DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to U.S. Patent Application No. 18/258,333 filed on 20 June 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant' s Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS). The IDS(es) has/have been considered.
Priority
The application’s status as a 371 of PCT/CN2022/100394 is acknowledged.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the Species 2 embodiment of the invention in the reply filed on 25 November 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that:
[T]he claims share at least the technical features that "a plurality of first connection wires connected between the first light emitting device and the first pixel circuit; a plurality of second connection wires connected between the second light emitting device and the second pixel circuit, wherein a capacitance per unit area of the second connection wires is smaller than a capacitance per unit area of the first connection wires; and a plurality of compensation portions correspondingly connected to the plurality of the second connection wires.”
Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment (filed 25 November 2025) at 8.
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive because although the claimed features Applicant recites are shared technical features, they are not special technical features. See MPEP § 1850(II) (“The expression ‘special technical features’ is defined in PCT Rule 13.2 as meaning those technical features that define a contribution which each of the inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.”).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Regarding Applicant’s listing of claims 1-4, 8-20, and 24 as readable on the elected species, the Examiner respectfully notes that claim 10 does not belong to the elected Species 2 embodiment. Claim 10 recites the limitation: “The display panel according to claim 6, wherein the first compensation portion comprises: a first portion connected to one second connection wire of the plurality of second connection wires, wherein an orthographic projection of the first portion on the substrate is not overlapped with an orthographic projection of the second connection wire on the substrate; and a second portion connected to the first portion, wherein an orthographic projection of the second portion on the substrate is located within the orthographic projection of the second connection wire on the substrate.” Applicant’s elected Species 2 embodiment is depicted in FIG. 10, however, which discloses the first connection wire as being disposed in the second conductive layer, not the first conductive layer and the second connection wire as being disposed in the third conductive layer. See [0146] of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/258,333 (“Therefore, when the second connection wires 32 connecting the light emitting devices 20 in the same row are disposed on the third conductive layer 45, and the first connection wires 31 connecting the light emitting devices 20 in the same row are disposed on the second conductive layer 43, the capacitance per unit area of the first connection wires 31 is larger than the capacitance per unit area of the second connection wire 32.”).
The Examiner also respectfully notes that claim 19 does not belong to the elected Species 2 embodiment. Claim 19 recites the limitation: “wherein: the first compensation portion comprises: a first compensation section connected to one second connection wire of the plurality of second connection wires; and a first dummy section, spaced apart from the first compensation section and located on a side of the first compensation section close to the secondary display area; the second compensation portion comprises: a second compensation section connected to the second connection wire; and a second dummy section, spaced apart from the second compensation section and located on a side of the second compensation section close to the secondary display area; wherein areas of orthographic projections of a plurality ones of the first compensation section on the substrate are the same, and areas of orthographic projections of a plurality ones of the second compensation section on the substrate are the same; and wherein ends of a plurality ones of the first dummy section close to the secondary display area are aligned, and ends of a plurality ones of the second dummy section close to the secondary display area are aligned.” Applicant’s elected Species 2 embodiment is depicted in FIGS. 10/11, however, which discloses a specific configuration of first and second compensation portions including both first and second compensation portions and which does not disclose dummy patterns.
