DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-23, in the reply filed on 17 July 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1- 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, the claim recites the limitation “electrodes”. However, earlier in claim 1, the claim already recites the limitations of “a first plurality of electrodes” and “a second plurality of electrodes”. Therefore, it is unclear as to if the later limitation intends to refer to each of the electrodes of earlier in the claim, to a subset of the electrodes of earlier in the claim, or to an entirely new and separate limitation. For the purpose of Examination, the claim has been broadly interpreted to include, at least, each of the above interpretations.
As to claim 2, the claim recites the limitation “metal electrodes”. However, claim 1, upon which claim 2 is dependent already recites the limitations of “a first plurality of electrodes” and “a second plurality of electrodes”. Therefore, it is unclear as to if the limitation of claim 2 intends to refer to each of the electrodes of claim 1, to a subset of the electrodes of claim 1 or to an entirely new and separate limitation. For the purpose of Examination, the claim has been broadly interpreted to include, at least, each of the above interpretations.
As to claim 3, the claim recites the limitation “ceramic electrodes”. However, claim 1, upon which claim 3 is dependent already recites the limitations of “a first plurality of electrodes” and “a second plurality of electrodes”. Therefore, it is unclear as to if the limitation of claim 3 intends to refer to each of the electrodes of claim 1, to a subset of the electrodes of claim 1 or to an entirely new and separate limitation. For the purpose of Examination, the claim has been broadly interpreted to include, at least, each of the above interpretations.
As to claim 4, the claim recites the limitation “electrodes”. However, claim 1, upon which claim 4 is dependent already recites the limitations of “a first plurality of electrodes” and “a second plurality of electrodes”. Therefore, it is unclear as to if the limitation of claim 4 intends to refer to each of the electrodes of claim 1, to a subset of the electrodes of claim 1 or to an entirely new and separate limitation. For the purpose of Examination, the claim has been broadly interpreted to include, at least, each of the above interpretations.
As to claim 5, the claim recites the limitation “electrodes”. However, claim 1, upon which claim 5 is dependent already recites the limitations of “a first plurality of electrodes” and “a second plurality of electrodes”. Therefore, it is unclear as to if the limitation of claim 5 intends to refer to each of the electrodes of claim 1, to a subset of the electrodes of claim 1 or to an entirely new and separate limitation. For the purpose of Examination, the claim has been broadly interpreted to include, at least, each of the above interpretations.
As to claim 7, the term “about” in the claim is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The use of the term about renders indefinite the thickness.
As to claim 11, the claim recites the limitation “the electrodes”. However, it is unclear as to if this limitation intends to refer back to the first plurality or electrodes, the second plurality of electrodes or some combination thereof.
As to claim 12, the claim recites the limitation “glass carbon electrodes”. However, claim 1, upon which claim 12 is dependent already recites the limitations of “a first plurality of electrodes” and “a second plurality of electrodes”. Therefore, it is unclear as to if the limitation of claim 12 intends to refer to each of the electrodes of claim 1, to a subset of the electrodes of claim 1 or to an entirely new and separate limitation. For the purpose of Examination, the claim has been broadly interpreted to include, at least, each of the above interpretations.
As to claim 13, the claim recites the limitation of “first electrode stack”. However, claim 1 upon which claim 13 is dependent already introduces the limitation of “a first electrode stack”. Therefore, it is unclear as to if the limitation of claim 13 intends to refer back to the limitation of claim 1 or to a new and separate limitation. For the purpose of Examination, the claim has been broadly interpreted to include, at least, each of the above interpretations.
Further as to claim 13, the claim recites the limitation of “second electrode stack”. However, claim 1 upon which claim 13 is dependent already introduces the limitation of “a second electrode stack”. Therefore, it is unclear as to if the limitation of claim 13 intends to refer back to the limitation of claim 1 or to a new and separate limitation. For the purpose of Examination, the claim has been broadly interpreted to include, at least, each of the above interpretations.
Further as to claim 13, the claim recites the limitation “at least three electrodes”. However, claim 1, upon which claim 13 is dependent already recites the limitations of “a first plurality of electrodes” and “a second plurality of electrodes”. Therefore, it is unclear as to if the limitation of claim 13 intends to refer three of the electrodes of claim 1, and if so which three, or to an entirely new and separate limitation. For the purpose of Examination, the claim has been broadly interpreted to include, at least, each of the above interpretations.
As to claim 14, the claim recites the limitation “the electrodes”. However, it is unclear as to if this limitation intends to refer back to the first plurality or electrodes, the second plurality of electrodes or some combination thereof.
