DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the communication filed 6 May 2026.
Priority
The application’s status as a 371 of PCT/CN2022/100394 is acknowledged.
Election/Restrictions
Claim19 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 25 November 2025.
The restriction requirement was made final in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 10 February 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states:
By contrast, the conductive structures in Yang 2 relied upon by the Examiner are not disclosed as compensation portions disposed at the claimed conductive layers. Rather, in Yang 2, the conductive structures are described as via-type electrical connection structures passing through or between insulating layers to provide electrical connection between the auxiliary wire body and other circuit elements. For example, Yang 2 describes the second conductive structure 162 as being connected in the electrical path of the second auxiliary wire, and describes added conductive structures as reducing the difficulty caused by overly deep vias. Such via-type connection structures are not the same as the claimed compensation portions disposed at one or more of the conductive layers and correspondingly connected to the second connection wires for capacitance compensation.
Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment (filed 6 May 2026) at 16. The Examiner respectfully notes that currently amended claim 1 uses broad and encompassing language to define the configuration of the compensation portions, such that numerous different configurations and components are encompassed by those limitations describing the compensation portions, including those components and configurations disclosed in Yang 2 cited in the rejection of currently amended claim 1, below. Moreover, the Examiner respectfully notes that Applicant appears to imply that electrical connection structures, such as those disclosed in Yang 2, may read on the recited compensation portion limitations. See id. at 15 (“In the present application, the compensation portions are not merely electrical connection structures.”).
Applicant further states:
Accordingly, even if Yang 1 provides a general display-panel framework and Yang 2 discloses auxiliary wires 151 and 161, the cited references do not teach or suggest the claimed structure in which compensation portions are provided at the recited conductive layers and correspondingly connected to the second connection wires to compensate the capacitance of the second connection wires. The Office's position improperly treats Yang 2's ordinary electrical connection structures as the claimed compensation portions, without identifying any teaching in Yang 2 that such structures perform, or are arranged for, the claimed capacitance-compensation function.
Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment (filed 6 May 2026) at 16. The Examiner respectfully notes that to the extent Applicant argues that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, the features upon which applicant relies (e.g., “the compensation portions are not merely electrical connection structures”; “the compensation portions are provided for capacitance compensation of the second connection wires”; “the compensation portions are correspondingly connected to the second connection wires to compensate the capacitance of the second connection wires, increase the capacitance of the second connection wires, reduce the difference between the capacitance of the second connection wires and the capacitance of the first connection wires, and thereby reduce brightness difference of the light emitting devices”; “via-type connection structures are not the same as the claimed compensation portions”; “the claimed structure in which compensation portions are provided at the recited conductive layers and correspondingly connected to the second connection wires to compensate the capacitance of the second connection wires”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Moreover, the Examiner respectfully notes that to the extent Applicant argues the reason or motivation to modify Yang 1 with Yang 2 solves a different problem, the MPEP makes clear that “[i]t is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant.” MPEP § 2144(IV) (citing In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987 (Fed. Cir. 2006)).
Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive.
Drawings
The objections to the drawings regarding claims 1, 8, 11, 12, 15, 16, 18, and 24 are withdrawn, responsive to Applicant’s arguments/amendments.
The drawings are objected to because:
Regarding FIG. 3: FIG. 3 incorrectly uses reference number 42 to refer to the second conductive layer, which is reference number 43 according to the disclosure; reference number 42 refers to the first insulation layer according to the disclosure.
Regarding FIG. 11: FIG. 11 includes multiple reference number lead lines leading to what appears to be the third compensation portion 333; the reference number lead line for the first portion of the first compensation portion 3311 appears to lead to the incorrect part.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejections of claims 1-4, 8, 9, 14, 15, and 24 under § 112(b) are withdrawn, responsive to Applicant’s arguments/amendments.
