A2 to Eisele et al., as evidenced by US 5,509,902 to Raulerson
In regard to claim 144:
Albany teaches, a catheter housing device (Fig. 1B element 100) configured for use at a catheter insertion site on a subject (Para. 76 “As illustrated in FIG. 1A, an assembled catheter housing device 100, also referred to herein as “catheter housing” 100, can include a catheter holding structure 107 and a band 160. The catheter holding structure 107 forms a catheter lock that is configured to engage and/or secure a catheter to the patient at a location near, but not directly at, the catheter insertion site. The catheter housing device 100 can be positioned at and/near any location where an IV can be inserted into a patient.”), the catheter housing device comprising: a hub (Fig. 1B element 100) configured for placement at the catheter insertion site (Para. 76 “As illustrated in FIG. 1A, an assembled catheter housing device 100, also referred to herein as “catheter housing” 100, can include a catheter holding structure 107 and a band 160. The catheter holding structure 107 forms a catheter lock that is configured to engage and/or secure a catheter to the patient at a location near, but not directly at, the catheter insertion site. The catheter housing device 100 can be positioned at and/near any location where an IV can be inserted into a patient.”), the hub comprising: a membrane comprising an opening (Fig. 1B elements 104 and 160. Fig. 4 element 121 protruding through opening of element 104), the membrane configured to secure to skin of the subject such that the catheter insertion site is positioned within the opening (Para. 76 “assembled catheter housing device 100, also referred to herein as “catheter housing” 100, can include a catheter holding structure 107 and a band 160. The catheter holding structure 107 forms a catheter lock that is configured to engage and/or secure a catheter to the patient at a location near, but not directly at, the catheter insertion site. The catheter housing device 100 can be positioned at and/near any location where an IV can be inserted into a patient.”) and; a frame (Fig. 1B elements 120 and 101) connected to the membrane along a perimeter of the opening (Para. 86 “The membrane 104 can form an outer membrane that extends outwardly from and surrounds a perimeter of the base of the main body 102.”. Elements 101 and 120 considered the frame as they lock together see Fig. 2B. Para. 93 “The lock body 122 can include a tongue and/or a groove 124. In FIG. 3A, for example, the lock body 122 includes a tongue 124 to engage a corresponding locking groove 125 (FIG. 1B) positioned along at least a portion of an inner perimeter of an inner wall of the hub 101. This can allow the lock body 122 to securely engage with the main body 102.”), and mounting structure (Fig. 3b element 127) configured to secure a catheter hub connected to a catheter that is configured to be inserted in the catheter insertion site (Fig. 3B element 123, para. 95 “The catheter lock 120 can be configured to secure a hub 123 of the catheter”), said mounting structure extending across the opening of the membrane between interior surfaces of opposing sides of the frame (Fig. 3B element 127), wherein a portion of the mounting structure comprises a cross-section configured to conform to and surround a portion of the catheter hub (Para. 97 “The support structure 127 can include a cavity 145 sized and shaped to receive all or a portion of the catheter hub 123.”), and wherein said portion of the mounting structure is spaced inward relative to the perimeter of the opening of the membrane (Fig. 3B element 127. Fig. 2B inner frame element 120 is locked nested inside of outer frame element 102. Para. 86 “The membrane 104 can form an outer membrane that extends outwardly from and surrounds a perimeter of the base of the main body 102.”. Therefore, element 127 is considered spaced inward relative to the perimeter of the opening member.), and wherein said mounting structure is spaced above the opening of the membrane to inhibit the mounting structure from contacting the subject's skin when the membrane is secured to the subject's skin (Fig. 3B element 127, Para. 29 “FIG. 3B illustrates a bottom perspective view of a lock body of a catheter housing device”. Considered held above the opening of the membrane as there is a shown to be an air along the vertical axis from the bottom surface of element 122 to the bottom surface of element 127); and a cover (Fig. 1 element 140) comprising an exterior surface (Fig. 1b element 140 top surface), an interior surface (Fig. 1b element 140 bottom surface), wherein the cover is configured to removably secure to the frame of the hub and at least partially enclose the catheter insertion site (para. 77 “The cover 140 can be coupled to the hub 101 and/or the catheter lock 120 to secure and/or seal the stabilizing device.”)
