DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 14 July 2023 and 26 June 2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: lines 2-3 of claim 20 recites “a group consisting of consisting of”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6-8, 10-11, 14, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kando (U. S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 20080106354).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kando (e. g. see FIG. 1, FIG. 6, [0036]-[0041]. [0069]) discloses an acoustic resonator (1) comprising: a piezoelectric layer (2); a first electrode (3) in contact with a first surface (2a) of the piezoelectric layer (2), a plurality of dielectric structures (5) in contact with the first surface (2a) of the piezoelectric layer (2); and a second electrode (4) in contact with a second surface (2b) of the piezoelectric layer (2) opposite the first surface (2a); wherein the first electrode (3) comprises a plurality of electrode structures (IDT); and wherein a dielectric structure (5) of the plurality of dielectric structures is in contact with a pair of neighboring electrode structures of the plurality of electrode structures (IDT).
Regarding claim 4, Kando (e. g. see FIG. 1, FIG. 6, FIG. 7A, FIG. 7B) discloses the first electrode (IDY) further comprises an electrode bar (33b) such that the plurality of electrode structures extends from the electrode bar (33b).
Regarding claim 6, Kando (e. g. see FIG. 1, FIG. 6, FIG. 7A, FIG. 7B) discloses the dielectric structure (5) covers opposite facing sidewalls of the pair of the neighboring electrode structures (IDT).
Regarding claim 7, Kando (e. g. see FIG. 1, FIG. 6, FIG. 7A, FIG. 7B) discloses the dielectric structure (5) extends from between the neighboring electrode structures (IDT) along the opposite facing sidewalls to over the neighboring electrode structures (IDT).
Regarding claim 8, Kando (e. g. see FIG. 1, FIG. 6, FIG. 7A, FIG. 7B, [0039]) discloses the plurality of electrode structures (IDT) has a first thickness; and wherein the plurality of dielectric structures (5) has a second thickness not equal to the first thickness ([0039] The first and the second IDT electrode 3 and 4 may be made of different materials and may have different thicknesses. [0043] The first and second insulating films 5 and 6 may be made of different materials. The first and second insulating films 5 and 6 may have the same thickness or different thicknesses.)
Regarding claim 10, Kando (e. g. see FIG. 1, FIG. 6, [0091]) discloses the plurality of dielectric structures comprises any one material selected from a group consisting of aluminum oxide (AI2O3), silicon nitride (Si3N4), silicon dioxide (SiO2), zinc oxide (ZnO), aluminum nitride (AIN), scandium aluminum nitride (ScAIN), hafnium oxide (HfO2), titanium oxide (TiO2), ruthenium oxide (RuO2), hafnium silicate (HfSiO4), zirconium oxide (Z1O2), zirconium silicate (ZrSiO4), tantalum oxide (Ta2O5), hafnium zirconium oxide (HfZrO4) ([0091] A material for forming the dielectric substrate is not particularly limited and the following materials can be used to form the dielectric substrate: SiO2, Si, glass, SiC, AlN, and Al2O3. Various dielectric materials can be used to form the dielectric substrate other than the above materials having no piezoelectric characteristics.)
Regarding independent claim 11, Kando (e. g. see FIG. 1, FIG. 6, [0036]-[0041]. [0069]) discloses a method of forming an acoustic resonator (2), the method comprising: forming a first electrode (3) in contact with a first surface (2a) of a piezoelectric layer (2); forming a plurality of dielectric structures (5) in contact with the first surface (2a) of the piezoelectric layer (2); and forming a second electrode (4) in contact with a second surface (2b) of the piezoelectric layer (2) opposite the first surface (2a); wherein the first electrode (3) comprises a plurality of electrode structures (IDT); and wherein a dielectric structure of the plurality of dielectric structures (5) is in contact with a pair of neighboring electrode structures of the plurality of electrode structures (IDT).
