DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4, 9-14, 16-24, and 26 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-4, 9-14, and 16-24 are amended.
Claims 5-8, 15, and 25 are canceled.
Claim 26 is new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 13, and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, 10, 13, 14, 16, 18, 20, 23, 24, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al., (hereinafter Zhang), U.S. Publication No. 2022/0150945 (Provisional Support 63/198753, fig. 4-6, paragraphs 0058, 0060-0065, 0070, 0084, 0085), in view of Svedman et al., (hereinafter Svedman), U.S. Publication No. 2024/0014880, (Provisional Support 63/104179, paragraphs 0052, 0064-0069, 0087, 0105, 0106, 0208-0211).
As per claim 1, Zhang discloses a method, comprising:
receiving a higher layer parameter to enable a common uplink (UL) beam for UL transmission for a serving cell [fig. 4-6, paragraphs 0061, 0063-0065, 0069, 0073, 0087, receiving a higher layer parameter to enable a common uplink (UL) beam for UL transmission for a serving cell (the base station 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, DCI that indicates a TCI state associated with a common beam; uplink beam activation commands are communicated using higher-layer signaling, such as an RRC message or a MAC-CE; the UE 120 may activate the common beam indicated by the TCI state for use in a particular serving cell)];
receiving a downlink control information (DCI) of a DCI format 1_1 or a DCI format 1_2 including a transmission configuration indication (TCI) field indicating a TCI state based on the higher layer parameter [paragraphs 0060, 0061, 0067, 0068, receiving a downlink control information (DCI) of a DCI format 1_1 or a DCI format 1_2 including a transmission configuration indication (TCI) field indicating a TCI state based on the higher layer parameter (the DCI that indicates the TCI state may be associated with a DCI format; DCI formats 1_0, 1_1, or 1_2; uplink beam activation commands are communicated using higher-layer signaling, such as an RRC message)]; and
determining the common UL beam and power control parameters for the UL transmission according to the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI [fig. 4-6, paragraphs 0044, 0064-0068, determining the common UL beam for the UL transmission and power control parameters for the UL transmission according to the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI (DCI format to indicate transmit power control commands; the DCI that indicates the TCI state may be associated with a DCI format that is associated with indicating the TCI state; uplink TCI state may be associated with a common beam to be used to communicate any suitable combination of downlink signals and/or uplink signals)].
Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI is associated with a control resource set (CORESET); and determining the common UL beam and power control parameters for the UL transmission according to the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI and the CORESET.
However, Svedman teaches wherein the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI is associated with a control resource set (CORESET) [paragraphs 0112, 0114, (the TCI state(s) indication for common beam operation is configurable … network may additionally configure the location of this field in a DCI … TCI state is applied to CORESET(s))]; and determining the common UL beam and power control parameters for the UL transmission according to the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI and the CORESET [paragraphs 0103, 0188, 0227, 0230, determining the common UL beam and power control parameters for the UL transmission according to the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI and the CORESET (common beam update (e.g., M TCI states or a subset thereof) is applied also to all or a subset of the configured CSI-RS, in addition to CORESET(s); the transmit powers of all SRS resources with the same spatial relation or UL TCI state)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Zhang by including wherein the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI is associated with a control resource set as taught by Svedman because it would provide the Zhang’s method with the enhanced capability of proving overhead reduction by common beam operation [Svedman, paragraphs 0006, 0065, 0194].
As per claim 2, Zhang discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein, the common UL beam for the UL transmission is determined by a quasi co-location(QCL)-TypeD reference signal (RS) configured in the TCI state indicated in the TCI field in the DCI with a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) assignment for the UE with joint DL/UL beam indication capability [paragraphs 0054, 0058, 0067, 0068, 0072, 0073, 0095, wherein, the common UL beam for the UL transmission is determined by a quasi co-location(QCL)-TypeD reference signal (RS) configured in the TCI state indicated in the TCI field in the DCI with a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) assignment for the UE with joint DL/UL beam indication capability (the TCI state may be associated with a QCL source reference signal per QCL type; TCI state may be associated with one downlink reference signal set for different QCL types (e.g., QCL types for different combinations of Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, delay spread, or spatial receive parameters, among other examples); the TCI state may be indicated in a DCI associated with DCI formats 1_0, 1_1, or 1_2 for PDSCH scheduling; apply the joint downlink and uplink TCI state)].