Accordingly, claims 5-7, 10, and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 25 November 2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed features:
Of claim 1: “compensation portions correspondingly connected to the plurality of the second connection wires”;
Of claim 1: “a plurality of first connection wires connected between the first light emitting device and the first pixel circuit; a plurality of second connection wires connected between the second light emitting device and the second pixel circuit”;
Of claim 8: “the second conductive layer comprises the first connection wires”;
Of claim 11: “a third portion connected to one second connection wire of the plurality of second connection wires”;
Of claim 12: “a partial edge of the third compensation portion is connected with one second connection wire of the plurality of second connection wires”;
Of claim 15: “wherein the first set of pixel circuits is connected with the light emitting devices through the first conductive layer, the second set of pixel circuits is connected with the light emitting devices through the second conductive layer, and the third set of pixel circuits is connected with the light emitting devices through the third conductive layer”;
Of claim 16: “a plurality of third connection wires disposed at the first conductive layer”;
Of claim 17: “the first compensation portion is spaced apart from the third connection wires, and is located on a side of the third connection wires away from the secondary display area; and the second compensation portion is spaced apart from the first connection wires, and is located on a side of the first connection wires away from the secondary display area”;
Of claim 18: “wherein ends of a plurality of first compensation portions close to the secondary display area are aligned, and ends of a plurality of second compensation portions close to the secondary display area are aligned”;
Of claim 24: “a photosensitive sensor . . . wherein the photosensitive sensor disposed at a non-display side of the display panel, wherein an orthographic projection of the photosensitive sensor on a display side is at least partially overlapped with the secondary display area”;
Of claim 24: “compensation portions correspondingly connected to the plurality of the second connection wires”;
Of claim 24: “a plurality of first connection wires connected between the first light emitting device and the first pixel circuit; a plurality of second connection wires connected between the second light emitting device and the second pixel circuit”;
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 8, 9, 11-12, 14-18, 20, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
“The essential inquiry pertaining to this requirement is whether the claims set out and circumscribe a particular subject matter with a reasonable degree of clarity and particularity. ‘As the statutory language of “particular[ity]” and “distinct[ness]” indicates, claims are required to be cast in clear—as opposed to ambiguous, vague, indefinite—terms. It is the claims that notify the public of what is within the protections of the patent, and what is not.' ” MPEP § 2173.02(II) (quoting In re Packard, 751 F.3d 1307, 1313 (Fed. Cir. 2014)).
Regarding claim 1: Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are disclosed in [0097] of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/258,333, which states:
However, due to the limited space between two adjacent rows of light emitting devices 20, the connection wires need to be disposed on different conductive layers. The conductive layer closer to the pixel circuit 10 can form a capacitor with the conductor layer in the pixel circuit 10, and as a result, a capacitance per unit area of a conductive layer close to the pixel circuit 10 is greater than a capacitance per unit area of a conductive layer far away from the pixel circuit 10.
In the above passage, regarding the inventive aspect of the disclosure, Applicant clearly states that “the connection wires need to be disposed on different conductive layers,” such that “[t]he conductive layer closer to the pixel circuit 10 can form a capacitor with the conductor layer in the pixel circuit 10,” and which, by virtue of the structural relationship between the first conductive layer and the conductor of the pixel circuit and the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer, the display panel possesses the claimed property wherein “a capacitance per unit area of a conductive layer close to the pixel circuit 10 is greater than a capacitance per unit area of a conductive layer far away from the pixel circuit 10.” By Applicant’s own admission, the structural relationship of the connection wires must be present in order for the claimed property of the structural relationship to be present (“the connection wires need to be disposed on different conductive layers.”), such that without a recitation of the structural relationship of the connection wires in the claim, the claimed property would not be present. Nowhere else in the disclosure does Applicant disclose any other configuration of the connection wires which would result in the claimed property of the structural relationship being present without a recitation that the connection wires are disposed on different conductive layers.
Claims 2-4, 8, 9, 11-12, 14-18, and 20, which depend from claim 1, are rejected under § 112(b) for the same reasons as claim 1.
Regarding claim 3: claim 3 states, in relevant part: “wherein the first light emitting device and the second light emitting device are red light emitting devices and/or blue light emitting devices.” It is unclear whether the phrase “and/or” refers to a configuration wherein: (1) the first light emitting device is a red light emitting device or blue light emitting device, but not both, and the second light emitting device is a red light emitting device or blue light emitting device, but not both; (2) the first light emitting device is a red and blue light emitting device, and the second light emitting device is a red and blue light emitting device; or (3) some other configuration that is a combination of both (1) and (2). For the purposes of examination, the phrase has been interpreted in accordance with interpretation (1).
Regarding claim 3: claim 3 states, in relevant part: “wherein the first light emitting device and the second light emitting device are red light emitting devices and/or blue light emitting devices.” This limitation contradicts the limitation in claim 2, which states: “the first light emitting device and the second light emitting device are located in the same row and have the same color . . . .” Claim 3 encompasses an interpretation wherein the first and second light emitting device may emit different colors, rather than the same color, as required by claim 2.