Albany does not appear to explicitly teach the first/second latch arms or corresponding latch protrusions as claimed. Eisele teaches said frame comprising a first latch arm and a second latch arm spaced from the first latch arm (see annotated Figs. 18 and 19 below); a cover comprising an exterior surface, an interior surface, a first latch protrusion (see annotated Figs. 18 and 19 below) arranged on a portion of the exterior surface (see annotated Figs. 18 and 19 below, first latch protrusion considered part of the exterior surface as it extrudes from and is part of the exterior surface. See Fig. 17 element 136 forming end/side walls of exterior end surface), and a second latch protrusion arranged on a portion of the interior surface (see annotated Figs. 18 and 19 below), wherein the cover is configured to removably secure to the frame via engagement between the first and second latch protrusions and the first and second latch arms of the frame of the hub (Considered removable due to para. 74 “A latch 132 and snap hinge 136 are centered at opposite sides of the cover 128,” (emphasis added)).
145
Annotated Figs. 18 and 19
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of filing, to modify the cover and frame taught by Albany to include the first/second latch arms and first/second protrusions as taught by Eisele. This would have been motivated by design choice as merely picking between art recognized alternative securement fixtures, types, or methods is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Raulerson para. 15 “More preferably, the interlocking segments 34 and side surfaces 28, 30 are arranged such that the arcuate members 13, 14 overlap. However, it is understood by those of ordinary skill in the art from this disclosure that other locking devices may be used to securely lock the cuff 10 in the closed position, as long as someone operating the cuff 10 is able to easily open it upon application of manual force. Suitable locking devices include, for example, interlocking pieces, a snap-fit device, a slidable locking ring, Velcro.RTM., a latch, a hook and similar locking devices. Preferably the locking device is made from a biocompatible polymeric material such as those described above” demonstrates latch and snap-fit connections as known alternatives. Albany teaches the cover connected via a snap-fit connection “can allow the cover 140 to engage the main body 102 by a snap-fit, press fit, and/or other configurations for securely connecting the cover 140 to the main body 102.”.
In regard to claim 145:
The catheter housing device of Claim 144, taught by Albany in view of Eisele et al., as evidenced by Raulerson as described in parent claim rejection above.
Albany teaches, wherein said mounting structure comprises a first arm and a second arm (see annotated Fig. 3B below), said first and second arms of said mounting structure spaced from one another (Spaced apart by element 145 (cavity)) and at least partially defining said cross-section of said portion of the mounting structure (see annotated Fig. 3B below first and second arms define sides of the cross section (element 145)).
Annotated Fig. 3B
In regard to claim 146:
The catheter housing device of Claim 145, taught by Albany in view of Eisele et al., as evidenced by Raulerson as described in parent claim rejection above.
Albany teaches, wherein said mounting structure further comprises a base (see annotated Fig. 3A below) extending across the opening of the membrane between said opposing sides of the frame (see annotated Fig. 3A below, base extending across inner frame element 120), wherein said first and second arms of said mounting structure extend substantially perpendicular from said base (see annotated Fig. 3B above first and second arms extend perpendicularly down from the base of Fig. 3A), and wherein portions of the first and second arms and a portion of the base define said cross-section of said portion of the mounting structure (Figs. 3A and 3B, the cross section of the mounting structure element 145 defined by base, left arm, and right arm).
Annotated Fig. 3A
In regard to claim 147:
The catheter housing device of Claim 144, taught by Albany in view of Eisele et al., as evidenced by Raulerson as described in parent claim rejection above.
Albany does not appear to explicitly teach the first/second latch arms or corresponding latch protrusions as claimed, wherein said cover further comprises a first end and a second end opposite the first end (see annotated Fig. 18 below), and wherein said first latch protrusion is arranged on the exterior surface of the cover at the first end (see annotated Figs. 18 and 19 below, First latch protrusion considered part of the exterior surface as it extrudes from and is part of the exterior surface, see Fig. 17 element 136) and the second latch protrusion is arranged on the interior surface of the cover at the second end (See annotated Fig. 18 and 19 below).
Annotated Fig. 18
In regard to claim 149:
The catheter housing device of Claim 144, taught by Albany in view of Eisele et al., as evidenced by Raulerson as described in parent claim rejection above.
Albany teaches, wherein said mounting structure and said frame are integral (Figs. 3A and 3B element 127 integrally formed with element 122 of element 120 (inner frame). Para. 97 “the lock body 122 can include a raised support bridge or structure 127 to enclose at least a portion of the catheter or catheter hub. The raised support structure 127 extends from an inner side wall of the lock body 122 to an opposite inner side wall of the lock body 122” (emphasis added)).
In regard to claim 150:
The catheter housing device of Claim 144, taught by Albany in view of Eisele et al., as evidenced by Raulerson as described in parent claim rejection above.