As per claim 3, Zhang discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein, the common UL beam for the UL transmission is determined by spatialRelationlnfo configured in an UL TCI state indicated in the TCI field in the DCI without a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) assignment for the UE with separate downlink(DL)/UL beam indication capability [paragraphs 0057, 0060, 0061, 0067, 0068, 0073, wherein, the common UL beam for the UL transmission is determined by spatialRelationlnfo configured in an UL TCI state indicated in the TCI field in the DCI without a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) assignment for the UE with separate downlink(DL)/UL beam indication capability (uplink beam, such as a UE transmit beam 315 or a BS receive beam 320, may be associated with a spatial relation; spatial relation may indicate a directionality or a characteristic of the uplink beam, similar to one or more QCL properties; applying separate downlink and uplink beam activation commands)].
As per claim 4, Zhang discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the TCI state is associated with a set of power control parameters for both physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission and physical uplink shared channel PUSCH) transmission, or is associated with two sets of power control parameters including one set of the power control parameters for the PUCCH transmission and another set of the power control parameters for the PUSCH transmission [paragraphs 0058, 0067, 0070, 0071, wherein, the TCI state is associated with a set of power control parameters for both physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission and physical uplink shared channel PUSCH) transmission (DCI formats 0_0, 0_1, or 0_2 for PUSCH scheduling; uplink signal(s) associated with the TCI state may include, for example, a PUCCH, a PUSCH; the DCI may signal one TCI state to indicate a common beam to be used for different signals communicated using the common beam, which may include any suitable combination of downlink signals and/or uplink signals)].
Zhang does not explicitly discloses wherein each set of the power control parameters at least includes a pathloss reference signal (PL-RS).
However, Svedman teaches wherein each set of the power control parameters at least includes a pathloss reference signal (PL-RS) [paragraphs 0220-0223, wherein each set of the power control parameters at least includes a pathloss reference signal (a pathloss RS, e.g., an RS used to, at least partly, determine UL transmit power)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Zhang by including wherein each set of the power control parameters at least includes a pathloss reference signal as taught by Svedman because it would provide the Zhang’s method with the enhanced capability of proving overhead reduction by common beam operation [Svedman, paragraphs 0006, 0065, 0194].
As per claim 9, Zhang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein, if a higher layer parameter CORESETPoolIndex is configured for each control resource set(CORESET), the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI only applies to:
a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission scheduled by a UL DCI transmitted from the CORESET configured with a same value as that configured for the CORESET transmitting the DCI; a configured grant (CG)-PUSCHassociated with the same value as that configured for the CORESET transmitting the DCI; and physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources associated with the same value as that configured for the CORESET transmitting the DCI [paragraphs 0055, 0070, 0092, 0114, a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission scheduled by a UL DCI transmitted from the CORESET configured with a same value as that configured for the CORESET transmitting the DCI; a configured grant (CG)-PUSCHassociated with the same value as that configured for the CORESET transmitting the DCI; and physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources associated with the same value as that configured for the CORESET transmitting the DCI (the TCI state may be applicable to downlink and uplink control and data channels (e.g., a joint PDCCH/PDSCH/PUCCH/PUSCH TCI state), in which case the DCI contents may include a CORESET identifier, a PDSCH resource identifier, a PUCCH resource identifier, and/or a PUSCH resource identifier)].
Zhang does not explicitly discloses the CORESET configured with a same CORESETPoolIndex value.
