Response to Amendment
The remarks and/or response dated 4/2/26 has been received and made of record.
Applicant argument with respect claims 1, 20, 29, 46 54-57 has been fully considered but are not persuasive for the following reasons.
Applicant's arguments filed 4/26/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons.
First, it appears applicant attacking references individually , thus by applicant's the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case Ren discloses a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE),(computing platform 100) comprising:
receiving, from a base station(computing platform , OOD detection system 200 ) for detecting a data sample that falls outside of a dataset used to train a first machine learning model(see the abstract, fig.2-3 and par. 0085-0086, where the OOD detection module may receive data sample outside the set of training data where OOD detection module may detect out-of-distribution data sample that falls outside of a dataset), determining that an out-of-distribution detection event has occurred based at least in part on determining that at least one data sample generated by the first machine learning model falls outside of the dataset based at least in part on the out-of-distribution (see fig.3, steps 302-308 and par. 0088-0093 , the output 150 can include a determination of whether an event or the testing data is an out-of-distribution data or not, i.e., whether the testing data is generated based on the same distribution used to generate the collection of data including the training data), and transmitting, to the base station, an indication that the out-of-distribution detection event has been determined for the at least one data sample(see fig. 2 and par. 0087, 0098, step 214, transmitted for additional processing).
However, Ren is silent regarding using an out-of-distribution detection rule configuration. In this regard Narang discloses detecting using an out-of-distribution detection rule configuration (see pars. 0064, 0157, 0187, showing using rule event detection that associated with any or all of the outputs is deemed too high (e.g., above a set of one or more predetermined thresholds, not satisfying of a set of validation constraints and/or rules, etc.) and enabling a determination of whether or not the input data can be trusted to be determined. this enables out-of-distribution test data to be determined with high confidence.
Second, applicant alleges the art of record fails to discloses receiving, from a base station, control signaling indicating an out- of-distribution detection rule configuration for detecting a data sample that falls outside of a dataset used to train a first machine learning model; and transmitting, to the base station, an indication that the out-of- distribution detection event has been determined for the at least one data sample.
In response examiner respectfully disagrees and asserts Ren discloses receiving, from a base station, control signaling indicating an out- of-distribution for detecting a data sample that falls outside of a dataset used to train a first machine learning model(see fig. 3 and pars 0088-0092, where the computing system can obtain a set of in-distribution training data that includes a plurality of in-distribution training examples) and transmitting, to the base station, an indication that the out-of- distribution detection event has been determined for the at least one data sample.(see par. 0087, where the system 200 can provide the data input 204 to one or more additional analysis components 214 such as, for example, a machine-learned classifier model for classification relative to a plurality of in-distribution classes.
Here, Ren does not explicitly disclose using detection rule configuration
Narang discloses detecting event based an out-of-distribution detection rule configuration (see pars. 0064, 0157, 0187). For example, Narang discloses using an out-of-distribution detection rule configuration ( that is using detection rule to determine whether at least one data sample falls outside of the dataset)(see pars. 0064, 0157, 0187, showing using rule event detection that associated with any or all of the outputs is deemed too high (e.g., above a set of one or more predetermined thresholds, not satisfying of a set of validation constraints and/or rules, etc.) and enabling a determination of whether or not the input data can be trusted to be determined. this enables out-of-distribution test data to be determined with high confidence. Thus, enabling implementing a set of predefined rules which are unable to handle every scenario.
Finally, examiner respectfully disagrees and asserts Ren’s’ computing device operates in wireless environment which can include any type of computing device including base station (see fig, 1a and pars 00054-0058, 0088-0091).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) are: “means for receiving----; means for determining----; and means for transmitting---” in claims 54 and 55
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al . U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220253747 [hereinafter Ren ] in view of Narang et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0011776 [hereinafter Narang]
As per claim 1, 20, 29, 46, and 54-57 Ren discloses a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE),(computing platform 100) comprising:
receiving, from a base station(computing platform , OOD detection system 200 ) for detecting a data sample that falls outside of a dataset used to train a first machine learning model(see the abstract, fig.2-3 and par. 0085-0086, where the OOD detection module may receive data sample outside the set of training data where OOD detection module may detect out-of-distribution data sample that falls outside of a dataset)
determining that an out-of-distribution detection event has occurred based at least in part on determining that at least one data sample generated by the first machine learning model falls outside of the dataset based at least in part on the out-of-distribution (see fig.3, steps 302-308 and par. 0088-0093 , the output 150 can include a determination of whether an event or the testing data is an out-of-distribution data or not, i.e., whether the testing data is generated based on the same distribution used to generate the collection of data including the training data); and
transmitting, to the base station, an indication that the out-of-distribution detection event has been determined for the at least one data sample(see fig. 2 and par. 0087, 0098, step 214, transmitted for additional processing).