Claims 1-3, 9-12, 14-18, 20, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
“The essential inquiry pertaining to this requirement is whether the claims set out and circumscribe a particular subject matter with a reasonable degree of clarity and particularity. ‘As the statutory language of “particular[ity]” and “distinct[ness]” indicates, claims are required to be cast in clear—as opposed to ambiguous, vague, indefinite—terms. It is the claims that notify the public of what is within the protections of the patent, and what is not.' ” MPEP § 2173.02(II) (quoting In re Packard, 751 F.3d 1307, 1313 (Fed. Cir. 2014)).
Regarding claim 1: claim 1 states, in relevant part, “and the compensation portions are disposed at one or more of the first conductive layer, the second conductive layer, and the third conductive layer.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation, and it is unclear whether “the compensation portions” refers to (1) the plurality of compensation portions, or (2) each compensation portion of the plurality of compensation portions, which may include multiple compensation portions. For the purposes of examination, the phrase has been interpreted in accordance with interpretation (1).
Claims 2, 3, 9-12, 14-18, 20, and 24, which depend from claim 1, are rejected under § 112(b) for the same reasons as claim 1.
Regarding claim 14: claim 14 states, in relevant part, “wherein the compensation portions are disposed at the primary display area . . . and the plurality of compensation portions are disposed at the transition area.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation, and it is unclear whether “the compensation portions” refers to (1) the plurality of compensation portions, or (2) each compensation portion of the plurality of compensation portions. For the purposes of examination, the phrase has been interpreted in accordance with interpretation (1).
Claims 15-18 and 20, which depend from claim 14, are rejected under § 112(b) for the same reasons as claim 14.
Applicant may cancel the claims, amend the claims, or present a sufficient showing that the claims comply with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9-12, 14-18, 20 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0102421 (filed Dec. 16, 2020) (hereinafter “Yang 1”) in view of Chinese Patent Publication No. CN111725287A (published Sept. 29, 2020) (hereinafter “Yang 2”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Yang 1 discloses: A display panel (FIG. 12, display panel 100, [0037]) with a primary display area (FIG. 12, depicting a primary display area including a third display area DA3 and a second display area DA2, [0034]) and a secondary display area (FIG. 12, depicting a secondary display area including a first display area DA1, [0034]) adjacent to each other (FIG. 12, depicting wherein the display areas area adjacent to each other),
wherein the display panel (FIG. 12, display panel 100) comprises:
a plurality of light emitting devices arranged in an array in the secondary display area (FIG. 13, depicting a plurality of first light emitting elements L1 arranged in an array in the first display area DA1, [0039]), comprising a first light emitting device (FIG. 13, depicting a first first light emitting element L1) and a second light emitting device (FIG. 13, depicting a second first light emitting element L1);
a plurality of pixel circuits arranged in an array in the primary display area (FIG. 13, depicting a plurality of pixel circuits C1-C2 arranged in an array in the display area DA2, [0035]), comprising a first pixel circuit (FIG. 13, depicting a first first pixel circuit C1) and a second pixel circuit (FIG. 13, depicting a second first pixel circuit C1).