Regarding claim 8: claim 8 states, in relevant part: “the compensation portions are disposed at the first conductive layer and/or the second conductive layer and/or the third conductive layer.” It is unclear whether the phrase “and/or” refers to a configuration wherein (1) the compensation portions may be disposed in any of the conductive layers, not excluding disposition in other layers; or (2) the compensation portions may be disposed in one or more of the conductive layers, to the exclusion of one or more of the other conductive layers. For the purposes of examination, the phrase has been interpreted in accordance with interpretation (1).
Claims 9, 11-12, 14-18 and 20, which depend from claim 8, are rejected under § 112(b) for the same reasons as claim 8.
Regarding claim 9: claim 9 states, in relevant part: “wherein one compensation portion of the plurality of compensation portions comprises at least one of a first compensation portion disposed at the first conductive layer, a second compensation portion disposed at the second conductive layer, or a third compensation portion disposed at the third conductive layer.” It is unclear whether (1) Applicant is claiming a one compensation portion comprises a single compensation portion; or (2) Applicant is claiming one compensation portion of the plurality of compensation portions can comprise multiple compensation portions disposed on multiple conductive layers. For the purposes of examination, the phrase has been interpreted in accordance with interpretation (1).
Claims 11-12, 14-18 and 20, which depend from claim 9, are rejected under § 112(b) for the same reasons as claim 9.
Regarding claim 14: claim 14 states, in relevant part: “the pixel circuits.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation, and it is unclear whether “the pixel circuits” refers to (1) the first and second pixel circuits of claim 1, or (2) the plurality of pixel circuits recited in claim 1. For the purposes of examination, the phrase has been interpreted in accordance with interpretation (1).
Regarding claim 14: claim 14 states, in relevant part: “the compensation portions.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation, and it is unclear whether “the compensation portions” refers to (1) the first, second, and third compensation portions of claim 9, or (2) the plurality of compensation portions recited in claim 9. For the purposes of examination, the phrase has been interpreted in accordance with interpretation (1).
Claims 15-18 and 20, which depend from claim 14, are rejected under § 112(b) for the same reasons as claim 14.
Regarding claim 15: claim 15 states, in relevant part: “wherein a plurality of pixel circuits in the same row comprise . . . .” It is unclear whether the plurality of pixel circuits referenced in claim 15 is (1) a different plurality of pixel circuits referenced in claim 1, or (2) the same plurality of pixel circuits from those referenced in claim 1. For the purposes of examination, the phrase has been interpreted in accordance with interpretation (1).
Regarding claim 15: claim 15 states, in relevant part “the light emitting devices.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation, and it is unclear whether “the light emitting devices” refers to (1) the first and second light emitting devices of claim 1, or (2) the plurality of light emitting devices recited in claim 1. For the purposes of examination, the phrase has been interpreted in accordance with interpretation (1).
Regarding claim 15: claim 15 states, in relevant part: “wherein the first set of pixel circuits is connected with the light emitting devices through the first conductive layer, the second set of pixel circuits is connected with the light emitting devices through the second conductive layer, and the third set of pixel circuits is connected with the light emitting devices through the third conductive layer.” In light of the additional above §112(b) rejections to additional portions of claim 15, as well as the significant ambiguities regarding the specific connections between light emitting devices and sets of pixel circuits encompassed by the abovementioned portion of claim 15, the scope of the claim cannot be determined and as a result a prior rejection cannot be provided.
Claims 16-18 and 20, which depend from claim 15, are rejected under § 112(b) for the same reasons as claim 15.
Regarding claim 24: Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are disclosed in [0097] of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/258,333, which states:
However, due to the limited space between two adjacent rows of light emitting devices 20, the connection wires need to be disposed on different conductive layers. The conductive layer closer to the pixel circuit 10 can form a capacitor with the conductor layer in the pixel circuit 10, and as a result, a capacitance per unit area of a conductive layer close to the pixel circuit 10 is greater than a capacitance per unit area of a conductive layer far away from the pixel circuit 10.
