DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the cam-like formation is configured at least partially in a concave “and/or convex manner” on line 3 of claim 8, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “milling member” and “actuation member” throughout claims 1-10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites in:
Line 6 “a geometrically determined blade”. However, it is unclear what exactly is catalogued as a “geometrically determined” blade. How can a blade be “geometrically determined”? Further clarification is needed
Line 7 “profile having a transverse profile”. However, it is unclear in relation to what is this profile considered “transverse”. Further clarification is needed.
Line 16 “a formation”, however it is unclear what exactly is a “formation”. Formation of what? Further clarification is needed
Line 16 “a formation which has an inclination, of the blade carrier”. It is unclear if the formation has an inclination, or if the blade carrier has an inclination, or of the formation is on the blade carrier? Further clarification is needed.
Line 17 “a first functional position”. It is unclear what exactly is catalogued as a first functional position. Functional in relation to what? From where to where is this position defined at? Further clarification is needed
Lines 19-20 “a second functional position”. It is unclear what exactly is catalogued as a second functional position. Functional in relation to what? From where to where is this position defined at? Further clarification is needed
Line 22 a second group of the plurality of blade carriers of “a same track path of the one or more track paths”. However, since line 18-19 that “the first group of movable blade carrier of one or more track paths”, it is confusing if the first and second group of the plurality of blade carriers are each on the same one or more track paths or not. As such, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear. Further clarification is needed.
Claim 2 recites in line 3 that the second group of the plurality of blade carriers “are arranged in a non-movable manner on the milling member”. However, it is unclear in relation to what are these blade carrier considered to be “non-movable manner”. Since the milling member rotates, then because the blade carriers are disposed on the milling member, then the blade carriers are movable with the milling member. As such, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear.
Claim 4 the phrase “associated with” in lines 5 and 8 renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear how exactly the first track path is associated with a running face of the transverse profile and how the second track path is associated with a lateral and/or medial edge region of the transverse profile. Additionally, it is unclear what exactly is a running face of the transverse profile. Further clarification is needed.
Claim 7 line 3 the phrase “cam-like formation” renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear what the metes and bounds of something that is cam-like, are. Is it a cam or not? Further clarification is needed. Line 5 recites “chip-removing processing processing”, the double “processing processing” is unclear. Further clarification is needed.
Claim 8 line 2 the phrase “cam-like formation” renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear what the metes and bounds of something that is cam-like, are. Is it a cam or not? Further clarification is needed.
Claim 9 the phrase “can be” renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear if the plurality of actuation members are actually being adjusted independently of each other, or not. Further clarification is needed.
Claim 10 recites in lines 7-8 Line 7 “produce different transverse profile geometries of the profile”. However, it is unclear in relation to what is this profile considered “transverse”. What are “transverse profile geometries” of the profile? Further clarification is needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mevert et al. US 2011/0243678 (hereafter—Mevert--).
In regards to claim 1, Mevert discloses an apparatus (1) comprising: a milling member (4) capable of being driven in a rotational manner, and a plurality of blade carriers (5) attached to the milling member, (4) each blade carrier having a geometrically determined blade (2) for the chip-removing processing of a profile (3) the profile having a transverse profile of a rail of a track member (in the same way as presented by Applicant), wherein a first group of the plurality of blade carriers (5) is capable of being moved relative to the milling member (4) in order to adjust different working positions during engagement of the blade (2) of the respective movable blade carrier (5) in the profile (3), each movable blade carrier (5) is arranged so as to be capable to be radially deflected on the milling member (4) by an actuation member (7) during a rotating movement of the milling member (4) wherein the actuation member (7) cyclically comes into contact with a formation (6), which has an inclination (Figure 3), of the blade carrier (5), wherein in a first functional position, exclusively the blades (2) of the first group of movable blade carriers (5) of one or more track paths (18) move into engagement with the profile (3), and in a second functional position, exclusively blades (2) of a second group of the plurality of blade carriers (5), of a same track path (18) or of the one or more track paths (18) move into engagement with the profile (3).
In regards to claim 2, Mevert discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, Mevert also discloses that the blade carriers (5) of the second group of the plurality of blade carriers are arranged in a non-movable manner on the milling member (4) (in Figure 2, refer to the group that is not in contact with actuator 7 disposed on 13, but the actuator 7 whose axis 9 is parallel to axis of shaft 10).
In regards to claim 3, Mevert discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, Mevert also discloses that the movable blade carriers (5) of the first group of the plurality of blade carriers and/or movable blade carriers (5) of another group of the plurality of blade carriers are configured to be able to be deflected by a respective actuation member (7).
In regards to claim 4, Mevert discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 2, Mevert also discloses that the plurality of blade carriers (5) are arranged beside each other in a direction of a rotation axis (9) in adjacent track paths (18), wherein exclusively movable blade carriers (5) are arranged in at least a first track path (18) that is associated with a running face of the transverse profile (3), and different groups of movable blade carriers (5) and non-movable blade carriers (5) are arranged in at least a second track path (18) that is associated with a lateral and/or a medial edge region of the transverse profile (see Figure 2 and Figure 4, in the same way as presented by Applicant).
In regards to claim 5, Mevert discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 2, Mevert also discloses that adjacent blade carriers (5) of different track paths (18) are arranged with an offset in a circumferential direction (see Figures 2 and 4).
In regards to claim 6, Mevert discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 4, Mevert also discloses that the movable blade carriers (5) and/or non-movable blade carriers (5) of different groups of the same track path (18) are arranged in the circumferential direction alternately and/or in a state distributed uniformly on the profile milling member (see Figures 2 and 4).
In regards to claim 7, Mevert discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, Mevert also discloses that the formation (6) is a cam-like formation (6) and has an inclination (see Figure 3), against which the actuation member (7) cyclically abuts in a sliding and/or rolling manner during the chip-removing processing processing (in the same way as presented by Applicant).
In regards to claim 8, Mevert discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 7, Mevert also discloses that the cam-like formation (6) is configured at least partially in a concave and/or convex manner (in the same way as presented by Applicant on Figure 2, see Figure 3 of Mevert).
In regards to claim 9, Mevert discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, Mevert also discloses that the apparatus (1) comprises a plurality of actuation members (7) that can be adjusted independently of each other.
In regards to claim 10, Mevert discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, Mevert also discloses a method comprising: cyclically deflecting a blade (2) during the chip-removing processing of the profile (3) with respect to an axis (9) of the milling member (4) thereby moving the blade (2) along a planar path (8), and during the processing of the profile (3), in order to produce different transverse profile geometries of the same profile (3), activating at least one actuation member, (7) so that either blades (2) of a first group of movable blade carriers (5) of at least one track path (18) or blades (2) of a second group of a plurality of blade carriers (5) that are arranged on the milling member (4) of the same track path (18) engage in the profile (3).
Conclusion
/NICOLE N RAMOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722