Yang 1 does not specifically disclose a plurality of first connection wires connected between the first light emitting device and the first pixel circuit; a plurality of second connection wires connected between the second light emitting device and the second pixel circuit, wherein a capacitance per unit area of the second connection wires is smaller than a capacitance per unit area of the first connection wires; and a plurality of compensation portions correspondingly connected to the plurality of the second connection wires, wherein the first connection wire and the second connection wire are disposed on different conductive layers, wherein the display panel further comprises: a substrate; a first conductive layer disposed on a side of the substrate; a first insulation layer disposed on a side of the first conductive layer away from the substrate; and a second conductive layer disposed on a side of the first insulation layer away from the substrate, and wherein the display panel further comprises: a second insulation layer disposed on a side of the second conductive layer away from the substrate; and a third conductive layer disposed on a side of the second insulation layer away from the substrate; wherein the third conductive layer comprises the second connection wires, the second conductive layer comprises the first connection wires, and the compensation portions are disposed at one or more of the first conductive layer, the second conductive layer, and the third conductive layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Yang 2 discloses a display panel (FIG. 2, depicting a display panel 100, Translation of CN111725287A at 3) including
a plurality of first connection wires connected between a first light emitting device and a first pixel circuit (FIG. 9, one of conductive structure 152, 153, or first wire body 151, e.g., first wire body 151, connecting a transistor of a first pixel driving circuit DC to a first light emitting unit PU, Translation of CN111725287A at 8);
a plurality of second connection wires connected between a second light emitting device and a second pixel circuit (FIG. 9, one of conductive structure 162, 163, or second wire body 161, e.g., second wire body 161, connecting a transistor of a second pixel driving circuit DC to a second light emitting unit PU, Translation of CN111725287A at 10),
wherein a capacitance per unit area of the second connection wires is smaller than a capacitance per unit area of the first connection wires (FIG. 9, depicting wherein the first wire body 151 is disposed on a different layer than the second wire body 161, such that the first wire body 151 is closer to the transistor of the first pixel driving circuit, and thus can form a capacitor with the first pixel driving circuit, and as a result, a capacitance per unit area of the first wire body 151 close to the transistor of the first pixel driving circuit is greater than a capacitance per unit area of the second wire body 161 far away from the second pixel driving circuit); and
a plurality of compensation portions correspondingly connected to the plurality of the second connection wires (FIG. 9, depicting, e.g., conductive structures 162 and 163 connected to the second wire body 161, Translation of CN111725287A at 10),
wherein the first connection wire and the second connection wire are disposed on different conductive layers (FIG. 9, depicting wherein the first wire body 151 is disposed on a different layer than the second wire body 161, such that the first wire body 151 is closer to the transistor of the first pixel driving circuit,
wherein the display panel further comprises:
a substrate (FIG. 9, substrate 110);
a first conductive layer disposed on a side of the substrate (FIG. 9, depicting a first conductive layer forming the conductive structures 153 and 163 disposed on a side of the substrate 110);
a first insulation layer disposed on a side of the first conductive layer away from the substrate (FIG. 9, insulating layer 240 disposed on a side of the first conductive layer away from the substrate 110, Translation of CN111725287A at 10); and
a second conductive layer disposed on a side of the first insulation layer away from the substrate (FIG. 9, depicting a second conductive layer forming the conductive structure 162 and the first wire body 151 on a side of the insulating layer 240 away from the substrate 110), and
wherein the display panel further comprises:
a second insulation layer disposed on a side of the second conductive layer away from the substrate (FIG. 9, insulating layer 130 disposed on a side of the second conductive layer away from the substrate 110, Translation of CN111725287A at 10); and
a third conductive layer disposed on a side of the second insulation layer away from the substrate (FIG. 9, depicting a third conductive layer forming the second wire body 161 and the conductive structure 152 disposed on a side of the insulating layer 130 away from the substrate 110);
wherein the third conductive layer comprises the second connection wires (FIG. 9, depicting wherein the third conductive layer forms the second connection wire 161),
the second conductive layer comprises the first connection wires (FIG. 9, depicting wherein the second conductive layer forms the first connection wire 151), and
the compensation portions are disposed at one or more of the first conductive layer, the second conductive layer, and the third conductive layer (FIG. 9, depicting wherein, e.g., the conductive structure 163 is disposed at the first conductive layer).
Regarding the configuration of the wire bodies and conductive structures, Yang 2 states: “The present invention provides a display panel, a display device, and a manufacturing method of the display panel, which can reasonably lay out the display panel to reduce the number of film layers of the display panel, thereby reducing the difficulty of the manufacturing process of the display panel.” Translation of CN111725287A at 3.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display panel of Yang 1 by adding the configuration of the wire bodies and conductive structures of Yang 2 in order to reduce the manufacturing difficulty of the display panel.