In the above passage, regarding the inventive aspect of the disclosure, Applicant clearly states that “the connection wires need to be disposed on different conductive layers,” such that “[t]he conductive layer closer to the pixel circuit 10 can form a capacitor with the conductor layer in the pixel circuit 10,” and which, by virtue of the structural relationship between the first conductive layer and the conductor of the pixel circuit and the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer, the display panel possesses the claimed property wherein “a capacitance per unit area of a conductive layer close to the pixel circuit 10 is greater than a capacitance per unit area of a conductive layer far away from the pixel circuit 10.” By Applicant’s own admission, the structural relationship of the connection wires must be present in order for the claimed property of the structural relationship to be present (“the connection wires need to be disposed on different conductive layers.”), such that without a recitation of the structural relationship of the connection wires in the claim, the claimed property would not be present. Nowhere else in the disclosure does Applicant disclose any other configuration of the connection wires which would result in the claimed property of the structural relationship being present without a recitation that the connection wires are disposed on different conductive layers.
Applicant may cancel the claims, amend the claims, or present a sufficient showing that the claims comply with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8, 9, 11, 12, 14, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0102421 (filed Dec. 16, 2020) (hereinafter “Yang 1”) in view of Chinese Patent Publication No. CN111725287A (published Sept. 29, 2020) (hereinafter “Yang 2”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Yang 1 discloses: A display panel (FIG. 12, display panel 100, [0037]) with a primary display area (FIG. 12, depicting a primary display area including a third display area DA3 and a second display area DA2, [0034]) and a secondary display area (FIG. 12, depicting a secondary display area including a first display area DA1, [0034]) adjacent to each other (FIG. 12, depicting wherein the display areas area adjacent to each other),
wherein the display panel (FIG. 12, display panel 100) comprises:
a plurality of light emitting devices arranged in an array in the secondary display area (FIG. 13, depicting a plurality of first light emitting elements L1 arranged in an array in the first display area DA1, [0039]), comprising a first light emitting device (FIG. 13, depicting a first first light emitting element L1) and a second light emitting device (FIG. 13, depicting a second first light emitting element L1);
a plurality of pixel circuits arranged in an array in the primary display area (FIG. 13, depicting a plurality of pixel circuits C1-C2 arranged in an array in the display area DA2, [0035]), comprising a first pixel circuit (FIG. 13, depicting a first first pixel circuit C1) and a second pixel circuit (FIG. 13, depicting a second first pixel circuit C1).
Yang 1 does not specifically disclose a plurality of first connection wires connected between the first light emitting device and the first pixel circuit; a plurality of second connection wires connected between the second light emitting device and the second pixel circuit, wherein a capacitance per unit area of the second connection wires is smaller than a capacitance per unit area of the first connection wires; and a plurality of compensation portions correspondingly connected to the plurality of the second connection wires.
In the same field of endeavor, Yang 2 discloses a display panel (FIG. 2, depicting a display panel 100, Translation of CN111725287A at 3) including a plurality of first connection wires connected between a first light emitting device and a first pixel circuit (FIG. 9, one of conductive structure 152, 153, or first wire body 151, e.g., first wire body 151, connecting a transistor of a first pixel driving circuit DC to a first light emitting unit PU, Translation of CN111725287A at 8); a plurality of second connection wires connected between a second light emitting device and a second pixel circuit (FIG. 9, one of conductive structure 162, 163, or second wire body 161, e.g., second wire body 161, connecting a transistor of a second pixel driving circuit DC to a second light emitting unit PU, Translation of CN111725287A at 10), wherein a capacitance per unit area of the second connection wires is smaller than a capacitance per unit area of the first connection wires (FIG. 9, depicting wherein the first wire body 151 is disposed on a different layer than the second wire body 161, such that the first wire body 151 is closer to the transistor of the first pixel driving circuit, and thus can form a capacitor with the first pixel driving circuit, and as a result, a capacitance per unit area of the first wire body 151 close to the transistor of the first pixel driving circuit is greater than a capacitance per unit area of the second wire body 161 far away from the second pixel driving circuit); and a plurality of compensation portions correspondingly connected to the plurality of the second connection wires (FIG. 9, depicting, e.g., conductive structures 162 and 163 connected to the second wire body 161, Translation of CN111725287A at 10). Regarding the configuration of the wire bodies and conductive structures, Yang 2 states: “The present invention provides a display panel, a display device, and a manufacturing method of the display panel, which can reasonably lay out the display panel to reduce the number of film layers of the display panel, thereby reducing the difficulty of the manufacturing process of the display panel.” Translation of CN111725287A at 3.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display panel of Yang 1 by adding the configuration of the wire bodies and conductive structures of Yang 2 in order to reduce the manufacturing difficulty of the display panel.
