DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 14 October 2025. Claims 1-9 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Amendments
In response to Applicant’s amendments dated 14 October 2025, Examiner withdraws most of the previous objections to the claims; maintains one of the previous objections to the claims; withdraws the previous claim interpretations; withdraws the previous 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections; and withdraws the previous prior art rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks filed 14 October 2025, have been fully considered but they are either not persuasive or moot.
Applicant argues, see Remarks, pg. 5-6, that sufficient structure to perform the recited functions of “a device adapted to carry out a panning” and “a device adapted to carry out a tilting” are supported in paragraph 0056 of US-20240304093 and Figure 1. However, the term “device” is a generic placeholder and the aforementioned limitations couple the generic placeholder “device” with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function. Additionally, when claim limitations are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The specification, pg. 9, lines 23-27 (the equivalent text to paragraph 0056 of US-20240304093) recites “the panning and tilting are actuated by respective devices 60 and 61 capable of rotating both the device 1 and the thermal camera 2 or the actuator device 1 alone…” and devices 60 and 61 are shown in figure 1. The “devices 60 and 61 capable of rotating” are also generic placeholders coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure, therefore, the original disclosure does not include a written description of the structure performing the claimed function of panning and tilting. For these reasons, examiner is unpersuaded and maintains the corresponding rejections.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, pg. 6-9, with respect to claim(s) 1 and 3-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, pg. 9-12, with respect to claim(s) 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The remaining arguments are essentially the same as those addressed above and/or below and are unpersuasive for at least the same reasons. Therefore, examiner is unpersuaded and maintains the corresponding rejections.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority based on an application IT102020000031574, filed in Italian Republic on 21 December 2020 and the 371 of PCT/IB2021/062035, filed on 20 December 2021.
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome potential future rejections made using references falling between the filing date and the foreign priority date, because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216. No action is required by Applicant at this time.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1: “whether or not there is a floating body in said at least one area of interest” should be “whether or not there is a floating body in said at least one sea area of interest”;
Claim 1: “when a portion at temperature higher than the water is detected in the thermal image” should be “when a portion at temperature higher than the sea water is detected in a thermal image”;
Claim 1: “wherein said data processing means is configured to measure” should be “wherein said data processing device is configured to measure”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“data processing device adapted to process” in claim 1;
“device adapted to emit” in claims 1, 4, and 5;
“device adapted to carry out a panning” in claim 4; and
“device adapted to carry out a tilting” in claim 5.
Claim 1 – “data processing device”: pg. 3, line 6: “…a data processing device 3 provided with a microprocessor 31 and a memory 32 in which software run, which are based on algorithms…”;
Claim 1, 4, and 5 – “device adapted to emit”: pg. 8, line 14-16: “The actuator device 1 which allows the heating of the area of interest 4 in hand is preferably a pulsed laser device, which therefore emits a single high-power laser beam for a very short period of time.”;
Claim 4 – “a device adapted to carry out a panning”: No structure found; and
Claim 5 – “a device adapted to carry out a tilting”: No structure found.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Specifically, the original disclosure does not include a written description of the structure of the “device adapted to carry out a panning” or the structure of the “device adapted to carry out a tilting”. Examiner is interpreting each of these limitations under the broadest reasonable interpretation of anything capable of panning or tilting a LASER or the combination of a LASER and a thermal camera.
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claim 4 limitation “a device adapted to carry out a panning” and the claim 5 limitation “a device adapted to carry out a tilting” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claims are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Examiner is interpreting each of these limitations under the broadest reasonable interpretation of anything capable of panning or tilting a LASER or the combination of a LASER and a thermal camera.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20160214534-A1, hereinafter “Richards” (newly of record), in view of GB-2252398-A, hereinafter “Chabannes” (previously of record) and US-20160266247-A1, hereinafter “Hjelmstad” (newly of record).