Albany teaches, wherein the frame comprises a first material (Para. 92 “The catheter lock 120 can include a lock body 122. The lock body 122 can comprise rigid plastic material, such as a hard plastic, and/or hard rubber, among other hard materials.”) and the membrane comprises a second material (Para. 90 “the membrane 104 can comprise silicone, plastic, and/or rubber, among other materials.”), and wherein the first material is more rigid than the second material (First material considered to be more rigid that second material due to para. 92 “rigid plastic material, such as a hard plastic, and/or hard rubber” compared to “silicone” that is considered softer. Fig. 10B demonstrates membrane elements160 and 104 wrapping around a patients arm further identifying the material to not be rigid.).
In regard to claim 151:
The catheter housing device of Claim 144, taught by Albany in view of Eisele et al., as evidenced by Raulerson as described in parent claim rejection above.
Albany teaches, wherein said portion of the mounting structure is configured to secure said catheter hub in an inclined position relative to the subject's skin when in use (Para. 98 “The structure 127 can also be configured to keep the catheter fixed in its natural position to the patient's skin after insertion. This provides for an optimal catheter holding angle”).
In regard to claim 157:
The catheter housing device of Claim 152, taught by Albany as described in parent claim rejection above.
Albany does not appear to explicitly teach the first/second latch arms or corresponding latch protrusions as claimed. Eisele teaches, wherein said frame comprises a plurality of latch arms (see annotated Figs. 18 and 19 below) and said cover comprises a plurality of latch protrusions (see annotated Figs. 18 and 19 below), and wherein said cover and hub are configured to removably secure to one another via engagement between the plurality of latch protrusions and the plurality of latch arms (Considered removable due to para. 74 “A latch 132 and snap hinge 136 are centered at opposite sides of the cover 128,” (emphasis added)).
Annotated Figs. 18 and 19
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of filing, to modify the cover and frame taught by Albany to include the first/second latch arms and first/second protrusions as taught by Eisele. This would have been motivated by design choice as merely picking between art recognized alternative securement fixtures, types, or methods is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Raulerson para. 15 “More preferably, the interlocking segments 34 and side surfaces 28, 30 are arranged such that the arcuate members 13, 14 overlap. However, it is understood by those of ordinary skill in the art from this disclosure that other locking devices may be used to securely lock the cuff 10 in the closed position, as long as someone operating the cuff 10 is able to easily open it upon application of manual force. Suitable locking devices include, for example, interlocking pieces, a snap-fit device, a slidable locking ring, Velcro.RTM., a latch, a hook and similar locking devices. Preferably the locking device is made from a biocompatible polymeric material such as those described above” demonstrates latch and snap-fit connections as known alternatives. Albany teaches the cover connected via a snap-fit connection “can allow the cover 140 to engage the main body 102 by a snap-fit, press fit, and/or other configurations for securely connecting the cover 140 to the main body 102.”.
In regard to claim 158:
The catheter housing device of Claim 157, taught by Albany in view of Eisele et al., as evidenced by Raulerson as described in parent claim rejection above.
Albany does not appear to explicitly teach the first/second latch arms or corresponding latch protrusions as claimed. Eisele teaches, wherein: said plurality of latch arms comprises a first latch arm and a second latch arm (see annotated Figs. 18 and 19 below); said cover comprises a first latch protrusion arranged on a portion of an exterior surface of the cover (see annotated Figs. 18 and 19 below, first latch protrusion considered part of the exterior surface as it extrudes from and is part of the exterior surface. See Fig. 17 element 136 forming end/side walls of exterior end surface) and a second latch protrusion arranged on a portion of an interior surface of the cover (see annotated Figs. 18 and 19 below); said first latch arm is configured to engage said first latch protrusion (Figs. 17 and 18 elements 158 and 136); and said second latch arm is configured to engage said second latch protrusion (Figs.17 and 18 elements 132 and 159)
Annotated Figs. 18 and 19
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 148 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art of record is US 2018/0177982 A1 to Albany et al. in view of WO 2007/082093 A2 to Eisele et al., as evidenced by US 5,509,902 to Raulerson.
Regarding claim 148, Albany in view of Eisele does not explicitly teach or render obvious “said cover further comprises a third latch protrusion arranged on the interior surface of the cover at the second end and spaced from said second latch protrusion; and a third latch arm configured to engage the third latch protrusion of the cover” in combination with “a cover comprising an exterior surface, an interior surface, a first latch protrusion arranged on a portion of the exterior surface, and a second latch protrusion arranged on a portion of the interior surface”. Examiner finds this to be more than a mere duplication of parts of the interior latch protrusion taught by Eisele as cited above due to the combination of the positioning requirements claimed.
Conclusion
/M.A.I./Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/BHISMA MEHTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783