DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 3 and 4 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tahara et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0380213) in view of Koizumi et al. (JP 2017012970).
Regarding claim 1, Tahara et al. teaches a boron nitride powder which can be used at a high filling rate and which can be used to manufacture a resin material with excellent thermal (heat) conductivity (paragraph 1). Tahara et al. teaches a boron nitride powder having an agglomerate structure in which scaly primary particles of hexagonal boron nitride aggregate to form secondary particles, where the major axis length of the primary particles is 10 μm, and the median size of the secondary particles is 40 μm which meets the limitation of hexagonal boron nitride powder comprising scaly primary particles of hexagonal boron nitride (paragraph 57). Tahara et al. teaches subjecting a boron nitride powder having a hexagonal structure to a plasma treatment in an atmosphere containing either or both of CO2 and CO in a total of 5 vol% or more and under a pressure of 1 Pa or more and 100 Pa or less which meets a broad and reasonable interpretation of plasma treatment method of plasma-treating a hexagonal boron nitride powder under reduced pressure (paragraphs 23 and 44). Tahara et al. teaches plasma treatment was performed by feeding 20 g of the raw boron nitride powder into a plasma irradiation device (paragraph 58). Tahara et al. does not teach the parts of the device such as a treatment container
Koizumi et al. teaches plasma powder processing apparatus (1) comprises cylindrical chamber (2) which is arranged sideways, cylindrical powder storage container (3) which can withdraw/insert in and out of one side of chamber, and can accommodate powder inside, pressure reduction unit which holds chamber and powder storage container from atmospheric pressure to low pressure, gas supply unit (7) which supplies gas for plasma production in chamber and powder storage container, and electrode (51a, 51b) which generates reduced pressure high frequency plasma by gas (abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the plasma powder apparatus taught by Koizumi et al. for the method of treating scaly h-BN taught by Tahara et al. because it reduces the costs of research and development.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GUINEVER S GREGORIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 06/09/2026