Regarding claim 1, Richards discloses A detection apparatus of floating bodies on sea (Richards, para. 0006: “In accordance with an embodiment of the present disclosure, a watercraft is provided having a monitoring system [i.e., detection apparatus]; the monitoring system of the watercraft includes: a plurality of compact infrared imaging modules disposed on or within the hull of the watercraft to detect an object around at least a substantial portion of a volume around the watercraft [i.e., of floating bodies on sea]…”), said apparatus comprising:
at least one thermal sensor configured to receive a thermal signal (Sacq) of at least one sea area of interest (Richards, para. 0029: “In various implementations, monitoring system 100A may include one or more imaging or image capture components 130A-130N (e.g., one or more thermal imaging modules [i.e., at least one thermal sensor] and/or one or more non-thermal imaging modules) to capture images, such as images 170A-170N. Image capture components 130A-130N (sometimes referred to herein as imaging modules) may include infrared cameras [i.e., at least one thermal sensor] sensitive to light in near, mid, and/or far infrared portions of the electromagnetic spectrum (e.g., near infrared (NIR), short wave infrared (SWIR), mid wave infrared (MWIR), and/or long wave infrared (LWIR) radiation).”),
a data processing device adapted to process a signal emitted by said at least one thermal sensor to detect whether or not there is a floating body in said at least one area of interest depending on the temperature difference between the floating body and the sea water (Richards, para. 0033: “Processing component 110 [i.e., a data processing device] may be adapted to receive image signals, such as thermal image signals and/or non-thermal image signals from image capture components 130A-130N [i.e., adapted to process a signal emitted by said at least one thermal sensor], process the image signals (e.g., to provide processed image data), store the image signals or image data in memory component 120, and/or retrieve stored image signals from memory component 120. Processing component 110 may be adapted to process image signals stored in memory component 120 to provide image data (e.g., captured and/or processed infrared image data) to display component 140 for viewing by a user. Processing component 110 may be adapted to perform video analytics operations on captured images to detect objects [i.e., detect whether or not there is a floating body in said at least one area of interest depending on the temperature difference between the floating body and the sea water], analyze potential detections and sort false detections (e.g., by confirming an image-based detection using another sensor such as a sonar sensor) and, due to known angles of vision and overlaps of various imaging modules (e.g., as determined during factory calibration operations or in-situ calibration operations and stored in memory component 120) can triangulate to provide an estimated range and bearing of the detected objects.”)…
…wherein said at least one thermal sensor is a thermal camera (Richards, para. 0029: “In various implementations, monitoring system 100A may include one or more imaging or image capture components 130A-130N (e.g., one or more thermal imaging modules and/or one or more non-thermal imaging modules) to capture images, such as images 170A-170N. Image capture components 130A-130N (sometimes referred to herein as imaging modules) may include infrared cameras sensitive to light in near, mid, and/or far infrared portions of the electromagnetic spectrum (e.g., near infrared (NIR), short wave infrared (SWIR), mid wave infrared (MWIR), and/or long wave infrared (LWIR) radiation) [i.e., at least one thermal sensor is a thermal camera].”),
wherein the detection apparatus is adapted to detect a floating body when a portion at temperature higher than the water is detected in the thermal image (Richards, para. 0063: “As shown in FIG. 3, an object (e.g., swimmer 302) [i.e., a floating body] may be located in the water toward stern 188 of mobile structure 200. The swimmer 302 may not be perceived by the operator and may be at risk of contact with propeller 300. One or more image capture components associated with one or more of monitoring modules 131 [i.e., the detection apparatus] may capture one or more images of the swimmer 302. For example, swimmer 302 may be detected in a thermal image captured by monitoring modules 131 by, in some embodiments, detecting a thermal excursion or difference relative to water surface 306 indicative of a human body in the surrounding medium, such as water [i.e., detect a floating body when a portion at temperature higher than the water is detected in the thermal image].”),
wherein the portion corresponds to the floating body (Richards, para. 0063: “For example, swimmer 302 may be detected in a thermal image captured by monitoring modules 131 by, in some embodiments, detecting a thermal excursion or difference relative to water surface 306 indicative of a human body in the surrounding medium, such as water.”), and
wherein said data processing means is configured to measure the distance between the detected floating body and the thermal camera based on the thermal image (Richards, para. 0077: “In block 526, the specific location of the person may be identified based on the image data block 526 [i.e., based on the thermal image]. In one implementation, identifying the location of the person may include narrowing the field of view of an image capture component 130. For example, a lens of the infrared camera may telescope to a position to zoom-in on the object or person in the water or zoom-in on at least the proximate location of the person in the water or another narrower field of view. Processing component 110 [i.e., data processing means] may be configured to determine, based on a known position and/or orientation of image capture component 130, the direction towards and/or distance to the detected person and/or object in the water [i.e., measure the distance between the detected floating body and the thermal camera].”).