Regarding claim 2, Yang 1 in view of Yang 2 further discloses wherein the first light emitting device and the second light emitting device are located in the same row and have the same color (FIG. 13, depicting wherein the first and second first light emitting devices L1 are located in the same row and have the same color, [0042]: “In some embodiments, the first light-emitting unit LU1 may include a first light-emitting element L1 that emits red light, a first light-emitting element L1 that emits green light, and a first light-emitting element L1 that emits blue light.”), and the first light emitting device is closer to the primary display area than the second light emitting device (FIG. 13, depicting wherein the first first light emitting device L1 may be closer to the primary display area than the second first light emitting devices L1);
the first pixel circuit is closer to the secondary area than the second pixel circuit (FIG. 13, depicting wherein the first first pixel circuit C1 may be closer to the secondary area than the second first pixel circuit C1).
the second connection wires are disposed on a side of the first connection wires away from the pixel circuits (FIGS. 2/9, depicting wherein the second wire bodies 161 are disposed on a side of the first wire bodies 151 away from the transistors of the pixel driving circuits DC in Yang 2, such that the second wire bodies 161 would disposed on a side of the first wire bodies 151 away from the first and second first pixel circuits C1 of Yang 1).
Applicant further claims “and capacitances of the plurality of first connection wires and capacitances of the plurality of second connection wires connected with a plurality of first light emitting devices and a plurality of second light emitting devices in the same row increases or decreases linearly and sequentially along a direction of the secondary display area pointing to the primary display area.”
When the structure recited in a reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. MPEP § 2112.01(I). “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” Id. (citing In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 U.S.P.Q. 430, 433 (C.C.P.A. 1977)). “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” Id. (quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). “Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product.” Id. (citing In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255).
In the instant case, Yang 1 in view of Yang 2 discloses a display panel structure that is identical to the display panel structure claimed in Applicant’s claim 1, and thus necessarily possesses the properties of the display panel structure claimed in Applicant’s claim 1, including wherein capacitances of the plurality of first connection wires and capacitances of the plurality of second connection wires connected with a plurality of first light emitting devices and a plurality of second light emitting devices in the same row increases or decreases linearly and sequentially along a direction of the secondary display area pointing to the primary display area. Compare, e.g., [0133]-[0134] and FIG. 10 of Applicant’s disclosure with FIGS. 13 and 9 of Yang 1 and Yang 2, respectively (disclosing identical structure identical to those claimed by Applicant).
Accordingly, Yang 1 in view of Yang 2 discloses a display device that necessarily possesses the properties of the display panel structure claimed in Applicant' s claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Yang 1 in view of Yang 2 further discloses wherein the first light emitting device and the second light emitting device are red light emitting devices and/or blue light emitting devices (FIG. 13, depicting wherein the first and second first light emitting devices L1 may emit red or blue light, [0042]: “In some embodiments, the first light-emitting unit LU1 may include a first light-emitting element L1 that emits red light, a first light-emitting element L1 that emits green light, and a first light-emitting element L1 that emits blue light.”).
Regarding claim 4, Yang 1 in view of Yang 2 further discloses a substrate (FIG. 9, substrate 110);
a first conductive layer disposed on a side of the substrate (FIG. 9, depicting a first conductive layer forming the conductive structures 153 and 163 disposed on a side of the substrate 110);
a first insulation layer disposed on a side of the first conductive layer away from the substrate (FIG. 9, insulating layer 240 disposed on a side of the first conductive layer away from the substrate 110, Translation of CN111725287A at 10); and
a second conductive layer disposed on a side of the first insulation layer away from the substrate (FIG. 9, depicting a second conductive layer forming the conductive structure 162 and the first wire body 151 on a side of the insulating layer 240 away from the substrate 110).
