DETAILED ACTION
2. Amendment after Non-final office action filed on 8/3/2026 is acknowledged.
3. Claim filed on 8/3/2026 is acknowledged.
4. Claims 2, 3 and 11 have been cancelled.
5. New claim 12 has been added.
6. Claims 1, 4-10 and 12 are pending in this application.
7. Claims 4-10 remain withdrawn from consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to non-elected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claim 12 is withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to non-elected species.
8. Applicant elected without traverse of Group 4 (claims 1 and 11) and elected without traverse of SEQ ID NO: 2 as species of peptide; and the prevention or the treatment of a disease associated with vascular calcification as species of usage in the reply filed on 3/20/2026.
Restriction requirement was deemed proper and made FINAL in the previous office action. Group 4 is drawn to a method for preventing or treating a disease associated with vascular calcification in a subject in need thereof, wherein the method is comprised of administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a peptide, and, wherein said peptide is chosen from the group consisting of: SEQ ID NOs. 2 and 5-13. A search was conducted on the elected species; and SEQ ID NO: 2 as the elected species of peptide appears to be free of prior art. However, prior art was found for the prevention or the treatment of a disease associated with vascular calcification as the elected species of usage. A search was extended to the genus of the peptide recited in instant claim 1; and prior art was found. Claim 12 is withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to non-elected species. Claim 1 is examined on the merits in this office action.
Withdrawn Objections and Rejections
9. Objection to claim 11 is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the claim.
10. Rejection to claims 1 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the claim.
11. Rejection to claims 1 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. 101 is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the claim.
12. Rejection to claims 1 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph (written description) is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the claim.
13. Rejection to claims 1 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Salem (A dissertation filed with IDS, 2012, pages 1-110) is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the claim.
Maintained/Revised Objections
14. (Revised due to Applicant’s amendment to the specification) The specification remains objected to for the following minor informality: The instant specification recites sequence identifier as SEQ ID NO throughout the specification. Applicant is required to amend this recitation as “SEQ ID NO: “, as an example, SEQ ID NO: 1 instead of SEQ ID NO1.
15. (Revised due to Applicant’s amendment to the specification) The specification remains objected to for the following minor informality: The specification recites various amino acid sequences with space within the recited amino acid sequences throughout the specification. Applicant is suggested to remove all the spaces within the recited amino acid sequence. As an example, the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 in Table 1.
Please note: The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible error. Applicant's cooperation is required in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification (see MPEP § 608.01).
16. (Revised due to Applicant’s amendment to the claim) Claim 1 remains objected to for the following minor informality: Applicant is suggested to amend claim 1 as “…wherein the method comprises administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a peptide selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 2 and 5-13”.
Response to Applicant's Arguments
17. Applicant fails to address all the minor issues in the specification and claim 1, and/or Applicant’s amendments to the claim introduces additional minor issues into instant claim 1. Therefore, these objections are deemed proper and are hereby maintained.
Maintained/Revised Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112 paragraph (a)
Scope of Enablement
19. (Revised due to Applicant’s amendment to the claim) Claim 1 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification while being enabling for a method of treating a disease associated with vascular calcification with a peptide selected from the group consisting of instant SEQ ID NOs: 2 and 5-13, does not reasonably provide enablement for a method of preventing ANY disease associated with vascular calcification with a peptide selected from the group consisting of instant SEQ ID NOs: 2 and 5-13. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains to make and/or use the invention commensurate in scope with the claims.
The factors to be considered in determining whether a disclosure meets the enablement requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, have been described in In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400 (Fed. Cir. 1988). Among these factors are: (1) the nature or the invention; (2) the state of the prior art; (3) the relative skill of those in the art; (4) the predictability or unpredictability of the art; (5) the breadth of the claims; (6) the amount of direction or guidance presented; (7) the presence or absence of working examples; and (8) the quantity of experimentation necessary. When the above factors are weighed, it is the Examiner’s position that one skilled in the art could not practice the invention without undue experimentation.
(1) The nature of the invention and (5) The breadth of the claims:
The instant claim 1 is drawn to a method for preventing or treating a disease associated with vascular calcification in a subject in need thereof, wherein the method is comprised of administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a peptide, and, wherein said peptide is chosen from the group consisting of: SEQ ID NOs. 2 and 5-13.
With regards to “preventing”, the instant specification fails to define it.
The term “preventing” implies a perfect blocker from getting any disease associated with vascular calcification.
(2) The state of the prior art and (4) The predictability or unpredictability of the art:
With regarding to using the instant claimed peptide for preventing a disease associated with vascular calcification, the art is unpredictable.
Salem (A dissertation filed with IDS, 2012, pages 1-110) teaches similar to peptides of instant SEQ ID NOs: 2 and 5-13, a peptide consisting of the amino acid sequence LEGQEEEEDNRDSSMKLSF as a calcification blocking factor (CBF); and a method of using such peptide for treating disease associated with vascular calcification, for example, page 2, Abstract. Salem further teaches such peptide is a component of human plasma, for example, page 2, Abstract. And human still get a disease associated with vascular calcification.
Taken all these together, considering the state of art, one of ordinary skilled in the art would understand and reasonably expect that the instant claimed peptide would not be able to prevent a disease associated with vascular calcification.
(3) The relative skill of those in the art:
The related skill of those in the art is high.