Richards does not appear to disclose the following:
…a device adapted to emit a pulsed laser beam to illuminate said at least one sea area of interest to increase the temperature difference between the floating body and the sea water…wherein the power of the pulsed laser beam is between 1 and 30 watts…
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chabannes teaches:
…a device adapted to emit a pulsed laser beam to illuminate said at least one sea area of interest to increase the temperature difference between the floating body and the sea water (Chabannes, pg. 2, line 12: “…means to enable a pulse of laser radiation [i.e., a device adapted to emit a pulsed laser beam] to be triggered after the image of the target has become visible on the screen so as to heat a first point on the target [i.e., illuminate said area of interest to increase the temperature difference] under the effect of the energy of the pulse…”)…
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable likelihood of success to modify the invention disclosed by Richards, with the concept of using a pulsed laser to heat up an object and a thermal sensor to detect the relative difference in temperature between the object and its surroundings, taught by Chabannes, in order to more accurately locate and track a moving object based on temperature differences with the surrounding environment, especially if the temperature of the object is almost equal to the temperature of the environment due to the duration of exposure (Chabannes, Abstract: “The 10.6 μm laser 7 is then pulsed to heat a spot 73 on the target, and on receipt (31) of radiation in the 3 to 5 μm range from this spot a second tracking system responsive to this radiation is automatically switched in to track the spot and thus aim the axis more accurately.”; pg. 1, line 1-2: ” The present invention relates to apparatus for aiming at a moving target.”; pg. 1, line 24-33: “According to the present invention there is provided apparatus for aiming at a moving target, comprising a support structure universally adjustably mounted with respect to a base; means on the support structure arranged to emit laser radiation along an axis; means operative to adjust the position of the support structure relative to the base so as to vary the directivity of the said axis; a first distance-measuring detector, including a light detector, on the support structure arranged to receive light propagating along said axis towards the support structure…”).
Richards and Chabannes do not appear to teach the following:
…wherein the power of the pulsed laser beam is between 1 and 30 watts…
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hjelmstad teaches:
…wherein the power of the pulsed laser beam is between 1 and 30 watts (Hjelmstad, para. 0271: “Furthermore, the laser detection and ranging device may use only low power, e.g. in the order of 1 W, so that it can operate for a year or more on simple battery power…”)…
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable likelihood of success to modify the invention disclosed by Richards, as modified by Chabannes, with the concept of using a low power pulsed LASER, taught by Hjelmstad, in order to reduce the power requirements of using a pulsed LASER and be able to power the pulsed LASER system by a simple power source, which can be particularly relevant for watercraft (Hjelmstad, para. 0271: “Furthermore, the laser detection and ranging device may use only low power, e.g. in the order of 1 W, so that it can operate for a year or more on simple battery power…”).
Regarding claim 2, Richards, Chabannes, and Hjelmstad teach An apparatus according to claim 1, and Richards further discloses the following:
wherein the apparatus is configured to emit an alarm signal (ALARM) in case of the detection of a floating body on sea (Richards, para. 0033: “Processing component 110 may be adapted to cooperate with an alert component (not shown) to alert an operator to a detected object.”).
Regarding claim 3, Richards, Chabannes, and Hjelmstad teach An apparatus according to claim 1, and Richards further discloses the following:
further comprising a microprocessor and a memory in which software run which are adapted to determine the position (P) of the floating body with respect to the thermal camera (Richards, para. 0028: “In accordance with one embodiment of the present disclosure, FIG. 1A shows a block diagram illustrating a perimeter monitoring system 100A that includes imaging components for capturing and processing images [i.e., in which software run]. As shown, monitoring system 100A may include a processing component 110 [i.e., a microprocessor], a memory component 120 [i.e., a memory], one or more image capture components 130A-130N (where “N” represents any desired number), a display component 140, an illumination component 145, a control component 150, and a sensing component 160.”).
Regarding claim 4, Richards, Chabannes, and Hjelmstad teach An apparatus according to claim 1, and Richards further discloses the following:
further comprising a device adapted to carry out a panning of the device adapted to emit a pulsed laser beam and of the thermal camera (Richards, para. 0103: “Optional embodiments for monitoring module 131 include a pan/tilt arrangement with stereo wide field image capture component pair for search and zoom for tracking; the pan/tilt arrangement integrated with a solid-state radar (e.g., 360 degrees for search or forward looking), GPS, and/or heading sensors (e.g., other modules 146 and/or sensing components 160), where stereoscopic image data is overlaid with other sensor data and mounting system 1210 is configured to provide radar cueing to slew of monitoring module 131; the pan/tilt arrangement integrated with other modules and/or sensors [i.e., a device adapted to carry out a panning of the device adapted to emit a pulsed laser beam and of the thermal camera], where mounting system 1210 is configured to stabilize monitoring module 131 against motion of mobile structure 101 in pitch, roll, and/or yaw (e.g., under the control of processing component 110).”).
Regarding claim 5, Richards, Chabannes, and Hjelmstad teach An apparatus according to claim 1, and Richards further discloses the following:
further comprising a device adapted to carry out a tilting of the device adapted to emit a pulsed laser beam (Richards, para. 0103: “Optional embodiments for monitoring module 131 include a pan/tilt arrangement with stereo wide field image capture component pair for search and zoom for tracking; the pan/tilt arrangement integrated with a solid-state radar (e.g., 360 degrees for search or forward looking), GPS, and/or heading sensors (e.g., other modules 146 and/or sensing components 160), where stereoscopic image data is overlaid with other sensor data and mounting system 1210 is configured to provide radar cueing to slew of monitoring module 131; the pan/tilt arrangement integrated with other modules and/or sensors [i.e., a device adapted to carry out a tilting of the device adapted to emit a pulsed laser beam], where mounting system 1210 is configured to stabilize monitoring module 131 against motion of mobile structure 101 in pitch, roll, and/or yaw (e.g., under the control of processing component 110).”).
