DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-11, and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomono (US 20200148096 A1) in view Matsui (US 20180049286 A1).
With regards to claim 1, Tomono disclose(s):
(Currently Amended) A light assembly (figs 1-2a) comprising:
a first lighting module (22) configured to perform a first
a second lighting module (21) configured to perform a second
a driver (41 [0036]) connected in series with the first lighting module (22) and the second lighting module (21);
a first switching unit (423) connected in series with the first (22) and second lighting modules (21);
a second switching unit (422) connected in parallel to the second lighting module (21);
a first control unit (portion of 43) configured to control the first switching unit (423) and a second control unit (portion of 43) configured to control the second switching unit (422);
wherein the first switching unit (423) is connected in low side position between the second lighting module (low side of 21) and the ground (ground of 423), and
the light assembly further comprises a third lighting module (30) connected in parallel to the first lighting module (22), the second lighting module (21) and the first switching unit (423), wherein the third lighting module is configured to perform a third lighting function ([0033])
Tomono does not disclose(s):
a first beam function being a low beam function;
a second beam function being high beam function;
Matsui teaches:
a first beam function (302; fig 2) being a low beam function [0038];
a second beam function (304) being high beam function [0038];
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Tomono by implementing the first beam function being a low beam function, and a second beam function being high beam function as disclosed by Matsui in order to reduce manufacturing cost as taught/suggested by Matsui ([007]).
Further, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the manner of employing the first and second beam function correspond to high and low beam functions since it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations.
With regards to claim 2, Tomono as modified disclose(s):
(Currently Amended) The assembly according to claim 1,
Tomono further disclose(s):
wherein the driver (41) is configured to provide a fixed power output and wherein the first control unit is configured to control the first switching unit (423) using Pulse Width Modulation, PWM, to vary the power provided to the first lighting module and/or to the second lighting module (see D and E in sequence, fig 2b; see D and E in fig 2a involving On/Off periods or 423; [0041-0043]).
With regards to claim 6, Tomono as modified disclose(s):
(Original) The assembly according to claim 1,
Tomono further disclose(s):
wherein the third lighting function (30) is a position lighting function [0042] and/or a daytime signaling function.
With regards to claim 7, Tomono as modified disclose(s):
(Currently Amended) The assembly according to claim 1,
Tomono further disclose(s):
further comprising a fifth switching unit (424) in series with the third lighting module (30).
With regards to claim 8, Tomono as modified disclose(s):
(Currently Amended) The assembly according to claim 7,
Tomono further disclose(s):
wherein the fifth switching unit (424) is in series with third lighting module (30) between the driver (41) and ground (ground of 424).
Tomono as modified does not disclose(s):
wherein the fifth switching unit is in high side position, between a plus terminal of the third lighting module and the driver.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to rearrange the series connection of the fifth switching unit and third lighting module to be the fifth switching unit is in high side position, between a plus terminal of the third lighting module and the driver, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involved only routine skill in the art. Further, such rearrange will not modify the electrical behavior of the switching unit (424) being in series with third lighting module (30).
With regards to claim 9, Tomono as modified disclose(s):
(Currently Amended) The assembly according to claim 7,
Tomono further disclose(s):
wherein the fifth switching unit is in low side position, between a minus terminal of the third lighting module (30) and the ground (ground of 424).
With regards to claim 10, Tomono as modified disclose(s):
(Currently Amended) The assembly according to claim 7,
Tomono further disclose(s):
wherein the driver (41) is configured to provide a fixed power output [0036] and wherein the fifth control unit is configured to control the fifth switching unit using Pulse Width Modulation to vary the power provided to the third lighting module (see figs 2a and 2b for sequence of operation of 424).
With regards to claim 11, Tomono as modified disclose(s):
(Currently Amended) The assembly according to claim 1,
Tomono further disclose(s):
wherein the first switching unit (423) and the second switching unit (422) are controlled by a common control unit (43).
With regards to claim 15, Tomono as modified disclose(s):
The assembly according to claim 2,
Tomono further disclose(s):
further comprising a third lighting module (30) connected in parallel to the first lighting module (22), the second lighting module (21) and the first switching unit (423), wherein the third lighting module is configured to perform a third lighting function [0039].
With regards to claim 16, Tomono as modified disclose(s):
(New) The assembly according to claim 6,
Tomono further disclose(s):
further comprising a fifth switching unit (424) in series with the third lighting module (30).