Regarding claim 8, Yang 1 in view of Yang 2 further discloses a second insulation layer disposed on a side of the second conductive layer away from the substrate (FIG. 9, insulating layer 130 disposed on a side of the second conductive layer away from the substrate 110, Translation of CN111725287A at 10); and
a third conductive layer disposed on a side of the second insulation layer away from the substrate (FIG. 9, depicting a third conductive layer forming the second wire body 161 and the conductive structure 152 disposed on a side of the insulating layer 130 away from the substrate 110);
wherein the third conductive layer comprises the second connection wires (FIG. 9, depicting wherein the third conductive layer forms the second connection wire 161),
the second conductive layer comprises the first connection wires (FIG. 9, depicting wherein the second conductive layer forms the first connection wire 151), and
the compensation portions are disposed at the first conductive layer and/or the second conductive layer and/or the third conductive layer (FIG. 9, depicting wherein, e.g., the conductive structure 163 is disposed at the first conductive layer).
Regarding claim 9, Yang 1 in view of Yang 2 further discloses wherein one compensation portion of the plurality of compensation portions comprises at least one of a first compensation portion disposed at the first conductive layer, a second compensation portion disposed at the second conductive layer, or a third compensation portion disposed at the third conductive layer (FIG. 9, depicting wherein, e.g., the conductive structure 163 is disposed at the first conductive layer).
Regarding claim 11, Yang 1 in view of Yang 2 further discloses wherein the second compensation portion (FIG. 9, conductive structure 162) comprises: a third portion connected to one second connection wire of the plurality of second connection wires (FIG. 9, depicting the portion of the conductive structure 163 not directly underneath the via of the second wire body 161), wherein an orthographic projection of the third portion on the substrate is not overlapped with an orthographic projection of the second connection wire on the substrate (FIG. 9, depicting wherein the portion of the conductive structure 163 not directly underneath the via is not overlapped with an orthographic projection of the via of the second wire body 161 on the substrate 110); and a fourth portion connected to the third portion (FIG. 9, depicting the portion of the conductive structure 163 directly underneath the via of the second wire body 161), wherein an orthographic projection of the fourth portion on the substrate is located within the orthographic projection of the second connection wire on the substrate (FIG. 9, depicting wherein the portion of the conductive structure 163 directly underneath the via of the second wire body 161 is located within an orthographic projection of the second wire body 161 on the substrate 110).
Regarding claim 12, Yang 1 in view of Yang 2 further discloses wherein the third compensation portion (FIG. 9, the portion of the third conductive layer to the right of the via of the second wire body 161 forming an overhang) is disposed in a patterned manner (FIG. 9, depicting wherein the portion of the third conductive layer to the right of the via of the second wire body 161 forming an overhang is disposed in a patterned manner), and a partial edge of the third compensation portion is connected with one second connection wire of the plurality of second connection wires (FIG. 9, depicting wherein a partial edge of the third conductive layer to the right of the via of the second wire body 161 forming an overhang is connected with the second wire body 161).
Regarding claim 14, Yang 1 in view of Yang 2 further discloses wherein the compensation portions are disposed at the primary display area (FIG. 9, depicting wherein the conductive structures 162, 163, and the portion of the third conductive layer to the right of the via of the second wire body 161 forming an overhang of Yang 2 are disposed at a primary display area comprising a second display area AA2 and a third display area AA3, such that they would be disposed at the primary display area including a third display area DA3 and a second display area DA2 of Yang 1), and wherein the primary display area comprises: a normal display area (FIG. 12, third display area DA3); and a transition area (FIG. 12, second display area DA2) disposed between the secondary display area and the normal display area (FIG. 12, depicting wherein the second display area DA2 is disposed between the third display area and the first display area DA1), wherein the pixel circuits are disposed at the transition area (FIG. 12, depicting wherein the pixel circuits C1-C2 are disposed at the second display area), and the compensation portions are disposed at the transition area (FIG. 9, depicting wherein the conductive structures 162, 163, and the portion of the third conductive layer to the right of the via of the second wire body 161 forming an overhang of Yang 2 are disposed at the second display area AA2, such that they would be disposed at the second display area DA2 of Yang 1).
