DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4, 9-14, 16-24, and 26 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 9, 13, 14, 18, 20-23, and 26 are amended.
Claims 5-8, 15, and 25 are canceled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 13, and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 13, 14, 16-20, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al., (hereinafter Zhang), U.S. Publication No. 2022/0150945 (Provisional Support 63/198753, fig. 4-6, paragraphs 0058, 0060-0065, 0070, 0084, 0085), in view of Grossmann et al., (hereinafter Grossmann), U.S. Publication No. 2022/0271890.
As per claim 1, Zhang discloses a method, comprising:
receiving a higher layer parameter to enable a common uplink (UL) beam for UL transmission for a serving cell [fig. 4-6, paragraphs 0061, 0063-0065, 0069, 0073, 0087, receiving a higher layer parameter to enable a common uplink (UL) beam for UL transmission for a serving cell (the base station 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, DCI that indicates a TCI state associated with a common beam; uplink beam activation commands are communicated using higher-layer signaling, such as an RRC message or a MAC-CE; the UE 120 may activate the common beam indicated by the TCI state for use in a particular serving cell)];
receiving a downlink control information (DCI) of a DCI format 1_1 or a DCI format 1_2 including a transmission configuration indication (TCI) field indicating a TCI state based on the higher layer parameter [paragraphs 0060, 0061, 0067, 0068, receiving a downlink control information (DCI) of a DCI format 1_1 or a DCI format 1_2 including a transmission configuration indication (TCI) field indicating a TCI state based on the higher layer parameter (the DCI that indicates the TCI state may be associated with a DCI format; DCI formats 1_0, 1_1, or 1_2; uplink beam activation commands are communicated using higher-layer signaling, such as an RRC message)]; and
determining the common UL beam and power control parameters for the UL transmission according to the TCI state [fig. 4-6, paragraphs 0044, 0064-0068, determining the common UL beam for the UL transmission and power control parameters for the UL transmission according to the TCI state (DCI format to indicate transmit power control commands; the DCI that indicates the TCI state may be associated with a DCI format that is associated with indicating the TCI state; uplink TCI state may be associated with a common beam to be used to communicate any suitable combination of downlink signals and/or uplink signals)].
Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein the power control parameters comprise a first set of the power control parameters for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission and a second set of the power control parameters for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission.
However, Grossmann teaches wherein the power control parameters comprise a first set of the power control parameters for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission and a second set of the power control parameters for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission [fig. 16, 17, 20, paragraphs 0055, 0173, 0174, 0176-0179, 0200, 0201, 0243, 0244-0247, 0261, wherein the power control parameters comprise a first set of the power control parameters for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission and a second set of the power control parameters for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission (power control settings for the PUSCH are differently configured/indicated from that of the PUCCH; the UE is configured to receive, from the gNB or any other network entity, a higher layer configuration; configure the power control settings for PUCCH and, either SRS or PUSCH or both)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Zhang by including wherein the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI is associated with a control resource set as taught by Grossmann because it would provide the Zhang’s method with the enhanced capability of reducing redundant higher layer configurations [Grossmann, paragraphs 0078, 0175].
As per claim 2, Zhang discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein, the common UL beam for the UL transmission is determined by a quasi co-location(QCL)-TypeD reference signal (RS) configured in the TCI state indicated in the TCI field in the DCI with a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) assignment for the UE with joint DL/UL beam indication capability [paragraphs 0054, 0058, 0067, 0068, 0072, 0073, 0095, wherein, the common UL beam for the UL transmission is determined by a quasi co-location(QCL)-TypeD reference signal (RS) configured in the TCI state indicated in the TCI field in the DCI with a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) assignment for the UE with joint DL/UL beam indication capability (the TCI state may be associated with a QCL source reference signal per QCL type; TCI state may be associated with one downlink reference signal set for different QCL types (e.g., QCL types for different combinations of Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, delay spread, or spatial receive parameters, among other examples); the TCI state may be indicated in a DCI associated with DCI formats 1_0, 1_1, or 1_2 for PDSCH scheduling; apply the joint downlink and uplink TCI state)].