Regarding claim 6, Richards, Chabannes, and Hjelmstad teach An apparatus according to claim 1, and Richards further discloses the following:
wherein said thermal camera is a Short-Wave Infrared thermal camera comprising a telescopic lens (Richards, para. 0029: “In various implementations, monitoring system 100A may include one or more imaging or image capture components 130A-130N (e.g., one or more thermal imaging modules and/or one or more non-thermal imaging modules) to capture images, such as images 170A-170N. Image capture components 130A-130N (sometimes referred to herein as imaging modules) may include infrared cameras sensitive to light in near, mid, and/or far infrared portions of the electromagnetic spectrum (e.g., near infrared (NIR), short wave infrared (SWIR) [i.e., thermal camera is a Short-Wave Infrared thermal camera], mid wave infrared (MWIR), and/or long wave infrared (LWIR) radiation).”; para. 0077: “For example, a lens of the infrared camera may telescope [i.e., camera comprising a telescopic lens] to a position to zoom-in on the object or person in the water or zoom-in on at least the proximate location of the person in the water or another narrower field of view.”).
Regarding claim 7, Richards, Chabannes, and Hjelmstad teach An apparatus according to claim 1, and Richards further discloses the following:
wherein said apparatus is configured to be arranged on a boat and further comprises a tilting base to compensate for the movement of the boat (Richards, para. 0062: “…a watercraft (e.g., an embodiment of mobile structure 101) [i.e., a boat] may have more than one outboard motor, one or more inboard motors, and/or other combined and/or separate propulsion and steering mechanisms that can be controlled by control component 150.”; para. 0103: “Optional embodiments for monitoring module 131 [i.e., apparatus] include a pan/tilt arrangement with stereo wide field image capture component pair for search and zoom for tracking; the pan/tilt arrangement integrated with a solid-state radar (e.g., 360 degrees for search or forward looking), GPS, and/or heading sensors (e.g., other modules 146 and/or sensing components 160), where stereoscopic image data is overlaid with other sensor data and mounting system 1210 is configured to provide radar cueing to slew of monitoring module 131; the pan/tilt arrangement integrated with other modules and/or sensors, where mounting system 1210 [i.e., tilting base] is configured to stabilize monitoring module 131 against motion of mobile structure 101 [i.e., a boat] in pitch, roll, and/or yaw [i.e., compensate for the movement of the boat] (e.g., under the control of processing component 110).”)
Regarding claim 8, Richards discloses A boat comprising the detection apparatus of floating bodies on sea (Richards, para. 0027: “According to a first aspect of the invention shown in FIGS. 1A-1E, there is provided a safety system such as monitoring system 100A (sometimes referred to herein as a detection system) for a watercraft [i.e., A boat]. For example, a perimeter monitoring system such as monitoring system 100A may be implemented on or within a ship or a recreational boat. Perimeter monitoring system 100A may operate to detect objects in the water surrounding the watercraft [i.e., comprising the detection apparatus of floating bodies on sea] and to modify the operation of the watercraft relative to the detected objects.”) and
Richards, Chabannes, and Hjelmstad teach a detection apparatus of floating bodies on sea according to claim 1 (Note: See claim 1 analysis, above.).
Regarding claim 9, Richards, Chabannes, and Hjelmstad teach A boat according to claim 8, and Richards further discloses:
further comprising a control unit for a navigation of the boat, said apparatus being adapted to emit a signal (VIR, STOP) to command said control unit to change a navigation route of the boat or to stop the boat according to the position (P) of a detected floating body with respect to the boat (Richards, para. 0033: “Processing component 110 may be adapted to perform video analytics operations on captured images to detect objects, analyze potential detections and sort false detections (e.g., by confirming an image-based detection using another sensor such as a sonar sensor) and, due to known angles of vision and overlaps of various imaging modules (e.g., as determined during factory calibration operations or in-situ calibration operations and stored in memory component 120) can triangulate to provide an estimated range and bearing of the detected objects. Processing component 110 may be adapted to cooperate with control component 150 [i.e., a control unit for a navigation of the boat] to operate propulsion and/or steering components of a watercraft relative to objects detected in images and/or sensor data [i.e., apparatus being adapted to emit a signal (VIR, STOP) to command said control unit to change a navigation route of the boat or to stop the boat according to the position (P) of a detected floating body with respect to the boat].”).
Additional Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20110128162-A1 (2011-06-02) | System for detection of objects in the path of marine vessels. Describes a technique that is based on the detection of small temperature differences between objects and the environment (i.e., the sea).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.N.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3666