However, Svedman teaches the CORESET configured with a same CORESETPoolIndex value [paragraphs 0068-0072, the CORESET configured with a same CORESETPoolIndex value (a TCI state indication/activation/update in a DCI or a MAC CE may apply to a subset of CORESETs associated with a certain CORESET pool index value (e.g., 0 or 1), e.g., through parameter coresetPoolIndex-r16)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Zhang by including wherein the CORESET configured with a same CORESETPoolIndex value as taught by Svedman because it would provide the Zhang’s method with the enhanced capability of proving overhead reduction by common beam operation [Svedman, paragraphs 0006, 0065, 0194].
As per claim 10, Zhang discloses the method of claim 1, Zhang does not explicitly discloses further comprising: receiving a configuration of one or more cell lists each of which is composed of one or multiple serving cells, wherein the common UL beam for the UL transmission is enabled for all serving cells in a cell list containing the serving cell.
However, Svedman teaches receiving a configuration of one or more cell lists each of which is composed of one or multiple serving cells, wherein the common UL beam for the UL transmission is enabled for all serving cells in a cell list containing the serving cell [paragraphs 0067, 0068, 0199, receiving a configuration of one or more cell lists each of which is composed of one or multiple serving cells, wherein the common UL beam for the UL transmission is enabled for all serving cells in a cell list containing the serving cell (TCI state(s) may be applied to one or more serving cells, e.g., cells in a band or cells in a configured list of serving cells; common beam operation, source reference signal(s) in M (e.g., M=1 or M≥1) TCIs (e.g., TCI states or TCI codepoints) provide common QCL information)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Zhang by receiving a configuration of one or more cell lists as taught by Svedman because it would provide the Zhang’s method with the enhanced capability of proving overhead reduction by common beam operation [Svedman, paragraphs 0006, 0065, 0194].
As per claim 13, Zhang discloses a base unit for wireless communication, comprising, comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory [fig. 2, paragraphs 0034, 0041, 0045, 0046, at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (a processor (e.g., controller/processor 240) and memory 242)] and configured to cause the base unit to:
transmit a higher layer parameter to enable a common uplink(UL) beam for UL transmission for a serving cell [fig. 4-6, paragraphs 0061, 0063-0065, 0069, 0073, 0087, transmit a higher layer parameter to enable a common uplink(UL) beam for UL transmission for a serving cell (the base station 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, DCI that indicates a TCI state associated with a common beam; uplink beam activation commands are communicated using higher-layer signaling, such as an RRC message or a MAC-CE; the UE 120 may activate the common beam indicated by the TCI state for use in a particular serving cell)];
transmit a downlink control information (DCI) of a DCI format 1_1 or a DCI format 1_2 including a transmission configuration indication (TCI) field indicating a TCI state based on the higher layer parameter [paragraphs 0060, 0061, 0067, 0068, transmit a downlink control information (DCI) of a DCI format 1_1 or a DCI format 1_2 including a transmission configuration indication (TCI) field indicating a TCI state based on the higher layer parameter (the DCI that indicates the TCI state may be associated with a DCI format; DCI formats 1_0, 1_1, or 1_2; uplink beam activation commands are communicated using higher-layer signaling, such as an RRC message)]; and
determine the common UL beam and power control parameters for the UL transmission according to the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI [fig. 4-6, paragraphs 0044, 0064-0068, determine the common UL beam for the UL transmission and power control parameters for the UL transmission according to the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI (DCI format to indicate transmit power control commands; the DCI that indicates the TCI state may be associated with a DCI format that is associated with indicating the TCI state; uplink TCI state may be associated with a common beam to be used to communicate any suitable combination of downlink signals and/or uplink signals)].
Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI is associated with a control resource set (CORESET); and determining the common UL beam and power control parameters for the UL transmission according to the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI and the CORESET.