As per claim 3, Zhang discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein, the common UL beam for the UL transmission is determined by spatialRelationlnfo configured in an UL TCI state indicated in the TCI field in the DCI without a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) assignment for the UE with separate downlink (DL)/UL beam indication capability [paragraphs 0057, 0060, 0061, 0067, 0068, 0073, wherein, the common UL beam for the UL transmission is determined by spatialRelationlnfo configured in an UL TCI state indicated in the TCI field in the DCI without a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) assignment for the UE with separate downlink (DL)/UL beam indication capability (uplink beam, such as a UE transmit beam 315 or a BS receive beam 320, may be associated with a spatial relation; spatial relation may indicate a directionality or a characteristic of the uplink beam, similar to one or more QCL properties; applying separate downlink and uplink beam activation commands)].
As per claim 4, Zhang discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the TCI state is associated with a third set of power control parameters for both the PUCCH transmission and the PUSCH transmission [paragraphs 0058, 0066-0068, 0070, 0071, wherein the TCI state is associated with a third set of power control parameters for both the PUCCH transmission and the PUSCH transmission (DCI formats 0_0, 0_1, or 0_2 for PUSCH scheduling; uplink signal(s) associated with the TCI state may include, for example, a PUCCH, a PUSCH; the DCI may signal one TCI state to indicate a common beam to be used for different signals communicated using the common beam, which may include any suitable combination of downlink signals and/or uplink signals)].
Zhang does not explicitly discloses wherein each set of the power control parameters at least includes a pathloss reference signal (PL-RS).
However, Grossmann teaches wherein each set of the power control parameters at least includes a pathloss reference signal (PL-RS) [paragraphs 0060, 0077, 0080, 0173, 0201, wherein each set of the power control parameters at least includes a pathloss reference signal (pathloss reference RSs used in the derivation of the pathloss factor in the UL Tx power expressions change with respect to UE mobility; a PUCCH/SRS resource or PUSCH is configured/indicated with a pathloss reference RS IE/parameter)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Zhang by including a pathloss reference signal (PL-RS) as taught by Grossmann because it would provide the Zhang’s method with the enhanced capability of reducing redundant higher layer configurations [Grossmann, paragraphs 0078, 0175].
As per claim 13, Zhang discloses a base unit for wireless communication, comprising, comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory [fig. 2, paragraphs 0034, 0041, 0045, 0046, at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (a processor (e.g., controller/processor 240) and memory 242)] and configured to cause the base unit to:
transmit a higher layer parameter to enable a common uplink(UL) beam for UL transmission for a serving cell [fig. 4-6, paragraphs 0061, 0063-0065, 0069, 0073, 0087, transmit a higher layer parameter to enable a common uplink(UL) beam for UL transmission for a serving cell (the base station 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, DCI that indicates a TCI state associated with a common beam; uplink beam activation commands are communicated using higher-layer signaling, such as an RRC message or a MAC-CE; the UE 120 may activate the common beam indicated by the TCI state for use in a particular serving cell)];
transmit a downlink control information (DCI) of a DCI format 1_1 or a DCI format 1_2 including a transmission configuration indication (TCI) field indicating a TCI state based on the higher layer parameter [paragraphs 0060, 0061, 0067, 0068, transmit a downlink control information (DCI) of a DCI format 1_1 or a DCI format 1_2 including a transmission configuration indication (TCI) field indicating a TCI state based on the higher layer parameter (the DCI that indicates the TCI state may be associated with a DCI format; DCI formats 1_0, 1_1, or 1_2; uplink beam activation commands are communicated using higher-layer signaling, such as an RRC message)]; and
determine the common UL beam and power control parameters for the UL transmission according to the TCI state [fig. 4-6, paragraphs 0044, 0064-0068, determine the common UL beam for the UL transmission and power control parameters for the UL transmission according to the TCI state (DCI format to indicate transmit power control commands; the DCI that indicates the TCI state may be associated with a DCI format that is associated with indicating the TCI state; uplink TCI state may be associated with a common beam to be used to communicate any suitable combination of downlink signals and/or uplink signals)].
Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein the power control parameters comprise a first set of the power control parameters for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission and a second set of the power control parameters for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission.