Regarding claim 2, Yang 1 in view of Yang 2 further discloses wherein the first light emitting device and the second light emitting device are located in the same row and have the same color (FIG. 13, depicting wherein the first and second first light emitting devices L1 are located in the same row and have the same color, [0042]: “In some embodiments, the first light-emitting unit LU1 may include a first light-emitting element L1 that emits red light, a first light-emitting element L1 that emits green light, and a first light-emitting element L1 that emits blue light.”), and the first light emitting device is closer to the primary display area than the second light emitting device (FIG. 13, depicting wherein the first first light emitting device L1 may be closer to the primary display area than the second first light emitting devices L1);
the first pixel circuit is closer to the secondary display area than the second pixel circuit (FIG. 13, depicting wherein the first first pixel circuit C1 may be closer to the secondary area than the second first pixel circuit C1).
the second connection wires are disposed on a side of the first connection wires away from the pixel circuits (FIGS. 2/9, depicting wherein the second wire bodies 161 are disposed on a side of the first wire bodies 151 away from the transistors of the pixel driving circuits DC in Yang 2, such that the second wire bodies 161 would disposed on a side of the first wire bodies 151 away from the first and second first pixel circuits C1 of Yang 1).
Applicant further claims “and capacitances of the plurality of first connection wires and capacitances of the plurality of second connection wires connected with a plurality of first light emitting devices and a plurality of second light emitting devices in the same row increases or decreases linearly and sequentially along a direction of the secondary display area pointing to the primary display area.”
When the structure recited in a reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. MPEP § 2112.01(I). “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” Id. (citing In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 U.S.P.Q. 430, 433 (C.C.P.A. 1977)). “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” Id. (quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). “Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product.” Id. (citing In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255).
In the instant case, Yang 1 in view of Yang 2 discloses a display panel structure that is identical to the display panel structure claimed in Applicant’s claim 1, and thus necessarily possesses the properties of the display panel structure claimed in Applicant’s claim 1, including wherein capacitances of the plurality of first connection wires and capacitances of the plurality of second connection wires connected with a plurality of first light emitting devices and a plurality of second light emitting devices in the same row increases or decreases linearly and sequentially along a direction of the secondary display area pointing to the primary display area. Compare, e.g., [0133]-[0134] and FIG. 10 of Applicant’s disclosure with FIGS. 13 and 9 of Yang 1 and Yang 2, respectively (disclosing identical structure identical to those claimed by Applicant).
Accordingly, Yang 1 in view of Yang 2 discloses a display device that necessarily possesses the properties of the display panel structure claimed in Applicant' s claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Yang 1 in view of Yang 2 further discloses wherein the first light emitting device and the second light emitting device are red light emitting devices or blue light emitting devices (FIG. 13, depicting wherein the first and second first light emitting devices L1 may emit red or blue light, [0042]: “In some embodiments, the first light-emitting unit LU1 may include a first light-emitting element L1 that emits red light, a first light-emitting element L1 that emits green light, and a first light-emitting element L1 that emits blue light.”).
Regarding claim 9, Yang 1 in view of Yang 2 further discloses wherein the plurality of compensation portions comprise one or more of a first compensation portion disposed at the first conductive layer, a second compensation portion disposed at the second conductive layer, or a third compensation portion disposed at the third conductive layer (FIG. 9, depicting wherein, e.g., the conductive structure 163 is disposed at the first conductive layer).
Regarding claim 10, Yang 1 in view of Yang 2 further discloses wherein the first compensation portion (FIG. 9, conductive structure 162) comprises: a first portion connected to one second connection wire of the plurality of second connection wires (FIG. 9, depicting the portion of the conductive structure 162 not directly underneath the via of the second wire body 161), wherein an orthographic projection of the first portion on the substrate is not overlapped with an orthographic projection of the second connection wire on the substrate (FIG. 9, depicting wherein the portion of the conductive structure 162 not directly underneath the via is not overlapped with an orthographic projection of the via of the second wire body 161 on the substrate 110); and a second portion connected to the first portion (FIG. 9, depicting the portion of the conductive structure 162 directly underneath the via of the second wire body 161), wherein an orthographic projection of the second portion on the substrate is located within the orthographic projection of the second connection wire on the substrate (FIG. 9, depicting wherein the portion of the conductive structure 162 directly underneath the via of the second wire body 161 is located within an orthographic projection of the second wire body 161 on the substrate 110).