However, Svedman teaches wherein the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI is associated with a control resource set (CORESET) [paragraphs 0112, 0114, (the TCI state(s) indication for common beam operation is configurable … network may additionally configure the location of this field in a DCI … TCI state is applied to CORESET(s))]; and determine the common UL beam and power control parameters for the UL transmission according to the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI and the CORESET [paragraphs 0103, 0188, 0227, 0230, determine the common UL beam and power control parameters for the UL transmission according to the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI and the CORESET (common beam update (e.g., M TCI states or a subset thereof) is applied also to all or a subset of the configured CSI-RS, in addition to CORESET(s); the transmit powers of all SRS resources with the same spatial relation or UL TCI state)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the base unit described in Zhang by including wherein the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI is associated with a control resource set as taught by Svedman because it would provide the Zhang’s base unit with the enhanced capability of proving overhead reduction by common beam operation [Svedman, paragraphs 0006, 0065, 0194].
As per claim 14, Zhang discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory [fig. 2, paragraphs 0034, 0041, 0044, 0047, at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (a processor (e.g., controller/processor 280) and memory 282)], the processor configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive a higher layer parameter to enable a common uplink (UL) beam for UL transmission for a serving cell [fig. 4-6, paragraphs 0061, 0063-0065, 0069, 0073, 0087, receiving a higher layer parameter to enable a common uplink (UL) beam for UL transmission for a serving cell (the base station 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, DCI that indicates a TCI state associated with a common beam; uplink beam activation commands are communicated using higher-layer signaling, such as an RRC message or a MAC-CE; the UE 120 may activate the common beam indicated by the TCI state for use in a particular serving cell)];
receive a downlink control information (DCI) of a DCI format 1_1 or a DCI format 1_2 including a transmission configuration indication (TCI) field indicating a TCI state based on the higher layer parameter [paragraphs 0060, 0061, 0067, 0068, receive a downlink control information (DCI) of a DCI format 1_1 or a DCI format 1_2 including a transmission configuration indication (TCI) field indicating a TCI state based on the higher layer parameter (the DCI that indicates the TCI state may be associated with a DCI format; DCI formats 1_0, 1_1, or 1_2; uplink beam activation commands are communicated using higher-layer signaling, such as an RRC message)]; and
determine the common UL beam and power control parameters for the UL transmission according to the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI [fig. 4-6, paragraphs 0044, 0064-0068, determine the common UL beam for the UL transmission and power control parameters for the UL transmission according to the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI (DCI format to indicate transmit power control commands; the DCI that indicates the TCI state may be associated with a DCI format that is associated with indicating the TCI state; uplink TCI state may be associated with a common beam to be used to communicate any suitable combination of downlink signals and/or uplink signals)].
Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI is associated with a control resource set (CORESET); and determine the common UL beam and power control parameters for the UL transmission according to the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI and the CORESET.
However, Svedman teaches wherein the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI is associated with a control resource set (CORESET) [paragraphs 0112, 0114, (the TCI state(s) indication for common beam operation is configurable … network may additionally configure the location of this field in a DCI … TCI state is applied to CORESET(s))]; and determine the common UL beam and power control parameters for the UL transmission according to the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI and the CORESET [paragraphs 0103, 0188, 0227, 0230, determine the common UL beam and power control parameters for the UL transmission according to the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI and the CORESET (common beam update (e.g., M TCI states or a subset thereof) is applied also to all or a subset of the configured CSI-RS, in addition to CORESET(s); the transmit powers of all SRS resources with the same spatial relation or UL TCI state)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the UE described in Zhang by including wherein the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI is associated with a control resource set as taught by Svedman because it would provide the Zhang’s UE with the enhanced capability of proving overhead reduction by common beam operation [Svedman, paragraphs 0006, 0065, 0194].
As per claim 16, Zhang discloses the UE of claim 14,
wherein the common UL beam for the UL transmission is determined by a quasi co-location (QCL)-TypeD reference signal (RS) configured in the TCI state indicated in the TCI field in the DCI with a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) assignment for the UE with joint DL/UL beam indication capability [paragraphs 0054, 0058, 0067, 0068, 0072, 0073, 0095, wherein the common UL beam for the UL transmission is determined by a quasi co-location (QCL)-TypeD reference signal (RS) configured in the TCI state indicated in the TCI field in the DCI with a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) assignment for the UE with joint DL/UL beam indication capability (the TCI state may be associated with a QCL source reference signal per QCL type; TCI state may be associated with one downlink reference signal set for different QCL types (e.g., QCL types for different combinations of Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, delay spread, or spatial receive parameters, among other examples); the TCI state may be indicated in a DCI associated with DCI formats 1_0, 1_1, or 1_2 for PDSCH scheduling; apply the joint downlink and uplink TCI state)].