However, Grossmann teaches wherein the power control parameters comprise a first set of the power control parameters for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission and a second set of the power control parameters for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission [fig. 16, 17, 20, paragraphs 0055, 0173, 0174, 0176-0179, 0200, 0201, 0243, 0244-0247, 0261, wherein the power control parameters comprise a first set of the power control parameters for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission and a second set of the power control parameters for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission (power control settings for the PUSCH are differently configured/indicated from that of the PUCCH; the UE is configured to receive, from the gNB or any other network entity, a higher layer configuration; configure the power control settings for PUCCH and, either SRS or PUSCH or both)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the unit described in Zhang by including wherein the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI is associated with a control resource set as taught by Grossmann because it would provide the Zhang’s unit with the enhanced capability of reducing redundant higher layer configurations [Grossmann, paragraphs 0078, 0175].
As per claim 14, Zhang discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory [fig. 2, paragraphs 0034, 0041, 0044, 0047, at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (a processor (e.g., controller/processor 280) and memory 282)], the processor configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive a higher layer parameter to enable a common uplink (UL) beam for UL transmission for a serving cell [fig. 4-6, paragraphs 0061, 0063-0065, 0069, 0073, 0087, receiving a higher layer parameter to enable a common uplink (UL) beam for UL transmission for a serving cell (the base station 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, DCI that indicates a TCI state associated with a common beam; uplink beam activation commands are communicated using higher-layer signaling, such as an RRC message or a MAC-CE; the UE 120 may activate the common beam indicated by the TCI state for use in a particular serving cell)];
receive a downlink control information (DCI) of a DCI format 1_1 or a DCI format 1_2 including a transmission configuration indication (TCI) field indicating a TCI state based on the higher layer parameter [paragraphs 0060, 0061, 0067, 0068, receive a downlink control information (DCI) of a DCI format 1_1 or a DCI format 1_2 including a transmission configuration indication (TCI) field indicating a TCI state based on the higher layer parameter (the DCI that indicates the TCI state may be associated with a DCI format; DCI formats 1_0, 1_1, or 1_2; uplink beam activation commands are communicated using higher-layer signaling, such as an RRC message)]; and
determine the common UL beam and power control parameters for the UL transmission according to the TCI state [fig. 4-6, paragraphs 0044, 0064-0068, determine the common UL beam for the UL transmission and power control parameters for the UL transmission according to the TCI state (DCI format to indicate transmit power control commands; the DCI that indicates the TCI state may be associated with a DCI format that is associated with indicating the TCI state; uplink TCI state may be associated with a common beam to be used to communicate any suitable combination of downlink signals and/or uplink signals)].
Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein the power control parameters comprise a first set of the power control parameters for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission and a second set of the power control parameters for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission.
However, Grossmann teaches wherein the power control parameters comprise a first set of the power control parameters for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission and a second set of the power control parameters for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission [fig. 16, 17, 20, paragraphs 0055, 0173, 0174, 0176-0179, 0200, 0201, 0243, 0244-0247, 0261, wherein the power control parameters comprise a first set of the power control parameters for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission and a second set of the power control parameters for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission (power control settings for the PUSCH are differently configured/indicated from that of the PUCCH; the UE is configured to receive, from the gNB or any other network entity, a higher layer configuration; configure the power control settings for PUCCH and, either SRS or PUSCH or both)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the UE described in Zhang by including wherein the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI is associated with a control resource set as taught by Grossmann because it would provide the Zhang’s UE with the enhanced capability of reducing redundant higher layer configurations [Grossmann, paragraphs 0078, 0175].
As per claim 16, Zhang discloses the UE of claim 14,
wherein the common UL beam for the UL transmission is determined by a quasi co-location (QCL)-TypeD reference signal (RS) configured in the TCI state indicated in the TCI field in the DCI with a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) assignment for the UE with joint DL/UL beam indication capability [paragraphs 0054, 0058, 0067, 0068, 0072, 0073, 0095, wherein the common UL beam for the UL transmission is determined by a quasi co-location (QCL)-TypeD reference signal (RS) configured in the TCI state indicated in the TCI field in the DCI with a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) assignment for the UE with joint DL/UL beam indication capability (the TCI state may be associated with a QCL source reference signal per QCL type; TCI state may be associated with one downlink reference signal set for different QCL types (e.g., QCL types for different combinations of Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, delay spread, or spatial receive parameters, among other examples); the TCI state may be indicated in a DCI associated with DCI formats 1_0, 1_1, or 1_2 for PDSCH scheduling; apply the joint downlink and uplink TCI state)].