As to claim 16, the claim recites the limitation “a tortuous path”. However, claim 1, upon which claim 16 depends already introduces this limitation. Therefore, it is unclear as to if the limitation of claim 16 intends to refer back to the limitation of claim 1 or to a new and separate limitation. For the purpose of Examination, the claim has been broadly interpreted to include, at least, both of the above interpretations.
As to claim 23, the claim recites the limitation "the end electrodes". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 3, 8, 9, 11, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2016/0101996 A1 to Casbeer et al. (Casbeer).
As to claim 1, Casbeer teaches a destruction assembly capable of destroying an oxidizable or reducible compounds, the assembly comprises a vessel (110) that houses a bipolar electrode assembly (204A/204B), the bipolar electrode assembly comprising a first plurality of electrodes extending from one side wall (302A) forming a first electrode stack and a second plurality of electrodes extending from an opposite side wall (302B) forming a second electrode stack, the electrodes span laterally across the vessel (110) and definite the boundaries of a tortuous path through the vessel (110) (Paragraphs 0003, 0019, 0023, 0033, 0034 and 0042; Figures 2 and 4).
As to claim 2, Casbeer teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Casbeer further teaches that the electrodes can comprise metal such as titanium (Paragraph 0034).
As to claim 3, Casbeer teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Casbeer further teaches that the electrodes can comprise metal such as ceramics (Paragraph 0034).
As to claims 8 and 9, Casbeer teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Casbeer further teaches that at least a portion of the bipolar assembly is coated with a catalytic coating such as a mixed metal oxide (Paragraph 0034).
As to claim 11, Casbeer teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Casbeer further teaches that the electrodes are rigid plates (Paragraphs 0017).
As to claim 13, Casbeer teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Casbeer further teaches that each stack comprises at least three electrodes (Figure 4).
As to claim 14, Casbeer teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Casbeer further teaches that the electrodes extend each from a sidewall not all the way to the opposite sidewall, forming perforation between the end of each electrode and the opposite sidewall in an offset and alternating manner (Figure 4).
As to claim 15, Casbeer teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Casbeer further teaches that the electrodes extend from their respective walls more than halfway across the vessel (Figure 4).
As to claim 16, Casbeer teaches the apparatus of claim 15. Casbeer further teaches that the first plurality of electrodes extend from a first wall laterally more than halfway across the vessel and the second plurality of electrodes extend from a second wall of the vessel laterally more than halfway across the vessel and are offset from and alternate with the first plurality of electrodes to define the boundaries of the tortuous path through the vessel (Figure 4).
As to claim 17, Casbeer teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Casbeer further teaches that the first plurality of electrode is oriented in parallel to the second plurality of electrodes (Figure 4).
As to claims 22 and 23, as discussed above, Casbeer teaches the assembly of claim 1. Casbeer further teaches that the assembly is incorporated into a system that comprises a power source for applying a voltage to the bipolar electrode assembly via connection to end electrodes (204A) of the bipolar electrode assembly (Paragraph 0037).
Claims 1, 8, 11, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 20, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2004/0154918 A1 to Casbeer et al. (Casbeer ‘918).
As to claim 1, Casbeer ‘918 teaches a destruction assembly capable of destroying an oxidizable or reducible compounds, the assembly comprises a vessel (20) that houses a bipolar electrode assembly (42/42/40), the bipolar electrode assembly comprising a first plurality of electrodes extending from one side wall (30) forming a first electrode stack and a second plurality of electrodes extending from an opposite side wall (32) forming a second electrode stack, the electrodes span laterally across the vessel (20) and definite the boundaries of a tortuous path through the vessel (20) (Paragraphs 0025, 0026 and 0027; Figures 1 and 7).
As to claim 8, Casbeer ‘918 teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Casbeer ‘918 further teaches that at least a portion of the bipolar assembly is coated with a catalytic coating (Paragraph 0027).
As to claim 11, Casbeer ‘918 teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Casbeer ‘918 further teaches that the electrodes are rigid plates (Paragraphs 0027).
As to claim 13, Casbeer ‘918 teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Casbeer ‘918 further teaches that each stack comprises at least three electrodes (Figures 1 and 7).
As to claim 14, Casbeer ‘918 teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Casbeer ‘918 further teaches that the electrodes extend each from a sidewall not all the way to the opposite sidewall, forming perforation between the end of each electrode and the opposite sidewall in an offset and alternating manner (Paragraphs 0025-0027; Figures 1 and 7).
As to claim 15, Casbeer ‘918 teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Casbeer ‘918 further teaches that the electrodes extend from their respective walls more than halfway across the vessel (Paragraphs 0025-0027; Figures 1 and 7).