As per claim 18, Zhang discloses the UE of claim 14,
wherein, the common UL beam for the UL transmission is determined by spatialRelationlnfo configured in an UL TCI state indicated in the TCI field in the DCI without a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) assignment for the UE with separate downlink(DL)/UL beam indication capability [paragraphs 0057, 0060, 0061, 0067, 0068, 0073, wherein, the common UL beam for the UL transmission is determined by spatialRelationlnfo configured in an UL TCI state indicated in the TCI field in the DCI without a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) assignment for the UE with separate downlink(DL)/UL beam indication capability (uplink beam, such as a UE transmit beam 315 or a BS receive beam 320, may be associated with a spatial relation; spatial relation may indicate a directionality or a characteristic of the uplink beam, similar to one or more QCL properties; applying separate downlink and uplink beam activation commands)].
As per claim 20, Zhang discloses the UE of claim 14,
wherein the TCI state is associated with a set of power control parameters for both physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission and physical uplink shared channel PUSCH) transmission, or is associated with two sets of power control parameters including one set of the power control parameters for the PUCCH transmission and another set of the power control parameters for the PUSCH transmission [paragraphs 0058, 0067, 0070, 0071, wherein, the TCI state is associated with a set of power control parameters for both physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission and physical uplink shared channel PUSCH) transmission (DCI formats 0_0, 0_1, or 0_2 for PUSCH scheduling; uplink signal(s) associated with the TCI state may include, for example, a PUCCH, a PUSCH; the DCI may signal one TCI state to indicate a common beam to be used for different signals communicated using the common beam, which may include any suitable combination of downlink signals and/or uplink signals)].
Zhang does not explicitly discloses wherein each set of the power control parameters at least includes a pathloss reference signal (PL-RS).
However, Svedman teaches wherein each set of the power control parameters at least includes a pathloss reference signal (PL-RS) [paragraphs 0220-0223, wherein each set of the power control parameters at least includes a pathloss reference signal (a pathloss RS, e.g., an RS used to, at least partly, determine UL transmit power)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the UE described in Zhang by including wherein each set of the power control parameters at least includes a pathloss reference signal as taught by Svedman because it would provide the Zhang’s UE with the enhanced capability of proving overhead reduction by common beam operation [Svedman, paragraphs 0006, 0065, 0194].
As per claim 23, Zhang discloses the UE of claim 14, wherein, if a higher layer parameter CORESETPoolIndex is configured for each control resource set (CORESET), the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI only applies to:
a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission scheduled by a UL DCI transmitted from the CORESET configured with a same value as that configured for the CORESET transmitting the DCI; a configured grant (CG)-PUSCHassociated with the same value as that configured for the CORESET transmitting the DCI; and physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources associated with the same value as that configured for the CORESET transmitting the DCI [paragraphs 0055, 0070, 0092, 0114, a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission scheduled by a UL DCI transmitted from the CORESET configured with a same value as that configured for the CORESET transmitting the DCI; a configured grant (CG)-PUSCHassociated with the same value as that configured for the CORESET transmitting the DCI; and physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources associated with the same value as that configured for the CORESET transmitting the DCI (the TCI state may be applicable to downlink and uplink control and data channels (e.g., a joint PDCCH/PDSCH/PUCCH/PUSCH TCI state), in which case the DCI contents may include a CORESET identifier, a PDSCH resource identifier, a PUCCH resource identifier, and/or a PUSCH resource identifier)].