As per claim 17, Zhang discloses the UE of claim 16, Zhang does not explicitly discloses wherein if no pathloss reference signal (PL-RS) is associated with a DL TCI state indicated in the TCI field in the DCI, a periodic DL RS with a same identifier (ID) as the QCL-TypeD RS contained in the indicated DL TCI state is determined as the PL-RS.
However, Grossmann teaches wherein if no pathloss reference signal (PL-RS) is associated with a DL TCI state indicated in the TCI field in the DCI, a periodic DL RS with a same identifier (ID) as the QCL-TypeD RS contained in the indicated DL TCI state is determined as the PL-RS [paragraphs 0200, 0204, 0204, 0223-0226, 0271, 0283, wherein if no pathloss reference signal (PL-RS) is associated with a DL TCI state indicated in the TCI field in the DCI, a periodic DL RS with a same identifier (ID) as the QCL-TypeD RS contained in the indicated DL TCI state is determined as the PL-RS (If PUCCH resources are grouped via a higher layer configuration using CORESET ID values, the UE uses a DL RS configured with ‘qcl-TypeD’ in a TCI-state of a CORESET to derive a pathloss factor].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the UE described in Zhang by including wherein if no pathloss reference signal (PL-RS) is associated with the indicated DL TCI state as taught by Grossmann because it would provide the Zhang’s UE with the enhanced capability of reducing redundant higher layer configurations [Grossmann, paragraphs 0078, 0175].
As per claim 18, Zhang discloses the UE of claim 14,
wherein, the common UL beam for the UL transmission is determined by spatialRelationlnfo configured in an UL TCI state indicated in the TCI field in the DCI without a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) assignment for the UE with separate downlink(DL)/UL beam indication capability [paragraphs 0057, 0060, 0061, 0067, 0068, 0073, wherein, the common UL beam for the UL transmission is determined by spatialRelationlnfo configured in an UL TCI state indicated in the TCI field in the DCI without a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) assignment for the UE with separate downlink(DL)/UL beam indication capability (uplink beam, such as a UE transmit beam 315 or a BS receive beam 320, may be associated with a spatial relation; spatial relation may indicate a directionality or a characteristic of the uplink beam, similar to one or more QCL properties; applying separate downlink and uplink beam activation commands)].
As per claim 19, Zhang discloses the UE of claim 18, Zhang does not explicitly discloses wherein if no pathloss reference signal (PL-RS) is associated with the indicated UL TCI state, a periodic DL RS with a same identifier (ID) as the spatialRelationlnfo configured in the indicated UL TCI state is determined as the PL-RS.
However, Grossmann teaches wherein if no pathloss reference signal (PL-RS) is associated with the indicated UL TCI state, a periodic DL RS with a same identifier (ID) as the spatialRelationlnfo configured in the indicated UL TCI state is determined as the PL-RS [paragraphs 0033, 0217, 0223-0226, 0233-0236, 0300, wherein if no pathloss reference signal (PL-RS) is associated with the indicated UL TCI state, a periodic DL RS with a same identifier (ID) as the spatialRelationlnfo configured in the indicated UL TCI state is determined as the PL-RS (UE may be indicated explicitly with a pathloss reference RS for PUCCH via a PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the UE described in Zhang by including wherein if no pathloss reference signal (PL-RS) is associated with the indicated DL TCI state as taught by Grossmann because it would provide the Zhang’s UE with the enhanced capability of reducing redundant higher layer configurations [Grossmann, paragraphs 0078, 0175].