Regarding claim 11, Yang 1 in view of Yang 2 further discloses wherein the second compensation portion (FIG. 9, conductive structure 163) comprises: a third portion connected to one second connection wire of the plurality of second connection wires (FIG. 9, depicting the portion of the conductive structure 163 not directly underneath the via of the second wire body 161), wherein an orthographic projection of the third portion on the substrate is not overlapped with an orthographic projection of the second connection wire on the substrate (FIG. 9, depicting wherein the portion of the conductive structure 163 not directly underneath the via is not overlapped with an orthographic projection of the via of the second wire body 161 on the substrate 110); and a fourth portion connected to the third portion (FIG. 9, depicting the portion of the conductive structure 163 directly underneath the via of the second wire body 161), wherein an orthographic projection of the fourth portion on the substrate is located within the orthographic projection of the second connection wire on the substrate (FIG. 9, depicting wherein the portion of the conductive structure 163 directly underneath the via of the second wire body 161 is located within an orthographic projection of the second wire body 161 on the substrate 110).
Regarding claim 12, Yang 1 in view of Yang 2 further discloses wherein the third compensation portion (FIG. 9, the portion of the third conductive layer to the right of the via of the second wire body 161 forming an overhang) is disposed in a patterned manner (FIG. 9, depicting wherein the portion of the third conductive layer to the right of the via of the second wire body 161 forming an overhang is disposed in a patterned manner), and a partial edge of the third compensation portion is connected with one second connection wire of the plurality of second connection wires (FIG. 9, depicting wherein a partial edge of the third conductive layer to the right of the via of the second wire body 161 forming an overhang is connected with the second wire body 161).
Regarding claim 14, Yang 1 in view of Yang 2 further discloses wherein the compensation portions are disposed at the primary display area (FIG. 9, depicting wherein the conductive structures 162, 163, and the portion of the third conductive layer to the right of the via of the second wire body 161 forming an overhang of Yang 2 are disposed at a primary display area comprising a second display area AA2 and a third display area AA3, such that they would be disposed at the primary display area including a third display area DA3 and a second display area DA2 of Yang 1), and wherein the primary display area comprises: a normal display area (FIG. 12, third display area DA3); and a transition area (FIG. 12, second display area DA2) disposed between the secondary display area and the normal display area (FIG. 12, depicting wherein the second display area DA2 is disposed between the third display area and the first display area DA1), wherein the plurality of pixel circuits are disposed at the transition area (FIG. 12, depicting wherein the pixel circuits C1-C2 are disposed at the second display area), and the plurality of compensation portions are disposed at the transition area (FIG. 9, depicting wherein the conductive structures 162, 163, and the portion of the third conductive layer to the right of the via of the second wire body 161 forming an overhang of Yang 2 are disposed at the second display area AA2, such that they would be disposed at the second display area DA2 of Yang 1).
Regarding claim 15, Yang 1 in view of Yang 2 further discloses wherein the plurality of pixel circuits in the same row comprise: a first set of pixel circuits disposed close to the secondary display area (FIG. 13, e.g., one of the plurality of second pixel circuit units CU2 disposed close to the display area including first display area DA1); a second set of pixel circuits disposed on a side of the first set of pixel circuits away from the secondary display area (FIG. 13, e.g., another one of the plurality of the plurality of second pixel circuit units CU2 disposed on a side of the one of the plurality of second pixel circuit units CU2 away from the display area including first display area DA1); and a third set of pixel circuits disposed on a side of the second set of pixel circuits away from the secondary display area (FIG. 13, e.g., yet another one of the plurality of the plurality of second pixel circuit units CU2 disposed on a side of the another one of the plurality of second pixel circuit units CU2 away from the display area including first display area DA1); wherein the first set of pixel circuits is connected with a first part of the plurality of light emitting devices through the first conductive layer (FIG. 13; FIG. 9; depicting wherein the one of the plurality of second pixel circuit units CU2 disposed close to the display area including first display area DA1 would be connected with a first part of the first light emitting elements L1 through the first conductive layer forming the conductive structures 153 and 163), the second set of pixel circuits is connected with a second part of the plurality of light emitting devices through the second conductive layer (FIG. 13; FIG. 9; depicting wherein the another one of the plurality of the plurality of second pixel circuit units CU2 disposed on a side of the one of the plurality of second pixel circuit units CU2 away from the display area including first display area DA1 would be connected with a second part of the first light emitting elements L1 through the second conductive layer forming the conductive structure 162 and the first wire body 151), and the third set of pixel circuits is connected with a third part of the plurality of light emitting devices through the third conductive layer (FIG. 13; FIG. 9; depicting wherein the yet another one of the plurality of the plurality of second pixel circuit units CU2 disposed on a side of the another one of the plurality of second pixel circuit units CU2 away from the display area including first display area DA1 would be connected with a second part of the first light emitting elements L1 through the third conductive layer forming the second wire body 161 and the conductive structure 152).