Zhang does not explicitly discloses the CORESET configured with a same CORESETPoolIndex value.
However, Svedman teaches the CORESET configured with a same CORESETPoolIndex value [paragraphs 0068-0072, the CORESET configured with a same CORESETPoolIndex value (a TCI state indication/activation/update in a DCI or a MAC CE may apply to a subset of CORESETs associated with a certain CORESET pool index value (e.g., 0 or 1), e.g., through parameter coresetPoolIndex-r16)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the UE described in Zhang by including wherein the CORESET configured with a same CORESETPoolIndex value as taught by Svedman because it would provide the Zhang’s UE with the enhanced capability of proving overhead reduction by common beam operation [Svedman, paragraphs 0006, 0065, 0194].
As per claim 24, Zhang discloses the UE of claim 14, Zhang does not explicitly discloses wherein the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to receive a configuration of one or more cell lists each of which is composed of one or multiple serving cells, wherein the common UL beam for the UL transmission is enabled for all serving cells in a cell list containing the serving cell.
However, Svedman teaches receive a configuration of one or more cell lists each of which is composed of one or multiple serving cells, wherein the common UL beam for the UL transmission is enabled for all serving cells in a cell list containing the serving cell [paragraphs 0067, 0068, 0199, receive a configuration of one or more cell lists each of which is composed of one or multiple serving cells, wherein the common UL beam for the UL transmission is enabled for all serving cells in a cell list containing the serving cell (TCI state(s) may be applied to one or more serving cells, e.g., cells in a band or cells in a configured list of serving cells; common beam operation, source reference signal(s) in M (e.g., M=1 or M≥1) TCIs (e.g., TCI states or TCI codepoints) provide common QCL information)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the UE described in Zhang by receiving a configuration of one or more cell lists as taught by Svedman because it would provide the Zhang’s UE with the enhanced capability of proving overhead reduction by common beam operation [Svedman, paragraphs 0006, 0065, 0194].
As per claim 26, Zhang discloses a method performed by a base unit, the method comprising:
transmit a higher layer parameter to enable a common uplink(UL) beam for UL transmission for a serving cell [fig. 4-6, paragraphs 0061, 0063-0065, 0069, 0073, 0087, transmit a higher layer parameter to enable a common uplink(UL) beam for UL transmission for a serving cell (the base station 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, DCI that indicates a TCI state associated with a common beam; uplink beam activation commands are communicated using higher-layer signaling, such as an RRC message or a MAC-CE; the UE 120 may activate the common beam indicated by the TCI state for use in a particular serving cell)];
transmit a downlink control information (DCI) of a DCI format 1_1 or a DCI format 1_2 including a transmission configuration indication (TCI) field indicating a TCI state based on the higher layer parameter [paragraphs 0060, 0061, 0067, 0068, transmit a downlink control information (DCI) of a DCI format 1_1 or a DCI format 1_2 including a transmission configuration indication (TCI) field indicating a TCI state based on the higher layer parameter (the DCI that indicates the TCI state may be associated with a DCI format; DCI formats 1_0, 1_1, or 1_2; uplink beam activation commands are communicated using higher-layer signaling, such as an RRC message)]; and determine the common UL beam and power control parameters for the UL transmission according to the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI [fig. 4-6, paragraphs 0044, 0064-0068, determine the common UL beam for the UL transmission and power control parameters for the UL transmission according to the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI (DCI format to indicate transmit power control commands; the DCI that indicates the TCI state may be associated with a DCI format that is associated with indicating the TCI state; uplink TCI state may be associated with a common beam to be used to communicate any suitable combination of downlink signals and/or uplink signals)].
Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI is associated with a control resource set (CORESET); and determine the common UL beam and power control parameters for the UL transmission according to the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI and the CORESET.
