DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claim 1 now recites the term “temperature control source” which is not found in the original application and not found in the current specification outside the claims. If the “temperature control source” is considered to be the “temperature controlling element” (608) discussed in the original application, the recitation in dependent claim 10 “further comprising a temperature controlling element” is confusing.
In claim 25, there is lack of antecedent basis for “the direction change mechanism”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 9, 10, 12-14, 16, 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bocksruker (US 4,246,871):
Regarding claim 1, Bocksruker discloses a helical mixer comprising an inlet (12), and outlet (16) and a helical flow path (see col. 1, lines 52-54) extending between the inlet and the outlet and including a series of windings (18,20, etc.), wherein the helical mixer is closed between the inlet and the outlet (see Fig. 1); and a temperature control source (30) having a winding of the series of windings revolved therearound (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, the helical flow path has an inner winding diameter in a range from 200 µm to 10 mm (see col. 2, lines 30-36).
Regarding claim 3, the helical mixer is capable of receiving volumes in the recited range based upon col. 2, lines 30-36.
Regarding claim 4, the helical flow path has a circular cross section (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, the helical flow path has a same diameter along an entire length of the helical flow path (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, the helical flow path comprises at least 5 turns (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, the helical mixer further comprises a temperature controlling element (30).
Regarding claim 12, the helical mixer would be capable of being used at the recited flow rated based upon col. 2, lines 30-36.
Claim 13 fails to further structurally limit the claimed structure.
Claim 14 fails to further structurally limit the claimed structure.
Regarding claim 16, the helical mixer is configured for microfluidics (see col. 2, lines 30-36).
Regarding claim 23, Bocksruker discloses a helical mixer comprising an inlet (12), and outlet (16) and a helical flow path (see col. 1, lines 52-54) extending between the inlet and the outlet; and a temperature control source (30) having a winding of the helical flow path revolved therearound (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 24, a conductive paste (34) contacts the temperature control source to thereby distribute heat between the helical flow path and the temperature control source.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gordon (US 2021/0062801). Gordon discloses a helical mixer comprising an inlet (from 335); an outlet (to 360); a helical flow path (350) extending between the inlet and the outlet, wherein the helical mixer is closed between the inlet and the outlet (see Figs. 3A and 5); and a peristaltic pump (315 or 370 or 600).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bocksruker (US 4,246,871) in view of Kingsford (US 2007/0019503). The helical mixer of Bocksruker was discussed above:
Regarding claim 7, while Bocksruker further discloses that the helical mixer comprises a tube (see Figs. 1-3) forming the helical flow path, Bocksruker does not disclose the tube being made of polymeric material. Kingsford teaches making a helical mixer of polymeric material and explains that the benefit of resisting corrosion is realized (see [0054] and [0055]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have made the mixer of a polymeric material to resist corrosion as taught by Kingsford.
Regarding claim 8, Kingsford further teaches the polymeric material being a fluorinated ethylene propylene (see [0055]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bocksruker (US 4,246,871) in view of Brown (US 3,967,627). The helical mixer of Bocksruker was discussed above. Bocksruker does not disclose corresponding structure or equivalent described by the instant specification with respect to “a flow direction mechanism”, the corresponding structure being a peristaltic pump. Brown teaches a peristaltic pump (16). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have utilized a peristaltic pump to supply fluid to the helical path.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bocksruker (US 4,246,871) in view of Seo (US 202/00238600). The helical mixer of Bocksruker was discussed above. Bocksruker does not disclose corresponding structure or equivalent described by the instant specification with respect to “a flow direction mechanism”, the corresponding structure being a peristaltic pump. Seo teaches a peristaltic pump (340). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have utilized a peristaltic pump to supply fluid to the helical path.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bocksruker (US 4,246,871) in view of Brown (US 3,967,627). Bocksruker discloses a helical mixer comprising an inlet (12); an outlet (16); a helical flow path (see col. 1, lines 52-54) extending between the inlet and the outlet wherein the helical mixer is closed between the inlet and the outlet (see Fig. 1). However, a peristaltic pump is not disclosed. Brown teaches a peristaltic pump (16). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have utilized a peristaltic pump to supply fluid to the helical path.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bocksruker (US 4,246,871) in view of Seo (US 202/00238600). Bocksruker discloses a helical mixer comprising an inlet (12); an outlet (16); a helical flow path (see col. 1, lines 52-54) extending between the inlet and the outlet wherein the helical mixer is closed between the inlet and the outlet (see Fig. 1). However, a peristaltic pump is not disclosed. Seo teaches a peristaltic pump (340). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have utilized a peristaltic pump to supply fluid to the helical path.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments are moot due to the new grounds for rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DAVID L. SORKIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1774
/DAVID L SORKIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774