Regarding claim 16, Yang 1 in view of Yang 2 further discloses wherein the display panel further comprises: a plurality of third connection wires disposed at the first conductive layer (FIGS. 9/14, depicting wherein the configuration of wire bodies may include a three connection wire configuration 151/161/273, wherein one of the connection wires may be disposed at the conductive layer forming the conductive structures 153 and 163, Translation of CN111725287A at 12), wherein the plurality of third connection wires are correspondingly connected between the first set of pixel circuits and the plurality of light emitting devices (FIG. 13; FIGS. 9/14; depicting wherein a one of the conductive layers including one of the three connecting wires of the configuration including 151/161/273 would connect the one of the plurality of second pixel circuit units CU2 disposed close to the display area including first display area DA1 and a first part of the first light emitting elements L1 through the first conductive layer forming the conductive structures 153 and 163), the plurality of first connection wires are correspondingly connected between the second set of pixel circuits and the plurality of light emitting devices (FIG. 13; FIGS. 9/14; depicting wherein another one of the conductive layers including one of the three connecting wires of the configuration including 151/161/273 would connect the another one of the plurality of the plurality of second pixel circuit units CU2 disposed on a side of the one of the plurality of second pixel circuit units CU2 away from the display area including first display area DA1 and a second part of the first light emitting elements L1 through the second conductive layer forming the conductive structure 162 and the first wire body 151), and the plurality of second connection wires are correspondingly connected between the third set of pixel circuits and the plurality of light emitting devices (FIG. 13; FIGS. 9/14; depicting wherein yet another one of the conductive layers including one of the three connecting wires of the configuration including 151/161/273 would connect the yet another one of the plurality of the plurality of second pixel circuit units CU2 disposed on a side of the another one of the plurality of second pixel circuit units CU2 away from the display area including first display area DA1 and a second part of the first light emitting elements L1 through the third conductive layer forming the second wire body 161 and the conductive structure 152).
Regarding claim 17, Yang 1 in view of Yang 2 further discloses wherein the first compensation portion is spaced apart from the third connection wires, and is located on a side of the third connection wires away from the secondary display area (FIG. 13; FIGS. 9/14; depicting wherein the conductive structure 162 that is disposed at the first conductive layer is spaced apart from one of the wire bodies that may include a three connection wire configuration 151/161/273, and would be located on a side of the one of the wire bodies that may include a three connection wire configuration 151/161/273 and away from the secondary display area including a first display area DA1); and the second compensation portion is spaced apart from the first connection wires, and is located on a side of the first connection wires away from the secondary display area (FIG. 13; FIGS. 9/14; depicting wherein the conductive structure 163 that is disposed at the first conductive layer is spaced apart from one of the wire bodies that may include a three connection wire configuration 151/161/273, and would be located on a side of the one of the wire bodies that may include a three connection wire configuration 151/161/273 and away from the secondary display area including a first display area DA1).