However, Svedman teaches wherein the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI is associated with a control resource set (CORESET) [paragraphs 0112, 0114, (the TCI state(s) indication for common beam operation is configurable … network may additionally configure the location of this field in a DCI … TCI state is applied to CORESET(s))]; and determine the common UL beam and power control parameters for the UL transmission according to the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI and the CORESET [paragraphs 0103, 0188, 0227, 0230, determine the common UL beam and power control parameters for the UL transmission according to the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI and the CORESET (common beam update (e.g., M TCI states or a subset thereof) is applied also to all or a subset of the configured CSI-RS, in addition to CORESET(s); the transmit powers of all SRS resources with the same spatial relation or UL TCI state)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Zhang by including wherein the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI is associated with a control resource set as taught by Svedman because it would provide the Zhang’s method with the enhanced capability of proving overhead reduction by common beam operation [Svedman, paragraphs 0006, 0065, 0194].
Claim(s) 12, 17, 19, 21, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, in view of Svedman, and in further view of Yi et al., U.S. Publication No. 2023/0239125.
As per claim 12, Zhang discloses the method of claim 11, Zhang does not explicitly discloses wherein a duration of the predetermined number of symbols is determined by a smallest of subcarrier space (SCS) configurations of active downlink (DL) bandwidth parts (BWPs) of all of the serving cells in the cell list.
However, Yi teaches wherein, a duration of the predetermined number of symbols is determined by a smallest of subcarrier space (SCS) configurations of active downlink (DL) bandwidth parts (BWPs) of all of the serving cells in the cell list [paragraphs 0113, 0360, 0418, 0425, 0438, 0439, wherein, a duration of the predetermined number of symbols is determined by a smallest of subcarrier space (SCS) configurations of active downlink (DL) bandwidth parts (BWPs) of all of the serving cells in the cell list (one or more first active TCI states with a smallest index value; the wireless device may determine the default DL TCI state based on one or more coresets configured for an active BWP of the serving cell; numerology with a higher subcarrier spacing has a shorter slot duration)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Zhang by including a duration of the predetermined number of symbols is determined by a smallest of subcarrier space (SCS) configurations as taught by Yi because it would provide the Zhang’s method with the enhanced capability of improving system throughput and/or transmission robustness for a wireless communication [Yi, paragraphs 0356, 0373].
As per claim 17, Zhang discloses the UE of claim 16, Zhang does not explicitly discloses wherein if no pathloss reference signal (PL-RS) is associated with a DL TCI state indicated in the TCI field in the DCI, a periodic DL RS with a same identifier (ID) as the QCL-TypeD RS contained in the indicated DL TCI state is determined as the PL-RS.
However, Yi teaches wherein if no pathloss reference signal (PL-RS) is associated with a DL TCI state indicated in the TCI field in the DCI, a periodic DL RS with a same identifier (ID) as the QCL-TypeD RS contained in the indicated DL TCI state is determined as the PL-RS [paragraphs 0224, 0225, 0242, 0243, 0283, 0351, 0383, wherein if no pathloss reference signal (PL-RS) is associated with a DL TCI state indicated in the TCI field in the DCI, a periodic DL RS with a same identifier (ID) as the QCL-TypeD RS contained in the indicated DL TCI state is determined as the PL-RS (a low path loss; a reception of the DCI and the PDSCH may be less than a threshold (e.g., Threshold-Sched-Offset); first QCL type (e.g., ‘QCL-TypeD’))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the UE described in Zhang by including wherein if no pathloss reference signal (PL-RS) is associated with the indicated DL TCI state as taught by Yi because it would provide the Zhang’s UE with the enhanced capability of improving system throughput and/or transmission robustness for a wireless communication [Yi, paragraphs 0356, 0373].
As per claim 19, Zhang discloses the UE of claim 18, Zhang does not explicitly discloses wherein if no pathloss reference signal (PL-RS) is associated with the indicated UL TCI state, a periodic DL RS with a same identifier (ID) as the spatialRelationlnfo configured in the indicated UL TCI state is determined as the PL-RS.