As per claim 20, Zhang discloses the UE of claim 14,
wherein the TCI state is associated with a third set of power control parameters for both the PUCCH transmission and the PUSCH transmission [paragraphs 0058, 0066-0068, 0070, 0071, wherein the TCI state is associated with a third set of power control parameters for both the PUCCH transmission and the PUSCH transmission (DCI formats 0_0, 0_1, or 0_2 for PUSCH scheduling; uplink signal(s) associated with the TCI state may include, for example, a PUCCH, a PUSCH; the DCI may signal one TCI state to indicate a common beam to be used for different signals communicated using the common beam, which may include any suitable combination of downlink signals and/or uplink signals)].
Zhang does not explicitly discloses wherein each set of the power control parameters at least includes a pathloss reference signal (PL-RS).
However, Grossmann teaches wherein each set of the power control parameters at least includes a pathloss reference signal (PL-RS) [paragraphs 0060, 0077, 0080, 0173, 0201, wherein each set of the power control parameters at least includes a pathloss reference signal (pathloss reference RSs used in the derivation of the pathloss factor in the UL Tx power expressions change with respect to UE mobility; a PUCCH/SRS resource or PUSCH is configured/indicated with a pathloss reference RS IE/parameter)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the UE described in Zhang by including a pathloss reference signal (PL-RS) as taught by Grossmann because it would provide the Zhang’s UE with the enhanced capability of reducing redundant higher layer configurations [Grossmann, paragraphs 0078, 0175].
As per claim 26, Zhang discloses a method performed by a base unit, the method comprising:
transmit a higher layer parameter to enable a common uplink(UL) beam for UL transmission for a serving cell [fig. 4-6, paragraphs 0061, 0063-0065, 0069, 0073, 0087, transmit a higher layer parameter to enable a common uplink(UL) beam for UL transmission for a serving cell (the base station 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, DCI that indicates a TCI state associated with a common beam; uplink beam activation commands are communicated using higher-layer signaling, such as an RRC message or a MAC-CE; the UE 120 may activate the common beam indicated by the TCI state for use in a particular serving cell)];
transmit a downlink control information (DCI) of a DCI format 1_1 or a DCI format 1_2 including a transmission configuration indication (TCI) field indicating a TCI state based on the higher layer parameter [paragraphs 0060, 0061, 0067, 0068, transmit a downlink control information (DCI) of a DCI format 1_1 or a DCI format 1_2 including a transmission configuration indication (TCI) field indicating a TCI state based on the higher layer parameter (the DCI that indicates the TCI state may be associated with a DCI format; DCI formats 1_0, 1_1, or 1_2; uplink beam activation commands are communicated using higher-layer signaling, such as an RRC message)]; and determine the common UL beam and power control parameters for the UL transmission according to the TCI state [fig. 4-6, paragraphs 0044, 0064-0068, determine the common UL beam for the UL transmission and power control parameters for the UL transmission according to the TCI state (DCI format to indicate transmit power control commands; the DCI that indicates the TCI state may be associated with a DCI format that is associated with indicating the TCI state; uplink TCI state may be associated with a common beam to be used to communicate any suitable combination of downlink signals and/or uplink signals)].
Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein the power control parameters comprise a first set of the power control parameters for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission and a second set of the power control parameters for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission.
However, Grossmann teaches wherein the power control parameters comprise a first set of the power control parameters for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission and a second set of the power control parameters for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission [fig. 16, 17, 20, paragraphs 0055, 0173, 0174, 0176-0179, 0200, 0201, 0243, 0244-0247, 0261, wherein the power control parameters comprise a first set of the power control parameters for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission and a second set of the power control parameters for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission (power control settings for the PUSCH are differently configured/indicated from that of the PUCCH; the UE is configured to receive, from the gNB or any other network entity, a higher layer configuration; configure the power control settings for PUCCH and, either SRS or PUSCH or both)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Zhang by including wherein the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI is associated with a control resource set as taught by Grossmann because it would provide the Zhang’s method with the enhanced capability of reducing redundant higher layer configurations [Grossmann, paragraphs 0078, 0175].
Claim(s) 9, 10, 23, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, in view of Grossmann, and in further view of Svedman et al., (hereinafter Svedman), U.S. Publication No. 2024/0014880, (Provisional Support 63/104179, paragraphs 0052, 0064-0069, 0087, 0105, 0106, 0208-0211).