Regarding claim 18, Yang 1 in view of Yang 2 further discloses wherein ends of a plurality of first compensation portions close to the secondary display area are aligned (FIG. 13; FIGS. 9/14; depicting wherein ends of the conductive structure 162 close to the secondary display area including a first display area DA1 would be aligned), and ends of a plurality of second compensation portions close to the secondary display area are aligned (FIG. 13; FIGS. 9/14; depicting wherein ends of the conductive structure 162 close to the secondary display area including a first display area DA1 would be aligned).
Regarding claim 20, Yang 1 in view of Yang 2 further discloses wherein the plurality of light emitting devices in the same row comprise: a plurality of green light emitting devices sequentially and correspondingly connected to the plurality of pixel circuits in the same row close to the secondary display area (FIG. 13, depicting various light emitting elements L1 of the light emitting units LU1 close to the secondary display area including a first display area DA1 and connected to the pixel circuit units CU2, and further wherein: [0042]: “In some embodiments, the first light-emitting unit LU1 may include a first light-emitting element L1 that emits red light, a first light-emitting element L1 that emits green light, and a first light-emitting element L1 that emits blue light.”); and a plurality of red light emitting devices and a plurality of blue light emitting devices alternately and correspondingly connected to the plurality of pixel circuits in the same row away from the secondary display area (FIG. 13, depicting various light emitting elements L1 of the light emitting units LU1 close to the secondary display area including a first display area DA1 and connected to the pixel circuit units CU2, and further wherein: [0042]: “In some embodiments, the first light-emitting unit LU1 may include a first light-emitting element L1 that emits red light, a first light-emitting element L1 that emits green light, and a first light-emitting element L1 that emits blue light.”).
Regarding independent claim 24, Yang 1 discloses: A display device (FIG. 18, depicting a display device, [0091]), comprising a display panel (FIG. 12, display panel 100, [0037]) with a primary display area (FIG. 12, depicting a primary display area including a third display area DA3 and a second display area DA2, [0034]) and a secondary display area (FIG. 12, depicting a secondary display area including a first display area DA1, [0034]) adjacent to each other (FIG. 12, depicting wherein the display areas area adjacent to each other) and a photosensitive sensor (FIG. 18, photosensitive component 200, [0094]),
wherein the display panel (FIG. 12, display panel 100) comprises:
a plurality of light emitting devices arranged in an array in the secondary display area (FIG. 13, depicting a plurality of first light emitting elements L1 arranged in an array in the first display area DA1, [0039]), comprising a first light emitting device (FIG. 13, depicting a first first light emitting element L1) and a second light emitting device (FIG. 13, depicting a second first light emitting element L1);
a plurality of pixel circuits arranged in an array in the primary display area (FIG. 13, depicting a plurality of pixel circuits C1-C2 arranged in an array in the display area DA2, [0035]), comprising a first pixel circuit (FIG. 13, depicting a first first pixel circuit C1) and a second pixel circuit (FIG. 13, depicting a second first pixel circuit C1);
wherein the photosensitive sensor disposed at a non-display side of the display panel (FIG. 18, depicting wherein the photosensitive component 200 is disposed at a non-display side of the display panel 100, [0091]),
wherein an orthographic projection of the photosensitive sensor on a display side is at least partially overlapped with the secondary display area (FIG. 18, depicting wherein an orthographic projection of the photosensitive component 200 is at least partially overlapped with the first display area DA1).