Regarding claim 14, Kando (e. g. see FIG. 1, FIG. 6, FIG. 7A, FIG. 7B) discloses the first electrode further comprises an electrode bar (33a) such that the plurality of electrode structures (IDT) extends from the electrode bar (33a).
Regarding claim 16, Kando (e. g. see FIG. 1, FIG. 6, FIG. 7A, FIG. 7B) discloses the dielectric structure (5) covers opposite facing sidewalls of the pair of the neighboring electrode structures (IDT).
Regarding claim 17, Kando (e. g. see FIG. 1, FIG. 6, FIG. 7A, FIG. 7B) discloses the dielectric structure (5) extends from between the neighboring electrode structures (IDT) along the opposite facing sidewalls to over the neighboring electrode structures (IDT).
Regarding claim 18, Kando (e. g. see FIG. 1, FIG. 6, FIG. 7A, FIG. 7B, [0039]) discloses the plurality of electrode structures (IDT) has a first thickness; and wherein the plurality of dielectric structures (5) has a second thickness not equal to the first thickness ([0039] The first and the second IDT electrode 3 and 4 may be made of different materials and may have different thicknesses. [0043] The first and second insulating films 5 and 6 may be made of different materials. The first and second insulating films 5 and 6 may have the same thickness or different thicknesses.)
Regarding claim 20, Kando (e. g. see FIG. 1, FIG. 6, [0091]) discloses the plurality of dielectric structures comprises any one material selected from a group consisting of aluminum oxide (AI2O3), silicon nitride (Si3N4), silicon dioxide (SiO2), zinc oxide (ZnO), aluminum nitride (AIN), hafnium oxide (HfO2), titanium oxide (TiO2), ruthenium oxide (RuO2), hafnium silicate (HfSiO4), zirconium oxide (ZrO2), zirconium silicate (ZrSiO4), tantalum oxide (Ta2O5), hafnium zirconium oxide (HfZrO4) ([0091] A material for forming the dielectric substrate is not particularly limited and the following materials can be used to form the dielectric substrate: SiO2, Si, glass, SiC, AlN, and Al2O3. Various dielectric materials can be used to form the dielectric substrate other than the above materials having no piezoelectric characteristics.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kando (U. S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 20080106354) in view of Wu et al. (U. S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 20080106354).
Regarding claim 2 and claim 12, Kando fails to disclose a pitch between one pair of neighboring electrode structures of the plurality of electrode structures and a pitch between another pair of neighboring electrode structures of the plurality of electrode structures is equal.
However, Wu et al. (e. g. see FIG. 1A, [0051]) teaches a pitch between one pair of neighboring electrode structures of the plurality of electrode structures (IDT fingers) and a pitch between another pair of neighboring electrode structures (IDT fingers) of the plurality of electrode structures is equal ([0051] the SAW wavelength is defined using interdigital transducer (IDT) electrodes with a pitch equal to λ/2.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date or the priority date of the application, to modify the boundary acoustic wave device of Kando to include “a pitch between one pair of neighboring electrode structures of the plurality of electrode structures and a pitch between another pair of neighboring electrode structures of the plurality of electrode structures is equal” as taught by Wu et al. for the purpose of dynamically controlling wave phase, frequency, and direction in order to enhance the design of wideband filters in surface acoustic wave device driven by the requirements of applications.
Regarding claim 3 and claim 13, Kando fails to disclose a pitch between one pair of neighboring electrode structures of the plurality of electrode structures is not equal to a pitch between another pair of neighboring electrode structures of the plurality of electrode structures.
Wu et al. (e. g. see FIG. 1B, [0059]), however, also teaches a pitch (210) between one pair of neighboring electrode structures (IDT 202) of the plurality of electrode structures (IDT 202) is not equal to a pitch between another pair of neighboring electrode structures (IDT 202) of the plurality of electrode structures (IDT 202) ([0059] The IDT region may include IDT electrodes 202 which may include a variable pitch 210.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date or the priority date of the application, to modify the boundary acoustic wave device of Kando to include “a pitch between one pair of neighboring electrode structures of the plurality of electrode structures is not equal to a pitch between another pair of neighboring electrode structures of the plurality of electrode structures” as taught by Wu et al. for the purpose of dynamically controlling wave phase, frequency, and direction in order to enhance the design of wideband filters in surface acoustic wave device driven by the requirements of applications.