However, Yi teaches wherein if no pathloss reference signal (PL-RS) is associated with the indicated UL TCI state, a periodic DL RS with a same identifier (ID) as the spatialRelationlnfo configured in the indicated UL TCI state is determined as the PL-RS [paragraphs 0224, 0225, 0242, 0243, 0254, 0283, 0351, 0383, (a low path loss; a reception of the DCI and the PDSCH may be less than a threshold (e.g., Threshold-Sched-Offset); first QCL type (e.g., ‘QCL-TypeD’); the base station may configure the wireless device with a higher layer parameter spatialRelationInfo)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the UE described in Zhang by including wherein if no pathloss reference signal (PL-RS) is associated with the indicated DL TCI state as taught by Yi because it would provide the Zhang’s UE with the enhanced capability of improving system throughput and/or transmission robustness for a wireless communication [Yi, paragraphs 0356, 0373].
As per claim 21, Zhang discloses the UE of claim 20, Zhang does not explicitly discloses wherein the determined common UL beam for the UL transmission and a determined pathloss reference signal (PL-RS) apply to all PUSCH transmissions and PUCCH transmissions for the serving cell, starting from a first slot that is a predetermined number of symbols after acknowledgment of the DCI.
However, Yi teaches wherein the determined common UL beam for the UL transmission and a determined pathloss reference signal (PL-RS) apply to all PUSCH transmissions and PUCCH transmissions for the serving cell, starting from a first slot that is a predetermined number of symbols after acknowledgment of the DCI [paragraphs 0155, 0176, 0238, 0455, wherein the determined common UL beam for the UL transmission and a determined pathloss reference signal (PL-RS) apply to all PUSCH transmissions and PUCCH transmissions for the serving cell, starting from a first slot that is a predetermined number of symbols after acknowledgment of the DCI (wireless device may determine a spatial domain filter parameter (or a TCI state) of a PUSCH via a cell based on a TCI state) of a coreset with a lowest index among one or more coresets of the cell when default beam pathloss for PUSCH; base station may semi-statically configure the UE with a number (e.g. maximum number) of front-loaded DMRS symbols for the PUSCH and/or the PUCCH)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the UE described in Zhang by including wherein the determined common UL beam for the UL transmission as taught by Yi because it would provide the Zhang’s UE with the enhanced capability of improving system throughput and/or transmission robustness for a wireless communication [Yi, paragraphs 0356, 0373].
As per claim 22, Zhang discloses the UE of claim 21, Zhang does not explicitly discloses wherein a duration of the predetermined number of symbols is determined by one of a subcarrier space (SCS) configuration of an active downlink (DL) bandwidth part (BWP) for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception carrying the DCI, or a SCS configuration of an active UL BWP for PUCCH transmission or PUSCH transmission carrying the acknowledgement of the DCI.
However, Yi teaches wherein a duration of the predetermined number of symbols is determined by one of a subcarrier space (SCS) configuration of an active downlink (DL) bandwidth part (BWP) for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception carrying the DCI, or a SCS configuration of an active UL BWP for PUCCH transmission or PUSCH transmission carrying the acknowledgement of the DCI [paragraphs 0113, 0360, 0418, 0425, 0438, 0439, wherein a duration of the predetermined number of symbols is determined by one of a subcarrier space (SCS) configuration of an active downlink (DL) bandwidth part (BWP) for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception carrying the DCI, or a SCS configuration of an active UL BWP for PUCCH transmission or PUSCH transmission carrying the acknowledgement of the DCI (one or more first active TCI states with a smallest index value; the wireless device may determine the default DL TCI state based on one or more coresets configured for an active BWP of the serving cell; numerology with a higher subcarrier spacing has a shorter slot duration)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the UE described in Zhang by including wherein a duration of the predetermined number of symbols is determined by one of a subcarrier space (SCS) configuration as taught by Yi because it would provide the Zhang’s UE with the enhanced capability of improving system throughput and/or transmission robustness for a wireless communication [Yi, paragraphs 0356, 0373].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kwak et al., U.S. Publication No. 2023/0216565 discloses wherein WTRU may receive a DCI containing an index pointing to the preferred TCI state group.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469