Regarding independent claim 24, Yang 1 discloses: A display device (FIG. 18, depicting a display device, [0091]), comprising a display panel (FIG. 12, display panel 100, [0037]) with a primary display area (FIG. 12, depicting a primary display area including a third display area DA3 and a second display area DA2, [0034]) and a secondary display area (FIG. 12, depicting a secondary display area including a first display area DA1, [0034]) adjacent to each other (FIG. 12, depicting wherein the display areas area adjacent to each other) and a photosensitive sensor (FIG. 18, photosensitive component 200, [0094]),
wherein the display panel (FIG. 12, display panel 100) comprises:
a plurality of light emitting devices arranged in an array in the secondary display area (FIG. 13, depicting a plurality of first light emitting elements L1 arranged in an array in the first display area DA1, [0039]), comprising a first light emitting device (FIG. 13, depicting a first first light emitting element L1) and a second light emitting device (FIG. 13, depicting a second first light emitting element L1);
a plurality of pixel circuits arranged in an array in the primary display area (FIG. 13, depicting a plurality of pixel circuits C1-C2 arranged in an array in the display area DA2, [0035]), comprising a first pixel circuit (FIG. 13, depicting a first first pixel circuit C1) and a second pixel circuit (FIG. 13, depicting a second first pixel circuit C1);
wherein the photosensitive sensor disposed at a non-display side of the display panel (FIG. 18, depicting wherein the photosensitive component 200 is disposed at a non-display side of the display panel 100, [0091]),
wherein an orthographic projection of the photosensitive sensor on a display side is at least partially overlapped with the secondary display area (FIG. 18, depicting wherein an orthographic projection of the photosensitive component 200 is at least partially overlapped with the first display area DA1).
Yang 1 does not specifically disclose a plurality of first connection wires connected between the first light emitting device and the first pixel circuit; a plurality of second connection wires connected between the second light emitting device and the second pixel circuit, wherein a capacitance per unit area of the second connection wires is smaller than a capacitance per unit area of the first connection wires; and a plurality of compensation portions correspondingly connected to the plurality of the second connection wires.
In the same field of endeavor, Yang 2 discloses a display panel (FIG. 2, depicting a display panel 100, Translation of CN111725287A at 3) including a plurality of first connection wires connected between a first light emitting device and a first pixel circuit (FIG. 9, one of conductive structure 152, 153, or first wire body 151, e.g., first wire body 151, connecting a transistor of a first pixel driving circuit DC to a first light emitting unit PU, Translation of CN111725287A at 8); a plurality of second connection wires connected between a second light emitting device and a second pixel circuit (FIG. 9, one of conductive structure 162, 163, or second wire body 161, e.g., second wire body 161, connecting a transistor of a second pixel driving circuit DC to a second light emitting unit PU, Translation of CN111725287A at 10), wherein a capacitance per unit area of the second connection wires is smaller than a capacitance per unit area of the first connection wires (FIG. 9, depicting wherein the first wire body 151 is disposed on a different layer than the second wire body 161, such that the first wire body 151 is closer to the transistor of the first pixel driving circuit, and thus can form a capacitor with the first pixel driving circuit, and as a result, a capacitance per unit area of the first wire body 151 close to the transistor of the first pixel driving circuit is greater than a capacitance per unit area of the second wire body 161 far away from the second pixel driving circuit); and a plurality of compensation portions correspondingly connected to the plurality of the second connection wires (FIG. 9, depicting, e.g., conductive structures 162 and 163 connected to the second wire body 161, Translation of CN111725287A at 10). Regarding the configuration of the wire bodies and conductive structures, Yang 2 states: “The present invention provides a display panel, a display device, and a manufacturing method of the display panel, which can reasonably lay out the display panel to reduce the number of film layers of the display panel, thereby reducing the difficulty of the manufacturing process of the display panel.” Translation of CN111725287A at 3.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display panel of Yang 1 by adding the configuration of the wire bodies and conductive structures of Yang 2 in order to reduce the manufacturing difficulty of the display panel.
Conclusion
/ADAM D WEILAND/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813