Since Kando and Wu et al. are both from the same field of endeavor (acoustic wave device), the purpose disclosed by Wu et al. would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Kando.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kando (U. S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 20080106354) in view of Shimozono (U. S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 20120146746).
Regarding claim 5 and 15, Kando discloses every aspect of the invention except for the first electrode is a mesh.
Shimozono (e. g. see [0048]), however, teaches the first electrode is a mesh ([0048] Two comb-shaped electrodes 19 are arranged so that their plurality of electrode fingers 19f mesh with each other.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date or the priority date of the application, to modify the boundary acoustic wave device of Kando to include “the first electrode is a mesh” as taught by Shimozono for the purpose of reducing mechanical stress and increasing active surface area in order to obtain major benefits in device sensitivity, flexibility, and energy conversion.
Since Kando and Shimozono are both from the same field of endeavor (acoustic wave device), the purpose disclosed by Shimozono would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Kando.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kando (U. S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 20080106354) in view of Hahn et al. (U. S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 20190311734).
Regarding claim 9 and claim 19, Kando fails to disclose the plurality of electrode structures is configured to be applied with a first voltage and the second electrode is configured to be applied with a second voltage different from the first voltage.
Hahn et al. (e. g. see [0030], [0031], [0035], [0036], [0072], [0073], [0104], claims 3 and 12), however, teaches the plurality of electrode structures (3124) is configured to be applied with a first voltage (positive voltage) and the second electrode (3128) is configured to be applied with a second voltage (negative voltage) different from the first voltage (positive voltage) ([0104] a positive voltage (Vp+) is applied to electrode 3124; a negative voltage (Vp−) is applied to electrode 3128).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date or the priority date of the application, to modify the boundary acoustic wave device of Kando to include “the plurality of electrode structures is configured to be applied with a first voltage and the second electrode is configured to be applied with a second voltage different from the first voltage” as taught by Hahn et al. for the purpose of causing the piezoelectric layer to expand or contract.
Since Kando and Hahn et al. are both from the same field of endeavor (acoustic wave device), the purpose disclosed by Hahn et al. would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Kando.
Examiner’s Note:
In this Office Action, Examiner has cited particular figures, column numbers, paragraph numbers, and line numbers of the prior arts applied in the rejections. However, other figures and passages of the same prior arts may anticipate the claim limitations as well. Therefore, Applicants are respectfully requested to consider the prior arts in their entirety as potentially teaching claimed invention.
For amendment purpose, Applicants are very much appreciated for indicating the portion(s) of the specification which dictates the structure(s) relied on for proper interpretation as well as for verification and determination of the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. Applicants’ indication of the specific figures and items of figures which represent features of the invention disclosed in the amended claims, is also expected.
Additionally, in the event that other prior art(s) is/are provided and made of record by the Examiner as being relevant or pertinent to applicant's disclosure but not relied upon, the examiner requests that the reference(s) be considered in any subsequent amendments, as the reference(s) is also representative of the teachings of the art and may apply to the specific limitations of any newly amended claim(s).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Iwasaki et al. (U. S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 20190379346) discloses an acoustic wave device including a piezoelectric substrate, an IDT electrode including plural electrode fingers disposed above an upper surface of the piezoelectric substrate, a first dielectric film made of oxide disposed above the upper surface of the substrate for covering the electrode fingers, and a second dielectric film made of non-oxide disposed on upper surfaces of the electrode fingers and between the first dielectric film and each of the electrode fingers. The first dielectric film contacts the upper surface of the piezoelectric substrate between electrode fingers out of the plural electrode fingers adjacent to each other.
Contact Information
22 June 2026
/EMILY P PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837