DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-16, in the reply filed on 21 January 2026 is acknowledged. Applicant added a “closed” limitation to claim 1, creating a new independent claim 23 for the mixer without the “closed” limitation, and argues the there is unity of invention because Casper allegedly does not disclose a helical mixer that is closed between an inlet and an outlet. It is not agreed that the amendment to claim 1 overcomes Casper, because a closed helical conduit does exist between an inlet point and an outlet point (for example between 5 and the junction with the first instance of 2, or between the junction of the last instance of 2 and 8); however, as seen herein below, there are other prior art disclosures of helical conduits closed between and inlet and an outlet, for example Ito (US 2014/0290786). Nonetheless, upon any allowance of Group I claims, Group II claims requiring all the limitations of an allowed claim will be rejoined.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 9, 12-14, 16 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito (US 2014/0290786):
Regarding claim 1, Ito discloses a helical mixer comprising an inlet (1a) configured to receive liquids, an outlet (1b) configured to output mixed liquid and a helical flow channel (1) configured to mix the liquids, wherein the helical mixer is closed between the inlet and outlet (see Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 2, the helical flow path has an inner winding diameter in the claimed range (see [0059] “1 mm” and Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 3, the helical mixer is capable of receiving volumes in the recited range based upon the 1 mm diameter disclosed in [0059].
Regarding claim 4, the helical flow path has a circular cross section (see [0027] and [0060]).
Regarding claim 6, the helical flow path has a same diameter along an entire length of the helical flow path (see Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 9, the helical flow path comprises at least 5 turns (see Figs. 2 and 3A).
Regarding claim 12, the helical mixer would be capable of being used at the recited flow rated based upon the 1mm diameter disclosed in [0059].
Claim 13 fails to further structurally limit the claimed structure.
Claim 14 fails to further structurally limit the claimed structure.
Regarding claim 16, the helical mixer is configured for microfluidics (see [0002]).
Regarding claim 23, Ito discloses a helical mixer comprising an inlet (1a) configured to receive liquids at an inlet mass flow rate; an outlet (1b) configured to output a mixture of the liquids at the inlet mass flow rate; and a helical flow path (1) extending between the inlet and the outlet, wherein the helical mixer is configured to mix the liquids at a mix rate of the inlet mass flow rate (see Fig. 3A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (US 2014/0290786). The mixer of Ito was discussed above. A flow path length is not explicitly disclosed. See In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) and In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976) concerning the obviousness of scaling a device. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have selected a length of the path based upon a desired amount of material to be mixed and desired homogeneity.
Claim 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (US 2014/0290786) in view of Kingsford (US 2007/0019503). The mixer of Ito was discussed above:
Regarding claim 7, while Ito further discloses that the helical mixer comprises a tube (see Fig. 3A) forming the helical flow path, Ito does not disclose the tube being made of polymeric material. Kingsford teaches making a helical mixer of polymeric material and explains that the benefit of resisting corrosion is realized (see [0054] and [0055]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have made the mixer of a polymeric material to resist corrosion as taught by Kingsford.
Regarding claim 8, Kingsford further teaches the polymeric material being a fluorinated ethylene propylene (see [0055]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (US 2014/0290786) in view of Farrar (US 2017/0348667). The mixer of Ito was discussed above. A temperature controlling element is not disclosed. Farrar providing a helical mixer with a temperature control element (see [0057]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided a temperature control element to achieve reaction conditions that art different from ambient as taught by Farrar.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (US 2014/0290786) in view of (US 3,035,820). The mixer of Ito was discussed above. A flow direction mechanism is not disclosed. Todd teaches a flow direction mechanism to reverse the flow of liquid through a mixer channel (see col. 3, lines 5-25). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided a flow direction mechanism to cause material to repeating pass through a mixer, as taught by Todd.
Conclusion
DAVID L. SORKIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1774
/DAVID L SORKIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774