(6) The amount of direction or guidance presented and (7) The presence or absence of working examples:
With regarding to using the instant claimed peptide for preventing a disease associated with vascular calcification, the instant specification discloses that peptide of instant SEQ ID NO: 1 is a calcification blocking factor (CBF), and the peptides of instant SEQ ID NO: 2 and 5-13 are fragments of instant SEQ ID NO: 1 and exhibit calcification inhibitory effect. However, the instant specification fails to provide any guidance on how to prevent a disease associated with vascular calcification. There is no clear guidance as to how to determine the patient population. The disease associated with vascular calcification can be treated once it is diagnosed; however, it cannot be prevented since the patient population is unknown.
Taken all these together, the instant specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains to make and/or use the invention commensurate in scope with the claims. There is a lack of adequate guidance from the specification or prior art with regard to the actual method of using the instant claimed peptide for preventing any disease associated with vascular calcification. Applicant's limited disclosure is noted but is not sufficient to justify claiming a method of using the instant claimed peptide for preventing a disease associated with vascular calcification.
(8) The quantity of experimentation necessary:
Considering the state of prior arts and the disclosure in instant specification, one of ordinary skill in the art would be burdened with undue experimentation to using the instant claimed peptide for preventing a disease associated with vascular calcification.
Response to Applicant's Arguments
20. Applicant argues that “As amended, claim 1 no longer refers to a generic medicament, and all of the peptides recited in the method are exemplified for their ability to decrease the centration of Ca2+ content of cultivated human aortic smooth muscle cells.”
21. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but have not been found persuasive.
In response to Applicant's arguments about instant rejection, the Examiner would like to point out that Applicant’s amendment to the claim and Applicant’s arguments fail to address the scope of enablement rejection on preventing a disease associated with vascular calcification with instant claimed peptide. Therefore, the rejection is deemed proper and is hereby maintained.
New Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1)
23. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hudson et al (US 2003/0100510 A1), and as evidenced by Liu et al (Medicine, 2025, 104, pages 1-7).
The instant claim 1 is drawn to a method for preventing or treating a disease associated with vascular calcification in a subject in need thereof, wherein the method is comprised of administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a peptide, and, wherein said peptide is chosen from the group consisting of: SEQ ID NOs. 2 and 5-13.
Hudson et al teach peptide of formula VII (SEQ ID NO: 103), such as peptide EGQE (SEQ ID NO: 107, identical to the peptide of instant SEQ ID NO: 8); and a method of treating artery occlusion in a subject in need thereof, wherein the method comprises administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of such peptide, for example, page 11, paragraph [0180]; and claims 1, 7 and 9. And as evidenced by Liu et al, artery occlusion is a disease associated with vascular calcification (see for example, Title and Abstract). It reads on for the prevention or the treatment of a disease associated with vascular calcification as the elected species of usage; and meets the limitations of instant claim 1.
Furthermore, the MPEP states the following: A genus does not always anticipate a claim to a species within the genus. However, when the species is clearly named, the species claim is anticipated no matter how many other species are additionally named. See Ex parte A, 17 USPQ2d 1716 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1990) (see MPEP § 2131.02).
Since the reference teaches all the limitations of instant claim 1; the reference anticipates instant claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
26. In the event that Applicant disagrees with how the Examiner interpretates Hudson et al (US 2003/0100510 A1), claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hudson et al (US 2003/0100510 A1), and as evidenced by Liu et al (Medicine, 2025, 104, pages 1-7).
The instant claim 1 is drawn to a method for preventing or treating a disease associated with vascular calcification in a subject in need thereof, wherein the method is comprised of administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a peptide, and, wherein said peptide is chosen from the group consisting of: SEQ ID NOs. 2 and 5-13.
Hudson et al teach peptide of formula VII (SEQ ID NO: 103); and a method of treating artery occlusion in a subject in need thereof, wherein the method comprises administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of such peptide, for example, claims 1, 7 and 9. And as evidenced by Liu et al, artery occlusion is a disease associated with vascular calcification (see for example, Title and Abstract). It reads on for the prevention or the treatment of a disease associated with vascular calcification as the elected species of usage; and meets the limitations of the subject recited in instant claim 1. Hudson et al further teach the peptide of formula VII (SEQ ID NO: 103) can be peptide EGQE (SEQ ID NO: 107, identical to the peptide of instant SEQ ID NO: 8 recited in instant claim 1), for example, page 11, paragraph [0180].
The difference between the reference and instant claim 1 is that the reference does not explicitly teach a specific example of treating artery occlusion in a subject in need thereof with peptide EGQE (identical to the peptide of instant SEQ ID NO: 8).
However, in view of the teachings of Hudson et al as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to develop a method of treating artery occlusion (a disease associated with vascular calcification) in a subject in need thereof, wherein the method comprises administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of peptide EGQE (identical to the peptide of instant SEQ ID NO: 8).
In view of the teachings of Hudson et al as a whole, one of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to develop a method of treating artery occlusion (a disease associated with vascular calcification) in a subject in need thereof, wherein the method comprises administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of peptide EGQE (identical to the peptide of instant SEQ ID NO: 8), because Hudson et al teach peptide EGQE (identical to the peptide of instant SEQ ID NO: 8) as an example of the peptide of formula VII (SEQ ID NO: 103) that is used in a method of treating artery occlusion (a disease associated with vascular calcification) in a subject in need thereof.
In view of the teachings of Hudson et al as a whole, a person of ordinary skilled in the art would have reasonable expectation of success in developing a method of treating artery occlusion (a disease associated with vascular calcification) in a subject in need thereof, wherein the method comprises administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of peptide EGQE (identical to the peptide of instant SEQ ID NO: 8).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
No claim is allowed.
/LI N KOMATSU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658