Yang 1 does not specifically disclose a plurality of first connection wires connected between the first light emitting device and the first pixel circuit; a plurality of second connection wires connected between the second light emitting device and the second pixel circuit, wherein a capacitance per unit area of the second connection wires is smaller than a capacitance per unit area of the first connection wires; and a plurality of compensation portions correspondingly connected to the plurality of the second connection wires, wherein the first connection wire and the second connection wire are disposed on different conductive layers, wherein the display panel further comprises: a substrate; a first conductive layer disposed on a side of the substrate; a first insulation layer disposed on a side of the first conductive layer away from the substrate; and a second conductive layer disposed on a side of the first insulation layer away from the substrate, and wherein the display panel further comprises: a second insulation layer disposed on a side of the second conductive layer away from the substrate; and a third conductive layer disposed on a side of the second insulation layer away from the substrate; wherein the third conductive layer comprises the second connection wires, the second conductive layer comprises the first connection wires, and the compensation portions are disposed at one or more of the first conductive layer, the second conductive layer, and the third conductive layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Yang 2 discloses a display panel (FIG. 2, depicting a display panel 100, Translation of CN111725287A at 3) including
a plurality of first connection wires connected between a first light emitting device and a first pixel circuit (FIG. 9, one of conductive structure 152, 153, or first wire body 151, e.g., first wire body 151, connecting a transistor of a first pixel driving circuit DC to a first light emitting unit PU, Translation of CN111725287A at 8);
a plurality of second connection wires connected between a second light emitting device and a second pixel circuit (FIG. 9, one of conductive structure 162, 163, or second wire body 161, e.g., second wire body 161, connecting a transistor of a second pixel driving circuit DC to a second light emitting unit PU, Translation of CN111725287A at 10),
wherein a capacitance per unit area of the second connection wires is smaller than a capacitance per unit area of the first connection wires (FIG. 9, depicting wherein the first wire body 151 is disposed on a different layer than the second wire body 161, such that the first wire body 151 is closer to the transistor of the first pixel driving circuit, and thus can form a capacitor with the first pixel driving circuit, and as a result, a capacitance per unit area of the first wire body 151 close to the transistor of the first pixel driving circuit is greater than a capacitance per unit area of the second wire body 161 far away from the second pixel driving circuit); and
a plurality of compensation portions correspondingly connected to the plurality of the second connection wires (FIG. 9, depicting, e.g., conductive structures 162 and 163 connected to the second wire body 161, Translation of CN111725287A at 10),
wherein the first connection wire and the second connection wire are disposed on different conductive layers (FIG. 9, depicting wherein the first wire body 151 is disposed on a different layer than the second wire body 161, such that the first wire body 151 is closer to the transistor of the first pixel driving circuit,
wherein the display panel further comprises:
a substrate (FIG. 9, substrate 110);
a first conductive layer disposed on a side of the substrate (FIG. 9, depicting a first conductive layer forming the conductive structures 153 and 163 disposed on a side of the substrate 110);
a first insulation layer disposed on a side of the first conductive layer away from the substrate (FIG. 9, insulating layer 240 disposed on a side of the first conductive layer away from the substrate 110, Translation of CN111725287A at 10); and
a second conductive layer disposed on a side of the first insulation layer away from the substrate (FIG. 9, depicting a second conductive layer forming the conductive structure 162 and the first wire body 151 on a side of the insulating layer 240 away from the substrate 110), and
wherein the display panel further comprises:
a second insulation layer disposed on a side of the second conductive layer away from the substrate (FIG. 9, insulating layer 130 disposed on a side of the second conductive layer away from the substrate 110, Translation of CN111725287A at 10); and
a third conductive layer disposed on a side of the second insulation layer away from the substrate (FIG. 9, depicting a third conductive layer forming the second wire body 161 and the conductive structure 152 disposed on a side of the insulating layer 130 away from the substrate 110);
wherein the third conductive layer comprises the second connection wires (FIG. 9, depicting wherein the third conductive layer forms the second connection wire 161),
the second conductive layer comprises the first connection wires (FIG. 9, depicting wherein the second conductive layer forms the first connection wire 151), and
the compensation portions are disposed at one or more of the first conductive layer, the second conductive layer, and the third conductive layer (FIG. 9, depicting wherein, e.g., the conductive structure 163 is disposed at the first conductive layer).
Regarding the configuration of the wire bodies and conductive structures, Yang 2 states: “The present invention provides a display panel, a display device, and a manufacturing method of the display panel, which can reasonably lay out the display panel to reduce the number of film layers of the display panel, thereby reducing the difficulty of the manufacturing process of the display panel.” Translation of CN111725287A at 3.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display panel of Yang 1 by adding the configuration of the wire bodies and conductive structures of Yang 2 in order to reduce the manufacturing difficulty of the display panel.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM D WEILAND/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813