With regards to claim 17, Tomono as modified disclose(s):
(New) The assembly according to claim 8,
Tomono further disclose(s):
wherein the driver (41) is configured to provide a fixed power output [0047] and wherein the fifth control unit is configured to control the fifth switching unit (424) using Pulse Width Modulation to vary the power provided to the third lighting module (see figs 2a and 2b for sequence of operation of 424).
With regards to claim 18, Tomono as modified disclose(s):
(New) The assembly according to claim 2,
Tomono further disclose(s):
wherein the first switching unit (423) and the second switching unit (422) are controlled by a common control unit (43).
Claim(s) 12, 13, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomono (US 20200148096 A1) in view Matsui (US 20180049286 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Lee (US 9781789 B1).
With regards to claim 12, 13, and 19, Tomono as modified disclose(s):
(Currently Amended) The assembly according to claims 1, 2, and 11,
Tomono further disclose(s):
wherein the first switching unit (423) and/or the second switching unit (422) is an FET [0038].
Tomono as modified does not disclose(s):
wherein the first switching unit and/or the second switching unit is an N-MOS.
Lee teaches
wherein the first switching unit and/or the second switching unit is an N-MOS or FET [lines 16-27 in col 5].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Tomono by implementing the first switching unit and/or the second switching unit being a N-MOS as disclosed by Lee in order to control an LED load as taught/suggested by Lee[lines 16-27 in col 5].
With regards to claim 20, Tomono as modified disclose(s):
(New) The assembly according to claim 12,
Lee further discloses
wherein the first switching unit and the second switching unit is an N-MOS or FET [lines 16-27 in col 5].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 4 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3, and 14 is/are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With regards to claim(s) 3: the prior art fails to disclose a/an light assembly requiring:
the light assembly further comprises a high beam measuring unit connected in parallel to the second lighting module, a third switching unit connected in series with the high beam measuring unit and a third control unit configured to control the third switching unit, wherein the third control unit is configured to open the third switching unit when the first switching unit is open, or the light assembly further comprise a fourth switching unit in series between the first lighting module and the second lighting module, and a fourth controller configured to control the fourth switching unit, wherein the fourth controller is configured to open the fourth switching unit upon detection that a minus terminal of the second lighting module is short circuited to the ground, in combination with other limitations of the claim.
With regards to claim(s) 14: the prior art fails to disclose a/an light assembly requiring:
a fourth switching unit in series between the first lighting module and the second lighting module, and a fourth controller configured to control the fourth switching unit, wherein the fourth controller is configured to open the fourth switching unit upon detection that a minus terminal of the second lighting module is short circuited to the ground, in combination with other limitations of the claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 1/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that the prior art, Tomono, fails to disclose “a third lighting module connected in parallel to the first lighting module, the second lighting module and the first switching unit” as recited in claim 1. To support this position, Applicant relies on fig 1of Tomono which discloses a third lighting module (30) connected in parallel to the first lighting module (22), the second lighting module (21) and the first switching unit (423). The examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant explains in the remarks that “FIG. 1 (shown below) does not disclose that the third module (30)is connected in parallel to the first switching unit (423). Specifically, although the first switching unit (423) is connected in series with the first and second lighting modules (21, 22) with its right end connected to the lower end of the first switch (21), he right end of the first switching unit(423) is also connected to the lower end of the third module (30). The parallel connection between the third module (30) and the serially connected first module (2]), second module(22) and first switching unit (423) requires that the lower end of the third module(30) be connected to the right end of the first switching unit (423)”. The examiner points that claim 1 is open ended due the term “comprising” (line 1). Therefore, claim 1 does not preclude additional elements being present within with “third lighting module” to be connected in parallel to “to the first lighting module, the second lighting module and the first switching unit”. More specifically, Tomono discloses: the third lighting module (30) connected in parallel to the first lighting module (22), the second lighting module (21) and the first switching unit (423). The examiner clarifies that series connection of the third lighting module (30) and switch (424 ; in green in annotated drawing below), is connected in parallel with the group consisting of first lighting module (22), the second lighting module (21) and the first switching unit (423; in red in annotated drawing below). The examiner takes the position that the red shadowed elements are electrically/mechanically directly/indirectly coupled/connected in parallel to green shadowed elements. For at least reasons above the examiner finds Applicant’s arguments being not persuasive and maintains the rejections based on Tomono and Matsui.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RENAN LUQUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896