As per claim 9, the modified Zhang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein, if a higher layer parameter CORESETPoolIndex is configured for each control resource set(CORESET), the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI only applies to:
PUSCH transmission scheduled by a UL DCI transmitted from the CORESET configured with a same value as that configured for the CORESET transmitting the DCI; a configured grant (CG)-PUSCH associated with the same value as that configured for the CORESET transmitting the DCI; and PUCCH resources associated with the same value as that configured for the CORESET transmitting the DCI [paragraphs 0055, 0070, 0092, 0114, PUSCH transmission scheduled by a UL DCI transmitted from the CORESET configured with a same value as that configured for the CORESET transmitting the DCI; a configured grant (CG)-PUSCH associated with the same value as that configured for the CORESET transmitting the DCI; and PUCCH resources associated with the same value as that configured for the CORESET transmitting the DCI (the TCI state may be applicable to downlink and uplink control and data channels (e.g., a joint PDCCH/PDSCH/PUCCH/PUSCH TCI state), in which case the DCI contents may include a CORESET identifier, a PDSCH resource identifier, a PUCCH resource identifier, and/or a PUSCH resource identifier)].
The modified Zhang does not explicitly discloses the CORESET configured with a same CORESETPoolIndex value.
However, Svedman teaches the CORESET configured with a same CORESETPoolIndex value [paragraphs 0068-0072, the CORESET configured with a same CORESETPoolIndex value (a TCI state indication/activation/update in a DCI or a MAC CE may apply to a subset of CORESETs associated with a certain CORESET pool index value (e.g., 0 or 1), e.g., through parameter coresetPoolIndex-r16)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Zhang by including wherein the CORESET configured with a same CORESETPoolIndex value as taught by Svedman because it would provide the Zhang’s method with the enhanced capability of proving overhead reduction by common beam operation [Svedman, paragraphs 0006, 0065, 0194].
As per claim 10, the modified Zhang discloses the method of claim 1, The modified Zhang does not explicitly discloses further comprising: receiving a configuration of one or more cell lists each of which is composed of one or multiple serving cells, wherein the common UL beam for the UL transmission is enabled for all serving cells in a cell list containing the serving cell.
However, Svedman teaches receiving a configuration of one or more cell lists each of which is composed of one or multiple serving cells, wherein the common UL beam for the UL transmission is enabled for all serving cells in a cell list containing the serving cell [paragraphs 0067, 0068, 0199, receiving a configuration of one or more cell lists each of which is composed of one or multiple serving cells, wherein the common UL beam for the UL transmission is enabled for all serving cells in a cell list containing the serving cell (TCI state(s) may be applied to one or more serving cells, e.g., cells in a band or cells in a configured list of serving cells; common beam operation, source reference signal(s) in M (e.g., M=1 or M≥1) TCIs (e.g., TCI states or TCI codepoints) provide common QCL information)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Zhang by receiving a configuration of one or more cell lists as taught by Svedman because it would provide the Zhang’s method with the enhanced capability of proving overhead reduction by common beam operation [Svedman, paragraphs 0006, 0065, 0194].
As per claim 23, the modified Zhang discloses the UE of claim 14, wherein, if a higher layer parameter CORESETPoolIndex is configured for each control resource set (CORESET), the TCI state indicated in the TCI field of the DCI only applies to:
a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission scheduled by a UL DCI transmitted from the CORESET configured with a same value as that configured for the CORESET transmitting the DCI; a configured grant (CG)-PUSCHassociated with the same value as that configured for the CORESET transmitting the DCI; and physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources associated with the same value as that configured for the CORESET transmitting the DCI [paragraphs 0055, 0070, 0092, 0114, a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission scheduled by a UL DCI transmitted from the CORESET configured with a same value as that configured for the CORESET transmitting the DCI; a configured grant (CG)-PUSCHassociated with the same value as that configured for the CORESET transmitting the DCI; and physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources associated with the same value as that configured for the CORESET transmitting the DCI (the TCI state may be applicable to downlink and uplink control and data channels (e.g., a joint PDCCH/PDSCH/PUCCH/PUSCH TCI state), in which case the DCI contents may include a CORESET identifier, a PDSCH resource identifier, a PUCCH resource identifier, and/or a PUSCH resource identifier)].