As to claim 16, Casbeer ‘918 teaches the apparatus of claim 15. Casbeer ‘918 further teaches that the first plurality of electrodes extend from a first wall laterally more than halfway across the vessel and the second plurality of electrodes extend from a second wall of the vessel laterally more than halfway across the vessel and are offset from and alternate with the first plurality of electrodes to define the boundaries of the tortuous path through the vessel (Paragraphs 0025-0027; Figures 1 and 7).
As to claim 17, Casbeer ‘918 teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Casbeer ‘918 further teaches that the first plurality of electrode is oriented in parallel to the second plurality of electrodes (Figures 1 and 7).
As to claim 20, Casbeer ‘918 teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Casbeer ‘918 further teaches that the vessel has a rectangular cross section and the electrodes are rectangular shaped (Figure 1).
As to claims 22 and 23, as discussed above, Casbeer teaches the assembly of claim 1. Casbeer ‘918 further teaches that the assembly is incorporated into a system that comprises a power source for applying a voltage to the bipolar electrode assembly via connection to end electrodes (42/46) of the bipolar electrode assembly (Paragraph 0031).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 18, 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 3,728,245 to Preis et al. (Preis) in view of Casbeer.
As to claims 1, 18, 19 and 21, Preis teaches a destruction assembly capable of destroying an oxidizable or reducible compound comprising a cylindrical vessel (13) with a round cross section that houses an electrode assembly comprising a plurality of disk shaped electrodes, the vessel (13) comprising a central support member (20) extending longitudinally through the inside of the vessel with a first plurality of the electrodes (17) joined to and supported by the central support member such that they extend laterally outwards therefrom, the assembly comprising a second plurality of the electrodes (18) joined to and extending laterally inward from a wall of the vessel in an alternating fashion with the first plurality of electrodes to define boundaries of a tortuous path through the vessel (Column 2, Lines 41-72; Figures 1 and 2).
However, Preis fails to teach that the electrode assembly comprises bipolar electrodes. However, Casbeer also discusses electrolytic water treatment and teaches that rather than directly connecting each electrode terminal electrodes may be connected with the middle electrodes forming bipolar electrodes (Paragraph 0019). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the electrodes of Preis with a bipolar configuration with the reasonable expectation of forming the electrolytic water treatment apparatus without the need for directly connecting each electrode as taught by Casbeer.
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casbeer as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CN 108043378 A to Hu et al. (Hu).
As to claims 4 and 5, Casbeer teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Casbeer teaches that the electrodes comprises titanium (Paragraph 0034) and fails to teach a coating such as titanium carbide. However, Hu also discusses electrolytic water treatment utilizing titanium electrodes and teaches that a catalytic coating such as titanium carbide should be applied to the titanium electrode (Paragraph 0006). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to apply a titanium carbide coating to the titanium electrodes of Casbeer in order to add an effective electrocatalyst thereto as taught by Hu.
As to claim 6, the combination of Hu and Casbeer teaches the apparatus of claim 5. Hu further teaches that the mass fraction of the non-metallic elements, the carbide, is more than 10%, thus rendering obvious ranges from 10% and up and thus a Ti:C ratio of less than 2:1 (Paragraph 0015).
As to claim 7, the combination of Hu and Casbeer teaches the apparatus of claim 4. Hu further teaches that the coating is applied at a thickness of 5-20 microns (Paragraph 0015).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casbeer as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of EP 0 410 946 A1 to Furuya (Furuya).
As to claim 10, Casbeer teaches the apparatus of claim 8. As discussed above, Casbeer teaches that the catalytic coating comprises metal oxides, such as palladium, iridium and tin, or “other electrocatalytic materials” but fails to specifically contemplate silver (Paragraph 0034). However, Furuya also discusses electrolytic water treatment and teaches that in addition to palladium, iridium and tin oxides, silver oxide is an effective catalyst (Claim 15). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize silver oxide for the catalyst of Casbeer as a known equivalent as taught by Furuya.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casbeer as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2021/0130199 A1 to Wood (Wood).
As to claim 12, Casbeer teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Casbeer further teaches that the electrodes can comprise carbon (Paragraph 0034); however, is silent as to the specific type of carbon. However, Wood also discusses electrolytic water treatment and teaches that an effective carbon material for forming the electrodes comprises glassy carbon (Paragraph 0044). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize glassy carbon for the carbon electrodes of Casbeer with the reasonable expectation of effectively forming the electrodes as taught by Wood.
Conclusion
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794