Ren does not explicitly disclose using an out-of-distribution detection rule configuration
Narang discloses detecting using an out-of-distribution detection rule configuration (see pars. 0064, 0157, 0187, showing using rule event detection that associated with any or all of the outputs is deemed too high (e.g., above a set of one or more predetermined thresholds, not satisfying of a set of validation constraints and/or rules, etc.) and enabling a determination of whether or not the input data can be trusted to be determined. this enables out-of-distribution test data to be determined with high confidence. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Narang into the system of Ren wherein when an -distribution event is detected and that the uncertainty is deemed too high, the system selects the fallback response (e.g., rule configuration ,or rule-based processes thereby enabling a determination of whether or not the input data can be trusted to be determined. this enables out-of-distribution test data to be determined with high confidence.
As per claim 2. Ren discloses the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the control signaling comprises: receiving, from the base station, the control signaling that indicates a model configuration for configuring the first machine learning model to generate the at least one data sample and that indicates the out-of-distribution detection rule configuration for configuring a second machine learning model for detecting data samples that fall outside of the dataset used to train the first machine learning model(see figs 2-3 and pars 0082-0085 and 0089-0093)
As per claim 3, Ren discloses the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the control signaling comprises: receiving, from the base station, the control signaling that indicates a model configuration for configuring the first machine learning model to generate the at least one data sample and detect data samples that fall outside of the dataset used to train the first machine learning model (see figs 2-3 and pars 0082-0085 and 0089-0093)
As per claim 4 Reno discloses the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the control signaling comprises: receiving the control signaling that jointly configures the UE with the out-of-distribution detection rule configuration and a model configuration for the first machine learning model (see fig 1b and pars 0082-0085 for configuring and training model1 to model N)
As per claim 5, Ren discloses The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the control signaling comprises: receiving the control signaling that indicates the out-of-distribution detection rule configuration that is a common out-of-distribution detection rule configuration for a plurality of machine learning models.
As per claim 6-7, Ren discloses the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the control signaling comprises: receiving the control signaling indicating the out-of-distribution detection rule configuration that indicates a probability distribution range for a probability distribution for data samples generated by the first machine learning model(see par. 0086, showing out of range threshold value ).
As per claim 8, Ren discloses the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the control signaling comprises: receiving the control signaling indicating the out-of-distribution detection rule configuration that indicates a confidence value threshold for the first machine learning model(see par. 0086, likelihood ratio value to a threshold value
As per claim 9, Ren discloses The method of claim 8, wherein transmitting the indication that the out-of-distribution detection event has been determined comprises: transmitting the indication based at least in part on the at least one data sample satisfying the confidence value threshold (see par. 0064, 0086, satisfying a likelihood ratio value )
As per claim 10, Ren discloses The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the control signaling comprises: receiving the control signaling indicating the out-of-distribution detection rule configuration that indicates a reconstruction error threshold for the first machine learning model(see par. 0006, 0067).
As per claim 11, Ren discloses The method of claim 10, wherein transmitting the indication that the out-of-distribution detection event has been determined comprises: transmitting the indication based at least in part on the at least one data sample satisfying the reconstruction error threshold(see par. 00083, process the data input 204 to generate or reconstruct a second likelihood value 208 for the data input 204.)
As per claims 12-13 Narang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the control signaling comprises: receiving the control signaling indicating the out-of-distribution detection rule configuration that indicates a feature statistics distribution range and a latent feature location for the first machine learning model(see par. 0155).
As per claim 14, Ren discloses the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the control signaling further comprises: receiving the control signaling indicating the out-of-distribution detection rule configuration that indicates an out-of-distribution detection pattern, wherein the at least one data sample is determined to fall outside of the dataset according to the out-of-distribution detection pattern(see par. 0085-0087)
As per claim 15, Ren discloses The method of claim 14, wherein the out-of-distribution detection pattern indicates a fixed period of instances for the UE to determine whether one or more data samples generated by the first machine learning model fall outside of the dataset used to train the first machine learning model.(see par.0085)
As per claim 16, Ren discloses The method of claim 14, wherein the out-of-distribution detection pattern indicates specific instances for the UE to determine whether one or more data samples generated by the first machine learning model fall outside of the dataset used to train the first machine learning model(see par. 0085-0087)
As per claim 17, Ren discloses The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the control signaling further comprising: receiving the control signaling indicating the out-of-distribution detection rule configuration that indicates one or more parameters to implicitly indicate an out-of-distribution detection pattern(see 0058, 0086 determine a likelihood ratio value for a data input based on outputs from the model(s) 120 and detect whether the data input is OOD based on the likelihood ratio value).
As per claim 18, Ren discloses The method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the indication that the out-of-distribution detection event has been determined comprises: transmitting the indication that indicates a measurement value for the at least one data sample(see par. 0086).
As per claim 19, Ren discloses The method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the indication that the out-of-distribution detection event has been determined comprises: transmitting the indication that the out-of-distribution detection event has been determined based at least in part on a reporting trigger condition being satisfied, a pre-defined reporting pattern, a reporting configuration, or a combination thereof(see par. 0058, determine a likelihood ratio value for a data input based on outputs from the model(s) 120 and detect whether the data input is OOD based on the likelihood ratio value.
As per dependent claims 21-28 , 30-43 and 47-53, the claims are similar with claims 2-19 discussed above and are rejected same rational as claims 2-29
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/ABDULLAHI E SALAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466