The modified Zhang does not explicitly discloses the CORESET configured with a same CORESETPoolIndex value.
However, Svedman teaches the CORESET configured with a same CORESETPoolIndex value [paragraphs 0068-0072, the CORESET configured with a same CORESETPoolIndex value (a TCI state indication/activation/update in a DCI or a MAC CE may apply to a subset of CORESETs associated with a certain CORESET pool index value (e.g., 0 or 1), e.g., through parameter coresetPoolIndex-r16)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the UE described in Zhang by including wherein the CORESET configured with a same CORESETPoolIndex value as taught by Svedman because it would provide the Zhang’s UE with the enhanced capability of proving overhead reduction by common beam operation [Svedman, paragraphs 0006, 0065, 0194].
As per claim 24, The modified Zhang discloses the UE of claim 14, The modified Zhang does not explicitly discloses wherein the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to receive a configuration of one or more cell lists each of which is composed of one or multiple serving cells, wherein the common UL beam for the UL transmission is enabled for all serving cells in a cell list containing the serving cell.
However, Svedman teaches receive a configuration of one or more cell lists each of which is composed of one or multiple serving cells, wherein the common UL beam for the UL transmission is enabled for all serving cells in a cell list containing the serving cell [paragraphs 0067, 0068, 0199, receive a configuration of one or more cell lists each of which is composed of one or multiple serving cells, wherein the common UL beam for the UL transmission is enabled for all serving cells in a cell list containing the serving cell (TCI state(s) may be applied to one or more serving cells, e.g., cells in a band or cells in a configured list of serving cells; common beam operation, source reference signal(s) in M (e.g., M=1 or M≥1) TCIs (e.g., TCI states or TCI codepoints) provide common QCL information)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the UE described in Zhang by receiving a configuration of one or more cell lists as taught by Svedman because it would provide the Zhang’s UE with the enhanced capability of proving overhead reduction by common beam operation [Svedman, paragraphs 0006, 0065, 0194].
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, in view of Grossmann, and in further view of Matsumura et al., (hereinafter Matsumura), U.S. Publication No. 2023/0413283.
As per claim 21, Zhang discloses the UE of claim 20, Zhang does not explicitly discloses wherein the determined common UL beam for the UL transmission and a determined pathloss reference signal (PL-RS) apply to all PUSCH transmissions and PUCCH transmissions for the serving cell.
However, Grossmann teaches wherein the determined common UL beam for the UL transmission and a determined pathloss reference signal (PL-RS) apply to all PUSCH transmissions and PUCCH transmissions for the serving cell [paragraphs 0068, 0069, 0173, 0175, 0176, 0181, 0200-0202, wherein the determined common UL beam for the UL transmission and a determined pathloss reference signal (PL-RS) apply to all PUSCH transmissions and PUCCH transmissions for the serving cell, starting from a first slot that is a predetermined number of symbols after acknowledgment of the DCI (common configuration of the pathloss reference RSs for PUCCH, and either SRS or PUSCH or both)].
The modified Zhang does not explicitly disclose starting from a first slot that is a predetermined number of symbols after acknowledgment of the DCI.
However, Matsumura teaches starting from a first slot that is a predetermined number of symbols after acknowledgment of the DCI [fig. 6A, paragraphs 0047, 0058, 0082, 0103, 0108, 0121, 0131, starting from a first slot that is a predetermined number of symbols after acknowledgment of the DCI (Pathloss in transmit power control for each of the PUSCH, PUCCH, and SRS is calculated by the UE; common beam may be updated after specific time from transmission of HARQ-ACK information associated with the DCI)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the UE described in the modified Zhang by including wherein the determined common UL beam for the UL transmission as taught by Matsumura because it would provide the modified Zhang’s UE with the enhanced capability of improving communication quality [Matsumura, paragraphs 0105, 0114].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 12, and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Matsumura et al., U.S. Publication No. 2023/0171045 discloses a spatial relation of each transmission occasion for a PUCCH/PUSCH that transmits a HARQ-ACK.
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469